vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Beta Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   RPG Integration Hack /w Battle (BETA) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=46417)

Kyrie 02-16-2003 03:53 PM

Thank you Bitsys! It worked! I guess I overlooked that step in the instructions or something on accident... Thanks for the help!

PSI|Dr-X 02-16-2003 03:54 PM

Bytsis thats just an fighter (in ascci (like archer lol) )

Dribbles 02-16-2003 04:20 PM

Once again, great job Bitsys .. don't worry about all the requests ... just work on what you have planned. You're doing a great job.

saint_seiya 02-16-2003 05:55 PM

For those who have noticed that if you click Submit in the healing center a lot of times before the next page loads, you get a lot of health.

Well here is a small bug fix i put together.

Example of the healing center with bug fix is at:
http://www.vgcity.com/forum/heal.php

What does it do?

Once a user clicks the heal button its made unclickable. Only I.E. users are affected. Don't know about Opera, if someone could test it on Opera :). I do know that in Netscape they just get an alert saying Thanks!. That will kinda stop them too. :)

Instructions

Template Modifications: 1
Time: 3m>

Open the rpg_heal template.

Find:
PHP Code:

<head

Add After it:
PHP Code:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">

function 
disableForm(theform) {
if (
document.all || document.getElementById) {
for (
0theform.lengthi++) {
var 
tempobj theform.elements[i];
if (
tempobj.type.toLowerCase() == "submit" || tempobj.type.toLowerCase() == "reset")
tempobj.disabled true;
}
setTimeout('alert("Healing... Thank You!")'2000);
return 
true;
}
else {
alert("Thanks!");
return 
false;
   }
}
</
script


Find:
PHP Code:

action="heal.php?action=doheal"

Replace with:
PHP Code:

action="heal.php?action=doheal" onSubmit="return disableForm(this);"

That's it!

Mystic Gohan 02-16-2003 06:14 PM

OK Bitsy The clan hack would have been cool but I can live without it. I think I read about a request of 2 vs 2 battling will that be possible?

mr e 02-16-2003 06:26 PM

he should be releasing the next update soon, so lets wait for that and maybe somebody else will make an addon for it :D

Bitsys 02-16-2003 08:42 PM

Version 0.62 is done. Upgrade instructions are located in the upgrade folder. There are approximately 4 database queries, 4 file edits, 2 template edits, and 2 new templates. The new .zip file is in the first post.

Bugs Fixed:
All the ones I mentioned previously as being fixed in the next version. Also, some templates were adjusted to fix some visual errors.
I also fixed the bug that saint_seiya just posted a fix for. You can still do his method, they will both work.

New features (the good stuff):
  • Added mr e's special classes for mods/admins.
  • Added mr e's easier labels.
  • Added mr e's Dual-Purpose Spell Add-On (not released before). This add-on allows you to explicitly say what a spell does. You can make a spell heal, attack, do both, or do neither.
  • Added VeoMorphine's RPG CP with a few modifications.
  • Added VeoMorhpine's Admin Manual. In addition, the admin manual now has a FAQ at the bottom. This FAQ should answer a lot of the most common questions.
  • The reset features should now be working. I tested most of them (I think) and they worked. Please be careful with this part of the hack. It has the ability to reset major parts of the RPG.
  • You can now determine the amount of MA a spell costs. You can set this to 0 or 1000, whatever you want.
  • You can now determine what actions a potion will do when used in battle. You can specify that it heals the user's Ma, or the user's HP, or that it heals one and/or both of the to the Max. The amount that a potion heals (if it doesn't do a full heal) is still determined by the buff column. This is controlled in the Edit Items screen. The additional options won't appear unless the item category's battle type is set to "Potion".
  • A new (and shorter) postbit is included in the RPG Manual in the Admin CP. All of the text is removed and you have to hover your cursor over different pictures in order to see what the words are. For example, when you hover over the HP bar, it says "HP: 120/130", or something like that.

If you are upgrading, then you may have to re-do the Battle Types for your Item Categories. Just click on the "Edit" link next to each category name and re-select its battle type, then click submit.

To accomodate the new features with spells and potions, the Itemshop table have been adjusted. There are now some extra columns that tell users what the spell/potion does in battle. The is also a column for spells that tells the user how much MA it costs in battle.

As always, let me know if you experience any problems.

EDIT: This hack works on version 2.3.0 as well as all the other versions previously listed.

Darkwaltz4 02-16-2003 09:43 PM

hmmm....thats gunna be fun redoing all 356 items ive added to my itemshop......well mosta them

i just last night went and revised the system, but now thankfully, i can better set some of things ^_^

--are shields put to use yet? i searched through the php files but i never found anything asking about [battletype] == 2...

if they arent, maybe have the buff of shields be like the 'max' amount of damage it can deflect if you choose to defend in battle...so, if you have a buff of 300 on your sheild, and u defend with it, if the person attacks with 200 damage, nothing happens to u....

also, when will pp be incorporated (just curious) ?

Bitsys 02-16-2003 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
hmmm....thats gunna be fun redoing all 356 items ive added to my itemshop......well mosta them

i just last night went and revised the system, but now thankfully, i can better set some of things ^_^

--are shields put to use yet? i searched through the php files but i never found anything asking about [battletype] == 2...

if they arent, maybe have the buff of shields be like the 'max' amount of damage it can deflect if you choose to defend in battle...so, if you have a buff of 300 on your sheild, and u defend with it, if the person attacks with 200 damage, nothing happens to u....

also, when will pp be incorporated (just curious) ?

When upgrading, you don't have to delete the items. Just follow the steps in the upgrade file.

Shields are not used yet and will probably never be used due to bugs. I tried them a little bit, but it was very buggy and I couldn't get it to work.

PP will not be incorporated in this hack. However, it would be relatively easy for someone to make an addon (like a limit break addon) that incorporates PP.

Darkwaltz4 02-16-2003 11:26 PM

lol, i know all about rediting items...but still, there are just the sheer amount of them...

^_^ im into coding lately, so maybe i can do some addons? both the shields and pp would be cool....

also, i know of a way to incorpoate the certain 'monster arena' people have asked about (you pay to fight a monster) would just need a new table for monster stats, and a new php page, which would run the monster and your battle stats thorugh the battle/battleupdate files

one last thought:
like the battle arena can be 'turned off' how about the itemshop?

also, when you edit items, it doesnt update useritem info, like if you changed settings for an item, it rarely takes effect on the alreday-owned item

so in light of that, how about a 'repair user inventory' script?

Darkwaltz4 02-17-2003 12:43 AM

okay...more suggestions ;)

move the bank interest update function to global.php......ive had far too many complaints on 'my gils been in there for a week and i havent gotten any interest!!!' (and they have to visit the bank at least once a day to get it...)

status effects? no? lol

ill find more, trust meh

ive also edited your hack so that hp is not based on posts per day, and mp/pp are not based on how long u been registered.....it helps put everyone on the same level (i randed it a little, so its not exact)
and weve added to the battle page to play randomly chosen midis of ff battle themes ^_^ seems to go over well with my members-

we are also considering editing elements so that they are multiplicatively additive (so....earth would give +20% hp to hp) and not be so static

Bitsys 02-17-2003 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
lol, i know all about rediting items...but still, there are just the sheer amount of them...

^_^ im into coding lately, so maybe i can do some addons? both the shields and pp would be cool....

also, i know of a way to incorpoate the certain 'monster arena' people have asked about (you pay to fight a monster) would just need a new table for monster stats, and a new php page, which would run the monster and your battle stats thorugh the battle/battleupdate files

Yeah, I was just not too enthusiastic with having different monster types, each with different classes of weapons and stats, each with an AI routine (which could be as simple or cmplex as you want), and each with an image. Not to mention the issue of monster drops, and loot. Just too much work and testing for me.

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
one last thought:
like the battle arena can be 'turned off' how about the itemshop?

Just take the battle check code from the top of the battle.php files and add it to the top of itemshop.php (making sure to query the database) and every time you turn off the battle, you also turn off the itemshop. Or, you could make a new option for the itemshop and query the database for it in itemshop.php (making sure to display an error message if it is indeed turned off, of course).

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
also, when you edit items, it doesnt update useritem info, like if you changed settings for an item, it rarely takes effect on the alreday-owned item

so in light of that, how about a 'repair user inventory' script?

This version is supposed to fix that error (after updating the items once). Let me know if this is not the case.

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
okay...more suggestions

move the bank interest update function to global.php......ive had far too many complaints on 'my gils been in there for a week and i havent gotten any interest!!!' (and they have to visit the bank at least once a day to get it...)

I am against modifying global.php for any reason, even if it is only to query the database once every 24 hours only for users who visit that often. However, I may be looking into fixing the itemshop script so that you don't have to visit the bank to get interest.

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
status effects? no? lol

ill find more, trust meh

ive also edited your hack so that hp is not based on posts per day, and mp/pp are not based on how long u been registered.....it helps put everyone on the same level (i randed it a little, so its not exact)

Make sure that you edited the update user stats code in rpgadmin.php to reflect the changes you made in member.php. The update stats code in rpgadmin.php should be in a function near the top.

Quote:

Originally posted by Darkwaltz4
and weve added to the battle page to play randomly chosen midis of ff battle themes ^_^ seems to go over well with my members-
Maybe you could release that as an add-on? I know some people would probably like it ;)

Red Blaze 02-17-2003 03:04 AM

Ummm...Hi, I would like to know if there is a way to show the rpg info (class, hp, mp, etc.) in the user's profile. I have tried many ways but none worked. Thanks :)

EDIT: Oops!! Sorry, never saw the Member Profile Add-on inside the .zip! ^^;

chrisz 02-17-2003 06:51 AM

Yeah Yeah Yeah!!!
Thnx Bitsys you rock dude!!!!
Now I can open my forum and it will be the best around!!
:p :p :p
Yes Yes YES!!!!

mr e 02-17-2003 07:19 AM

ok i just installed a brand new version of vb and installed the latest version of this hack, but in my user cp i set all my stats and stuff then i refresh the page or come back to it later and my class's default setting is always "Archer" that is always selected when i return to the page...

Bitsys 02-17-2003 10:30 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by mr e
ok i just installed a brand new version of vb and installed the latest version of this hack, but in my user cp i set all my stats and stuff then i refresh the page or come back to it later and my class's default setting is always "Archer" that is always selected when i return to the page...
That is probably due to the Special classes add-on, I will re-check the code and see what is going on.

geniuscrew 02-17-2003 04:17 PM

Mmmm can people use weapons in battles?

Bitsys 02-17-2003 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by geniuscrew
Mmmm can people use weapons in battles?
Yes.

geniuscrew 02-17-2003 04:36 PM

Oh - coz some forums I've seen the hack on seem to be only using fists - or is that before this new version? Anywayz thanks for clarifying

PSI|Dr-X 02-17-2003 04:37 PM

(offtopic)Bytsis don't you have an forum? :) (ontopic)

Once agaian great hack :) i think the full version is coming soon :D
keep up the good work ;)

Genuiscrew :
That are the people who don't know the hack good cuz they don't`switch the itemshop items as fighting too

Bitsys 02-17-2003 06:58 PM

Version 0.63 is done. The only thing this version does is fix the bug mr e reported about class names not saving the next time you go to your profile. There is 1 file edit and that is it. No need to re-upload the .php files. If you have not upgraded to version 0.62 yet, then the upgrade.txt includes instruction for upgrading from 0.61 to 0.63, skipping 0.62 entirely. In this case, if you upgrade from 0.61 to 0.63, then you won't have to do the upgrade from 0.62 to 0.63. I hope that made sense ;)

Check the first post for the new .zip file, the upgrade instructions are included in the upgrade directory.

And for record keeping:

Bugs fixed:
Fixed bug reported by mr e that class names were not sticking in the user profile.


Also, if you have version 0.62/0.63 working on your server and you have tested the new features in battle and in the itemshop, and you have not found any bugs/problems then please let me know. Thanks.

PSI|Dr-X 02-17-2003 07:02 PM

Whoo great damn i just installed 0.62 lol

Edit: i did not caughed any bugs yet bytsis :devious:

Red Blaze 02-18-2003 03:20 AM

Alright..everything seems to work fine, but the bank.
The link redirects me to the itemshop. Maybe because im using lesane's store points..?
Is there any way to fix this? Thanks ^^

Bitsys 02-18-2003 03:32 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Sonikku
Alright..everything seems to work fine, but the bank.
The link redirects me to the itemshop. Maybe because im using lesane's store points..?
Is there any way to fix this? Thanks ^^

Yeah, if you are using Lesane's Store Hack for the RPG Money system, then the bank won't work. Instead of giving an error message, I just made it refresh the itemshop page.

chrisz 02-18-2003 09:30 AM

It works great my forum will be up soon and I will show everyone the masterpiece ;)
Im ur biggest Fan Bitsys

chrisz 02-18-2003 09:36 AM

I got the v.63 where is the info to fix the bug in v.62??

Bitsys 02-18-2003 11:30 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by chrisz
I got the v.63 where is the info to fix the bug in v.62??
Upgrade information is in the upgrade directory. Look for a text file called "UPGRADE.txt". If you are not upgrading from a previous version, then you don't need to do anything.

PSI|Dr-X 02-18-2003 01:38 PM

Heh the full version is in sight i think :) way to go bytsis :)

The best hack ever ever ever

geniuscrew 02-18-2003 02:31 PM

Well done Bitsys. However the same thing's happening with the elements as it did with the Class [even if you change your class it will still show the first item in the list]

Also how do you get special classes etc or is it all in the manual?

Bitsys 02-18-2003 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by geniuscrew
Well done Bitsys. However the same thing's happening with the elements as it did with the Class [even if you change your class it will still show the first item in the list]
Hmm, I am unable to reproduce this error. It also doesn't make sense for this to be happening since I didn't change any of the element code in member.php. You are running version 0.63, right? I will continue to look in to it a little more.

Quote:

Originally posted by geniuscrew
Also how do you get special classes etc or is it all in the manual?
In the Edit Classes menu of the admin cp, there should be a column in the far right that says "Visible". If set to 1, then it is visible, if set to 0, it is only visible for admins/mods.

geniuscrew 02-18-2003 03:08 PM

Thanks - yes I'm running 0.63 but my 0.62 installation didn't exactly go smoothly -_- - but everything else seem to be working.

Bitsys 02-18-2003 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by geniuscrew
Thanks - yes I'm running 0.63 but my 0.62 installation didn't exactly go smoothly -_- - but everything else seem to be working.
What went wrong?

Red Blaze 02-18-2003 04:28 PM

Hmm..i updated to version .63 but... the inn wont heal my users o.O does anyone know what is wrong???

Bitsys 02-18-2003 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Sonikku
Hmm..i updated to version .63 but... the inn wont heal my users o.O does anyone know what is wrong???
Could you explain exactly what is happening? Does the page just refresh? Does it say it healed the user, but it actually didn't? Does it not heal both HP and MA?

Red Blaze 02-18-2003 04:37 PM

It says it healed the user but it doesnt show changes :(

Bitsys 02-18-2003 04:39 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Sonikku
It says it healed the user but it doesnt show changes :(
Does it take money from their account?

geniuscrew 02-18-2003 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Bitsys


What went wrong?

Template problems - I only recall 1 template being modified although everything is working/updating apart from the elements.

Bitsys 02-18-2003 05:21 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by geniuscrew


Template problems - I only recall 1 template being modified although everything is working/updating apart from the elements.

You can always try re-applying the code to member.php to see if that fixes the elements. Do you know if it is updating the element ID in the database when the user selects a new element and clicks submit?

geniuscrew 02-18-2003 06:21 PM

I just realised the element='$element' was missing off the query - should work now thanks :D

Dribbles 02-18-2003 07:38 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Sonikku
It says it healed the user but it doesnt show changes :(
I believe you have to go to usercp, click the "update stats" button and press submit before seeing changes?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04634 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,863KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete