vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=134521)

Wings69 01-07-2008 06:31 AM

Heh - never mind, problem was that for whatever reason during the move, "turn plugin on" was turned off. Funny how after searching through tons of code trying to figure out if theres a problem, it always turns out to be so goddamn simple :) Oh well - I'll take this time to thank Jafo for all his hard work

Wings69 01-07-2008 06:46 AM

Actually - is there any way to display who has written the post on VB? Like at the top of every article in WP it lists who writes it, using this code:

Code:

<i>Written <?php the_time('F jS, Y') ?> <?php _e('by'); ?>
<?php
if ($vbridge[id] > 0) {
?>
<a href=<?php echo get_option('vbb_VBURL') ?>/member.php?u=<?php echo $vbridge[thread_starter] ?>><?php the_author() ?></a></i>

<?php
}
else {
the_author();
}
?>

Any way for that to display on the actual article that gets posted to the forums?

Jafo232 01-07-2008 10:14 AM

If you get a blank screen, this usually indicates an error, and that your server is setup to NOT display errors. Check your error log. I have found that when this happens to people, it is usually another plugin conflicting with it (on the VB side) Try uncommenting this line the vbbridge.php file:

Code:

define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
As for showing the author in the thread, doesn't VB automatically show in the thread information who posted?

Blackhat 01-10-2008 11:13 AM

*lets try again*

Does it work for 3.7.x ?

Jafo232 01-11-2008 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blackhat (Post 1418921)
*lets try again*

Does it work for 3.7.x ?

Instead of trying again, try reading :rolleyes::

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=815

Wings69 01-11-2008 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1417053)

As for showing the author in the thread, doesn't VB automatically show in the thread information who posted?

Rather than having the people listed as authors and letting them do it themselves, we have them as contributors. They submit the story for review, then me and a few others review it, fix up any errors etc, then mark it as published.

However, whoever it is that marks it as published - that's the username that shows up as posting it on the forum. Even on Wordpress, and in the story itself where it lists author it lists the original author, but because we're approving it, it shows up on vb as the person that approved it.

Jafo232 01-11-2008 06:42 PM

Hmm, I don't think there is a way around it at the moment unless you manually change it in VB.. When 3.7 is released, I will look into it..

vbem2 01-13-2008 05:45 AM

Nevermind, I figured it out, great plug-in!

d8tabyte 01-14-2008 02:05 PM

Is there any way to make it so it remembers the forum it was posted into when you edit?

Every time I edit I have to go back and re-select the forum and because I have multiple authors, this can sometimes get confusing.

Also - It seems to always post under my name (the admin) and not the person who made the article - is this something I have wrong in the settings?

CyberRanger 01-14-2008 03:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by d8tabyte (Post 1421240)
Is there any way to make it so it remembers the forum it was posted into when you edit?

There's not right now but that would be a great enhancement. I think what's really needed is that if the article is already posted to a forum, you are only shown the forum it's posted in and asked if you want to update the posting when you save the article.

Quote:

Originally Posted by d8tabyte (Post 1421240)
Also - It seems to always post under my name (the admin) and not the person who made the article - is this something I have wrong in the settings?

It's going to post using the name of that you are signed into vbulletin with.

HunteRRosE 01-15-2008 04:45 AM

Hey guys! No complaints here! Everything is running smoothly again.

Does anyone know how I could display only the latest post? or the last 5 posts... or something, instead of it displaying all of the posts as the comments.

Real quick this is what I ended up doing:

I am basically using this plugin so that my posts are automatically created in the forums. On my post it basically says "Discuss in the forums...", with a link to the post. Underneath I have used the built-in comment system. Above it I want to list the latest posts in the forums on the topic.

HunteRRosE 01-15-2008 04:48 AM

Oh yeah... a little off topic, but I am using an AJAX comment system and have edited the comments so they post in reverse order (newest comments on top). However when you post your comment it posts it underneath until you refresh the page. Anyone know how to fix that?

HunteRRosE 01-18-2008 02:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HunteRRosE (Post 1421728)
Oh yeah... a little off topic, but I am using an AJAX comment system and have edited the comments so they post in reverse order (newest comments on top). However when you post your comment it posts it underneath until you refresh the page. Anyone know how to fix that?

nm figured it out

Apfelfrucht 01-18-2008 12:21 PM

Hi Jafo,

Could you convert or transform your hack not for WordPress but for ExpressionEngine, please ? :)

I hope that's possible,

Regards!

beernuts 01-20-2008 09:34 AM

I hate to ask without having read the whole thread, but I've gone through a dozen or so pages and haven't found an answer so, a couple questions I have if you don't mind:

1. I've searched for a solid hour, and cannot figure out how to turn off the New User Registration notice Emails that I get every time a new user is created by the bridge. Is there an easy solution to turn this off?

2. On the Write Post page, in the "Select Forum To Post To" box, authors and contributors can see ALL the forums on my site, not just the forums they have access to. Forums they specifically are disallowed access to show up in the list. Is there any way to prevent this?

Thanks for your time, and if these questions have been asked a hundred times, I apologize.

This add on is amazing and does everything I want. :up:

LBSources 01-20-2008 08:29 PM

Jafo .

I'm preparing to use a WP plugin called WP-Sticky.. I asked the developer if he thought there might be a conflict using it since I'm using the VBridge.

His response was

Quote:

WP-Sticky will conflict with any plugins that modifies the WordPress main SQL query
So.. does VBridge do modify the query at all??

Thanks Jafo..

LBSources 01-22-2008 08:19 AM

Nevermind.. I backed up the DB and went for it and all is well ..

mr. bowes 01-24-2008 05:26 PM

Thanks for the great work on this plugin.

After installing, I have a few questions.

#1) When I create a post using Wordpress, a new thread is auto added to the vbulletin forum. When I create a new thread in vBulletin, the thread is not added to the wordpress blog. I was hoping to use vBulletin as the comment engine. Any help on this would be appreciated.

#2) How do you enable the Comments link on Wordpress posts to link to the approrpaite vBulletin thread?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jafo232 01-24-2008 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mr. bowes (Post 1428086)
#1) When I create a post using Wordpress, a new thread is auto added to the vbulletin forum. When I create a new thread in vBulletin, the thread is not added to the wordpress blog. I was hoping to use vBulletin as the comment engine. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Of course it isn't added to the blog. If you follow the template instructions, you will get an answer to both of your questions.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mr. bowes (Post 1428086)
#2) How do you enable the Comments link on Wordpress posts to link to the approrpaite vBulletin thread?

Thanks in advance for the help.


LICryptkeeper 01-25-2008 09:44 PM

I, too, get a blank page when trying to post after installing this, running vb 3.6.8 and 2.3.2 WP,

LICryptkeeper 01-25-2008 09:50 PM

I've tried turning off the plugin, and I can post again. I've tried turning off the vb hooks and plugins, and it does nothing.

all other WP plugins are off.

Blackhat 01-26-2008 08:51 PM

does anyone use this and vb 3.7beta and how does it work for you ?

LICryptkeeper 01-28-2008 04:47 PM

I've tried reinstalling it and installing it again, and it still does not allow me to post.

one other thing, the forums ar in mysite.com/forums and the wordpress is in mysite.com/wp, the part to forums from wp is /../forums, right?

WEBclay 01-28-2008 06:27 PM

Hey Jafo

Not quite sure if somebody else is having this issue since I didn't found anything related. Okay I use the mod mainly to display an article on the frontpage as on the forums as well without having it to write twice :) Now I also use vB for the comments and here we got a problem. As long as nobody write a comment the single.php wordpress site looks good. But as soon as somebody do a reply the site (single.php) from my wordpress get screwed up and is totally messed.

Any ideas what that could be?

Jafo232 01-30-2008 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LICryptkeeper (Post 1430960)
I've tried reinstalling it and installing it again, and it still does not allow me to post.

one other thing, the forums ar in mysite.com/forums and the wordpress is in mysite.com/wp, the part to forums from wp is /../forums, right?


No, just /forums.

Jafo232 01-30-2008 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WEBclay (Post 1431058)
B]But[/B] as soon as somebody do a reply the site (single.php) from my wordpress get screwed up and is totally messed.

Any ideas what that could be?

I have no idea especially since I have absolutely no clue on what you mean by "my wordpress get screwed up and is totally messed".

Could that be that all of a sudden a picture of sex in the mud shows up on your screen? Does it mean a million SQL errors show themselves? Could it be [enter any one of the millions of things your vague description could entail here]..

LICryptkeeper 01-30-2008 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1432400)
No, just /forums.

changing it to /forums only removes all forums in the "post comments in this forum:" feild in the post area. remember, /forums is not relative to my wordpress installation, /../forums is.

I still get a blank page, even uncommenting the hooks:true line in the php file.

Jafo232 01-30-2008 03:54 PM

If you get a blank page, check your error log and see if an error message was thrown.

WEBclay 01-30-2008 04:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1432401)
I have no idea especially since I have absolutely no clue on what you mean by "my wordpress get screwed up and is totally messed".

Could that be that all of a sudden a picture of sex in the mud shows up on your screen? Does it mean a million SQL errors show themselves? Could it be [enter any one of the millions of things your vague description could entail here]..

It means that the layout of my website is broken after someone wrote a reply in the forums. That is the only that doesn't work right now.

CyberRanger 01-30-2008 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WEBclay (Post 1432545)
It means that the layout of my website is broken after someone wrote a reply in the forums. That is the only that doesn't work right now.

The formating of your comments section must be breaking the page. Be useful if you posted the code for your single.php file.

WEBclay 01-30-2008 04:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CyberRanger (Post 1432565)
The formating of your comments section must be breaking the page. Be useful if you posted the code for your single.php file.


Thanks I looked several times to the code but don't know where PHP stops to work...I will post the code maybe you can see something I couldn't

PHP Code:

<?php get_header(); ?>
<!--
***********************************************************************************************************
/* CONTENT
***********************************************************************************************************
-->
<div id="content_wrapper">
<div id="content_single">


<?php if (have_posts()) : while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>

<?php 
### Vbridge Call
$vbridge Comment_Handler($post->ID); 
###
?>

<div class="navigation">
<div class="alignleft"><?php previous_post_link('&laquo; %link'?></div>
<div class="alignright"><?php next_post_link('%link &raquo;'?></div>
</div>

<div class="post" id="post-<?php the_ID(); ?>">
<h2><a href="<?php echo get_permalink() ?>" rel="bookmark" title="Permanent Link: <?php the_title_attribute(); ?>"><?php the_title(); ?></a></h2>

<div class="entry">
<?php the_content('<p>Read the rest of this entry &raquo;</p>'); ?>
<?php
if ($vbridge[id] > 0) {
?>
Posted by: <a href=<?php echo get_option('vbb_VBURL'?>/member.php?u=<?php echo $vbridge[thread_starter?>><?php the_author() ?></a>

<?php
}
else {
the_author();
}
?>
<?php 
#### Vbridge Replacement code for comments

if ($vbridge[id] > 0) {
?>
<div class="comments">
<?php
if(is_single()) {
if (
is_array($vbridge[replies])) {
?>
<br /><br />
<h3 id="comments">Comments:</h3>
<ol class="commentlist">
<?php
foreach ($vbridge[replies] as $reply) {
?>

        <li class="<?php echo $oddcomment?>" id="comment-<?php comment_ID() ?>">
            <?php echo $vbridge[vb_parser]->do_parse($reply[pagetext], falsetrue); ?>
            <small class="commentmetadata">
            &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<img src="<?php bloginfo('stylesheet_directory'); ?>/images/comment_arr.gif" alt="" />


            by <cite> <a href=<?php echo get_option('vbb_VBURL'?>/member.php?u=<?php echo $reply[userid?>><?php echo $reply[username]; ?></a></cite>
             </small><br />
        </li>

    <?php /* Changes every other comment to a different class */    
        
if ('alt' == $oddcomment$oddcomment '';
        else 
$oddcomment 'alt';

}
}
?>
</ol>
<?php
}
?>
<a href=<?php echo get_option('vbb_VBURL'?>/showthread.php?t=<?php echo $vbridge[id?>>(<?php echo intval($vbridge[count]) ?>) comments</a> | <a href=<?php echo get_option('vbb_VBURL'?>/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&t=<?php echo $vbridge[id?>>Add your comments</a>
</div>
<?php
}
##End Vbridge Replacement
?>

<?php the_tags'<p>Tags: '', ''</p>'); ?>

<p class="postmetadata alt">
<small>
This entry was posted on <?php the_time('l, F jS, Y'?> at <?php the_time() ?> and is filed under <?php the_category(', '?>. You can follow any responses to this entry through the <?php comments_rss_link('RSS 2.0'); ?> feed.

<?php if (('open' == $post-> comment_status) && ('open' == $post->ping_status)) {
// Both Comments and Pings are open ?>
You can <a href="#respond">leave a response</a>, or <a href="<?php trackback_url(); ?>" rel="trackback">trackback</a> from your own site.

<?php } elseif (!('open' == $post-> comment_status) && ('open' == $post->ping_status)) {
// Only Pings are Open ?>
Responses are currently closed, but you can <a href="<?php trackback_url(); ?> " rel="trackback">trackback</a> from your own site.

<?php } elseif (('open' == $post-> comment_status) && !('open' == $post->ping_status)) {
// Comments are open, Pings are not ?>
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

<?php } elseif (!('open' == $post-> comment_status) && !('open' == $post->ping_status)) {
// Neither Comments, nor Pings are open ?>
Both comments and pings are currently closed.

<?php edit_post_link('Edit this entry.','',''); ?>
</small>
</p>

</div>
</div>

<?php endwhile; else: ?>

<p>Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.</p>

<?php endif; ?>

</div><!-- END CONTENT_SINGLE -->

<div id="content_single_right">
<br />
GOOGLE ADSENSE
</div><!-- END CONTENT_right -->

</div><!-- END CONTENT_WRAPPER -->    



<?php get_footer(); ?>


LICryptkeeper 01-30-2008 06:21 PM

I do not have access to my error log. I dont even have ftp access from work. anyways, I fooled around and got the post to show up, but no comments, i'm asuming thats goingt o work when i continue integration at home?

Jafo232 01-31-2008 01:12 AM

You must use the template edit for comments to show up.

WEBclay 01-31-2008 07:22 AM

You comments code is already there :) I just checked the readme and everything is fine...

pspcrazy 02-01-2008 11:49 PM

Jafo any word on the 3.7 plugin version? Still waiting on it if you let me know of any updates that would be most appreciated.

Jafo232 02-02-2008 01:20 AM

There will be no 3.7 version until 3.7 is released. I am not sure why everyone keeps asking this question. They should not be running 3.7 in production yet..

pspcrazy 02-02-2008 04:17 AM

There are many production type sites running 3.7.0 such as vbseo.com, and so on and they aren't exactly crashing or having issues. That's why were using 3.7.0 Jafo :)

superjeff 02-02-2008 11:04 AM

Plugin don't work with beta 4.. :(

Jafo232 02-02-2008 03:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by superjeff (Post 1434516)
Plugin don't work with beta 4.. :(

Duh, no kidding.. Way to read up the original thread plus the zillion times I responded to every other question about 3.7. You should not be using 3.7 anyway..

Jafo232 02-02-2008 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pspcrazy (Post 1434363)
There are many production type sites running 3.7.0 such as vbseo.com, and so on and they aren't exactly crashing or having issues. That's why were using 3.7.0 Jafo :)

It is still BETA. When data gets corrupted I laugh at those using BETA versions of software. And if you have ever looked at the unencrypted versions of vbseo, you can understand why they are running 3.7 in production already.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02001 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,885KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (16)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete