vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=242)
-   -   [HOW TO - vB4] Create a New Tab in the navbar (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=226914)

cellarius 03-17-2010 11:34 AM

All you need to create a dropdown is there in the code from first post in this thread:
HTML Code:

                            <li class="popupmenu">
                                <a href="javascript://" class="popupctrl">Drop Down</a>
                                <ul class="popupbody popuphover">
                                        <li><a href="sublink1.php">SubLink 1</a></li>
                                        <li><a href="sublink2.php">SubLink 2</a></li>
                                        <li><a href="sublink3.php">SubLink 3</a></li>
                                </ul>
                            </li>


pant 03-17-2010 11:36 AM

Right see all people really want is a button on the navbar saying what's going on. What would I have to do for that?

Lynne 03-17-2010 02:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pant (Post 2005450)
Right see all people really want is a button on the navbar saying what's going on. What would I have to do for that?

There are several different articles/mods for the navtabs and submenu. If all you want is another button on the submenu, then you should go to Allan's tutorial. If all you want is a navtab, then there are modifications to do that.

steven s 03-29-2010 12:18 AM

I've used portions of this article which worked great through 4.0.2pl2.
Now with pl4 I don't see the selections of the link until I hover over it.

Problem with Firefox Mac and PC.
Anyone else having this problem?

SOLVED: Reverted template.

Yonatan 03-30-2010 09:05 PM

And what if I want to link into section like:
Code:

content.php?r=5
instead of clean php page?

jacx 03-31-2010 01:24 AM

Ok chaps...please please please do not bite my head off.

I understand the basics of this and Lynne thank you for producing this guide.

What im not understanding is how to link offsite.

For example our site has a number of facebook games...we produce them (dont hate me).

I want to be able to link to those sites.

Now currently I use: vBH - Add new tabs 1.2 1.2 This plugin adds new tabs to the main navbar

this is of course fine and dandy...however till you get to the issue of screen size. People with smaller screens end up with squished nav buttons.

example http://forum.clipwiregames.com/forum.php if u use half screen u will notice all the additional tabs get squished.

Now i did a couple of test tabs using Lynnes setup and they did not, it worked perfect.

Thus my only issue is understanding how to make the links not internal php links but external.

thanks ...hopefully i made myself semi clear.

Lynne 03-31-2010 03:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Yonatan (Post 2013101)
And what if I want to link into section like:
Code:

content.php?r=5
instead of clean php page?

Why couldn't you link to that?

Quote:

Originally Posted by jacx (Post 2013194)
Ok chaps...please please please do not bite my head off.

I understand the basics of this and Lynne thank you for producing this guide.

What im not understanding is how to link offsite.

For example our site has a number of facebook games...we produce them (dont hate me).

I want to be able to link to those sites.

Now currently I use: vBH - Add new tabs 1.2 1.2 This plugin adds new tabs to the main navbar

this is of course fine and dandy...however till you get to the issue of screen size. People with smaller screens end up with squished nav buttons.

example http://forum.clipwiregames.com/forum.php if u use half screen u will notice all the additional tabs get squished.

Now i did a couple of test tabs using Lynnes setup and they did not, it worked perfect.

Thus my only issue is understanding how to make the links not internal php links but external.

thanks ...hopefully i made myself semi clear.

Instead of:
PHP Code:

<a href="/page.php">A page on your site</a

do:
PHP Code:

<a href="http://www.anothersite.com/page">A page on another site</a


Yonatan 03-31-2010 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 2013240)
Why couldn't you link to that?

I did it. but the problem is that when I press in this button the navbar still selects the Forum tab, because I can't do a condition in this section:
PHP Code:

if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'yourpage')
{

    
$vbulletin->options['selectednavtab']='unique_name';
    
$tabselected ' class="selected"';




cellarius 03-31-2010 10:11 AM

If you're linking to a site outsiede vB, it does not make much sense to show a tab as highlighted. You simply don't need that part.

Yonatan 03-31-2010 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cellarius (Post 2013369)
If you're linking to a site outsiede vB, it does not make much sense to show a tab as highlighted. You simply don't need that part.

I linking to section in vBulletin!


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02970 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,753KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete