vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Users Choose Username Font/Color Posts (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93099)

Flow Fusion 10-13-2005 11:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flypaper
I use postbit_legacy and $post[musername] appears twice (unless I have it in there twice from some other hack...). I'll figure it out, but you may want to update the instructions...


Yeah I also use postbit_legacy and I don't know how to make this work. Any help?

fly 10-13-2005 11:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flow Fusion
Yeah I also use postbit_legacy and I don't know how to make this work. Any help?

Looks like I replaced both of them with:

HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['field7'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[field7]">$post[musername]</font>
        <else />
$post[musername]
</if>


Flow Fusion 10-13-2005 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by flypaper
Looks like I replaced both of them with:

HTML Code:

<if condition="$post['field7'] != '' ">
<font style="color:$post[field7]">$post[musername]</font>
        <else />
$post[musername]
</if>


Nope, any other ideas?

fly 10-13-2005 12:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flow Fusion
Nope, any other ideas?

Worked for me. Did you replace 'field7' with your field number?

Flow Fusion 10-13-2005 01:49 PM

Yup my field is 18.

fly 10-13-2005 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flow Fusion
Yup my field is 18.

Then I have no idea. :P

btw, Mine is only for color, so its a little different than the OP...

davidw 10-18-2005 05:27 PM

* christianb clicks install with modifications

Instead of having users type in the choice, I chose to make it a drop-down box (much easier)

weaver 10-18-2005 10:26 PM

Code:

<if condition="$post['fieldx'] != '' ">
<font style="font-family:$post[fieldx]; color:$post[fieldx];">$post[musername]</font>
        <else />
$post[musername]
</if>

If I'm understanding this step correctly then isn't this only checking either font or color in that first line before executing? What if I put my color selection's profile field number in the bolded area, but one of my users only has a font style selected without color? Won't this skip the check for a font selection?

I apologize if I'm misunderstanding this step.

ETA: That seems to be the way it is working. I had a color selected but not a font. The profile field ID I used in the bolded conditional statement was for font. Since I didn't have a font selected it skipped over my color selection.

Chad F. 10-22-2005 09:18 AM

Anyone know how to get this to show up in the whos online??

davidw 10-22-2005 11:04 AM

That's what I'm wanting to know too :D

davidw 11-01-2005 09:58 AM

Idea #1 - Show up in Who's Online

Idea #2 - Show up in Online Users in VBAdvanced

Idea #3 - Set everyone's font/color to a default - remove the if conditional :P

a123 11-12-2005 01:19 PM

please integrate this hack with ucash. So people can use poins to buy colored thread!!!

o1dirtydog 12-05-2005 08:21 PM

this is nice... thanx for putting it up

MentaL 12-19-2005 12:32 AM

How do i limit this to numerous usergrps plz? such as subscribers and mods.

Cheers

Tralala 03-09-2006 05:33 PM

I'd like a similar hack: automatically make their username green when they are online. Or make it GLOW !



And black (or red) when they are offline.

That'd be slick as hell, and much cleaner than the "status" dot.

hotwheels 03-20-2006 12:30 PM

This is a great idea and my member's have asked for this, but i just can't get this to function........dang it.

All i want is the color choice. I have set this up in postbit-legacy and there is absolutely no change at all......just stay's dark blue.

K, i got it working in postbit-legacy. Is there anyway to get this to work globably? Right now the color only show's in the thread made by the member.........thanks

EvilKitty 08-02-2007 04:46 PM

So, does anyone know how to make this function in 3.6.5?

TCE Killa 01-11-2008 07:06 PM

Can someone update this for 3.6.8 because it doesn't work? Thanks.

WrestlingAcadem 01-30-2008 05:12 AM

It works for 3.6.8 just fine.

WNM07 04-12-2008 12:33 PM

works with 3.6.9 just fine also.

is there an easy way to make this show on the front page / whos online/ and in chatbox?

WNM07 04-12-2008 12:50 PM

there's got to be a username markup that will pick up on the profile field and at the same time
keep the username color on the missing places like whos online / chatbox etc

USAMustangs.com 03-15-2010 04:53 AM

I did this hack on my forum. I am running vB 3.6.5 (I know it's old, but I have reasons as for why I do not wish to update at the moment).

I primarily use Firefox, but I just recently noticed that Internet Explorer (default settings) is displaying my post reply text in green instead of the default white. My default settings are for Verdana white text. And that is how it displays in Firefox, which is correct per my settings. However, in IE it displays the same font style, but in green text. And I've had other members state that it also displays in green when they view it from a PDA/Phone.

Any idea's on what the problem could be? Could it be related to this particular template modification?

Any help would be appreciated.

- Thanks.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01292 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,765KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (22)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete