vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   AJAX: check if username exists on registration in realtime (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=81531)

Sebastian 05-16-2005 12:15 AM

cool hack... unfortunately i hate javascript with passion.. moreso, it doesn't work on all browsers which is the main reason i avoid it (javascript).

CompuJonathan 05-16-2005 12:51 AM

Thanks guys, got it working now. I just deleted the phrase and re added it...didn't try doing the English translation. Great work, love it!

T3MEDIA has a great suggestion, it would be very cool if we could just jack the entire signup process with this, would save the users a lot of time when they make 1 simple error in the referral and ect.

Again, excellent!
- Jonathan

defi 05-16-2005 01:37 AM

Works excellent!

/me clicks install

JulianD 05-16-2005 02:15 AM

Great hack! :)

I made some modifications to your code, creating another php file (I don't need to load vB permissions and sessions just to check for the username) and modifying the javascript so it only checks the username if it's longer than 3 chars.

[high]* JulianD clicks install![/high]

dsboyce8624 05-16-2005 03:28 AM

As somebody who has only been doing this for a couple weeks, I'd like to make a suggestion. Take it for what it's worth.

I've grown accustomed to very noticable markers in the instructions for file/template changes. Meaning when it's time to start editing a different document.

Yours is great, and the hack is great, but the first time through I added a whole lot of the instructions to the register.php file by accident.

Yes, I'm an idiot. But, THERE ARE LOTS OF US!

So to save yourself lots of extra posts, you might want to edit that a bit.

Dennis

MrNase 05-16-2005 08:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimpsEd
Does this add aa query with every key press, then?

No it doesn't. It checks for the username when the user is done with typing in the username and proceeding to a new input field.
I would like to see how fast this one works with +20k members but it should not be that slow because it's just one simple query.


dsboyce8624: Thank you for this advice. I'll do so as soon as I got more time on my hands.. :bandit:

Marco van Herwaarden 05-16-2005 08:58 AM

Try to edit ANY phrase using the normal ACP tooling. (just save it, no need for a real edit)

nexialys 05-16-2005 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrNase
I would like to see how fast this one works with +20k members but it should not be that slow because it's just one simple query.

for the ones that are asking, even if you have 20 000 users on your board, this process is not slower, and does not ask a lot of server power, because it's just reading one table WHEN someone register, not each time someone fill a form... your 20 000 members are not registering at the same moment... this is the same query that is called when someone login, or change his name, or send a pm, etc... please don't imagine strange behaviors when there is none...

MrNase 05-16-2005 11:51 AM

It isn't you are right :)

But this script is checking wether a username exists or not. With +20k users it may take half a second before the person who registers is seeing that message :)

Christine 05-16-2005 12:35 PM

I have right at 16,000 members and it took less than a nano-second when I tabbed off the field. This was with 300 users online at the time.

T3MEDIA 05-16-2005 12:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CompuJonathan
Thanks guys, got it working now. I just deleted the phrase and re added it...didn't try doing the English translation. Great work, love it!

T3MEDIA has a great suggestion, it would be very cool if we could just jack the entire signup process with this, would save the users a lot of time when they make 1 simple error in the referral and ect.

Again, excellent!
- Jonathan

Think they will take me up on it? Its about 3 other fields using the same idea. You should ask for this mod though you may get a better response.

I have a site with 21k on it and it went a bit slow. (slow as in not just poping up instantly). you need to keep in mind the users online that are doing god knows what.... and this site had the arcade going on... resource monster. around 1g online prime time.

CompuJonathan 05-16-2005 11:52 PM

T3,
Yeah, I'm not really sure how much extra work it would take to turn make that work for the password/email/referral field. But I hope it can be done and that they will do it for us! :o

I don't allow ASCII characters and other things on my forum, it would be too cool if it could tell them "No ASCII allowed" if they do use it.

Question: After a tab into a different filed on the sign up, an error comes up saying that 'submit' is null or not an object?

Thanks!
- Jonathan

Oblivion Knight 05-17-2005 05:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CompuJonathan
Question: After a tab into a different filed on the sign up, an error comes up saying that 'submit' is null or not an object?

This was fixed here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....7&postcount=23

:)

CompuJonathan 05-17-2005 11:00 PM

This is the way I have mine, but I still get the submit error. :ermm:

HTML Code:

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[complete_registration]" accesskey="s" name="submitform" /><input type="reset" class="button" name="Reset" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" />

MrNase 05-18-2005 03:49 AM

Can you pm me with the url to your forums please? :)

MrNase 05-18-2005 08:55 AM

I checked your code three times and couldn't point out where the error was so here's another solution to this. I hope this one solves it.

open ajax_checkusername.js and replace:

Code:

submit    = document.register.submitform;
with
Code:

submit    = document.getElementById('submitform');
and change (in the template 'register') this:

Code:

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[complete_registration]" accesskey="s" name="submitform" /><input type="reset" class="button" name="Reset" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" />
to this:
Code:

<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[complete_registration]" accesskey="s" id="submitform" /><input type="reset" class="button" name="Reset" value="$vbphrase[reset_fields]" />

Please try that and tell me if it's working :)

__________________________________________________ ___

Here's another solution that came up after some google searches.
Open ajax_checkusername.js and replace:
Code:

function checkName(input, response)
{
  if (response != ''){
    // Response mode
    message  = document.getElementById('nameCheckFailed');
    submit    = document.register.submitform;
   
    if (response == 1){
      message.className = 'registererror';
      submit.disabled = true;
    }else{
      message.className = 'registererrorhidden';
      submit.disabled = false;
    }
  }else{
    // Input mode
    url  = 'register.php?do=checkusername&username=' + input;
    loadXMLDoc(url);
  }

}

with:
Code:

function checkName(input, response)
{
  if (response != ''){
    // Response mode
  var message  = document.getElementById('nameCheckFailed');
  var submit    = document.register.submitform;
   
    if (response == 1){
      message.className = 'registererror';
      submit.disabled = true;
    }else{
      message.className = 'registererrorhidden';
      submit.disabled = false;
    }
  }else{
    // Input mode
    url  = 'register.php?do=checkusername&username=' + input;
    loadXMLDoc(url);
  }

}


This error seems pretty strange to me since the same code is working fine for me :)

Zero Tolerance 05-18-2005 09:32 AM

MrNase - I'm assuming the 'register' in the JS is the name of the form? I would advise using:
Code:

document.forms['register']
To call the object, it seems more browser compliant. :)

- Zero Tolerance

CompuJonathan 05-18-2005 09:27 PM

MrNase,
Brilliant! The first fix fixed it! :)

Great job! :banana:

MrNase 05-19-2005 11:35 AM

Just like Zero Tolerance said: Somehow he didn't select the submit button.. And this was necessary to disable it :)

Iam glad it's working. What browser are you using btw. ?

CompuJonathan 05-19-2005 11:51 PM

Internet Explorer 6.0

Thanks again!
- Jonathan

T3MEDIA 05-24-2005 05:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrNase
Just like Zero Tolerance said: Somehow he didn't select the submit button.. And this was necessary to disable it :)

Iam glad it's working. What browser are you using btw. ?

Has this been updated to relect these fixes?

I will ask but if you dont want to please tell me here.
Can you do this as well for the referrer?

Users put peoples names in and if its spelled wrong they get an error and dont read properly and assume its their name that is invalid.

If not thanks.

sv1cec 06-08-2005 12:02 PM

One question for the ignorants. Why are the phrases added in language 0 and not in -1?

Thank you.

Snake 06-22-2005 10:26 AM

Will this be available for 3.5?

sketch42 07-15-2005 12:35 AM

is it possible to have the output generate a similiar username that is available or would that add to many queries?

sketch42 07-19-2005 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sketch42
is it possible to have the output generate a similiar username that is available or would that add to many queries?

so is it possible??


[high]* sketch42 clickity clicks install[/high]

MrNase 07-20-2005 09:45 AM

I had this working for one hour or two.. But that produced some funny usernames :D

It is possible but I don't release it as an addon to this vB 3 version. I'll port the hack over to vB 3.5 and I *may* include a username generator once I figured out how to make usable usernames ;)

paul41598 07-20-2005 12:21 PM

Not sure I understand this hack. Does VB 3.0.7 not already check upon registration if a username already exists?

Please advise, otherwise, nice hack ;)

MrNase 07-20-2005 06:04 PM

It does, but my the default system the user get's the error message after clicking 'submit'.

With this hack he gets an error message instantly after entering the username. I basically eleminates the need of going back one page to enter a new username when the current one is already registered :)

slank 09-14-2005 09:08 PM

gotta love ajax...clicking install now ;)

Xtrato 11-15-2005 07:18 PM

can i use vb3.5 with this???

Snake 12-26-2005 12:06 PM

Works on 3.5.2?

Snake 01-04-2006 04:31 PM

Hello?

Jolten 03-06-2006 10:00 PM

Well I can't get it to function with 3.0.6. No errors or anything, just no functionality for AJAX.

Chirag patel 06-25-2006 07:47 PM

Does this work on 3.5.X?

Or can someone point me to some direction to get this working on 3.5.X please.........?!?!?!?!?

I followed all the instructions but it is still not working. I am sure that I did everything right. I am using 3.5.4


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01296 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,819KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (34)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete