vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Profile Enhancements - Friendster style hyperlinked profile fields (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=61077)

KTBleeding 12-06-2004 09:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zennation
Took the code and hacked it so it should be able to search checkboxes etc...

Let me know if any problems...

Sorry, I'm not exactly sure what you mean?

buro9 12-06-2004 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KTBleeding
Sorry, I'm not exactly sure what you mean?

In my original code I had this line:
Code:

$profileLinks[$ii] = '<a href="'.$vboptions[bburl].'/memberlist.php?do=getall&'.$profilefieldname.'='.urlencode(trim($profileLinks[$ii])).'">'.$profileLinks[$ii].'</a>';
But that only hyperlinked text profile fields.

If someone defined select list or check box based profile fields, then these I believe were knackered and broken.

So zennation has added a set of nested if's to determine the type and act accordingly:
Code:

            if ($profilefield['type'] == 'checkbox' || $profilefield['type'] == 'select_multiple' ) {
                        if ($profilefield['type'] == 'checkbox') {
                                $profileLinks[$ii] = '<a href="'.$vboptions[bburl].'/memberlist.php?do=getall&'.$profilefieldname.'[]='.$profileLinks2[$ii].'">'.trim($profileLinks[$ii]).'</a>';                                                       
                        } else {
                                $profileLinks[$ii] = '<a href="'.$vboptions[bburl].'/memberlist.php?do=getall&'.$profilefieldname.'='.$profileLinks2[$ii].'">'.trim($profileLinks[$ii]).'</a>';                                                       
                        }               
            } else {   
                $profileLinks[$ii] = '<a href="'.$vboptions[bburl].'/memberlist.php?do=getall&'.$profilefieldname.'='.urlencode(trim($profileLinks[$ii])).'">'.$profileLinks[$ii].'</a>';               
            }

Which is a nice fix :)

KTBleeding 12-07-2004 01:40 PM

Ohhh, I see. Good job, zennation.

T3MEDIA 12-11-2004 11:11 PM

I installed this and what happens...

The 1st, 2,3,4 and 5th parts just go to a default member search. like all users from the begining. after that it saerches properly.
that is gender, race, location (state) and location country.

what gives? if I do anything else works like a charm. attached is what areas I mean.

T3MEDIA 12-17-2004 03:01 PM

Help? would love to know whats up!

MikaK 12-21-2004 11:16 AM

*clicks install* I noticed the multiple selection menu should be coded. Otherwise - very cool:)

-Mika

T3MEDIA 12-23-2004 04:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikaK
*clicks install* I noticed the multiple selection menu should be coded. Otherwise - very cool:)

-Mika

any idea on how?

MikaK 12-23-2004 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
any idea on how?

Very not:( Sorry...

Mika

T3MEDIA 12-30-2004 01:38 PM

ummm what about the people who installed this already?
>sigh< never mind... peace.

T3MEDIA 12-30-2004 02:05 PM

Doesnt work. I hit Im from New York its showing me people from Texas.
Did you try this first?
take a look yourself www.sprnch.com hit preview the site.
no mods nothing else to it.
just a straight copy and paste.

Nordinho 12-30-2004 02:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
Doesnt work. I hit Im from New York its showing me people from Texas.
Did you try this first?
take a look yourself www.sprnch.com hit preview the site.
no mods nothing else to it.
just a straight copy and paste.

I have to some problem with multiple selection boxes...f.e searching on male shows male and female results....

T3MEDIA 01-09-2005 06:55 PM

bump?

Nordinho 01-09-2005 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
bump?

bump as well ;)

T3MEDIA 01-18-2005 12:38 AM

:devious: Emmmmmm BUMP!

buro9 01-18-2005 05:46 PM

As I said earlier in the thread, I don't use select lists or checkboxes.

zennation created a fix for that in this post:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....0&postcount=40

Did you give that a try?

If that didn't fix it, then have you tried looking at the data and modifying it yourself? I'm happy to merge back into the hack any fixes for such issues. However, as I don't have a use of that functionality and don't wish to install a test vBulleting to test and create something that I don't use, I'm don't have the fix for you.

T3MEDIA 01-18-2005 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by buro9
As I said earlier in the thread, I don't use select lists or checkboxes.

zennation created a fix for that in this post:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....0&postcount=40

Did you give that a try?

If that didn't fix it, then have you tried looking at the data and modifying it yourself? I'm happy to merge back into the hack any fixes for such issues. However, as I don't have a use of that functionality and don't wish to install a test vBulleting to test and create something that I don't use, I'm don't have the fix for you.

nah... Im select lists.
oh well.

buro9 01-18-2005 05:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
nah... Im select lists.
oh well.

Damn that was a fast response!

Have you been living on here waiting for that?

T3MEDIA 01-23-2005 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by buro9
Damn that was a fast response!

Have you been living on here waiting for that?

You have no idea....

trackpads 01-25-2005 01:29 AM

By far an excellent hack!! Thanks!

T3MEDIA 01-25-2005 09:55 PM

can anyone get a workaround for this to work with the other options in the profile field like country???

T3MEDIA 01-28-2005 09:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikaK
*clicks install* I noticed the multiple selection menu should be coded. Otherwise - very cool:)

-Mika

anyone has fixed this part yet? Or can? Thanks.

T3MEDIA 02-27-2005 05:42 PM

bump

ikastara 03-09-2005 04:56 AM

hemm.. bump... ??
any way to do this on memberlist page ??

Hanif 04-05-2005 10:08 PM

hiya folks I'm looking for a hack that helps me cary out something like this:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...484#post636484

any takers?

Hanif

T3MEDIA 04-06-2005 12:50 AM

take a look at this link http://www.bpcompanion.com/forums/member.php?u=22034
http://www.bpcompanion.com/forums/vi...g=basic_search

Nordinho 04-07-2005 09:48 PM

the basic search looks really nice...could you enlighten us on how to achieve that??

T3MEDIA 04-07-2005 10:01 PM

I used webtemplate hack and did some mods. I am not trying to be an ass but if you want the hack I can relase it but I didnt because its bits n pieces.

Nordinho 04-08-2005 12:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T3MEDIA
I used webtemplate hack and did some mods. I am not trying to be an ass but if you want the hack I can relase it but I didnt because its bits n pieces.

I wouldn't mind figuring out the bits and pieces ;)

T3MEDIA 04-26-2005 07:52 PM

pm me.

Exitilus 05-28-2005 09:43 PM

Anyone ever figure out how to get the hack to work with lists?

mfarmerhi 05-29-2005 06:32 AM

Great hack. Works as advertised. (clicks install)

Only thing is, a search on the location (say "WA" for Washington) brings up ANY location with "wa" in it (e.g. Cornwall, Norway, etc.)

Any way to prevent that and only get [nothing in front]wa[nothing in back]?

T3MEDIA 06-15-2005 04:25 AM

No. That is the only thing that doesnt work and I think the idea of the hack has been abanndoned. Plus there is a new vb so I dont think this will be fixed. I know a few users are not going 3.5 but I dont think that will help the cause.

igoocom 06-24-2005 04:55 AM

works great on my site- nice job!

igoocom 06-24-2005 08:21 PM

quick question - worked well but now my user search screen allows for searches along all the fields (e.g. Favorite Books) I specified. Any way to keep the Friendster link function but remove these fields from the Search screen?

commTRU 08-21-2005 10:19 PM

Igoocom, you need to go into the Profile Field in the CP and select No for Show on Members List. Not sure if that'll help, but give it a try anyway >_>

The hack is wonderful, but doesn't seem to work with Radio Buttons. I'll have a fiddle with the code later to see if I can get it to work, but for now, I've made my Gender field into a checkbox (Which does work) and set it so a member can only select one checkbox :)

goodwillstacy 10-04-2005 04:17 AM

Are you planning on releasing this for 3.5? I would be so happy if you did! :D :D :D
My users love this!
stacy

sarpicaste 10-10-2005 11:22 PM

I second the previous post, I think if you can realising this for 3.5 will be great!

buro9 10-11-2005 04:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sarpicaste
I second the previous post, I think if you can realising this for 3.5 will be great!

I've got a straight port to vb 3.5 done, and I can publish that immediately.

I still don't use multi-select fields, etc... so I've added a bit to prevent it being used for non 'input' fields. Would be nice if someone who does use multi-select fields, etc could donate the code for that so I can publish that too.

Anyhow... I'll publish the straight port as that will solve the needs of those who just want to migrate it.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01470 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,817KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (38)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete