vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Member Archives (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=202)
-   -   [Release] - Mist's Hackless Quick Reply (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=56834)

chrisz 03-24-2003 09:32 AM

thnx mist very simple which is what I like

Nexus[l33t] 03-24-2003 01:22 PM

thanks Mist, i like this alot.

Dean C 03-24-2003 03:32 PM

Your Welcome guys :)

- miSt

Boofo 03-24-2003 03:47 PM

Quote:

03-06-03 at 11:36 AM Mist said this in Post #33
Change:

PHP Code:

cols="110" 

To whatever you wish... play around with it... firefly's hack judges the textarea width by calling a function. You can't call functions in templates unforunately... try using 60

- miSt

Or you could use $textareacols

Dean C 03-25-2003 04:02 PM

Tis not a global variable is it?

Boofo 03-25-2003 04:08 PM

Add this in your code and it would work for your hack. ;)

$textareacols = gettextareawidth();

Dean C 03-25-2003 06:11 PM

Ahhh but that requires hacking buddy ;)

This is the template mods forum :D

- miSt

Boofo 03-25-2003 08:36 PM

Quote:

Today at 02:11 PM Mist said this in Post #47
Ahhh but that requires hacking buddy ;)

This is the template mods forum :D

- miSt

I know. Add the $textareacols to your template mod. ;)

Dean C 03-26-2003 03:51 PM

Hehe but it is not defined in showthread.php - that's what the hack does. That's one of the two disadvantages of using a template mod. With conditionals this can be done easily :)

- miSt

Boofo 03-26-2003 05:42 PM

But that is what I use for Firefly's Quick reply Box that is a separate template. Why wouldn't it work in the showthread template as well? ;)

Brad 03-27-2003 10:09 AM

Quote:

Ahhh but that requires hacking buddy
use phpinclude then.

Dean C 03-27-2003 03:33 PM

Boofo - look at firefly's code...

That code you posted is part of the code added in the hack (IIRC)....

Loo - i refuse to embark on all this phpinclude stuff ;)

- miSt

Brad 03-28-2003 09:44 AM

Quote:

Loo - i refuse to embark on all this phpinclude stuff
Well then, if you dont mind ill post the code ;). Anyone looking to use the $textareacols add this on a new line in phpinclude:

PHP Code:

if (strpos($_SERVER['PHP_SELF'], 'showthread.php') != false)
{
$textareacols gettextareawidth();


Find in the showthread template:

Code:

cols="110"
Change to:

Code:

cols="$textareacols"

Dean C 03-28-2003 03:45 PM

Thanks for posting Loo but im upset that people use the phpinclude so much now :(

- miSt

Boofo 03-29-2003 03:02 AM

But things like this is exactly what it is there for. It makes coding alot easier. ;)

Anjie 03-29-2003 07:26 AM

Just wanted to say thank you! This works really well, and has added much to my forum.
***installed happily! :)

Dean C 03-29-2003 11:50 AM

Boofo - i know (it's just my principles ;))

Anjie - your welcome :)

- miSt

richp21 04-10-2003 04:06 PM

great hack thanks
/me installed and working fine in 2.3.0

raxafarian 04-10-2003 11:20 PM

works great!!

It does add some xtra lines underneath the persons post and sig. (like they hit return 8 or 9 times in their signature)... any way to remove them?

Pollo 04-10-2003 11:42 PM

If it added extra lines, you did something incorrect. Doesn't add extra lines on mine (and guessing anyone else's).

One thing about this (which would be nice if it was addressed), is that all users will see this quick reply box, whether they are logged in or not. I have to uninstall this as I've gotten complaints that users have not been logged in and have typed a message in the quick reply box, only to be redirected to the log-in page. Of course, when they hit back their message is gone. I need a quick reply that only shows if users are logged in, or at least alerts users that they are not logged in somehow so they won't type a message and lose it.

RAGE-UAE 04-11-2003 02:14 PM

Sweetness!! this thing roX

MentaL 04-11-2003 03:43 PM

i dont like it o_O..

Dean C 04-11-2003 04:09 PM

Hehe why not ;)? and thanks ;)

neocorteqz 04-16-2003 04:31 AM

small question, i asked this in the other thread.. Can this be made to be forum Specific? I only want specific Forums on the Board to be able to utilize this. I have a Spam forum so I can keep the Spam outta the other forums. I just want to utilize it in that forum, and maybe one or two others. Thanks.:)

This is a good mod IMO.:) and saves the file hacking, and possible pains of rehacking them if you make a mistake. Which I constantly do:D

Dean C 04-16-2003 10:10 AM

^^ This can be done either with the logician's dynamic templates hack or by hacking :)

- miSt

MentaL 04-16-2003 11:58 AM

Quote:

04-11-03 at 05:09 PM Mist said this in Post #63
Hehe why not ;)? and thanks ;)

if u ask me.. it should inc an option in control panel to have it turned on or off :)

just my idea...

Dean C 04-16-2003 03:27 PM

Yes but that requires hacking my friend - and this is a template modification ;)

- miSt

MentaL 04-16-2003 04:13 PM

anyone can modify a template :) a hack requires skill.. skill which i dont posses.. but im sure someone will make it since ive said it :)

Dean C 04-16-2003 04:59 PM

Yes but like i said - for that you should go to the hacked version of the quick reply thread :)

Brad 04-22-2003 11:19 PM

Quote:

04-16-03 at 12:31 AM User_001 said this in Post #64
small question, i asked this in the other thread.. Can this be made to be forum Specific? I only want specific Forums on the Board to be able to utilize this. I have a Spam forum so I can keep the Spam outta the other forums. I just want to utilize it in that forum, and maybe one or two others. Thanks.:)

This is a good mod IMO.:) and saves the file hacking, and possible pains of rehacking them if you make a mistake. Which I constantly do:D

This sould work.

Stick this in the phpinclude: (edit the forumids part)

PHP Code:

if (strpos($_SERVER['PHP_SELF'], 'showthread.php') != false)
{
$textareacols gettextareawidth();
$forumids "1"// forum ids quick reply will show in, seprate with comma's
if ($forumids==$forumid) {
eval(
"\$quickreply = \"".gettemplate("mist_quickreply")."\";");
} else { 
$quickreply "";
}


In the showthread template find:

Code:

<!-- first unread and next/prev -->
<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="95%"  align="center">
<tr>
        <td><smallfont>$pagenav&nbsp;</smallfont></td>
        <td align="right"><smallfont>
        <img src="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/images/prev.gif" alt="" border="0">
        <a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid&goto=nextoldest">Last Thread</a>
        &nbsp;
        <a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid&goto=nextnewest">Next Thread</a>
        <img src="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/images/next.gif" alt="" border="0">
        </smallfont></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- first unread and next/prev -->

Below that add:

Code:

$quickreply
Make a new template named mist_quickreply and populate it with:

Code:

<! -- hackless quick reply -->

<br />
<script language="javascript">
<!--
var postmaxchars = $postmaxchars;
function validate(theform) {
        if (theform.message.value=="") {
                alert("Please complete the message field.");
                return false; }
        if (postmaxchars != 0) {
                if (theform.message.value.length > $postmaxchars) {
                        alert("Your message is too long.\n\nReduce your message to $postmaxchars characters.\nIt is currently "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long.");
                        return false; }
                else { return true; }
        } else { return true; }
}
function checklength(theform) {
        if (postmaxchars != 0) { message = "\nThe maximum permitted length is $postmaxchars characters."; }
        else { message = ""; }
        alert("Your message is "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long."+message);
}
//-->
</script>


<table width="{contenttablewidth}" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0" border="1" style="border-collapse: collapse" bordercolor="{tablebordercolor}" {tableinvisibleextra} align="center" >
<tr>
<td bgcolor="{tableheadbgcolor}" colspan="2">
<normalfont color="{tableheadtextcolor}"><b>Post Reply:</b></normalfont>
</td>
</tr>


<tr valign="top">
<td width="20%" bgcolor="{firstaltcolor}">
<normalfont color="{pagetextcolor}"><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont>
</td>
<td bgcolor="{firstaltcolor}" width="80%">

<form enctype="multipart/form-data" action="newreply.php" name="quickreply" method="post" onSubmit="return validate(this)">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]">
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="postreply">
<input type="hidden" name="threadid" value="$threadid">
<input type="hidden" name="title" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="iconid" value="0">
<input type="hidden" name="parseurl" value="yes">
<input type="hidden" name="email" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="disablesmilies" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="closethread" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="hiddenreply" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="signature" value="yes">
<input type="hidden" name="rating" value="0">
<textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea>

<br />
<input type="submit" class="bginput" name="submit" value="Submit Reply" accesskey="s" tabindex="2">
        <input type="reset" class="bginput" name="reset" value="Reset Form" accesskey="r" tabindex="3">
<br />
<smallfont><a href="javascript:checklength(document.quickreply);">[check message length]</a></smallfont>
</form>


</td>

</tr>

</table>
<! -- /hackless quick reply -->

Note: This will add one query to forums that use quick reply (on showthread.php), this is because i put it in a template. You can avoid the query by hacking showthread.php or hard coding the template into phpinclude (something i dident want to do because of overhead). if you want to hack:

open showthread.php

Find:

Code:

showthread
Replace with:

Code:

showthread,mist_quickreply

Dean C 04-23-2003 10:04 AM

You should have done that in a txt file really Anime... As the replacements are parsed :)

- miSt

Brad 04-24-2003 09:57 PM

Yea i know...did it in about 2 minutes and was in a hurry, ill put it in a txt later on tonight.

leviw 04-24-2003 11:05 PM

I love it, great job miSt.

* double clicks install, just to bug people that know it only takes one click. Grr!

Dean C 04-25-2003 09:18 AM

Thanks Loo and leviw :)

- miSt

Genocide 04-29-2003 12:33 AM

Yo... I installed this... worked GREAT... but one thing... its at the top instead of the bottom

Genocide 04-29-2003 12:35 AM

can I get a quick fix

Pollo 04-29-2003 01:08 AM

There are actually two of this exact same code:
Quote:

2/ Goto Templates > Modify > [expand list] > Show Thread Templates [expand] > showthread [edit]

3/ Then find:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

<!-- first unread and next/prev -->
<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="95%" align="center">
<tr>
<td><smallfont>$pagenav&nbsp;</smallfont></td>
<td align="right"><smallfont>
<img src="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/images/prev.gif" alt="" border="0">
<a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid&goto=nextoldest">Last Thread</a>
&nbsp;
<a href="showthread.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&threadid=$threadid&goto=nextnewest">Next Thread</a>
<img src="https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/images/next.gif" alt="" border="0">
</smallfont></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- first unread and next/prev -->

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4/ Below it add: <snip>
You added it after the first one. Remove that and add it after the second instance of the above.

Joel Llewellyn 08-25-2003 06:49 PM

Cheers, Mist, this simplifies alot. I have the hack on 3 skins; but I have 2 new ones and this saved alot of time. Thanks! :)

Dean C 08-25-2003 07:03 PM

No problem :) ^^

MaDCaT75 09-02-2003 01:37 AM

Will someone please tell me how to add the attatchment box and the smilie box to my quick reply? I do not have the firefly QR!


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01265 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,842KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete