vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   vbArchive - Search Engine Indexer for vBulletin (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=47667)

TECK 01-14-2003 01:50 AM

No, is ok like that. :) Leave it as simple as it is now, you will not regret it.
Do not add those links from your current header, you will NOT get indexed onto search engines because all crawlers will follow the top links, instead of going to your actual web site links, listed in the archive.

TECK 01-14-2003 02:02 AM

There is a minor typo I made in the forumdisplay.txt file.
Find:
$meta['title'] = '$bbtitle';
Replace with:
$meta['title'] = $bbtitle;

Sorry guys. File updated.

glenvw 01-14-2003 02:04 AM

Does it look better now?

Is there a problem with my http linking the Logo?

TECK 01-14-2003 02:07 AM

Ya, that's a big problem. Every time a crawler goes to a new archive page, the first link it sees is your forum link, so it will leave the archive.

Remember, I did it in purpose like that guys, not for fun.

TECK 01-14-2003 02:14 AM

Look how useful is the pagination for large forums:
http://www.yes-its-free.com/vbbs/forumdisplay/f-4

ManagerJosh 01-14-2003 07:11 AM

Great hack Teck...

just think you might want to that I'm pretty sure google powers aol search

Gonna install in 30 day to see if it really works :)

drumsy 01-14-2003 01:13 PM

Upgraded! :)

glenvw 01-14-2003 01:39 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by TECK
There is a minor typo I made in the forumdisplay.txt file.
Find:
$meta['title'] = '$bbtitle';
Replace with:
$meta['title'] = $bbtitle;

Sorry guys. File updated.


I think I did the upgrade before I caught this. My system seems to be working. Should I be concerned?

Dean C 01-14-2003 05:55 PM

TECK - ok i have a question/suggestion :)

Does this actually duplicate the threads into indexable (??) form ? :)

So in other words does this use up any extra database space?

- miSt

Floris 01-14-2003 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Mist
TECK - ok i have a question/suggestion :)

Does this actually duplicate the threads into indexable (??) form ? :)

So in other words does this use up any extra database space?

- miSt

If so, I will uninstall it :) But I don't think so, and why do you think so?

Dean C 01-14-2003 06:12 PM

Because im curious ^

TECK 01-14-2003 07:11 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by glenvw
I think I did the upgrade before I caught this. My system seems to be working. Should I be concerned?
Open the file and check the line, to make sure. :)
Quote:

Originally posted by Mist
TECK - ok i have a question/suggestion :)
Does this actually duplicate the threads into indexable (??) form ? :)
So in other words does this use up any extra database space?
- miSt

No, it doesn't use any extra space or duplicates any threads, etc.

nighteyes 01-14-2003 07:37 PM

Is it safe to stick a banner up on top or will that screw with the search engines too? Using Adcycle to rotate ads.

Thanks. Cool hack.

TECK 01-14-2003 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by nighteyes
Is it safe to stick a banner up on top or will that screw with the search engines too? Using Adcycle to rotate ads.

Thanks. Cool hack.

I would not do it, in your place, you give a chance to a crawler to leave your archive page to another direction, from the start... Is up to you.

Now guys, can you make me a favor and search for me on the internet (or ask, or post if you know) if it is recommended to have only directories or is better to have .htm extentions at the end?
Personally, I did it the exact same look like VB3 archive... but I want to make sure, our goal is to make this script as friendly engine as possible...

Let me know please. Thanks.

codewebs 01-14-2003 08:34 PM

has google spidered vbulletin.com s archive??? Im just curious :p

thought id add this: :)

Fact: We do not require submission nor do we penalize sites for 'over-submission'. You are free to submit as often as you wish. However, given the nature of our inclusion process, your time is better spent improving the content and links of your site

TECK 01-14-2003 08:47 PM

Me too I want to know, that's why I asked in previous post. :)

codewebs 01-14-2003 08:58 PM

I guess vbulletin.com s new archive doesnt work, if you search for:

"Click here for full thread:"

on google you only get 1 link thats not even vbulletin. I could be wrong though :(

TECK 01-14-2003 09:15 PM

Changing the extentions to .htm at the end should not be hard at all.
But I wonder if we have any experts related to this issue with the extensions onto search engines? Feel free to post here and let us all know.

nuno 01-14-2003 11:18 PM

Ask fastforward, he knows the answer. :)

TECK 01-15-2003 12:43 AM

It looks like I will release a new version with .html extensions. :)
Let me get back to work... I will release it in 30 minutes max, after I finish my supper.

TECK 01-15-2003 03:20 AM

The fix for [HIGH]online.php[/HIGH] file, to display nice links, is below.
There are 2 methods, the easy or the hard way. :)

METHOD 1 (easy)
FIND:
Code:

  $loc=preg_replace("/\?s=[a-z0-9]{32}(&)?/","?",$loc);
REPLACE WITH:
Code:

  $loc=preg_replace("/\?s=[a-z0-9]{32}(&)?/","?",$loc);
  $loc = preg_replace( '~archive/~' , 'forumdisplay.php?forumid=' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~forumdisplay/f-~' , 'forumdisplay.php?forumid=' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~showthread/t-~' , 'showthread.php?threadid=' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~-p-[0-9]~' , '' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~.html~' , '' , $loc );

METHOD 2 (cool way)
FIND:
Code:

    case 'spider':
      $userinfo[where] = "Search Engine Spider";
      break;

REPLACE WITH:
Code:

    case 'spider':
      $userinfo[where] = "Search Engine Spider";
      break;
    case 'archive':
      $userinfo[where] = "$bbtitle <b>Archive</b> <a href='archive/'>Main Index</a>";
      break;
    case 'archiveforumdisplay':
      if (!$forum[forumid][$userinfo[forumid]] or (!$forum[canview][$userinfo[forumid]] and $hideprivateforums)) {
        $userinfo[where] = "Viewing <b>Archive</b> Forum";
      } else {
        $userinfo[where] = "Viewing <b>Archive</b> Forum <a href='forumdisplay/f-$userinfo[forumid].html'>".$forum[forumid][$userinfo[forumid]]."</a>";
      }
      break;
    case 'archiveshowthread':
      if (!$thread[title][$userinfo[threadid]] or !$forum[canview][$thread[forumid][$userinfo[threadid]]] or (!$forum[canviewothers][$thread[forumid][$userinfo[threadid]]] and $thread[postuserid][$userinfo[threadid]] != $bbuserinfo[userid])) {
        $userinfo[where] = "Viewing <b>Archive</b> Thread";
      } else {
        $userinfo[where] = "Viewing <b>Archive</b> Thread <a href='showthread/t-$userinfo[threadid].html'>".$thread[title][$userinfo[threadid]]."</a>";
      }
      break;

FIND:
Code:

  $loc=preg_replace("/\?s=[a-z0-9]{32}(&)?/","?",$loc);
REPLACE WITH:
Code:

  $loc=preg_replace("/\?s=[a-z0-9]{32}(&)?/","?",$loc);
  $loc = preg_replace( '~archive/~' , 'archive.php' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~forumdisplay/f-~' , 'archiveforumdisplay.php?forumid=' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~showthread/t-~' , 'archiveshowthread.php?threadid=' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~-p-[0-9]~' , '' , $loc );
  $loc = preg_replace( '~.html~' , '' , $loc );

FIND:
Code:

  case '/robots.txt':
    $userinfo[activity] = 'spider';
    break;

REPLACE WITH:
Code:

  case '/robots.txt':
    $userinfo[activity] = 'spider';
    break;
  case 'archive.php':
    $userinfo[activity] = 'archive';
    break;
  case 'archiveforumdisplay.php':
    $blowup = explode('=', $token1);
    $forumid = intval($blowup[1]);
    $forumids .= ",$forumid";
    $userinfo[activity] = 'archiveforumdisplay';
    $userinfo[forumid] = $forumid;
    break;
  case 'archiveshowthread.php':
    if (strstr($token1,'threadid')) {
      $blowup = explode('=', $token1);
      $threadid = intval($blowup[1]);
      $threadids .= ",$threadid";
      $userinfo[activity] = 'archiveshowthread';
      $userinfo[threadid] = $threadid;
    } else if (strstr($token2,'threadid')) {
      $blowup = explode('=', $token2);
      $threadid = intval($blowup[1]);
      $threadids .= ",$threadid";
      $userinfo[activity] = 'archiveshowthread';
      $userinfo[threadid] = $threadid;
    }
    break;


Erwin 01-15-2003 10:15 AM

Nice hack, TECK. Just saw this one. Great work, as always. :)

Dean C 01-15-2003 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by TECK
Open the file and check the line, to make sure. :)
No, it doesn't use any extra space or duplicates any threads, etc.

Wow this is such a cool hack - extra traffic at NO cost whatsoever :)

Sounds too good to be true :D

I'll be telling my friends about this TECK ;)

- miSt

TECK 01-15-2003 04:31 PM

This the evaluation made by fastforward, an expert related to search engine optimizations.
TECK wrote on Today 02:11 AM:
[high]Hello fastforward,
I released a similar hack to yours and I would like to have your opinion on a issue.
My script uses Apache's ForceType directive. So "archive" will be treated as index.php or archive.php type.
Now, will this affect the crawlers to browse the archive, if I point them to:
http://www.teckwizards.com/archive/
and that represents for them the link to forcetyped "archive" file?

Thanks for taking the time to read this message.[/high]

fastforward wrote on Today 03:16 PM:
[high]Hello TECK,

The ForceType directive will be completely invisible to a crawler in the same way as using mod_rewrite. There should be no problems whatsoever.
I personally would use the 'archive' version without the extension. There is no evidence that Google or any other search engine identifies a dynamic file and handles it differently, but that could change if the capabilities of using dynamic pages are abused. (this is just my paranoid preference and not based on any hard facts).

It looks very nice by the way :)
I think I'll use that on my site that doesn't have the the friendly urls.

Paul[/high]

TECK 01-15-2003 11:02 PM

If you want to have the main archive file with a PHP extension and not as sub-folder, make the following changes to functions.php file:

FIND:
Code:

$bburl . '/archive/
REPLACE WITH:
Code:

$bburl . '/archive.php
NOTE: The code appears 2 times, change it in both places.
Rename the "archive" to archive.php.

I personally don't recommend you to do this, instead use both ways...
Leave the script unchanged but upload also archive.txt and rename it to archive.php, the crawlers will hit both files.

TECK 01-15-2003 11:11 PM

The actual settings are optimal for any server.
But, if you want to change the number of threads/posts displayed on each page, do the code change listed below.

FILE: forumdisplay.txt and showthread.txt
FIND:
Code:

$perpage =
Replace the numeric value with the one that suits best for your forum.
The bigger it is the faster the crawers will index your pages.

Do not go over value 400, just to make sure you give a break to your server also. :)

wooolF[RM] 01-16-2003 09:45 AM

]Great Hack TECK. You r00lez ;] Keep up the good job!

[high]* wooolF[RM] clicks INSTALL :> w00t :D[/high]

glenvw 01-16-2003 01:23 PM

I got a little lost here at the end...

You guys are too smart and techie for me :-)

Are you saying you re-released it so it has html extensions now and if yes, is it better to have the standard html extensions?

Thanks!

glenvw 01-16-2003 01:53 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by TECK
[B]Version 1.2 released.

Html extension were added to all dynamic pages.
I also fixed a minor bug related to dynamic meta tags.

Here it is also the fix for online.php file (requested by xiphoid):

Re:
Here it is also the fix for online.php file (requested by xiphoid):

I looked through the thread and cannot find reference to this.

What does the edits to the online.php file do?
Trying to decide it it is necessary..

TECK 01-16-2003 04:06 PM

If you view your online.php page, you see there the location (forum/thread/etc.) your users browse.
If it's a archive location, it will show you an Unknown Location:, instead of the actual link to the forum, for example.
The fix will display any links as VB links. Try it yourself, open 2 windows:
1. in the first window, go to go your online listings
2. in the second window go to your archive and browse to a forum or thread
3. refresh the first window to see the location you browse...

glenvw 01-16-2003 04:15 PM

I am lost :-)

I edited my online.php and uploaded it:

Here is my archive:

http://www.yes-its-free.com/vbbs/archive/

Please splain what I should be seeing

BTW, if I have not said it before, let me say it a couple more thousand times....AWESOME JOB!

TECK 01-16-2003 04:38 PM

You remember the Unkown Location, when you view active users brosing the forums (online.php)? Is gone now, you see the actual text and link instead. :p
You will not see nothing new in the archive files.

TECK 01-16-2003 04:50 PM

Ok, another idea I came up with... If the crawler is Google, for example, and it's hitting the actual forum pages, not the archive, you could use this trick to remove the sessionhash from the templates:
FILE: functions.php
ADD ABOVE [high]?>[/high] THIS CODE:
PHP Code:

function no_sessionhash()
{
  global 
$session;

  
$agent = array(
    
'crawl',
    
'googlebot',
    
'gulliver',
    
'ia_archiver',
    
'internetseer',
    
'linkalarm',
    
'mercator',
    
'openbot',
    
'pingalink',
    
'psbot',
    
'scooter',
    
'slurp',
    
'slysearch',
    
'zeus',
    
'zyborg',
    
'otheruseragentcrawleryouwant'
  
);

  foreach( 
$agent as $useragent )
  {
    if ( 
stristrgetenv'HTTP_USER_AGENT' ) , $useragent ) )
    {
      
$session['sessionhash'] = '';
    }
  }


FILE: /forum global.php
ADD ABOVE [high]$header='';[/high] THIS CODE:
PHP Code:

no_sessionhash(); 

The list above will cover all major crawlers.
Make sure you enter the actual AGENT name ONLY.
To test it, enter for example:
'mozilla',

It will remove all your session hashes, if you browse with Internet Explorer for example.

wooolF[RM] 01-16-2003 05:27 PM

]wiKKid! :D

TECK 01-17-2003 12:43 PM

To block the crawlers go to certain pages, create a robots.txt file with the content:
Code:

User-agent: *
Disallow: /forum/admin/
Disallow: /forum/images/
Disallow: /forum/mod/
Disallow: /forum/attachment.php
Disallow: /forum/avatar.php
Disallow: /forum/editpost.php
Disallow: /forum/member.php
Disallow: /forum/member2.php
Disallow: /forum/memberlist.php
Disallow: /forum/misc.php
Disallow: /forum/moderator.php
Disallow: /forum/newreply.php
Disallow: /forum/newthread.php
Disallow: /forum/online.php
Disallow: /forum/poll.php
Disallow: /forum/postings.php
Disallow: /forum/printarticle.php
Disallow: /forum/printthread.php
Disallow: /forum/private.php
Disallow: /forum/private2.php
Disallow: /forum/register.php
Disallow: /forum/report.php
Disallow: /forum/search.php
Disallow: /forum/sendtofriend.php
Disallow: /forum/threadrate.php
Disallow: /forum/usercp.php

and upload it onto your main (not /forum, the one above it) directory. Crawlers will look ONLY onto the root folder for the robots.txt file.
Make sure you change the /forum folder to your actual folder name.

For more info on robots.txt file, go here.

codewebs 01-17-2003 06:38 PM

i saw a similar version of that google thing on vbulletin.com but i added yours, and your shure it works right, like it wont mess it up for google since we cant test it? (the user agent thing)

TECK 01-17-2003 06:52 PM

To see if it's working, simply use:
no_sessionhash( 'mozilla' );

There is no more sessionhash displayed after.
Make sure you remove it, orelse all IE (or whatever browser you use) users will not have anymore sessions...

Chris M 01-17-2003 08:35 PM

Nice TECK:)

*installs*

Satan

TECK 01-18-2003 03:27 PM

Btw, the script is wise enough to work with .html extensions or not... so if you upgraded from an old version and Google already indexed your files, it will still point to that page. :)
Let's see:
http://www.teckwizards.com/forumdisplay/f-8.html
http://www.teckwizards.com/showthread/t-577.html

and:
http://www.teckwizards.com/forumdisplay/f-8
http://www.teckwizards.com/showthread/t-577

Same results. :)
Go ahead and upgrade your script.

Floris 01-18-2003 03:35 PM

I don't need to upgrade the version I first installed. it is working as i wanted it to work. thank you for letting me know on vbulletin.com with a pm that there was an upgrade :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01991 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,851KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete