vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Description of thread hack (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=38916)

Boofo 06-12-2002 11:35 PM

So I don't use the second code you gave me at all? I just add this after what I already have there, right? And do the rest of it like you said? The first code and the template edits? I just want to be sure. :)

Quote:

Originally posted by Slynderdale
add after that
PHP Code:

if ($isfirst and $postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time()) {
    
$DB_site->query("UPDATE thread SET description='".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($description))."' WHERE threadid=$threadinfo[threadid]");
  } 



Slynderdale 06-12-2002 11:38 PM

yea, im using 2.2.3 and im slowly converting every thing over to 2.2.6, skip the second part and add that after it, it should work, it checks to see if its the first post and the edit post time isnt up and updates the description

Boofo 06-12-2002 11:53 PM

Will the description box ALWAYS show up for the Admin then? Because I saw it on the first post of a message that is over a week old. :)

Slynderdale 06-12-2002 11:58 PM

if you want the admin to always edit it change it to this

PHP Code:

if ($isfirst and ($postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time() or $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6)) {
    
$DB_site->query("UPDATE thread SET description='".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($description))."' WHERE threadid=$threadinfo[threadid]");
  } 


Slynderdale 06-13-2002 12:06 AM

If you want the description box to not show when the edit time is up but only show for an admin, change this:
PHP Code:

$description="";
  
$descriptionbit="";
  if (
$getpost[postid]==$postid) {
    
$isfirst=1;
    
$description=$threadinfo[description];
    eval(
"\$descriptionbit = \"".gettemplate("editpost_description")."\";");
  } else {
    
$isfirst=0;
  }
  if (
$isfirst and $postinfo[title]=="" and $postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time()) {
    
$postinfo[title]=$threadinfo[title];
  } 

to this:
PHP Code:

$description="";
  
$descriptionbit="";
  if (
$getpost[postid]==$postid) {
    
$isfirst=1;
    if (
$postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time() or $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6) {
      
$description=$threadinfo[description];
      eval(
"\$descriptionbit = \"".gettemplate("editpost_description")."\";");
    }
  } else {
    
$isfirst=0;
  }
  if (
$isfirst and $postinfo[title]=="" and $postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time()) {
    
$postinfo[title]=$threadinfo[title];
  } 


Boofo 06-13-2002 02:42 AM

Thank you very much. You were about 2 steps ahead of me on all of this. I was about to ask you each time for what you put in the next message before I finished the last message. :) That's what I call reading someone's mind. :) Thanks again for all of the help with this. It works great! :)

Slynderdale 06-13-2002 03:29 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Boofo
Thank you very much. You were about 2 steps ahead of me on all of this. I was about to ask you each time for what you put in the next message before I finished the last message. :) That's what I call reading someone's mind. :) Thanks again for all of the help with this. It works great! :)
No problem :)

X-Fan 06-18-2002 07:09 AM

Very handy for a news-centric site like mine. Now I can go through and add descriptions to past news articles as well as current ones!

Thanks for a great hack, and to slynderdale for the terrific editpost addition!

Works like an absolute charm!

http://x-mencomics.com/xfan/forums/f...p?s=&forumid=2

Thanks all!

X-Fan 06-18-2002 07:48 AM

Couple of quick questions:

Is it possible to have the description come up under the title of a thread on the thread's first page?

Also, how would it be possible to have the descriptions show up on a vbPortals front page?

Slynderdale 06-18-2002 05:25 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by X-Fan
Couple of quick questions:

Is it possible to have the description come up under the title of a thread on the thread's first page?

Also, how would it be possible to have the descriptions show up on a vbPortals front page?

in showthread just add:
$thread[description]
where ever you want the thread description to be showed, hmm, i dont have vbportal but if they use like $thread[title] and stuff, just add $thread[description] where you want it and see if that works, if it doesnt, pm me and ill help you out

X-Fan 06-19-2002 11:03 AM

Actually I'd want to be editing postbit, wouldn't I? Seeing as I want the description to come under the thread title (which doubles as the title of the first post in the thread).

Is that possible?

Boofo 06-19-2002 03:04 PM

No, Slynderdale's right, you would do that in the Showthread template. That is where I have mine. :)

Quote:

Originally posted by X-Fan
Actually I'd want to be editing postbit, wouldn't I? Seeing as I want the description to come under the thread title (which doubles as the title of the first post in the thread).

Is that possible?


FleaBag 06-19-2002 06:15 PM

OK I've upgraded to 2.2.6, everything seems to be working except the changes I make to threads_editthread don't seem to be taking effect - nobody can edit their thread descriptions. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

FleaBag 06-20-2002 10:14 AM

*Bump*

Slynderdale 06-20-2002 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GamerForums
OK I've upgraded to 2.2.6, everything seems to be working except the changes I make to threads_editthread don't seem to be taking effect - nobody can edit their thread descriptions. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks!
make sure you have the query that updates the description, if you dont have it, it wont update

FleaBag 06-21-2002 07:01 PM

This doesn't work with 2.2.6 - nothing shows in editpost and nothing shows on forumdisplay. I have tried on 3 seperate board installs, none of them work. Anyone have any input?

Slynderdale 06-21-2002 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by GamerForums
This doesn't work with 2.2.6 - nothing shows in editpost and nothing shows on forumdisplay. I have tried on 3 seperate board installs, none of them work. Anyone have any input?
pm me, ill help you out

FleaBag 06-21-2002 07:47 PM

Thank you sir, very generous of you.

FleaBag 07-03-2002 10:05 PM

This still doesn't work for me on 2.2.6. Anyone else having any problems?

FleaBag 07-10-2002 10:47 PM

Still not working, anyone else having this problem?!

ZiRu$ 07-11-2002 04:18 AM

dope man I just installed it

FleaBag 07-11-2002 11:19 AM

Ahhh man I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. All the file edits, queries and the template edits are there. :(

NeRilkA 07-11-2002 10:07 PM

i did the edit addon by Slynderdale, and i have the same problem that GameForums seems to have...

I did all the changes correctly, i try to edit a post and and add a description on it, seems to go ok but there is no description on forumdisplay..

I try to make a new test subject with despcription and it works fine !

i have 2.2.6 and didn't have to skip the second code etc.. i found

PHP Code:

if ($getpost[postid]==$postid) {
    
$isfirst=1;
  } else {
    
$isfirst=0;
  }
  if (
$isfirst and $postinfo[title]=="" and $postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time()) {
    
$postinfo[title]=$threadinfo[title];
  } 

so i don't understand either i'm doing wrong, please help us

thanks :p

FleaBag 07-30-2002 12:02 AM

*Bump*

Anyone able to help, please? I'd love this feature to be working as it used to.

ULTIMATESSJ 09-01-2002 01:39 AM

This has to be one of my fav hacks, nice work, i liked it so much i even made a template mod for it, which is based on the big thread one

http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mo...=&threadid=971

kikosho 09-01-2002 06:53 AM

Installed!

Great hack! ^_^

FleaBag 09-02-2002 01:27 AM

The lack of working-ness is most annoying. :(

FleaBag 09-03-2002 01:35 AM

For some strange reason I upgraded to 2.2.7, and it now all works great. Cheers. :D

M.C. 11-16-2002 09:35 PM

hallo. it`s great hack! thanx! I have only one problem - when someone post new thread and DON`T insert DESCRIPTION in the field then hack take a bit from $message text and put into $decription field. Can i fix it so if NO decription inserted - that`s mean NO description at all??? Or where can i configure numbers of symbols inserted from $message?

I hope you understand my ****ing english (sorry for that). If you already discuss it before just give me a link, please (i have not much time to serash all pages)

thanx a lot!

Good Luck

Mr. X 12-04-2002 06:43 AM

Nice hack, my members gotta vote if they want to have it yet, but I personally dig it. Have it running fine and ran into no problems on my local vb instance (2.2.9)

Btw, I wonder if it is possible to have an option for a user to NOT view the descriptions, via an option set in the UserCP etc? Would that be feasable or require a lot of change?

LOD-squa 01-27-2003 08:18 PM

It doesn't work for me >.< and I would like to see an addon like the one above.

LOD-squa 01-27-2003 08:39 PM

I get this error:

Database error in vBulletin 2.2.9:

Invalid SQL:
INSERT INTO thread
(threadid,title,lastpost,forumid,open,replycount,p ostusername,postuserid,lastposter,dateline,iconid, visible,attach,helpoption,sticky,description)
VALUES
(NULL,'s','1043706789','95','1','0','LOD-squa','1','LOD-squa','1043706789','0','1','0','','0,'s')
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax near 's')' at line 5

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Monday 27th of January 2003 05:33:09 PM
Script: http://forum.lod-squared.com/newthread.php
Referer: http://forum.lod-squared.com/newthre...ead&forumid=95

ULTIMATESSJ 02-01-2003 02:45 PM

is there anyway i can get descriptions to be available only in certain forums

Xyphen 03-08-2003 07:59 PM

nice, i am going to install it!!

Xyphen 03-08-2003 09:35 PM

Works perfectly fine on vB2.3.0, thanks for such a great hack!!!

PurpleCow 03-27-2003 01:46 AM

can somegive me a screen shot of forum display for this hack ??

Thanks

PurpleCow 03-27-2003 01:21 PM

hello, i did this althogh the hack is working fine...when applied to the edit post template and .php file,

I am still not able to edit the sub title ?? the changes doesn't reflect at all.

Kindly help me here with the edit post thingy ??
I am running on ver 2.3.0 !
Thanks much

Quote:

06-13-02 at 06:00 AM Slynderdale said this in Post #40
add after that
PHP Code:

if ($isfirst and $postinfo[dateline]+$editthreadtitlelimit*60>time()) {
    
$DB_site->query("UPDATE thread SET description='".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($description))."' WHERE threadid=$threadinfo[threadid]");
  } 



Austin Dea 05-24-2003 08:25 PM

Uninstall and do it over, it's worked perfect for me since the hack came out. I'm running vB2.3.0 also.

Add-on - This'll add thread descriptions to your search results like for 'Get new posts' etc.

PurpleCow 08-02-2003 07:08 AM

Hello,

I just mixed up the suggestions by 3 hackers here ( Scott MacVicar, Austin Dea, Slynderdale ) and installed it on my forums. Its working very fine without any problems on stable release of vB 2.3.0 .

Thank you very much for the hack to all 3 of you.

I just have a small question, rather a minor change, which i am not sure, how to do it. I hope to get some help on this issue :

When a Thread description ( i call it sub title ) is given for a particular thread, the actual Height of the cell in the forumdisplaybit increases, which makes the threads with description look bigger. Isn't it possible to retain the same height as that of threads with No description for the threads with description also ??
Infact, I just tried to remove the <BR> in forumdisplaybit template, but then again, if the title is small, the description starts off from where the main thread title ends, which shouldn't be the case.
The description should always be below the main thread title and now, i want it to have the same height as that of threads with no description.

I have also attached an image along with post which clearly indicates the difference in height.
Referring to that image : What i am looking at is the Second Posting with description should have the same height as that of the Sample Posting, which has no description. How can i do that, if it is possible ??

Thank you for any help here.

Cheers

GXON.matt 08-12-2003 08:32 PM

Is this the hack that when you mouseover it shows teh person's last update?


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01279 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,845KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_php_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete