vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Mini Mods - Force Standard Editor for IE10 Users (Editor Workaround) for VB 4.x by BOP5 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=296838)

SuperDave1971 07-07-2013 04:07 PM

Absolutely Perfect!

Thank you so much!!

tpearl5 02-04-2014 01:10 AM

I think this may be useful again if updated to work for IE11 users. Mine are reporting that they can't do a lot of things with the editor.

ozzy47 02-04-2014 01:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tpearl5 (Post 2478917)
I think this may be useful again if updated to work for IE11 users. Mine are reporting that they can't do a lot of things with the editor.

Just a question, what vB version and PHP version are you running? Also are you able to reproduce what they are reporting?

BirdOPrey5 02-04-2014 12:53 PM

If you're running VB 4.2.2 the editor should be working for IE11 users because VB will force IE9 compatibility mode.

z3r0 06-30-2015 08:06 AM

The new Microsoft Edge browser doesn't like the wysiwyg mode on any of my vb4 sites (editor will not work without enter being pressed first), with a tweak to this mod you can force standard mode on Edge and patch the problem until a better solution is found.

Change
Code:

  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/6.0'))
To
Code:

  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge'))
Note - this is only any good if you are not using this mod to force standard editor for IE.

djbaxter 06-30-2015 09:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2548983)
The new Microsoft Edge browser doesn't like the wysiwyg mode on any of my vb4 sites (editor will not work without enter being pressed first), with a tweak to this mod you can force standard mode on Edge and patch the problem until a better solution is found.

Change
Code:

  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/6.0'))
To
Code:

  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge/12'))
Note - this is only any good if you are not using this mod to force standard editor for IE.

I'm not clear what you mean by your last statement...

You seem to be saying we can make your modifications to this product to force standard editor for Edge, but then you say it's only good if you are NOT using this mod?

z3r0 07-01-2015 12:02 PM

What I mean is if you make the change then it will only force Edge to standard mode and no longer work for IE.

djbaxter 07-02-2015 06:11 PM

Would this not work for both?

PHP Code:

{
  if (
strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/6.0')) || (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge/12'))
    
$vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1//This is the standard editor



BadgerDog 05-04-2016 08:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djbaxter (Post 2549168)
Would this not work for both?

PHP Code:

{
  if (
strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/6.0')) || (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge/12'))
    
$vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1//This is the standard editor



I tried this multiple browser patch and I get a boolean error in "includes"...

Quote:

PHP error: <b>Parse error</b>: syntax error, unexpected T_BOOLEAN_OR in <b>/usr/www/apache/includes/class_bootstrap.php(103) : eval()'d code</b> on line <b>214</b><br />
Regards,
Doug

z3r0 05-04-2016 09:38 AM

Edge has changed since I posted the original bit of code, the following is how the plugin needs to look now to force edge to work correctly.

Code:

//This plugin checks if the user is using Edge, if he or she is, it forces use of the standard editor

global $vbulletin;


{
  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge'))
    $vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1; //This is the standard editor
}


BadgerDog 05-04-2016 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2570110)
Edge has changed since I posted the original bit of code, the following is how the plugin needs to look now to force edge to work correctly.

Code:

//This plugin checks if the user is using Edge, if he or she is, it forces use of the standard editor

global $vbulletin;

//if(!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1))
{
  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge'))
    $vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1; //This is the standard editor
}


Thanks .. :)

I'll re-edit the change I made and substitute what you have above..

Regards,
Doug

Paul M 05-04-2016 10:42 AM

There doesn tseem much point to the if(!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1)) statement since you have it commented out.

z3r0 05-04-2016 11:54 AM

I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.

BadgerDog 05-04-2016 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2570119)
I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.

Ok, now I'm confused ... :confused:

Do I leave the line commented out, or make it executable?

Thanks... :)

Regards,
Doug

z3r0 05-04-2016 03:14 PM

You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.

BadgerDog 05-05-2016 08:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by z3r0 (Post 2570127)
You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.

Thanks .. :)

Left it remarked out.. don't know if it's working or not.. time will tell with Edge members of our site .

Regards,
Doug

Budget101 12-06-2016 12:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 (Post 2415719)
I've been told by another forum member that simply adding this to the headinclude template will let the WYSIWYG editor work fine by telling IE10 to display as IE9.

Code:

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
I don't have immediate access to IE10 to test it, but if anyone wants to test, uninstall or disable this mod first.

Yes, that will work, but if you use Async Ads -the will not Render, thus losing revenue.

update: Trident must be updated to 7.0 rather than 6.0 to work

Code:

//This plugin checks if the user is using Edge, if he or she is, it forces use of the standard editor

global $vbulletin;


{
  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/7.0'))
    $vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1; //This is the standard editor
}


edgeless 01-04-2020 09:01 PM

Well, this mod works fine. But does anyone know how to get the attachment dialog in IE11(+) to indicate the number of files that have been selected for upload (as is shown on other browsers)?

I'm attaching two screenshots, each with 2 files selected. The first is from Chrome 79.0 and the next is from IE11 (Trident 7.0). While the IE11 upload sessions WILL allow multiple attachments and work well otherwise, they fail to display the selected file counts and their dialog rendering looks a bit funky. It's not really a biggy but I'm wondering if anyone knows of a fix?

http://s91586483.onlinehome.us/misc/...ome_(79.0).png
http://s91586483.onlinehome.us/misc/...rident7.0).png


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01386 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,774KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_php_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (18)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete