vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Add "Sponsored by" banners to your forum categories (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=26818)

LuBi 09-04-2001 12:47 PM

What technique did they use on Sitepoint.com? I noticed they have some text, and an image over it. How can I achieve this setup?

Admin 09-04-2001 12:49 PM

The text is just part of the image there.

But anyway, you can change the sponsor template, and add anything you want there.

LuBi 09-04-2001 01:00 PM

I'm having trouble. http://forums.suprascene.com

I'd like to right align everything.

Admin 09-04-2001 02:40 PM

Use this as your template:
Code:

<tr id="cat">
        <td bgcolor="{categorybackcolor}" colspan="2"><a href="forumdisplay.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&forumid=$forum[forumid]"><normalfont color="{categoryfontcolor}"><b>$forum[title]</b></normalfont></a>
        <br><smallfont color="{categoryfontcolor}">$forum[description]</smallfont></td>
        <td bgcolor="{categorybackcolor}" colspan="4" align="right"><a href="$forum[sponsorurl]" target="_blank"><img src="{imagesfolder}/$forum[sponsorimg]" border="0" alt="Proudly sponsored by $forum[sponsorname]"></a></td>
</tr>


LuBi 09-04-2001 02:45 PM

Thanks again!:D

amykhar 09-04-2001 04:21 PM

I also added a text field to the database that allows me to put a description or lead-in text next to the forum sponsor image.

I am still playing with the aesthetics, but you can see what I am doing here:

http://www.eaforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=38

Amy

DYer 09-05-2001 12:12 AM

I have test it . It looks like wounderful.

Just make it strong more ...

danielillo 09-05-2001 03:36 AM

I've been lookig for a hack like this since I saw SPF.
Thanks FireFly.

I just add some templates for it to show also the number of post in each category (needed if you want to set to 1 the depth of your forums and justify the prize you want they to pay to be anounced there).

I just test it on my test forum: http://www.dondepuedo.com/prueba/

As soon as I finish my exams I will put it on the main forums (www.dondepuedo.com/foro)


Thanks again.


PS: Please, excuse my English (I'm from Spain)

Admin 09-05-2001 09:57 AM

Thanks a lot for the kind words Danielillo. :)

[QUOTE]Originally posted by DYer
I have test it . It looks like wounderful.

Just make it strong more ...

BluSmurf 09-08-2001 06:06 PM

ahhhhhhhhh this is what I've been looking for :)
will let you know how it goes once I've installed it later

Goldfinger 09-17-2001 01:50 AM

Nice hack .. but i think ill wait for 2.0.4 too :D

shadowbreed 09-17-2001 03:07 PM

Great Hack working perfectly and easy to install on 2.0.3

h4p3 09-18-2001 06:05 PM

Hi,

first of all i want to say that this hack is absolutely great! FireFly nice work! :)

One request:
The ability to add Banners for a certain Forum. Supported by Pics on the Forum Home Page at Categories _and_ the option to add Banners (468x60 or else) in each forum.

Regards,

shadowbreed 09-18-2001 08:36 PM

There is an extension for this hack on page two of this thread that allows you to add banners to your forums

h4p3 09-19-2001 01:54 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by shadowbreed
There is an extension for this hack on page two of this thread that allows you to add banners to your forums
Yep, i know this. But is it possible to use this modification _and_ the mod by FireFly at the same time?

amykhar 09-19-2001 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by h4p3


Yep, i know this. But is it possible to use this modification _and_ the mod by FireFly at the same time?

Yes. It simply adds on to Firefly's. it doesn't replace it.

Amy

Goldfinger 09-20-2001 09:40 AM

works wonderfully. and another great hack by firefly :).

mbombd 09-20-2001 11:05 AM

good **** firefly, good ****....

ForzaGrifo 09-27-2001 05:08 AM

When I go to cpanel and tried to modify the forum, I get this parse error on this line in forum.php:

PHP Code:

doformfooter("Save Forum"); 

What's the problem??

SystemLogic 09-27-2001 05:59 AM

Works excellent.....live example at http://www.systemlogic.net/boards

Admin 09-27-2001 06:41 AM

SystemLogic:
That really looks good. Thanks. :)

ForzaGrifo:
Can you please paste the complete error message here?
This function is used on almost all files, you really shouldn't have a problem with it.
Is this the only place you get this error?

Alien 09-27-2001 11:02 AM

Thanks alot for this, I've been using it for a little while without a glitch! :D

YourHostSucks 09-27-2001 07:02 PM

Works Great!

Thanks! ;)

MarkB 09-27-2001 09:31 PM

I've just started using this hack on my forum (finally!), and it was easy as I could have hoped to get it working :)

I was wondering if it would be possible to, perhaps in a future version, have a counter that would count click-thrus...?

Thanks for another great piece of code!! :D

YourHostSucks 09-27-2001 09:46 PM

Yep, I was thinking the same thing..
I am going to set mine up to keep a record of hits for each sponsor.... easy enough to do.. :)

MarkB 09-27-2001 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by YourHostSucks
Yep, I was thinking the same thing..
I am going to set mine up to keep a record of hits for each sponsor.... easy enough to do.. :)

Care to share how to do it? :D

YourHostSucks 09-27-2001 10:30 PM

Sure man.. Just upload a script to count clicks to a url...

I have attached a basic one, that should work just fine for you... ;)

Read the read me file and you will be all set....

You will just be linking to:
http://yourdomain.com/cgi-bin/blah blah/clickcount.cgi?action=jump&URL=http://yoursponsor.com

Really easy and fast to setup...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would like to see this added to the Hack itself...

Like next to the picture (image) for the sponsor | a cell on top "Hits" and then under that the count on bottom?
(as a option that can be turned on or off)
Ofcourse you could just remove the code (hehe)

I will be trying to set mine up in this way later...


<edit> well maybe this information is not needed to be public.. *thinks*

MarkB 09-27-2001 10:38 PM

You kick much bottom. Thanks!

YourHostSucks 09-27-2001 10:53 PM

Blah, I do not think I am going to add the count view to public,
But others may like this feature? Maybe it could be added to this hack... :)

I just added the click count to the admin CP, thats good enuff for me!

MarkB 09-27-2001 11:43 PM

I've added the banner to my forumdisplay using the code on page 2 - how would I go about adding this to my threads as well? I tried using similar code, but I don't know if showthread.php parses $foruminfo properly(??).

Any idea?:confused:

Ta:)
Mark

TheComputerGuy 09-28-2001 12:38 AM

Nice Hack FireFly works great

YourHostSucks 09-28-2001 01:24 AM

Well I tried to add this to PHP include, then use it on the forums

PHP Code:

$sp1 = include("http://blahblah.com/cgi-bin/blah/clickcount.cgi?URL=http://blahblah.com"); 

then place $sp1 where I wanted their number of click to show up..
Well this only placed the number of clicks above the logo , and return the number "1" were the correct number was sup.. to be..

I just* got vBulletin and have not had time to read all the information on it, nor do I understand how it works at all (heh)

But I woud have figure you add that to phpinclude and then use it..


anyone have any ideas? :)

ForzaGrifo 09-28-2001 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by FireFly
ForzaGrifo:
Can you please paste the complete error message here?
This function is used on almost all files, you really shouldn't have a problem with it.
Is this the only place you get this error?


Everyone seems to have no problem but I'm having tons of problem!

Here's the error message when I tried to add a forum in vb's cpanel:

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: makeinputcode() in /home/everyone/public_html/forum/admin/forum.php on line 123

Line 123 is this line:

?makeinputcode("Sponsor name","sponsorname");

In the cpanel I would see the add forum screen but after the "Sponsor(only supported by categories)" header, it gets cut off and the rest of the input fields are not shown.

And I'm getting this error when I try to show my forums:

Parse error: parse error in /home/everyone/public_html/forum/index.php on line 365


Line 365 in my index.php is this:

if?($forum['sponsorimg']?&&?$forum['cancontainthreads']==0?&&?$depth==1)?{


Which doesn't make any sense. It seems it's not regconizing the fact that I have added the new fields in the forum tables, and I'm sure that I have added them to the table.
Please help!!!:(

Admin 09-28-2001 12:44 PM

MarkB:

PHP Code:

if ($forum['sponsorimg']) {
  eval(
"\$sponsoredby = \"".gettemplate('forumdisplay_sponsoredby')."\";");
} else {
  
$sponsoredby '';


ForzaGrifo:
Well, the first error I have NO idea what is all about.
That function is used on ALL admin pages, can't understand what it's producing an error here.

About the second error:
Can you paste a line or two BEFORE line 365?
Maybe you deleted a ; or }, I dunno. :confused:

SirSteve 09-28-2001 01:52 PM

makeinputcode("Sponsor banner file<br>(your default images folder is added, no need in that)","sponsorimg");

Shouldn't that be "sponsoring" ?

Also, I would like all my sponsor images in a subfolder under images. Can you help me with this?

YourHostSucks 09-28-2001 01:57 PM

Quote:

Also, I would like all my sponsor images in a subfolder under images. Can you help me with this?

when you enter the path to the image just enter:

/images/sponsors/blahblah.gif

or what folder you create and sponsors image name...

Admin 09-28-2001 01:58 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by SirSteve
makeinputcode("Sponsor banner file<br>(your default images folder is added, no need in that)","sponsorimg");

Shouldn't that be "sponsoring" ?

Also, I would like all my sponsor images in a subfolder under images. Can you help me with this?

Admin 09-28-2001 02:00 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by YourHostSucks
when you enter the path to the image just enter:

/images/sponsors/blahblah.gif

or what folder you create and sponsors image name...

YourHostSucks 09-28-2001 02:08 PM

doh, yea i have mine setup in the /sponsor folder..

and /sponsors/blah.jpg

just a brain fart -=/

SirSteve 09-28-2001 02:18 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by FireFly

No, sponsorimg = sponsor image. :)

I seen that afterwards. :)

Thanks.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01441 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,819KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete