vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Forum Home Enhancements - Forum Category Icons (Advanced) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=244351)

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 07:44 PM

Here is your fix...

Open the forumhome_forumbit_level1_post template

################################################## ###########################
Find:
################################################## ###########################
Code:

                                        <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
################################################## ###########################
Replace with:
################################################## ###########################
Code:

                                        <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_enabled'] && $forum['forumiconimg'] && $vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_location'] != '1'">
                                                <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_location'] == '0'">
                                                <!-- category icon after status icon -->
                                                <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
                                                <span><img src="images/{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_folder}/{vb:raw forum.forumiconimg}" style="float:left; clear:right; display:block; top:{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_top} {vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_size}" class="forumicon" alt="" border="0" /></span>
                                                <vb:else />
                                                <!-- replace status icon with category icon -->
                                                <img src="images/{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_folder}/{vb:raw forum.forumiconimg}" style="float:left; clear:right; display:block; top:{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_top} {vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_size}" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_status'] && $forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">style="opacity:0.5; -moz-opacity:.50; -ms-filter:”alpha(opacity=50)”; filter:alpha(opacity=50);"</vb:if> />
                                                </vb:if>
                                        <vb:else />
                                                <!-- do nothing -->
                                                <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
                                        </vb:if>

Was too easy to just let it go...

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 07:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 2054172)
and templates have to be reverted and updated every time? with every update? that's odd.

why?

Only if your not sure of the updates...just compare to what is in the install.txt to your template.

texasteamplayer 06-15-2010 08:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2054177)
Here is your fix...

Open the forumhome_forumbit_level1_post template

################################################## ###########################
Find:
################################################## ###########################
Code:

                                        <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
################################################## ###########################
Replace with:
################################################## ###########################
Code:

                                        <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_enabled'] && $forum['forumiconimg'] && $vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_location'] != '1'">
                                                <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_location'] == '0'">
                                                <!-- category icon after status icon -->
                                                <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
                                                <span><img src="images/{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_folder}/{vb:raw forum.forumiconimg}" style="float:left; clear:right; display:block; top:{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_top} {vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_size}" class="forumicon" alt="" border="0" /></span>
                                                <vb:else />
                                                <!-- replace status icon with category icon -->
                                                <img src="images/{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_folder}/{vb:raw forum.forumiconimg}" style="float:left; clear:right; display:block; top:{vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_top} {vb:raw vboptions.forumiconimg_size}" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="{vb:raw forum.title}" <vb:if condition="$vbulletin->options['forumiconimg_status'] && $forum['statusicon'] == 'old'">style="opacity:0.5; -moz-opacity:.50; -ms-filter:?alpha(opacity=50)?; filter:alpha(opacity=50);"</vb:if> />
                                                </vb:if>
                                        <vb:else />
                                                <!-- do nothing -->
                                                <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_statusicon}/{vb:raw forum.imageprefix}forum_{vb:raw forum.statusicon}-48.png" class="forumicon" id="forum_statusicon_{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
                                        </vb:if>

Was too easy to just let it go...

I figured it was, and I was going to try this. I would assume you'd want everyone to know of this, since I'd think most people woudl want an icon to be present anytime that forum has an icon next to it (index, category, and subforum view, etc).

Also, what about opacity in regards to read/unread posts? That's one of the other functions of those icons (like doubleclicking to mark as read) that most people are going to want. I know my users are already asking about it. Please add such an ability.

like this guy's mod: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=235240

Charlie98902 06-15-2010 09:45 PM

This was a nice mod and still is but with the mass template edits now I am not sure I want this.

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 2054199)
I figured it was, and I was going to try this. I would assume you'd want everyone to know of this, since I'd think most people woudl want an icon to be present anytime that forum has an icon next to it (index, category, and subforum view, etc).

Also, what about opacity in regards to read/unread posts? That's one of the other functions of those icons (like doubleclicking to mark as read) that most people are going to want. I know my users are already asking about it. Please add such an ability.

like this guy's mod: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=235240

Opacity is already there and I will add it to the next version where you can change it. I already added the changes to leve1_post in the file attached when I posted the fix for you.

As for the read/unread I need to figure out what vb is doing and add this functionality, it will come just need to spend some time on it.

Ken Sanders 06-15-2010 10:07 PM

I installed this earlier today "before" the new update and am having some problems getting the icons to show next to the main icon. If I replace the icon, all seems well, but for some reason I cant get them to show next to the icon.
Do I need to update counters or optimize any tables before I see these?

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Charlie98902 (Post 2054218)
This was a nice mod and still is but with the mass template edits now I am not sure I want this.

What mass template edits? This is only 2 template edits and is very simple.

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 10:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2054232)
I installed this earlier today "before" the new update and am having some problems getting the icons to show next to the main icon. If I replace the icon, all seems well, but for some reason I cant get them to show next to the icon.
Do I need to update counters or optimize any tables before I see these?

Nothing else needed. Did you check your template edits? Can you provide me a url to see why you are having an issue? Lastly, it could be something with the style you are using if it is very different template wise from the default style.

Ken Sanders 06-15-2010 10:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2054235)
Nothing else needed. Did you check your template edits? Can you provide me a url to see why you are having an issue? Lastly, it could be something with the style you are using if it is very different template wise from the default style.

Using default style.
Here is the URL http://3dcadjewelry.com/forum/forum.php
Only using it on the sub forums Cad design programs and milling machines to this point.

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2054237)
Using default style.
Here is the URL http://3dcadjewelry.com/forum/forum.php
Only using it on the sub forums Cad design programs and milling machines to this point.

In the file you d/l from here does it have the template edit for forumhome_forumbit_level1_post as indicated here?

Ken Sanders 06-15-2010 10:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2054239)
In the file you d/l from here does it have the template edit for forumhome_forumbit_level1_post as indicated here?

Nope, only for formbit_level2 (at least that is what was in the instructions.txt
Will take a look at the link.

Ken Sanders 06-15-2010 10:34 PM

Still stuck on only replacing, but they do show up immediately now :)...not sure where to go from here. I'll double check to make sure I inserted everything correctly.

Dark_Wizard 06-15-2010 11:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2054245)
Still stuck on only replacing, but they do show up immediately now :)...not sure where to go from here. I'll double check to make sure I inserted everything correctly.

Checked your site a few times now and it looks like you sorted it all out....

Ken Sanders 06-15-2010 11:54 PM

Thanks Dark_Wizard,
Love the mod, but I guess I am doing something wrong in order to get the icons to display next to the regular icons...Still don't know what I am doing wrong. Double checked all the template mods and all seems well.
Will use as is, and hopefully figure out what brain fart I am having to get this to work the way I want it to. :)

Dark_Wizard 06-16-2010 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2054261)
Thanks Dark_Wizard,
Love the mod, but I guess I am doing something wrong in order to get the icons to display next to the regular icons...Still don't know what I am doing wrong. Double checked all the template mods and all seems well.
Will use as is, and hopefully figure out what brain fart I am having to get this to work the way I want it to. :)

Did you select "After Status Icon"?

texasteamplayer 06-17-2010 12:32 AM

updated.

loading in 100px icons....but it still isn't allowing me to set them other than 48 px.

Dark_Wizard 06-17-2010 09:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by texasteamplayer (Post 2054781)
updated.

loading in 100px icons....but it still isn't allowing me to set them other than 48 px.

Just checked your site, you need to redo the template edits from the install.txt.

KURTZ 06-17-2010 09:25 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Code:

Warning: asort() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 20

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 21

just installed and got this into the ACP under the forum manager ...

edit: if i select 'after status icon' option i got this (check the pic attached)

Dark_Wizard 06-17-2010 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2054922)
Code:

Warning: asort() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 20

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 21

just installed and got this into the ACP under the forum manager ...

edit: if i select 'after status icon' option i got this (check the pic attached)

That error would only show up if you had no icons in the folder. As for the other issue this is the first anyone has had that issue. Can you provide me a url so I can check it out?

eddieor 06-17-2010 09:56 PM

great app, no problems and very easy to install.

Dark_Wizard 06-17-2010 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eddieor (Post 2055194)
great app, no problems and very easy to install.

Thank you!

AURFSCAN 06-17-2010 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2054922)
Code:

Warning: asort() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 20

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/admincp/forum.php(240) : eval()'d code on line 21

just installed and got this into the ACP under the forum manager ...

edit: if i select 'after status icon' option i got this (check the pic attached)


make sure your path to the icon folder is correct eg. ../icons

KURTZ 06-18-2010 09:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055115)
That error would only show up if you had no icons in the folder. As for the other issue this is the first anyone has had that issue. Can you provide me a url so I can check it out?

just sent to you a PM with the log-in parameters ... ;)

Dark_Wizard 06-18-2010 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2055343)
just sent to you a PM with the log-in parameters ... ;)

I'm there now and not seeing anything wrong unless I need to finish my first cup of coffee. ;)

KURTZ 06-18-2010 09:55 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055347)
I'm there now and not seeing anything wrong unless I need to finish my first cup of coffee. ;)

the after status icon doesn't run correctly ... i mean this (like your pic attached)

Dark_Wizard 06-18-2010 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2055348)
the after status icon doesn't run correctly ... i mean this (like your pic attached)

If I set "Category Icon Size" to width:48px; height:48px; and "Category Icon Position" to 0px; it works fine. CHeck your site now...

KURTZ 06-18-2010 10:17 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055349)
If I set "Category Icon Size" to width:48px; height:48px; and "Category Icon Position" to 0px; it works fine. CHeck your site now...

dude, i found a huge bug with firefox ... check the two pics ... the first is what i can see with FF and the second was with IE8 ...

Dark_Wizard 06-18-2010 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2055357)
dude, i found a huge bug with firefox ... check the two pics ... the first is what i can see with FF and the second was with IE8 ...

Ahh, it's an issue with FF, you didn't state that, I will look into it. Keep my account active and I will put a new version on your site when it is done.

KURTZ 06-18-2010 10:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055359)
Ahh, it's an issue with FF, you didn't state that, I will look into it. Keep my account active and I will put a new version on your site when it is done.

sure mate, thanks for your support ... ;)

ps. just nominated! really a great hack, with a huge potential.

Ken Sanders 06-18-2010 11:50 AM

Have the same problem here as well...Never could get the "after icons" to show properly.

Dark_Wizard 06-18-2010 12:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2055387)
Have the same problem here as well...Never could get the "after icons" to show properly.

Can you be more specific? What browser? Default style? Url would be nice so I can see the problem.

Ken Sanders 06-18-2010 12:58 PM

Hi Dark Wiz,
I disabled for now. Getting ready to upgrade to 404. Using FF browser with same exact problem Kurtz has. Using 48x48 icons. After uprade, I will redo templates and try again.

Dark_Wizard 06-18-2010 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2055411)
Hi Dark Wiz,
I disabled for now. Getting ready to upgrade to 404. Using FF browser with same exact problem Kurtz has. Using 48x48 icons. After uprade, I will redo templates and try again.

I am going to have to add a css template to fix this which is what I should have done from the beginning.

fluidswork 06-18-2010 05:29 PM

nice one ....

will try it later ...

thanks

Deviant K1 06-19-2010 06:37 AM

1 Attachment(s)
INSTALLED & NOMINATED!

Great work with this mod Dark Wizard!:D

I installed this mod on my test board and everything work out fine on the first try. I like the site you listed, iconspedia.com but I decided on creating my own transparent png images. I made a slight change however on where I wanted the cat-icon to show. Take a look at the attached image below.

I wanted the icons I made to float over the default status icons of vB. I know a bit weird LOL. But if you notice in the attached image below, the vB status icon still works of course and pretty much shows if a thread contains new posts or not. It shows really good behind the icons I created.

Again, thanks for this mod!

Note:
Testing on the latest versions of IE8, FF, Chrome and Safari. Installed on vB v4.03

KURTZ 06-19-2010 09:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ken Sanders (Post 2055387)
Have the same problem here as well...Never could get the "after icons" to show properly.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055407)
Can you be more specific? What browser? Default style? Url would be nice so I can see the problem.

yes it's a FF issue ... :( however any fix for that?

edit: ps. just checked with Google Chrome ... same issue ...

Dark_Wizard 06-19-2010 11:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KURTZ (Post 2055763)
yes it's a FF issue ... :( however any fix for that?

edit: ps. just checked with Google Chrome ... same issue ...

I'm looking into it...

Mrdby 06-19-2010 12:37 PM

awesome!! let us know when there is a fix!

Dark_Wizard 06-19-2010 03:19 PM

As of now the transparency issue has been resolved for all browsers, now I am working on the icon to the right of the status icon. Should be done soon.

KURTZ 06-19-2010 03:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dark_Wizard (Post 2055874)
As of now the transparency issue has been resolved for all browsers, now I am working on the icon to the right of the status icon. Should be done soon.

superb!


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01636 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,868KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (27)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete