![]() |
You can't append numbers to the "name" attributes.
action3 should be action table2 -> table password3 -> password etc, etc, etc. |
Thanks for the help Mike, but it's still not fixed :(
The original problem occured because I was playing around a lot with Dreamweaver editing the template, and copying the form around a couple times led to the problems. Here's the current status: I can jump from folder to folder with no problem. When I hit delete, I get the message that the file was deleted, but when transferred back to my inbox the message is still there. When I try moving it to a different folder, I get this message "can't move to nonexistant folder." Here's my code one more time: Quote:
Quote:
|
The <select> part is wrong. Should be:
Code:
<SELECT name="thefolder"> |
okay i am game Ed :D ... going to install PM this weekend most likely, so is there anything going to be added or modified to it between now and then ?
|
Installed everything and maked a few changes to the templates to fit my Board, but:
In the USer Profile: Receive Email On PM ON/OFF this didn't Work! I can check On or Off, when I go back to the Profile it's still off! In case off get private message in the profile it's also on Off, but you get pm + same prob here like the one above with the email! Can anyone help??? http://www.star-trek-forum.de The_Sisko |
Ed:
If you get a private message and then read it, if you go back to the main forum index you shouldn't have an indicator that tells you that you have a new message should you? Doesn't this get automatically set so that it is no longer a new message and just gets kept in the total count? The way that I see it now is that it tells me that I have a new message all the time even though I read it. Shouldn't this get reset? Am I missing something here? Parker |
Parker - I use vB's last visit time to determine if the message is new or not. Completely unrelated to read or not (I don't even track if it's been read at all anyway)
|
So what is the lag time between when your last visit time and new visit time when the pm will no longer show you that you have a new private message?
Parker |
More correctly, it uses the same method as the rest of the light bulbs on index.php - it draws from your cookie.
So, whenever that is updated. |
Ed:
Ok, I see that now. Is there anyway that you could write it so that you could make a private message as being read once you have read it? What I am trying to do here is reset the new message count to zero once you have read a message. Parker [Edited by Parker Clack on 08-08-2000 at 09:26 AM] |
I am having the same problem
In the USer Profile: Receive Email On PM ON/OFF this didn't Work! I can check On or Off, when I go back to the Profile it's still off! also the same with the recieve PM it will not turn on stays in the off postiion |
bump
|
Works fine for me, and to my knowledge, it works fine for others. Me2Be had that problem, but she just reinstalled and it was fixed, IIRC.
|
can someone confirm for me that the signatures work in the PM hack, they dont seem to show up for me when i check the tick box. issit just me :confused:
|
ok...well looks like i solved the bug myself.
the signature function was not correctly specified in "private.php" so to help anyone else who comes across this problem... heres how i fixed it, find: Code:
if ($message[showsignature]==1 and $allowsignatures==1) { Code:
if ($message[signature]==1 and $allowsignatures==1) { this fixed the bug for me because the old code was instructed to query the "showsignature" field in the messages table, however this field does not exist, it is in fact called "signature" this became apparent to me when i analysed the database directly and also because the database query did not include showsignature but instead signature which was wrong. i hope this helps and sorry if i confused anyone. btw thanks for a fantastic hack ed...umm i mean mike :D:D:D:D:D |
Well I finally upgraded and the users who post above about the "Can send pms" always defaulting to NO even though they set it to yes are correct. That is how mine is behaving. I am about to investigate the problem and fix it - I will post when I am done. It is saying NO but I can clearly see that the field in the database is set to "1" so it must be reading the setting incorrectly.
Also a note, if you upgrade you need to remove the <a href=etc etc link to private.php that you put in the postbit template from the first version and replace it with $pmlink. The notes don't seem to mention this. [Edited by rangersfan on 08-29-2000 at 05:17 PM] |
Ok the problem is this is in the instructions:
Code:
Find: |
About the "Replied to" graphics
If I reply to a message, I am still getting the same plain old folders, not the replied to folders. Does this work for anyone else, besides Ed and Me2Be, before I investigate the code? |
Well, it's not working for me anymore :( I don't think at least. Have to go verify.
They USED to... when I implemented them, so I'm going to have to make sure I didn't break them when I added other stuff (they were one of the first features I added) |
Ok, simple fix. It just wasn't validating to true - I missed an <input> :D
But that's the alternate fix - this one's easier. Open up private.php and find: Code:
if ($reply=="true") { Code:
if ($replyto) { |
Works Now :)
Bug #2 - The subject field states (subject is optional) .. but.. if you leave the subject blank then you are told you did not fill in all the fields. |
Yeah, that's a known issue - just remove that from the template.
I'll be making an official release of 1.2.5 with some bugfixes. |
How can I add PM to each forum not only the main page?
|
Quote:
|
i seem to have killed one of the forms in the html code and can't find the <form tag i'm missing could someone post a fully functional template file here?
i'm missing the little form which lets you delete checked marked private messages or move them - my begining <form> tag got deleted by accident :) thanks [Edited by rsg on 09-03-2000 at 11:59 PM] |
Ed ; I had a user with the password of "a"
When he goes into the PM's it always asks him to login, over and over. I checked and it appears that 'a' encrypts to '0' so that your check of if ($bbpassword) comes back false everytime since his password, though valid is set to '0' I just changed his password to something a wee bit secure but just letting you know. |
i need a working privatemsglist template please. i lost one of my <form> tags in mine.
|
is there something i missed about having the profile show the correct default settings for the pm hack? when ever anyone goes to the profile section, the pm hack defaults get set to "no" for both recieve private pms and receive emails on pm.
it shows correctly in the admin edit profile page in the control panel |
i put
,receivepm,emailonpm at the end of the query line Code:
$userinfo=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT parentemail,coppauser,email,password,homepage,icq,aim,yahoo,biography,signature,adminemail,showemail,invisible,cookieuser,daysprune,timezoneoffset,emailnotification,receivepm,emailonpm FROM user WHERE userid=$userid"); |
1. Ever think of looking at template-list.html?
2. If it doesn't work then you messed up the install - read what rangersfan said. And yes, that should be ok. RTFM! |
I am getting this error:
Quote:
|
any final release ?
|
I just had the most horrible time trying to install this hack, even though it probably should have been fairly easy. I'm using vBulletin v 1.1.3 B3 and followed the "first time installation" instructions which were included in the zip file.
I edited all of the files, then uploaded the makeprivtables.php file to my server. When I ran it, I got a database error, and the following message was sent to me: Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I don't know a whole lot about MySQL, and vBulletin is the first PHP program I've used with my site. I have used plenty of Perl and CGI scripts before though, and have never really had a problem. Does anyone have an idea of what I might be doing wrong here, or what could be causing all of the problems? Any help is appreciated... thanks. -Tom |
Tom -
in makeprivtables.php uncomment this line: //$DB_site->query("ALTER TABLE usergroup DROP canusepm"); (remove the //) Then rerun it. If you get an error with it finding a duplicate column, uncomment the corresponding line. (look in the file - you'll see) As for your parse error, then you messed up in editing the file. |
This thing just doesn't want to work... I tried what you said, and still received an error:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I uploaded makeprivtables.php to my /forums/ directory, and that's the ONLY file I have uploaded for this hack. In the php file it includes "global.php", which would mean it's including the global.php from the /forums/ directory and not the /forums/admin/ directory... is all of this correct? If so, I have NO clue why it's having so much trouble modifying the tables. It seems like it loses the MySQL connection ever time it's creating "canusepm", then runs into an error if I try again because it's trying to add a duplicate column... and this happens over and over. I hope somebody can help, I'd really like to get this hack working :( Thanks. -Tom [Edited by Tomeeboy on 09-16-2000 at 12:29 PM] |
Being that that's the first ALTER command, I think your host isn't giving you full permissions. Talk to them about letting you have ALTER table permissions.
(Anyone else have any other ideas?) |
No ALTER permission will clearly state "Access Denied" so it isn't that.
|
Man.. this is really bugging me now... hehe. I can usually figure out why stuff like this is happening, but this just doesn't make any sense at all. I have full permissions to everything, and I haven't had any other problems with MySQL or PHP on my server (except for the magic_quotes thing, but that was easy to fix). If anyone else has any more suggestions, keep 'em coming... I apprecitate the help.
-Tom |
Okay... apparently, since I'm hosted by VServers, user authenticated access to the database via http is not possible... go figure... "virtual server" my rear.
Is there some way around this? perhaps through telnet or something? If not... can somebody recommend a good hosting company? lol. -Tom |
Another update!
Okay, I figured the ALTER command was the cause of the problem (thinking that I didn't have permission to use that command via HTTP), so I attempted to send the first few commands to MySQL while logged in through telnet. BAM! Same errors that I got while trying via HTTP. So I emailed tech support at VServers and asked what the deal was, and they responded saying that there are segmentation faults in the MySQL daemon! (the plot thickens...) So I guess that is what was causing the problem all along... not permissions. They're having a "senior programmer" work on it now... and hopefully it will get fixed sometime soon. All of this trouble, just to add a hack to the message board. This private messaging thing better be damn good Ed! Hehehe. Anyway.. just thought I'd let everyone know so you're not thinking up workarounds and stuff for me. I'll let everyone know how it turns out :) -Tom |
All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information | |
---|---|
|
|
![]() |
|
Template Usage:
Phrase Groups Available:
|
Included Files:
Hooks Called:
|