vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   End-User Options - Let user choose how many reputation points to give (up to their limit). (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=146438)

mrghostno1 08-26-2007 12:56 AM

Er... how about 5 as default value? and I hope we get browser orietated soon... I like the popup.

Cigarcritic 08-31-2007 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutchbb (Post 1324956)
Bad. Uninstalled it, it takes away the reputation popup.

I agree. I don't want to be taken to a new page. Make it work with the Ajax pop-ups then I'll install it. Nice hack other than this issue.

kevinzheng 09-06-2007 08:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mfyvie (Post 1290706)
Find:
Code:

for($i = 0; $i <= $score; ++$i) {
Replace with:

Code:

for($i = $score; $i >= 0; $i=$i-1) {

Exactly what I want. Thanks!

kevinzheng 09-06-2007 08:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutchbb (Post 1324956)
Bad. Uninstalled it, it takes away the reputation popup.

I am waiting an ajax enabled update.:D

AngelBlue 10-03-2007 05:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mfyvie (Post 1290706)
This is exactly the problem I was having. The problem is that people don't always read what is in the drop-down box, therefore it's important that the default choice is the max rep, rather than 0!

I've fixed the issue, and suggest that this change is made in the next version:

In the plugin "Generate HTML dropdown"

Find:
Code:

for($i = 0; $i <= $score; ++$i) {
Replace with:

Code:

for($i = $score; $i >= 0; $i=$i-1) {
This will reverse current order, making max rep the first choice, and 0 the last.

This needs to be the default.

drew010 10-05-2007 04:29 AM

An update has been released to address several issues found by users who have posted in this thread.

subnet_rx 10-05-2007 01:03 PM

Thanks!

mrghostno1 10-10-2007 02:15 AM

Is it possible to make the negative points show as
Code:

-5, -4, -3
? I'll try to edit in order to get this way.
Tnks for the fix, i've been waiting for this mod.

Bomb-Chelle 10-10-2007 03:13 AM

Interesting hack...

drew010 10-10-2007 07:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrghostno1 (Post 1356622)
Is it possible to make the negative points show as
Code:

-5, -4, -3
? I'll try to edit in order to get this way.
Tnks for the fix, i've been waiting for this mod.

Yea you can do that. In the "Generate HTML Dropdown" plugin, make the following change:

PHP Code:

  // change
  
$negrepdd .= "<option value=\"$i\">$i</option>";

  
// to
  
$negrepdd .= "<option value=\"$i\">-$i</option>"


mrghostno1 10-11-2007 01:01 AM

Thnks fellow! This will make much clear to users. :)

Pocket Aces 10-13-2007 04:43 PM

Great hack!
Marked installed and nominated as MOTM.

trackpads 10-14-2007 01:21 AM

Nice hack!!

AngelBlue 10-17-2007 12:16 PM

Nice update. Thank you.

networktemple 10-18-2007 02:21 AM

wats trigger the drop down box?

drew010 10-18-2007 04:02 AM

two dropdown elements are created, one invisible, and an automatic template edit inserts javascript to toggle between the two sets of dropdowns when each one is clicked.

networktemple 10-19-2007 04:24 AM

check out my repping system.. i want to add the box in each of these http://www.networktemple.com/

AngelBlue 10-20-2007 04:44 PM

A few problems...

(1) First problem... weak negative repping

Code:

$neg_score = intval($score / 2);
This code assumes that your negative reputation power is half of your positive rep power. On my forum this is not the case. In fact I have installed other mods like this one so I can change the multiplication factor for positive and negative rep (say, making negative rep twice as powerful as positive rep).

I have solved this for myself by changing the line above from :
Code:

$neg_score = intval($score / 2);
to :
Code:

$neg_score = intval($score * 1);
However, I think it might be nice if this mod worked with the other mod and used the multiplication factor it set. If the other mod isn't installed, it should use the vbulletin default.

(2) Second problem - users are confused by two things to click.

With stock vbulletin, you only have to choose one of two radio buttons for rep (good, or bad). It then does all the calculations for you as to how much rep to give. So the user only has to click twice at most (once to submit the form, another time if they want to change the type of rep given from good to bad before they submit the form).

It occurred to me that you could put ALL of the reputation options in one drop-down menu, and update choices accordingly.

For example, instead of getting this menu for giving good rep :
Code:

(X) Good - VBPHRASE : i_approve
( ) Bad - VBPHRASE : i_disapprove

[drop-down-menu from 0 to positive rep power]

and this menu for negative rep :

Code:

( ) Good - VBPHRASE : i_approve
(X) Bad - VBPHRASE : i_disapprove

[drop-down-menu from 0 to negative rep power]

You could instead eliminate the 'good' / 'bad' radio buttons, and have a system where anyone loading the page is shown one customisable phrase, and then presented with a drop-down menu listing all their rep choices from their max negative power to their max positive power.
Once they choose how much rep to give, they are then shown some descriptive text asking them to confirm their choice, and a 'Do it' button appears (or is activated).

Example of how the window could work :

1) When loaded, the user is shown an (editable) phrase like :
"You are about to give or take reputation from this person. This will affect their standing in the forum. Give reputation for things which in your opinion, make the forum a better place to visit, and take away reputation for things you feel detract from the forum.
Please select the number of points to give or take away : [drop_down_menu_here]"

2) Once they pick a number from the drop-down menu, text appears below the drop-down-menu. Say they selected +5 on the drop-down menu :
"You have selected to GIVE 5 points. This should be done only if you are happy with what was posted, thinking it was good for the forum and want to see more posts like it. [confirm_button_here]"

If they selected "-5" on the menu, they would get :
"You have selected to [B]REMOVE [/5] reputation points. This should be done only if you think what was posted will have a negative effect on the forum. [confirm_button_here]".

The benefits of this approach are :
1) No need to bother with good/bad radio buttons.
2) The text which appears can give people some sense of why they are giving the reputation, and confirm that it is for the right reasons.
3) With some modding, you could generate different phrases depending on how much reputation was given/taken. E.g. a -1 could generate a different message than a -5... so the forum owner could have a system that encouraged people to give -1s for off-topic posts, and -5s for flaming, spam, etc.

Just a thought.

princeedward 10-22-2007 12:08 PM

Thanks...Installed! ;)

jmurrayhead 10-27-2007 01:02 AM

I've been looking for this type of mod EVERYWHERE. Finally I found it! Cheers!

dutchbb 11-01-2007 07:15 PM

Is there really no way around the Internet Explorer bug to show the ajax popups?

jmurrayhead 11-01-2007 07:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutchbb (Post 1373689)
Is there really no way around the Internet Explorer bug to show the ajax popups?

You would probably have to modify it to use regular javascript popup window, instead of AJAX.

drew010 11-01-2007 08:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dutchbb (Post 1373689)
Is there really no way around the Internet Explorer bug to show the ajax popups?

I tried several things, including changing the z-index of the dropdown box to be one of the highest values possible, but for some reason IE has an error drawing it on that dynamic window that gets created. I have seen it display okay in some versions of IE7 but I haven't been able to work out which versions of 7 it didn't work with. IE6 will probably be hopeless, but I think in a future version there will be better detection for IE7 and use ajax for that rep window wherever possible.

Basically, what happens is when the window shows, the space where the dropdown should be is just empty, the words are spaced apart as if it were there taking up room, but it seems to be invisible or underneath the popup div or something.

dutchbb 11-02-2007 04:28 PM

Ok thanks. I got another suggestion for this hack: in usercp/latest rep. showing how many points have been given would be usefull :)

SNATCH3R 12-30-2007 10:22 AM

Good mod..

But i would like to knw can we restrict this mode to certain usergroups only...rather than to all the users....

thanks once again... :)

petacat 12-30-2007 10:01 PM

Works well. Simple to instal
Installed. Voted for MOTM

petacat 12-30-2007 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by luttappy (Post 1411852)
Good mod..

But i would like to knw can we restrict this mode to certain usergroups only...rather than to all the users....

thanks once again... :)

Try the User Reputation options in the standard Usergroup permissions...

OttoBomb 01-01-2008 11:20 PM

Great mod, I'm surprised vBulletin didn't put this in their original build. Nice work drew010!

LilSniper 01-02-2008 03:48 AM

Nominated!

Alfa1 01-03-2008 06:39 PM

Does this work for vb 3.7?

steve71 02-10-2008 01:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by steve71 (Post 1265875)
1. How can I make the drop down max at 10 points?

I have the Enhanced reputation checks mod enabled to cap voting at 10 points, but it doesn't take effect with this mod in use.

2. Is this compatible with 3.6.7

Thanks for the hack!

Still does not work with the "cap" system from enhanced rep checks

Otherwise I would definately use this mod.

droid101 03-14-2008 12:51 AM

Does this not work with Firefox?

What if someone who only has one rep power in firefox tries to give reputation? Will it give/take 0 points... since it doesn't ask how many?

It does ask if you have more than one rep power, but doesn't if you only have one. Weird.

droid101 03-14-2008 06:12 PM

Okay, so if you only have one rep power, you can't give negative reputation? It only allows you to choose from 0 or +1 rep if you only have one rep power. How can I change this so that they can choose -1 as well?

droid101 03-14-2008 06:23 PM

Okay, well, I did something for the time being to fix it. In the "Generate HTML Dropdown" plugin, I changed

$neg_score = intval($score / 2);
to:
$neg_score = intval($score / 2+1);

This works... a bit clunky, but oh well.

LilSniper 03-26-2008 11:17 PM

50% of the time, users try to give 0 rep, it makes them give -rep. How can I solve this??

Thanks!

mahsazn 04-08-2008 04:58 PM

as REPUTATIONs increase users can give higher Rep. points to the other users by one click...
how can i put limit for this increase in points (by one click)?

princeedward 06-28-2008 08:16 AM

forget it now...how to make this to any or such usergroup enable...at the moment I the admin can only use this...:rolleyes:

princeedward 07-07-2008 08:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by princeedward (Post 1561019)
forget it now...how to make this to any or such usergroup enable...at the moment I the admin can only use this...:rolleyes:

BUMP!

wtrk 07-28-2008 07:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alfa1 (Post 1414813)
Does this work for vb 3.7?

yes it does.

DesiSugar 09-26-2008 08:31 PM

but how to show this on postbit.???
i mean show only Total points.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01273 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,829KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (11)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete