vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   A Simple PHP Banner Rotator? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=124834)

Kirk Y 02-05-2008 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ranger269 (Post 1436521)
That's what I figured the problem was but I didn't know how to do it.

Code:

<div align="center">$random_banner[$random_number]</div>
When I tried adding a "2" between "number" and "]", it made the bottom banner disapear.

Can you tell me what code I need and if both of them need to be changed or only the bottom one?

The variable names need to be unique for each rotation instance.

So for Banner Rotation A, you'd have:
Code:

$random_number = rand(1, 5);

$random_banner[1] = '<a href="http://www.link1.com/"><img src="path/to/banner1.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[2] = '<a href="http://www.link2.com/"><img src="path/to/banner2.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[3] = '<a href="http://www.link3.com/"><img src="path/to/banner3.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[4] = '<a href="http://www.link4.com/"><img src="path/to/banner4.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[5] = '<a href="http://www.link5.com/"><img src="path/to/banner5.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';

And use:
Code:

$random_banner[$random_number];
And then for Rotation B, you'd have:
Code:

$random_number2 = rand(1, 5);

$random_banner2[1] = '<a href="http://www.link1.com/"><img src="path/to/banner1.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner2[2] = '<a href="http://www.link2.com/"><img src="path/to/banner2.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner2[3] = '<a href="http://www.link3.com/"><img src="path/to/banner3.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner2[4] = '<a href="http://www.link4.com/"><img src="path/to/banner4.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner2[5] = '<a href="http://www.link5.com/"><img src="path/to/banner5.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>';

And use:
Code:

$random_banner2[$random_number2];
Each rotation instance *doesn't* have to be put in a separate plugin; you can store each in the same plugin.

kronnos 02-05-2008 12:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kronnos (Post 1436566)
I'm Using Ultimate Side Columns and trying to paste this code into one of the left column blocks.

Ohh and the vb version Im using is 3.6.7

Ranger269 02-05-2008 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Y (Post 1436655)
The variable names need to be unique for each rotation instance......

Thanks a lot, Kirk! That worked.

One more question...

I need to know how to move the banner up per the following...


http://www.image4u.org/avianquest/BottomBanner.jpg


Code:

        <div align="center">$random_banner2[$random_number2]</div>

<br />
<!-- 100 Top Sites Code Start : Do not modify -->
<A HREF="http://www.hitsunlimited.com/cgi-bin/100topbirds/100top.cgi?ID=565" target="_blank">
<img SRC="http://www.hitsunlimited.com/cgi-bin/100topbirds/100top.cgi?IDimg=565" BORDER=0 height=28 width=98 alt="image linking to 100 Top Birds and Waterfowl Sites"></A>
<!-- 100 Top Sites Code End -->

<br />
<div class="smallfont" align="center">$vbphrase[all_times_are_gmt_x_time_now_is_y]</div>
<br />

$spacer_close
<!-- /content area table -->

<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get">
       
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" class="page" align="center">
<tr>
        <if condition="$show['quickchooser']">
                <td class="tfoot">
                        <select name="styleid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'style')">
                                <optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_style_chooser]">
                                        $quickchooserbits
                                </optgroup>
                        </select>
                </td>
        </if>
        <if condition="$show['languagechooser']">
                <td class="tfoot">
                        <select name="langid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'lang')">
                                <optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_language_chooser]">
                                        $languagechooserbits
                                </optgroup>
                        </select>
                </td>
        </if>
        <td class="tfoot" align="$stylevar[right]" width="100%">
                <div class="smallfont">
                        <strong>
                                <if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow" accesskey="9">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if>
                                <if condition="$vboptions['hometitle']"><a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -</if>
                                <if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
                                <if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
                                <if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
                                <if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
                                <a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
                        </strong>
                </div>
        </td>
</tr>
</table>

<br />

<div align="center">
        <div class="smallfont" align="center">
        <!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
        $vbphrase[powered_by_vbulletin]
        <!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
        </div>
       
        <div class="smallfont" align="center">
        <!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
        $cronimage
        <!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
       
        $vboptions[copyrighttext]
        </div>
</div>

</form>

<if condition="$show['dst_correction']">
<!-- auto DST correction code -->
<form action="profile.php?do=dst" method="post" name="dstform">
        <input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
        <input type="hidden" name="do" value="dst" />
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
        var tzOffset = $bbuserinfo[timezoneoffset] + $bbuserinfo[dstonoff];
        var utcOffset = new Date().getTimezoneOffset() / 60;
        if (Math.abs(tzOffset + utcOffset) == 1)
        {        // Dst offset is 1 so its changed
                document.forms.dstform.submit();
        }
//-->
</script>
<!-- / auto DST correction code -->

</if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
        // Main vBulletin Javascript Initialization
        vBulletin_init();
//-->
</script>


Kirk Y 02-05-2008 06:21 PM

You'll need to move it out of the footer template; I can't recall of the top of my head which template deals with that area. It might be SHOWTHREAD.

PS. http://articles.techrepublic.com.com...2-5075969.html :)

Ranger269 02-05-2008 07:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Y (Post 1436900)
You'll need to move it out of the footer template; I can't recall of the top of my head which template deals with that area. It might be SHOWTHREAD.

Thanks! As I was eating lunch, I was coming to the same conclusion.

And you just answered my next question as well! :up:

kronnos 02-06-2008 05:08 AM

Kirk, any idea on my code problem?

Neetoman 03-06-2008 07:06 PM

This thread looks like something that might be able to help me...

I am needing to display recent blog posts. Similar to how there is a module to display recent forum posts. The difference is I need to rotate every blog post (5-10) at a time in one minute intervals.

Any help and direction would GREATLY appreciated! I am a designer and not really a true coder, but I can follow directions easily enough.

Can any of you out there help me achieve what I am after? Is there a good way to do this?

habilonline 03-09-2008 01:08 PM

ohh very simple. Thanks...

Neetoman 03-10-2008 10:23 PM

Bumping this for my comment/question two posts back...

Can anyone help with this...?

Lynne 03-10-2008 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neetoman (Post 1461848)
Bumping this for my comment/question two posts back...

Can anyone help with this...?

You would do better to start your own thread. This is about banner rotations which is quite different than post rotations.

Neetoman 03-12-2008 04:58 PM

Thanks Lynne for trying to help... I was actually sent to this thread from my own post that I origionally started here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...47#post1463147

So, if there is anyone who thinks they can help please come post there...

FishMRC 05-20-2008 02:28 PM

We have this installed on our forums and works without issue, but is there a way of making this so that we do not have to refresh the page for a new banner to appear?

Sorry to say that I'm not really that clued up on PHP and all the internal workings of it.

Thanks
Fish

ETDC 06-30-2008 08:10 PM

Simple to install. (We like that). I'm assuming that it'll support Flash with the requisite code...?

:up: :up: :up:

Mavs00 07-18-2009 03:27 PM

I have tried everything to get this to work without success.

I have created a plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Name: Banner Rotator
Execution order: 1

Code

Code:

$random_number = rand(1, 2);

$random_banner[1] = '<a href="http://www.hawkvittles.com/"><img src="http://www.adkhighpeaks.com/banner/banner1.jpg" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[2] = '<a href="http://adkhighpeaks.com/sentinel/"><img src="http://www.adkhighpeaks.com/banner/banner2.jpg" alt="" border="0" /></a>';

Right now, I only have 2 (once it works, I'll add more).

I then have added the following code to the bottom of my postbit_legacy templete. It's set within a [if] condition to display it after the first post in each thread.

Code:

<if condition="$post[postcount] % $vboptions[maxposts] == 1">

<div style="padding: $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px 0px 0px">

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
        <td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1" align="center">
 

$random_banner[$random_number]


        </td>
</tr>
</table>

</div>

</if>

If I replace the $random_banner[$random_number] with a single banner image link, or even adsense javascript code, it works perfect, but when I put in the $random banner call, I get an empty "sponsored link table".

Any help would be appreciated. Oh yeah, I'm running this on an old 3.6.2 version. I haven't tried it on another forum running 3.8. so I don't know if it works there.

--------------- Added [DATE]1247935578[/DATE] at [TIME]1247935578[/TIME] ---------------

Addendum to above post.

I was able to get it to successfully work within the Header template.

It must be a formatting error in my postbit_legacy "sponsored links table. I can't for the life of me figure it out.

Mavs00 08-28-2009 12:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mavs00 (Post 1851168)
I have tried everything to get this to work without success.

I have created a plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Name: Banner Rotator
Execution order: 1

Code

Code:

$random_number = rand(1, 2);

$random_banner[1] = '<a href="http://www.hawkvittles.com/"><img src="http://www.adkhighpeaks.com/banner/banner1.jpg" alt="" border="0" /></a>';
$random_banner[2] = '<a href="http://adkhighpeaks.com/sentinel/"><img src="http://www.adkhighpeaks.com/banner/banner2.jpg" alt="" border="0" /></a>';

Right now, I only have 2 (once it works, I'll add more).

I then have added the following code to the bottom of my postbit_legacy templete. It's set within a [if] condition to display it after the first post in each thread.

Code:

<if condition="$post[postcount] % $vboptions[maxposts] == 1">

<div style="padding: $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px 0px 0px">

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
        <td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1" align="center">
 

$random_banner[$random_number]


        </td>
</tr>
</table>

</div>

</if>

If I replace the $random_banner[$random_number] with a single banner image link, or even adsense javascript code, it works perfect, but when I put in the $random banner call, I get an empty "sponsored link table".

Any help would be appreciated. Oh yeah, I'm running this on an old 3.6.2 version. I haven't tried it on another forum running 3.8. so I don't know if it works there.

--------------- Added [DATE]1247935578[/DATE] at [TIME]1247935578[/TIME] ---------------

Addendum to above post.

I was able to get it to successfully work within the Header template.

It must be a formatting error in my postbit_legacy "sponsored links table. I can't for the life of me figure it out.

Any thoughts here, I still can not figure this out. PLEASE. thanks

Mavs00 09-03-2009 03:03 PM

Does not work in 3.8.3 or 4

It seems the only place I cannot get it to work is the postbit_legacy template.

valdet 09-03-2010 11:00 AM

Sorry for bumping an old thread. I am looking for similar solution.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mavs00 (Post 1879036)
Does not work in 3.8.3 or 4

It seems the only place I cannot get it to work is the postbit_legacy template.

For vb3 you need to use it on postbit_start or postbit_complete hooks. It worked for me.


But I am still interested to find out how to make this rotator work for vBulletin 4 here .
Any ideas??

----

UPDATE:
After lots of trial&error testing I finally made it through
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...30#post2095330


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01199 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,812KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (10)bbcode_code_printable
  • (8)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (17)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete