vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   X newposts in Y threads (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91370)

Cheertobi 08-01-2005 07:25 PM

Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi

Mr Blunt 08-01-2005 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheertobi
Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi

Unfortunately, Yes and Yes.
I'll see if I can tweak that somehow.
Hmmmmmm

ogden2k 08-02-2005 08:19 PM

Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.

Mr Blunt 08-24-2005 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ogden2k
Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.

Sorry, I didn't even see this reply until now!!
This would be a little tricky, but yes, anything can be done with conditionals.

conditionals are things like "if statements" for those wondering:
HTML Code:

<if condition="$newposts">
    Do this
<else />
    Do that
</if>

These TEMPLATE conditionals can be nested amost anywhere in html.
So to make JUST THE NUMBER be bold IF that number is not zero:
HTML Code:

<br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew"><if condition="$newposts"><b>$newposts</b><else />$newposts</if> New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.</span>
If you want to make ALL THE TEXT bold IF that number is not zero:
HTML Code:

<br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew"><if condition="$newposts"><b></if>$newposts New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.<if condition="$newposts"></b></if></span>
And it would be just as easy, if not easier to just completely eliminate the display IF there are no new posts as this eliminates the need for the ELSE half of the statement (since the other condition is to "do nothing").
HTML Code:

<if condition="$newposts"><br /><span class="smallfont"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew">$newposts New Posts</a> in $newthreads Threads.</span></if>
There's 3 completely different examples.
Hope that didn't confuse you too much.
If so, say so.



P.S. - As for previous request of hiding non viewable posts ... sorry I'm taking so long but I've devoted a ton of time to to another very intricate hack of mine because developing THAT is teaching me a ton of stuff which will help me design other small tweaks such as this with much better code.

Along my travels, I did find another hack that accomplishes something similar (forgot which for now but I'll get back to it when I'm ready) but I refuse to implement it until I either get permission from other author to do so and/or I learn enough to develope something like that on my own without having to cut n paste from someone elses work (meaning I fully understand the code).

Boofo 08-24-2005 08:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr Blunt
Unfortunately, Yes and Yes.
I'll see if I can tweak that somehow.
Hmmmmmm

Actually, the

visible = 1

should take care of that shouldn't it?

Mr Blunt 08-24-2005 10:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boofo
Actually, the

visible = 1

should take care of that shouldn't it?

I'm probably wrong but I always assumed visible was 1 unless the post is soft deleted.

I think the counts they want to hide are posts in private subforums like a Moderator's Forum or such for example which (I THINK) requires checking user and/or forum permissions somewhere along the line.

I think it was a hack by Paul M where I saw something like this, but don't quote me.

Boofo 08-24-2005 06:19 PM

PM me and I can give you the single query I used in my forumhome stats cache hack for vB 3.0 for this. I think it handled private forums like it should be. ;)

Mr Blunt 08-29-2005 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boofo
PM me and I can give you the single query I used in my forumhome stats cache hack for vB 3.0 for this. I think it handled private forums like it should be. ;)

I finally have a response to the last PM.
A discussion about what is/isn't neccessary in the file would be great.
My opinion ... I think we need something a little more along the lines of this.
As you'll see, ummmm, I didn't use your query.
:D
Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread
:banana:
Whole New Product ....
It evolved too far to keep in here as a plugin.

How should I kill this old thread??
Delete the file and put a redirect in the top post??
A few people have this installed so I don't think deleting the thread is the answer.

What do guys normally do in this situation??
Reference is always a nice thing I think.

I changed the hack's name BECAUSE I'm thinking this might expand someday beyond just post/thread counts so the old name won't really suit my needs and I figure sooner is better than later.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheertobi
Hi,

just two short questions, what about posts that are made in forums, a user has no access to? Are these posts also counted? What about a users own posts, are these also counted?!

Regards,

Tobi

Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread
New Hack has a New Answer to your questions!!

1) If the can't see the post, then the post isn't part of the counts.
2) Test this and let me know how it goes.
:D
Quote:

Originally Posted by ogden2k
Hi, is there a way to bold the number of threads/posts if they are new and not bold when there's only 0?

I tried with the PHP, but am not too familiar with with it.

Click Me to goto Blunts Welcome Member & Guests hack thread

I took a different route for now, but we can still tweak things if anyone offers up some opinions on the new hack. There are 3 lines of text now, for 3 different search types. If the number would be zero, then I don't display the line at all. Let me know what you think.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01551 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,750KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_html_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (8)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete