vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 Programming Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=252)
-   -   Check if IP address is in use, deny registration (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=289359)

Simon Lloyd 10-22-2012 12:16 AM

Maybe something like this in a plugin using register_start as the hook
PHP Code:

$user_ip strtoupper($_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']);
if(
$this->registry->options['cestr_active'] && THIS_SCRIPT == 'register'
{  
   
$result $vbulletin->query('SELECT COUNT(ipaddress) FROM " .TABLE_PREFIX."user WHERE ipaddress = $user_ip')
if(
$result !== 0){
die();
}


Not tested just dashed it off :)

Jennifer2010 10-22-2012 07:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by snakes1100 (Post 2374918)
That is incorrect, just because you hit the reset button, doesnt mean you have disconnected your cable modem from the comcast service, you simply soft reset it with a quick repower. That also applies for charter, you do not get a static ip.

You do NOT have a static IP, they are not allowed in a residential based account, you can quote that from comcasts web site if you want or call them, just because you get lucky and keep the same ip, doesnt mean its static.

Quote:

Originally Posted by snakes1100 (Post 2374918)
You have to unplug it, that means everything, even the cable line.

That is incorrect, just because you hit the reset button, doesnt mean you have disconnected your cable modem from the comcast service, you simply soft reset it with a quick repower. That also applies for charter, you do not get a static ip.

You do NOT have a static IP, they are not allowed in a residential based account, you can quote that from comcasts web site if you want or call them, just because you get lucky and keep the same ip, doesnt mean its static.

Now you're putting words in my mouth and making naive assumptions. There's a difference between a "hard" reset and a "soft" reset as you know. I have disconnected the router "completely" as you described many times in the past 3 years and it does nothing.

Not only that, Comcast was here 6 months ago. They replaced our modem with a new one, the cables and a new splitter. Guess what? Our IP didn't change! If it did, I would have had to add it to the whitelist for my server, 3 websites and my vbulletin admincp login (which you failed to address).

It's not just me. Here's a screenshot of the IP's my business partner has used on our forum since we launched in May of 2011:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2012/10/15.jpg

The first one: His first apartment (lived there maybe 5 months)
The second one: When he stayed at his parents for a few weeks before he moved into hi new place.
The third one: His new place.

The IP resolves to c-XX-98-85-162.hsd1.de.comcast.net (xx'd out for privacy reasons).

It also didn't take me long to find one of our longtime members that joined 4/9/11 with 1,547 posts who logs in nearly every day and posts. He has ONE IP address that also resolves to Comcast in Illinois. He actually has another IP address showing up, but that's resolving to Cloudflare which when using with vbulletin will cause everyone's IP to change to that (we had it for maybe a week).

So please, don't tell me that Comcast IP's change often - they don't. I don't pay extra for a static IP (that requires a business account). Myself, my business partner, and a few hundred people have to have their IP whitelisted on our membership sites - which they'd be screaming at me in an email if they suddenly lost access due to their IP changing. Please, tell about how these are all anomalies!

This is irrefutable proof that you can't disregard with rumor and hearsay. The only thing I'll acknowledge is that around the time Comcast rebranded to XFINITY, they started adding dynamic accounts and new customers are under this system. Their old system is different and your IP does not change very often - let alone when you "reset" your modem "completely". I'll also acknowledge that my IP DOES change - but the last one I had for nearly 2+ years. Google defines "dynamic" as "Characterized by constant change, activity, or progress."

I wouldn't consider IP's that rarely change "dynamic".

- Ryan

Simon Lloyd 10-22-2012 07:05 AM

Ryan, after your rant did you try the plugin code i supplied?

Jennifer2010 10-22-2012 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd (Post 2374989)
Ryan, after your rant did you try the plugin code i supplied?

Sorry for not responding to that!

I'm not familiar with the process of creating a plugin, so I'm a bit lost on how exactly I would try to implement this...

Simon Lloyd 10-22-2012 07:18 AM

I'll test it later when i've had some sleep and make it a product that you can just import with just one setting in vbulletin options, simply turn on or turn off.

It wont be until around 19:30 GMT as im working nights so im just off to bed now :(

Jennifer2010 10-22-2012 07:20 AM

I posted this in the paid discussion and was going to pay someone for this anyways, so I would be happy to pay you for your time as well. Going to send you a PM with some details to see if you're interested. I'm actually trying to get a specific mod that'll do a little more than just grab the post/reg ip's, so I wouldn't want you to waste your time just for me.

nhawk 10-22-2012 02:54 PM

FYI...

If you have a true static IP, when you do a whois on ARIN.NET for the IP address it will show a customer other than "Comcast Cable Communications, Inc".

True static IP addresses for Comcast show "Private Customer".

If your IP shows a customer of "Comcast Cable Communications, Inc", you're on a dynamic IP and it can change at any time. That doesn't mean it will, but it CAN.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01161 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,740KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (7)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete