vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   missing drop down menus (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=266188)

BirdOPrey5 07-05-2011 02:35 PM

It's weird since I have no problem with other VB 3.x forums with Chrome, including my own.

kh99 07-05-2011 03:57 PM

I found that vbulletin_menu.js is not being included when the page is loaded in Chrome, and I think it has to do with this code in global.php:

HTML Code:

if ($vbulletin->options['usepopups'])
{
        if ((is_browser('ie', 5) AND !is_browser('mac')) OR is_browser('mozilla') OR is_browser('firebird') OR is_browser('opera', 7) OR is_browser('webkit') OR is_browser('konqueror', 3.2))
        {
                // use popups
        }
        else
        {
                // don't use popups
                $vbulletin->options['usepopups'] = 0;
        }
}

I have version 3.8.3 which isn't the latest. Maybe the cases in the "if" don't include Chrome. But that's kind of confusing because it would mean they would never work in Chrome, but I don't think I've ever seen anyone ask about this before.

ETA: ...also Joe just said he has no problems, so maybe the code above isn't the issue. But in template headinclude there's a if $show['popups'] around the line that includes vbulletin_menu.js, so I'm assuming $show['popups'] is set to false for some reason.

More Edits: I notice that your site is using 3.6.4, maybe that version is out of date when it comes to detecting browsers.

slehmann 07-05-2011 09:11 PM

so could I add chrome to that list and see if it works?

kh99 07-05-2011 09:32 PM

Well, assuming that is the problem (I'm not 100% sure), then probably what you'd want to do is modify the is_broswer() function (which is in includes/functions.php). If you have access to the source code for a later version of vbulletin, you could probably copy the is_browser function from that. Even the latest from vb4.1.4 doesn't have 'chrome' as a type you can check for - I think it's reported as 'mozilla', so probably wouldn't need to change the code in global.php.

slehmann 07-07-2011 10:59 PM

still haven't figured it out

BirdOPrey5 07-07-2011 11:50 PM

I found another form running VB 3.6.4: http://www.pdgaming.com/

The drop down menus are also disabled for Google Chrome so I'm sure that is just how 3.6.4 was programmed- before Chrome existed, it's not recognized as a compatible browser.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.00997 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,727KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (6)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete