vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB4 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=251)
-   -   External Profile Links (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=256269)

Lynne 01-02-2011 07:54 PM

Um... I just pasted your <a> tag in there without looking at it. You can't have the img src stuff in there - it's invalid html. Put in some valid html and it should show up:
HTML Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="{vb:raw post.field6}"><img src="button.png" alt="" /></a></vb:if>
Then modify it to add other properties to the <a> tag.

AlexisMedia 01-02-2011 10:30 PM

Sorry...

Shouldn't this work?

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">

<div class="userinfo_extra">

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="{vb:raw post.field6}"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></vb:if>

                                        <dl class="userstats">
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['field2']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase location_perm}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.field2}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['age']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase age}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.age}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <dt>{vb:rawphrase posts}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.posts}</dd>

It doesn't seem to be and isn't showing up anything in the source code?

BTW, am a silly to keep saying this source code statement? If it was being activated at all then shouldn't it be showing up there?

TheLastSuperman 01-02-2011 10:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexisMedia (Post 2142965)
Sorry...

Shouldn't this work?

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['userid']">

<div class="userinfo_extra">

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="{vb:raw post.field6}"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></vb:if>

                                        <dl class="userstats">
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['field2']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase location_perm}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.field2}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['age']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase age}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.age}</dd></vb:if>
                                                <dt>{vb:rawphrase posts}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.posts}</dd>

It doesn't seem to be and isn't showing up anything in the source code?

BTW, am a silly to keep saying this source code statement? If it was being activated at all then shouldn't it be showing up there?

Your only calling the field though that way.. in your first post in the URL it had:

Code:

<a href="http://website.com/users-profile" target="slideshow" onclick="window.open(this.getAttribute('href'), this.getAttribute('target'), 'width=770,height=800,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes').focus(); return false;"></a>
Should read:

Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="http://website.com/{vb:raw post.field6}"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></vb:if>
IF your providing them the link i.e. the name only not the full url, as you said initially:

Quote:

I would then like it linked to an external user profile using this code... The users aren't going to have that exact code unless I provide it for them individually.
So basically you provide them the name to their off-site "profile" however your making them and they key in just the name so this:

Code:

http://website.com/users-profile
Becomes this:

Code:

http://website.com/{vb:raw post.field6}
Yet shows the link in the postbit to their off-site type of profile :D and that way they only enter in the name not a full URL ;).

AlexisMedia 01-03-2011 12:07 AM

I didn't realize that I put the 1st code like that. The url is actually

Code:

http://mysite.com/category/name-of-business-city.php
Not knowing anything of what I was doing I tried doing this:

Code:

<div class="userinfo_extra">

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="http://mysite.com/{vb:raw post.field6}.php"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></vb:if>


                                        <dl class="userstats">
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>

and then in the profile field:

category/name-of-business-city

but nothing again :(

Could I have the wrong profile field? Should it be a "radio" field or something rather then a normal text one?

I'm sorry, I'm getting extremely embarrassed about my stupidity with this. Really been a humbling experience that's for sure.

--------------- Added [DATE]1294021155[/DATE] at [TIME]1294021155[/TIME] ---------------

and do I have this inserted into the correct location of the template?

TheLastSuperman 01-03-2011 12:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexisMedia (Post 2143004)
I didn't realize that I put the 1st code like that. The url is actually

Code:

http://mysite.com/category/name-of-business-city.php
Not knowing anything of what I was doing I tried doing this:

Code:

<div class="userinfo_extra">

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="http://mysite.com/{vb:raw post.field6}.php"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></vb:if>


                                        <dl class="userstats">
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>

and then in the profile field:

category/name-of-business-city

but nothing again :(

Could I have the wrong profile field? Should it be a "radio" field or something rather then a normal text one?

I'm sorry, I'm getting extremely embarrassed about my stupidity with this. Really been a humbling experience that's for sure.

--------------- Added [DATE]1294021155[/DATE] at [TIME]1294021155[/TIME] ---------------

and do I have this inserted into the correct location of the template?

That looks right however do they need a category and a filename? If not use this:

Code:

<div class="userinfo_extra">

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><a href="http://mysite.com/category/{vb:raw post.field6}.php"><img src="profilebutton.png" alt="Profile Button" /></a></vb:if>


                                        <dl class="userstats">
                                                <vb:if condition="$post['joindate']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase join_date}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.joindate}</dd></vb:if>

You were missing the </a> I have added it, also you do have something in the field correct?

Edit: Also if your not good w/ knowing paths simply use the FULL URL to the image, the img src="profilebutton.png" will not work however http://www.yoursite.com/images/profilebutton.png OR images/profilebutton.png would.

AlexisMedia 01-03-2011 12:48 AM

I PM'd you exactly what I have and with screenshots so hopefully we can nail this as it's not working.

Feel free to reply here or via PM just change my site details if you reply here.

I know you guys don't want PM's for help but I thought it was necessary to give you exactly what I'm doing code/screenshot wise...

Thanks!

Lynne 01-03-2011 12:54 AM

You are forgetting the </a> in your code.

But, try just doing this to see if you get anything:
HTML Code:

<vb:if condition="$post['field6']">{vb:raw post.field6}</vb:if>
that way you see if it's just your html

AlexisMedia 01-03-2011 01:05 AM

I did try that and PM'd LastSuperman exactly what I have now with screenshots including that. Would you like the details as well?

TheLastSuperman 01-03-2011 01:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlexisMedia (Post 2143028)
I did try that and PM'd LastSuperman exactly what I have now with screenshots including that. Would you like the details as well?

In your pm the url would resolve to this...

Code:

http://yoursite.com/photographers/belly-beautiful-maternity-sa
There's nothing there, give us an exact example of a finished profile, we need a link not http://the link you sent me in pm.co...l-maternity-sa so we can simply paste the code for you as I feel your almost there just leaving out something or not giving us valid url or when you enter it in it's not valid so your not seeing it could be part of it as well but as I said give us the url to a finished off-site profile.

AlexisMedia 01-03-2011 02:26 AM

:(

sorry but sent you another PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01111 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,769KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_html_printable
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete