vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   Open Anouncement? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=198115)

Lynne 12-08-2008 03:03 AM

I just suggested a phrase cuz it's easy and looks cleaner to me in the template. You don't have to do it that way. There are a ton of different ways you could do it - you could even use templates. If I were to do it, I'd use a plugin. I'd have the condition, and based on which thread it is, I'd do a query and grab the first post in the Sticky thread that you want at the top of the thread and then spit it out. I don't know how comfortable you are coding, but that is a nice clean, simple way to do it. The easy way if you don't want to code is to do what I suggested and just write that condition at the top of the SHOWTHREAD template where you want the message/announcement to appear. You probably don't need the first condition regarding the forumid, you just need the condition regarding the thread id. So, you check to see if it's thread id xxxx, and if so, you spit out 'whatever'. If this were me putting the message at the top of the page, I'd put it either right above or right below the $poll.

Ghost Shadow 12-08-2008 03:54 AM

1. Getting this error when placing above $poll.
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ']' in /home/jlee1958/public_html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3772) : eval()'d code on line 26

2. Correct santax would be?
<if condition="$threadid]=='2'">

Thank you.

cono1717 12-08-2008 12:08 PM

I am not too sure about this as I am not a expert with this but wouldn't it be.
<if condition="[$threadid]=='2'"> ? Again I am not too sure though.

Lynne 12-08-2008 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ghost Shadow (Post 1680706)
1. Getting this error when placing above $poll.
The following error occurred when attempting to evaluate this template:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ']' in /home/jlee1958/public_html/includes/adminfunctions_template.php(3772) : eval()'d code on line 26

2. Correct santax would be?
<if condition="$threadid]=='2'">


Thank you.

I mistyped the second line. It should just be:

HTML Code:

<if condition="$threadid=='2'">

Ghost Shadow 12-08-2008 11:41 PM

I put this bellow $poll to just test things and nothing happened when I went into the Thread.

Code:

<if condition="in_array($forum[forumid], array(x,y,z))">
<if condition="$threadid=='2'">
html message here or contents from post maybe - could require plugin
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='yyyyyy'">
html message here
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='zzzzzz'">
html message here
</if>
etc.

</if>

Thank you for helping and being patient with me.

Lynne 12-09-2008 12:05 AM

Remove the part about the forumid (especially since you didn't replace x, y, z with any forumids). So:
HTML Code:

<if condition="$threadid=='2'">
html message here or contents from post maybe - could require plugin
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='yyyyyy'">
html message here
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='zzzzzz'">
html message here
</if>
etc.

Also, make sure you replace yyyyy and zzzzz with actual thread ids.

Ghost Shadow 12-09-2008 03:30 AM

OK, below is what I placed below $poll in the Styles SHOWTHREAD:


Code:

<if condition="$threadid=='2'">
Testing 2
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='7'">
Testing 3
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='8'">
Testing 8
</if>

Still nothing shows in the 2, 7 and 8t Thread.

Lynne 12-09-2008 03:34 AM

You have threads numbered 2, 7, and 8? Perhaps a link to one of these threads would help.

You could try replacing $threadid with $thread['threadid'] and see if that works. And you didn't place this inside the condition that is right below the poll, right? If what you really mean is forum 2 and forum 7, then you need to replace $threadid with $thread[forumid].

Ghost Shadow 12-09-2008 03:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lynne (Post 1681404)
You have threads numbered 2, 7, and 8? Perhaps a link to one of these threads would help.

You could try replacing $threadid with $thread['threadid'] and see if that works. And you didn't place this inside the condition that is right below the poll, right? If what you really mean is forum 2 and forum 7, then you need to replace $threadid with $thread[forumid].

Did not work.

http://www.warfaith.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2

Code:

</head>
<body onload="$onload">
$header
$navbar


$poll

<if condition="$threadid=='2'">
Testing 2
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='7'">
Testing 3
</if>
<if condition="$threadid=='8'">
Testing 8
</if>


<if condition="$show['inlinemod']">
$spacer_close
<form action="inlinemod.php?threadid=$threadinfo[threadid]&amp;p=$postid" method="post" id="inlinemodform">
$spacer_open
</if>

<a name="poststop" id="poststop"></a>


Lynne 12-09-2008 03:54 AM

That is forumid 2, not threadid 2. As I said, if you are using forumids, then you need to use $thread[forumid] instead of $threadid.

HTML Code:

<if condition="$thread[forumid]=='2'">
Testing 2
</if>
<if condition="$thread[forumid]=='7'">
Testing 3
</if>
<if condition="$thread[forumid]=='8'">
Testing 8
</if>



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01177 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,750KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_html_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete