vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vB3 General Discussions (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=111)
-   -   using PHP in templates? (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=186058)

RLShare 07-22-2008 09:41 PM

You got it a little confused. You use PHP directly in the plug-in and then place the HTML you want into a variable to be displayed in the template...

Here is a quick example of what a plugin would look like with your first if statement....

PHP Code:

$alnav='';
if (empty(
$p)) {
               
$alnav.='<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage(\'home\',\'\',\'../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif\',1)"> 
                <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>'
;
            } 

Then you would place a reference to $alnav into the template

Opserty 07-22-2008 10:57 PM

Probably the easiest thing to do is to use output buffering.
E.g.
PHP Code:

ob_start();

// Your original PHP here... not the one you've edited

$somevar ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean(); 

Use $somevar in your template

halliday06 07-23-2008 07:03 AM

thanks for the help i'll give it a go

--------------- Added [DATE]1216814486[/DATE] at [TIME]1216814486[/TIME] ---------------

as a test i ran this:

nothing shows... and whenever i enable the plugin i get this error:

Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in /home/forcer/public_html/forums/includes/functions_forumdisplay.php on line 182

thats with the hook global_start, when i use the hook global_setup_complete i get an error at the top of the page.

PHP Code:

$alnav='';

            if (empty(
$p)) {
                
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>'
;
            } else {
                if (
$p == 'home') {
                    
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                    <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>'
;
                } else {
                    
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                    <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_l.gif" id="\home" /></a></li>'
;
                }
            } 


Dylanblitz 07-23-2008 03:09 PM

If you are using
Code:

$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)">
                <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>';

then you need to put the \ before any 's in there
like

Code:

$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage(\'home\',\'\',\'../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif\',1)">
                <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>';


RLShare 07-23-2008 04:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by halliday06 (Post 1582067)
PHP Code:

$alnav='';

            if (empty(
$p)) {
                
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>'
;
            } else {
                if (
$p == 'home') {
                    
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                    <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_a.gif" id="home" /></a></li>'
;
                } else {
                    
$alnav .= '<li><a href="../?p=home" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore()" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('home','','../images/nav/nav_home_h.gif',1)"> 
                    <img src="../images/nav/nav_home_l.gif" id="\home" /></a></li>'
;
                }
            } 


Besides what was said one post above me, that code their would go directly into a plug-in without the output buffering OP mentioned. If your using output buffering nothing will show up. Output buffering is for times when code executes and echos or prints data instead of storing it in a variable, it allows you to take what would be outputed directly to the browser and store it. Like your original post that has code, if you took out the variable and quotes, all the code you have in between would need output buffering.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01722 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,761KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (4)bbcode_php_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (5)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete