vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=194)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Dynamic Joomla!VB wrapper (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=172308)

shadowraith 03-08-2008 05:28 PM

I wrote the initial add-on for Joomla! 1.5 however since I needed to roll back to 1.0.15 to support the numerous modules/bots, I no longer have those files.

As far as making such a wrapper? You can generate a wrapper by defining your absolute joomla path ($myjoomlapath), template name ($myjoomlatemplate), and, for say, rocket themes, style name ($myjoomlastyle). I would also add these as parameters so that you can easily change them in the vBulletin settings, should you decide to switch themes/styles.

Then, it is a matter of removing the joomla calls in the add-on xml, adding the code to fetch the parameters, and replacing $this->baseurl, $this->template, and $tstyle, respectively, in your head, header, & footer php files. In addtion, you would need to replace the "menu code" with your own home-grown menu function.

Since the concept of this add-on is fairly straight forward, it is simply a matter of hacking this add-on to work with Joomla! 1.5. Or otherwise put, if you are comfortable with Joomla! 1.5 and vbulletin, and have solid php coding knowledge, a 1.5 hack such as the above, while tedious, should be quite simple. Ymmv, of course.

The down side is that a hacked implementation, such as the above is not dynamic. In other words, if/when you switch Joomla! styles, you would also need to change them in the vBulletin settings area. You would also need to upgrade your menu function anytime you changed the main menu. If I went this route, I would create a sharable menu include file, so that regardless the template, that menu function would always be included into the wrapper.

And finally, I have no doubt there is a better approach than the aforementioned for 1.5. However, migrating to 1.5 is not on my "to do" list atm, so unless that changes, I will not have time to investigate it further.

If you have other questions, feel free to pm me.

Sunsetdriver 03-10-2008 08:39 AM

This is what I was exactly looking for! :eek:
Thank you so much for sharing! :cool:

Does it work also if J and VB don't share the same database? Otherwise do I have to add some code to make it working?

Thanks

shadowraith 03-10-2008 03:24 PM

In theory, it should work regardless of whether they are in separate databases or not. In reality, it depends upon how they implemented their db classes. For example, are they using a thread resource pool? If not, any real loading will likely result in some odd behavior.

That said, I would first try to ensure it works with an integrated db. Then, once things are working smoothly, repoint vb to it's original seperate db by exporting the integrated db, and loading it into the seperate db.

By doing this, you limit potential sources for error during your trouble shooting phase. Ymmv, of course.

shadowraith 03-11-2008 03:45 PM

For those of you using Rocket Theme, I received some excellent input regarding the differing font size and alignment problem.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tiedgen
1.) I noticed on your site that when you go from your main page to your
vbulletin page, the navbar font is a different size and/or style. --- I
found a fix for this and the answer lies in the style manager in the VB
admincp. Edit your desired VB style and scroll down the CSS style boxes
until you come to <td>, <th>, <p>, <li>. This is where the problem lies.
Apparantly, implementing the joomla code (which includes the CSS code) is
screwing with the vb css code. The solution was simple; I just edited the
font size and font family under <td>, <th>, <p>, <li>. In my case, I
changed the font size to 9pt and re-arranged the first font style: verdana.
Once I changed these variables, the header and navbar text was identical to
the rest of the board.. No more little annoyance.. :-)

2.) And lastly, this deals more with the rockettheme template code. I
noticed that I couldn't get my board to center correctly in the main
content wrapper; it was a few pixels to the right. (I know.. petty stuff..)
To remedy this I deleted the last dozen or so lines of code from my
header.php file; the code dealing with the right or left nav section (in my
case, the right nav section) If you would like the specific code, don't
hesitate to ask. Your firenze template coding should be nearly identical to
my elemental template from rockettheme.com

The above has been added to the basic instructions. Thanks again, Tiedgen!

Sunsetdriver 03-12-2008 08:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shadowraith (Post 1461565)
In theory, it should work regardless of whether they are in separate databases or not. In reality, it depends upon how they implemented their db classes. For example, are they using a thread resource pool? If not, any real loading will likely result in some odd behavior.

That said, I would first try to ensure it works with an integrated db. Then, once things are working smoothly, repoint vb to it's original seperate db by exporting the integrated db, and loading it into the seperate db.

By doing this, you limit potential sources for error during your trouble shooting phase. Ymmv, of course.

Thanks for your reply :)
Actually I have Joomla and vBulletin in different databases. I'll start doing some tests with your hack and I'll let you know. :cool:

Btw...do you think the same thing could be applied to phpbb3? :erm:

shadowraith 03-12-2008 04:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunsetdriver (Post 1462843)
Btw...do you think the same thing could be applied to phpbb3? :erm:

As with anything, if you know how to code, and have the time and patience, it could be done. I admittedly do not know the state of phpbb these daze. My last tinkering was phpbb2. Even so, imho, unless the've re-architected the infrastructure and cleaned up the interfaces, and oh... idunno... tightened up some of their code, the thing leaks like a sieve. Esp when it comes to security. Then again, "secure php-[whatever]" is somewhat of an oxymoron. lolol.

Panagioths 03-12-2008 05:45 PM

I have a question. Are we just copy the data in the boxes for the 3 files? Because i got a blank page after i applied the theme....

shadowraith 03-12-2008 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Panagioths (Post 1463183)
I have a question. Are we just copy the data in the boxes for the 3 files? Because i got a blank page after i applied the theme....

First off, what do you mean by "applied"? Secondly, if you read the detailed instructions (which, given your question about "copying the data in the boxes" causes me to believe that you did not even remotely do), you would not have asked the question you just did. And finally, had you read "up" you would also see that, surprise, surprise, the common problem people seem to be having with installing this very simple mod is not reading the instructions and/or having like, zero understanding of even the most rudimentary php concepts. In other words, just trying to cut/paste your "theme" into the three referent files without bothering to buffer the html (which I explicitly explained in the instructions) will ... surprise, suprise... fail. And, had you ever coded anything in php (even if it was a simple "hello world" script), you would know that a white screen means the php compiler encountered a fatal error in the code. At which point, you could, at the very least, examine the error log which, in fact, gives the file name and line number where the error occurred. And, if worse came to worse, you could at least stare at your code and pretend you even know what you're looking at, and then come here with, you know, a superficially real question?

As it stands now, I am going to disable the "will support" and will not answer any further "all I am getting is a white screen" questions. If you cannot help yourself by at least reading the instructions, then I do not have the time or patience to even remotely consider helping you.

Panagioths 03-12-2008 07:47 PM

Ok, sorry for not having English as my primary language and sorry for being an amateur in coding and not knowing how to "buffer the html". I humbly seize my existence in order to stop bothering you. Please don't disable the "will support" because others might actually need it.

nonamer69 03-17-2008 07:32 PM

anyone tested this with 3.7?

btw, thanks shadowraith for your contribution.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01274 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,752KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (4)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete