vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   vB Tetris v2.5 | Leaderboard, Comments and High Score System v2.5 :) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=42293)

michealo 08-23-2002 12:14 PM

how the heck can someone get over a million points in just 10 levels?

i can get in the 130,000's but thats about it

John 08-23-2002 12:15 PM

I'll edit it once I've finished the arcade hack.

NexDog 08-23-2002 12:23 PM

John, how long do ya reckon? Get me on IM......

John 08-23-2002 12:24 PM

Sheesh, patience everyone! ;)

Ninth Dimension 08-23-2002 02:26 PM

all I can say is this, it's looking really good so far. you have done a fantastic job.

BigJohnson 08-23-2002 02:57 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by john.eovie
I'm going to be developing a store version of the arcade hack - but I'll probably leave the tetris hack as it is.
What do you mean you will leabe the tetris as it is. I am a little lost on what you mean about this. Thank you.

John 08-23-2002 02:59 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by BigJohnson


What do you mean you will leabe the tetris as it is. I am a little lost on what you mean about this. Thank you.

That I'm going to do a store version of the arcade hack, not a store version of the tetris hack

xxskullxx 08-23-2002 03:04 PM

I just have to say I love your sig, John. :)

John 08-23-2002 03:06 PM

lol, thanks :D

John 08-23-2002 03:10 PM

Ok, there's a problem.

I can't get my head round the whole "display highest scores only" thing (where the member's highest score appears in the leaderboard only.).

I've tried to get help in vBorg, but no-one will help. The people who I have spoken to seem to think it's too difficult. Shall I spend some more time on it, or scrap the idea?

BigJohnson 08-23-2002 03:15 PM

What is wrong with doing a store with the tetris one?

I was waiting for that one. I had my hopes up for that great hack. I would do anything to see that hack.

Why did u change ur mind and deside not to do it?

Ed FvC 08-23-2002 03:25 PM

F it. It's not that important.

John 08-23-2002 03:27 PM

I just thought people would prefer a store add on for the arcade hack, with more games - rather than just the tetris hack.

If there's enough demand, I'll do both.

John 08-23-2002 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Ed FvC
F it. It's not that important.
k :D

If you enable "Record highest scores only" from the start, you essentially get the same thing.

Lesane 08-23-2002 04:56 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by john.eovie
Ok, there's a problem.

I can't get my head round the whole "display highest scores only" thing (where the member's highest score appears in the leaderboard only.).

I've tried to get help in vBorg, but no-one will help. The people who I have spoken to seem to think it's too difficult. Shall I spend some more time on it, or scrap the idea?

I can look @ it if you want, pm me the problem.

John 08-23-2002 04:58 PM

I'll post the main issue here, so everyone can have a go.

Basically, I need a SQL query that will select the highest score each userid has, and output the records.

So:
1. There's only one record per userid value
2. And the score value that corresponds to the userid is the highest one.

Lanigironu 08-23-2002 05:46 PM

I suppose you could do it the server intensive way by having it go through each member, check if they have a score, and if so get the the highest one. But that might cause problems with bigger boards.

John 08-23-2002 05:47 PM

Already thought of that, it would be VERY server intensive

Lanigironu 08-23-2002 06:06 PM

Then you could just go through the inputted scores, set the score it gets to a variable and just compare it every time it finds another score by that user. If the score it found is bigger than the one in the variable, it replaces it.

I can get you the code for this if you want, but I'll need your table structure.

Heineken77 08-23-2002 06:35 PM

No news on why my screen is stuck on loading...? :(

http://nba2k3.net/forum/tetris.php

John 08-23-2002 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Heineken77
No news on why my screen is stuck on loading...? :(

http://nba2k3.net/forum/tetris.php

Unless you're on a non IE browser, you've probably installed it incorrectly.

futureal 08-23-2002 07:57 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by john.eovie
I'll post the main issue here, so everyone can have a go.

Basically, I need a SQL query that will select the highest score each userid has, and output the records.

So:
1. There's only one record per userid value
2. And the score value that corresponds to the userid is the highest one.

This only needs a single query. Try this:

PHP Code:

  $leaderboard_q $DB_site->query("SELECT game,userid,comment,max(score) as maxscore
                                    FROM arcade
                                    WHERE game='tetris'
                                    GROUP BY userid
                                    ORDER BY maxscore DESC
                                    LIMIT 
$yourlimit"); 

That should give you what you need.

I am making a new scoreboard right now that does just this. I'll post a link when it's done.

John 08-23-2002 08:02 PM

I've tried that before, for some reason it returned no records (and yes, there were records in the db) :p

Lanigironu 08-23-2002 08:18 PM

Maybe your syntax was wrong?

futureal 08-23-2002 08:27 PM

That same query works just fine for me. What kind of error is it giving you?

Here it is in action:
http://www.shadowsofnamek.com/forum/...pscoreboard&s=

I am having way too much fun messing with this leaderboard. I am going to go play a round of frisbee golf, and when I get back I have some more ideas to mess with. :D

Schorsch 08-23-2002 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by futureal
That same query works just fine for me. What kind of error is it giving you?

Here it is in action:
http://www.shadowsofnamek.com/forum/...pscoreboard&s=

I am having way too much fun messing with this leaderboard. I am going to go play a round of frisbee golf, and when I get back I have some more ideas to mess with. :D

I need that urgently!!! how can I do that ?

John 08-23-2002 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by futureal
That same query works just fine for me. What kind of error is it giving you?

Here it is in action:
http://www.shadowsofnamek.com/forum/...pscoreboard&s=

I am having way too much fun messing with this leaderboard. I am going to go play a round of frisbee golf, and when I get back I have some more ideas to mess with. :D

Looking good, given me some ideas for the Arcade hack leaderboards :)

JJR512 08-23-2002 09:16 PM

There are two issues with the actual Flash game (Tetris) I'd like to bring up. One is a suggestion, the other is a possible bug.

1. Suggestion: On the introduction screen (after the Loading), there could be a way to bypass it and go straight to the game. I know it only lasts a few seconds, but when you're on a roll, trying to get the next high score, it's seconds of agony waiting for the game to hurry up and frickin' start. :)

2. Problem: I don't know the level number, but it's the one that starts with a single line going all the way across the screen, closer to the top, with a two-block-wide hole near the middle. If you get a zig-zag-shaped piece right away, and fill in the hole in that line, the line does not disappear right away. The line does not disappear until you drop the next piece. It doesn't matter where you drop the next piece, and obviously, you can't make a solid line with it, but as soon as you drop it, the line you made with the first piece then disappears. I hope you can understand what I'm saying.

Ninth Dimension 08-23-2002 09:42 PM

Re what JJr512 said, I'd noticed this as well, but I think it's designed that way.

kypdurron 08-23-2002 10:17 PM

If Im using Ie6, after playing for awhile, I get a "access denied" error when the game is over...why is that and how can I disable it?

John 08-23-2002 10:18 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by kypdurron
If Im using Ie6, after playing for awhile, I get a "access denied" error when the game is over...why is that and how can I disable it?
vB version, tetris version?

Are you talking about the no permission page?

Souly 08-23-2002 10:25 PM

I have try to add Levels. i can not test it, because i am an admin and i have no time to play much hours :D ... I have never work before yesterday with flash, plz. test it on your own risk :D

[Changes]
*16 Levels: 11-16 are new and i think they are very hard, but i don?t play tetris, i can?t test it :(

3 new tetris.swf:
--> plz make a backup of all your previous tetris.swf Files before you test my new version!

1 Version:
------------
english, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is disabled

2 Version:
------------
english, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is enabled

3 Version:
------------
german, gray background, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is disabled


Here are Number ONE:
(english, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is disabled)

[INSTALL]
Download the tetris.zip File, unpack it and copy the tetris.swf File in your forum root and let test your user the 6 new level!
.................................................. .................................................. ..

Souly 08-23-2002 10:26 PM

Here are Number TWO:
english, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is enabled

[INSTALL]
Download the tetris.zip File, unpack it and copy the tetris.swf File in your forum root and let test your user the 6 new level!
.................................................. .............................. ......................

John 08-23-2002 10:27 PM

I'll look forward to hearing from people as to whether this works or not :)

Souly 08-23-2002 10:27 PM

Here are Number THREE:
(german, gray background, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is disabled)

[INSTALL]
Download the tetris.zip File, unpack it and copy the tetris.swf File in your forum root and let test your user the 6 new level!
.................................................. .............................. ......................

John 08-23-2002 10:38 PM

Ok, when I run

Code:

$leaderboard_q = $DB_site->query("SELECT game,userid,comment,date,max(score) as maxscore
                                    FROM arcade
                                    WHERE game='$gamename'
                                    GROUP BY userid
                                    ORDER BY maxscore DESC
                                    LIMIT $top_number");

in place of the standard leaderboard_q code, I get no records returned.

Ninth Dimension 08-23-2002 10:39 PM

I played the second tetris game and got to level 2, good huh?? :)

Castel 08-23-2002 10:50 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Souly
Here are Number TWO:
english, 16 Levels (6 new) very hard! pause is enabled

[INSTALL]
Download the tetris.zip File, unpack it and copy the tetris.swf File in your forum root and let test your user the 6 new level!
.................................................. .................................................. ..


Would you mind including the fla files for these in the zip so we can adjust colors to fit site design.

futureal 08-23-2002 10:50 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by john.eovie
Ok, when I run

...snip...

in place of the standard leaderboard_q code, I get no records returned.

Dang, I dunno what the problem could be. Aside from a few different variable names, that is the exact query I am using, and it works well. Could you post the ensuing while loop to go along with it that you are trying? Maybe something is going wonky there...?

The only other thing I can think of is to try it with hardcoded variables that you know exist in your database. Like, use 'tetris' instead of $gamename and "10" instead of $top_number and so on. Just to eliminate all possible problems.

edit: Actually, just try entering the query directly into mysql on your site and see what it returns. That is usually the best way to try things out... let me know if it is returning something weird.

John 08-23-2002 10:52 PM

Of course, the variables were the first things I checked. All working fine. When I run the code in the database, I get a result back. But I'm not changing anything else, so it doesn't make sense...


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02081 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,830KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete