vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Quick Reply Box (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=34597)

X-Fan 10-29-2002 11:24 AM

My showthread_replybox template is exactly what's in the install instructions. In fact, I've double and triple checked, and this hack is installed exactly as instructed, yet I'm still getting a javascript error!

Chris M 10-29-2002 12:08 PM

Post the javascript you are using...

It should look like :

Code:

<script language="javascript">
<!--
var postmaxchars = $postmaxchars;
function validate(theform) {
        if (theform.message.value=="") {
                alert("Please complete the message field.");
                return false; }
        if (postmaxchars != 0) {
                if (theform.message.value.length > $postmaxchars) {
                        alert("Your message is too long.\n\nReduce your message to $postmaxchars characters.\nIt is currently "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long.");
                        return false; }
                else { return true; }
        } else { return true; }
}
function checklength(theform) {
        if (postmaxchars != 0) { message = "\nThe maximum permitted length is $postmaxchars characters."; }
        else { message = ""; }
        alert("Your message is "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long."+message);
}
//-->
</script>

Satan

X-Fan 10-29-2002 12:34 PM

Here 'tis:

Code:

<script language="javascript">
<!--
var postmaxchars = $postmaxchars;
function validate(theform) {
        if (theform.message.value=="") {
                alert("Please complete the message field.");
                return false; }
        if (postmaxchars != 0) {
                if (theform.message.value.length > $postmaxchars) {
                        alert("Your message is too long.\n\nReduce your message to $postmaxchars characters.\nIt is currently "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long.");
                        return false; }
                else { return true; }
        } else { return true; }
}
function checklength(theform) {
        if (postmaxchars != 0) { message = "\nThe maximum permitted length is $postmaxchars characters."; }
        else { message = ""; }
        alert("Your message is "+theform.message.value.length+" characters long."+message);
}
//-->
</script>


Chris M 10-29-2002 12:52 PM

Hmmm...Looks exactly the same as the stuff I posted...

Just try using what I posted instead - See if there is any difference:)

Satan

Asso 10-29-2002 02:01 PM

this hack is great!

it must be inserted in vB3 :cool:

Chris M 10-29-2002 02:39 PM

http://beta.vbulletin.com/vb3/

Check there - It already is;)

Satan

Esdee 10-29-2002 05:25 PM

I can't add a link to the "get more smiliespage"

I added this but it says error on page when I click it


[<a href="javascript:opensmiliewindow(240,280,'$sessio n[sessionhash]')">Smilies</a>]</smallfont>

Chris M 10-29-2002 08:14 PM

Try :

Code:

<a href="http://$bburl/misc.php?s=&action=showsmilies" target="_blank">Smilies</a>
Satan

Esdee 10-29-2002 09:22 PM

Thanks,
that works, but I'm actually looking for a hack that gives the same popup window as it does when clicking on "get more" in a normal reply ^_^;

Chris M 10-29-2002 09:26 PM

I see...

Is the Javascript needed to generate the popup actually in the showthread template?

Satan

Esdee 10-30-2002 08:20 AM

[<a href="javascript:opensmiliewindow(240,280,'$sessio n[sessionhash]')">Smilies</a>]</smallfont>

I cot this from the vbcode_smilies_getmore template :confused:
For some reason it says "error on page"

Chris M 10-30-2002 09:38 AM

Thats because I believe the Javascript for the Smilies open box thingy is in the newthread/newreply template;)

Satan

Esdee 11-01-2002 12:10 PM

hmm.
The newpost and newreply templates have only the javascripts for the spellscheck and max message leght.

wolfe 11-03-2002 01:20 AM

i really need help on this one right i have gone 1 step further

right first off i added the tables to the 'user' table of my DataBase

as seen here

http://www.s2k2.com/db.gif

then i added options to my templates

Code:

modifyoptions_qrurl

<tr>
        <td bgcolor="#1C5780"><normalfont><b>Automaticly Parse URL's In Quick Reply?</b></normalfont><br><smallfont>Using this option will make all the <b>http://</b>'s and/or <b>www</b>'s links by automaticly adding  infront and at the end of it.</smallfont></td>
        <td bgcolor="#1C5780"><normalfont>
                <input type="radio" name="qrurl" value="yes" $qrurlchecked> yes
                <input type="radio" name="qrurl" value="no" $qrurlnotchecked> no
        </normalfont></td>
</tr>

Code:

modifyoptions_qremail

<tr>
        <td bgcolor="#13486D"><normalfont><b>Email Notification In Quick Reply?</b></normalfont><br><smallfont>This option sets it so when you reply to a post you subscribe to it.  This means when people reply you get an email with the infomation about the reply in it.</smallfont></td>
        <td bgcolor="#13486D"><normalfont>
                <input type="radio" name="qremail" value="yes" $qremailchecked> yes
                <input type="radio" name="qremail" value="no" $qremailnotchecked> no
        </normalfont></td>
</tr>

Code:

modifyoptions_dissmilie

<tr>
        <td bgcolor="#1C5780"><normalfont><b>Disable Smilies In Quick Reply?</b></normalfont><br><smallfont>This options disables all the smilies in the post you are posting.</smallfont></td>
        <td bgcolor="#1C5780"><normalfont>
                <input type="radio" name="dissmilie" value="yes" $dissmiliechecked> yes
                <input type="radio" name="dissmilie" value="no" $dissmilienotchecked> no
        </normalfont></td>
</tr>

Code:

<tr>
        <td bgcolor="#13486D"><normalfont><b>Show Signiture In Quick Reply?</b></normalfont><br><smallfont>This options sets it so it shows your sig in the post after you reply to the post.</smallfont></td>
        <td bgcolor="#13486D"><normalfont>
                <input type="radio" name="qrsig" value="yes" $qrsigchecked> yes
                <input type="radio" name="qrsig" value="no" $qrsignotchecked> no
        </normalfont></td>
</tr>

heres a pic

http://www.s2k2.com/qrop.gif

then i edited the member.php file

and added

Code:

// Show Quick Reply Option
  if ($bbuserinfo[showquickreply]) {
    $showquickreplychecked="checked";
    $showquickreplynotchecked="";
  } else {
    $showquickreplychecked="";
    $showquickreplynotchecked="checked";
  }
// Show Quick Reply Option

// Automaticly Parse URL In Quick Reply Option
  if ($bbuserinfo[qrurl]) {
    $qrurlchecked="checked";
    $qrurlnotchecked="";
  } else {
    $qrurlchecked="";
    $qrurlnotchecked="checked";
  }
// Automaticly Parse URL In Quick Reply Option

// Email Notification In Quick Reply Option
  if ($bbuserinfo[qremail]) {
    $qremailchecked="checked";
    $qremailnotchecked="";
  } else {
    $qremailchecked="";
    $qremailnotchecked="checked";
  }
// Email Notification In Quick Reply Option

// Disable Smile In Quick Reply Option
  if ($bbuserinfo[dissmilie]) {
    $dissmiliechecked="checked";
    $dissmilienotchecked="";
  } else {
    $dissmiliechecked="";
    $dissmilienotchecked="checked";
  }
// Disable Smile In Quick Reply Option

// Show Signature In Quick Reply
  if ($bbuserinfo[qrsig]) {
    $qrsigchecked="checked";
    $qrsignotchecked="";
  } else {
    $qrsigchecked="";
    $qrsignotchecked="checked";
  }
// Email Notification In Quick Reply Option

after

Code:

if ($bbuserinfo[nosessionhash]) {
    $nosessionhashchecked="checked";
    $nosessionhashnotchecked="";
  } else {
    $nosessionhashchecked="";
    $nosessionhashnotchecked="checked";
  }


then i added


Code:

eval("\$showquickreplyoption = \"".gettemplate("modifyoptions_showquickreply")."\";");
  eval("\$qrurloption = \"".gettemplate("modifyoptions_qrurl")."\";");
  eval("\$qremailoption = \"".gettemplate("modifyoptions_qremail")."\";");
  eval("\$dissmilieoption = \"".gettemplate("modifyoptions_dissmilie")."\";");
  eval("\$qrsigoption = \"".gettemplate("modifyoptions_qrsig")."\";");

before

Code:

eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("modifyoptions")."\");");
then i added

Code:

  $showquickreply=iif($showquickreply=="yes",1,0);
  $qrurl=iif($qrurl=="yes",1,0);
  $qremail=iif($qremail=="yes",1,0);
  $dissmilie=iif($dissmilie=="yes",1,0);
  $qrsig=iif($qrsig=="yes",1,0);

after

Code:

$nosessionhash=iif($nosessionhash=="yes",1,0);
then i replaced

Code:

  $DB_site->query("UPDATE user
                  SET ".$updatestyles."adminemail='$adminemail',
                      showemail='$showemail',invisible='$invisible',cookieuser='$cookieuser',
                      maxposts='".addslashes($umaxposts)."',daysprune='".addslashes($prunedays)."',
                      timezoneoffset='".addslashes($timezoneoffset)."',emailnotification='$emailnotification',
                      startofweek='".addslashes($startofweek)."',options='$options',receivepm='$receivepm',
                      emailonpm='$emailonpm',pmpopup='$pmpopup',usergroupid='$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]',nosessionhash='$nosessionhash'

with

Code:

  $DB_site->query("UPDATE user
                  SET ".$updatestyles."adminemail='$adminemail',
                      showemail='$showemail',invisible='$invisible',cookieuser='$cookieuser',
                      maxposts='".addslashes($umaxposts)."',daysprune='".addslashes($prunedays)."',
                      timezoneoffset='".addslashes($timezoneoffset)."',emailnotification='$emailnotification',
                      startofweek='".addslashes($startofweek)."',options='$options',receivepm='$receivepm',
                      emailonpm='$emailonpm',pmpopup='$pmpopup',usergroupid='$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]',nosessionhash='$nosessionhash',showquickreply='$showquickreply',qrurl='$qrurl',qremail='$qremail',dissmilie='$dissmilie',qrsig='$qrsig'

and i saved it

then in the quick reply template i got

Code:

<smallfont><b> <font size="4">OPTIONS:</font></b><br>
        <br>
        <input type="checkbox" name="qrurl" value="$qrurl" title="Automatically adds and around internet addresses.">
        <smallfont><b>Automatically parse URLs:</b><br>
        <input type="checkbox" name="qremail" value="$qremail" title="Emails sent to you whenever someone replies. Only registered users are eligible.">
        <b>Email Notification:</b><br>
        <input type="checkbox" name="dissmilie" value="$dissmilie" title="Disables smilies in this post.">
        <b>Disable Smilies in This Post:</b><br>
        <input type="checkbox" name="qrsig" value="$qrsig" title="Include your profile signature. Only registered users may have signatures.">
        <b>Show Signature:</b>
        </smallfont>

but when i set them to yes in the userCP it does not change them on the quick reply box whys this please help me out :D.

what i mean is showed here...

http://www.s2k2.com/qr.gif

Tony DiMera 11-04-2002 10:25 PM

Hello I saw this at aboard for their quick reply box, can you please tell me how to make it like that?

yesfans 11-04-2002 11:40 PM

Sorry folks, this may be covered in this thread, but with 700+ posts I can't read thru them all. I added this quick reply feature and now some of my members are getting run time errors and errorn in line 460 expected object. I use the reply box and I NEVER see the error, why will some mebers but I never do. Her is the code I put in my SHOWTHREAD-REPLYBOX template....<form enctype="multipart/form-data" action="newreply.php" name="vbform" method="post" onSubmit="return validate(this)">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]">
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="postreply">
<input type="hidden" name="threadid" value="$threadid">
<input type="hidden" name="title" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="iconid" value="0">
<input type="hidden" name="parseurl" value="yes">
<input type="hidden" name="email" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="disablesmilies" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="closethread" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="hiddenreply" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="signature" value="yes">
<input type="hidden" name="rating" value="0">

<table cellpadding="{tableouterborderwidth}" cellspacing="0" border="0" bgcolor="{tablebordercolor}" {tableouterextra} width="{contenttablewidth}" align="center"><tr><td>
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="{tableinnerborderwidth}" border="0" {tableinnerextra} width="100%">
<tr>
<td bgcolor="{tableheadbgcolor}" colspan="2"><normalfont color="{tableheadtextcolor}" class="thtcolor"><b>Post Your Quick Reply to This Thread in Box Below</b></normalfont></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td bgcolor="{secondaltcolor}" valign="top" nowrap><normalfont><b>Your Reply:</b></normalfont></td>
<td bgcolor="{secondaltcolor}">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
<tr valign="top">
<td><textarea name="message" rows="7" cols="$textareacols" wrap="virtual" tabindex="1"></textarea><br>
<smallfont><a href="javascript:checklength(document.vbform);">[check message length]</a></smallfont></td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td></tr></table>

<br>

<table cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="{contenttablewidth}" {tableinvisibleextra} align="center">
<tr>
<td align="center"><normalfont>
<input type="submit" class="bginput" name="submit" value="Submit Reply" accesskey="s" tabindex="2">
<input type="reset" class="bginput" name="reset" value="Reset Form" accesskey="r" tabindex="3">
</normalfont></td>
</tr>
</table>

yesfans 11-04-2002 11:43 PM

I do see that in my browser, down at the bottom that when the page is loading it pops up a DONE BUT WITH ERRORS mess. That is done in the status bar above my start button.

yesfans 11-04-2002 11:46 PM

This one I dont't get, why the errors do not happen to me.

Erwin 11-05-2002 12:10 AM

You can search this thread using the search box at the bottom right corner.

Runtime errors mean that there is a Javascript error. The javascript in the quickreply template is to do with counting the max number of characters. Make sure you copied and pasted it correctly.

yesfans 11-05-2002 12:31 AM

I looked over my code and repasted and appears to be working now, THANKS!!!!!! This site is GREAT!

yesfans 11-05-2002 12:31 AM

I didnt see the SEARCH THIS THREAD option, yet another I need to add to my site!

Haakon 11-05-2002 01:53 PM

I reconsidered my post, sorry

Tony DiMera 11-06-2002 09:38 PM

*bump*

Eileen 11-06-2002 11:21 PM

Thanks so much for this great script. I loaded it a couple of days ago and my forum members just love it......

~Eileen
Harrison Ford Web
http://www.harrisonfordweb.com

KelteN 11-10-2002 04:29 PM

Very nice :D

beley 11-11-2002 03:18 AM

Very nice hack! Thanks!

someone2 11-13-2002 09:35 AM

I have found out that the rating system (rate this thread) on most boards is not used a lot, because most people use the quickreply box to reply, and are too lazy to rate since it requires an extra click and page reload.

Can someone implement a rate dropdownbox next to the quickreply 'submit reply' button? That way, a rating takes place while quickly replying, and people will use it more often, and the rating featuring will finally find it's success :bunny: .

avengingangel 11-13-2002 05:18 PM

I just moved my vbulletin to another server.
ALL is working fine except the Quick Reply box...
I keep getting this message when I click the submit reply button :
"No thread specified. If you followed a valid link........."

I'm running V2.2.8 and it was working fine on the other server...

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

avengingangel 11-14-2002 01:58 AM

Figured out the problem.... The temp directory for uploads wasn't properly defined and that's what was causing the problems :)

KelteN 11-17-2002 05:33 AM

Is there anyway to get the smilie table in the quick reply?

Erwin 11-17-2002 05:41 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by ReveX
Is there anyway to get the smilie table in the quick reply?
It's in this thread. Read the thread, or search this thread for "smilie panel" or "smilies".

seangworld 11-23-2002 01:12 AM

after doing what was said in the txt file, i get this error:

Parse error: parse error in /home/www/seangworld/forum/showthread.php on line 93

i get it when i click to open up a thread to see if this worked or not. how do i fix this? the only thing on line 93 is "}" which i tried moving to the right, even deleting the bracket, but nothing worked.

Sebastian 11-23-2002 02:21 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by ReveX
Is there anyway to get the smilie table in the quick reply?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...lie#post289439

mx3 11-25-2002 01:24 AM

when i click submit reply it says no thread specified. whats wrong?

Keith 11-26-2002 01:36 AM

I've had this hack installed for a while now, and absolutely love it. Can't do without it! :)

Doing some research, so bare with me. Trying to find out why when I view a thread, the counter in increased by 2. So a thread with 100 views will now show 102 after I've read it. 2 views for the price of 1!

The function appears to be coming from the showthread.php file. Over at .com, someone said to check templates. The only difference in the showthread template is my replybox. Is there something in the hack that could be causing 2 reads instead of 1?

fello9 12-03-2002 04:09 AM

Sorry, it's working now.

fello9 12-03-2002 06:38 AM

Hi,

I tried adding $logincode in the showthread_replybox template. Although the User Name & Password fields show up find, but when I enter a user name and password and click reply it doesn't get posted. It says "you're not logged in". How can I fix this?

SFNE Freak 12-06-2002 12:39 AM

Ok, I installed this on 2.2.9 (not sure if its compatible) and I had to estimate where to place the code (since the the second string is no longer after the first string in showthread.php) and nothing showed up. You can look for yourself at http://sixflagsnews.com/forums . Nothing at the bottom of the thread.

LeeCHeSSS 12-06-2002 07:22 AM

Hmm, it seems more people have experienced the "No thread specified" error, but so far I've seen only one person solve it (without sharing the solution with the rest).

Thus: I hereby beg for that one person (or any other knowledgable person) to explain what I need to do to get the quick reply box working (again).

It used to work on my previous server with exactly the same files and database, so I'm 100% sure it involves apache/php settings...

LeeCHeSSS 12-06-2002 09:53 AM

Yay, I figured it out:

In your php.ini file, make sure "file_uploads" is set to "On"
(Restart apache after changing settings in php.ini)


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02021 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,876KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (16)bbcode_code_printable
  • (2)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete