vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Beta Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   RPG Integration Hack /w Battle (BETA) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=46417)

kaotic 06-17-2003 09:15 PM

Indeed... a working PvM add-on would really complete this hack. Also, do you plan to release new battle scenes if you can come up with any? :)

Mijae 06-17-2003 10:35 PM

Yes, a PvM will make users happy, and me too ;)

Darkwaltz4 06-18-2003 12:36 AM

sorry for the short post, but i just wanted to say that i am currently working on a monster arena, although i dunno how free ill make it >.< its quite complicated, ill reveal features later, i have to get offline, lol

also, i was going to show you my custom stats equations :-p which work very nicely and better than the weird version of the standard one O.o but ill save it for tomarrow~

PixelFx 06-18-2003 06:50 PM

Quote:

kaotic -- do you plan to release new battle scenes if you can come up with any?
I plan to release some new battle scenes, prob not all but we'll see how it goes. I'm setting up some themed battle scenes as well. I'll post some of my meshes later for those interested in seening work in progress...

bitsys should i start a addon thread or post here?

Update:

What would it take to add a Timer to the battles, aka making it so players can only do so many battles a day, with the play member, and other other members, aka two toggles.

say, member A and B, can only fight each other 5 times a day, where as member A can find other members C D E F etc up to 25 different members in one day or what ever you choose?

This would stop members from trying to spam rpg points by dualing them selves or others massively to get gils/other points ?

Moreliator 06-18-2003 07:41 PM

Bitsy, some of my members suggested you have a new battle activate the "New PM" Popup window... the users report that they get the PM that they have been challenged, but they don't get a popup for the new battle PMs like they would any other pm. I don't know how hard this would be, but it would be a decent addon.

Also, some of my links in the itemshop do not work. The links are like this: "http://itemshop.php?action=whatever" instead of putting my domain in front. I checked the template, and it used PHPSELF bust I guess it wasn't working. Any quick fix?

Also, can you explain the section of the code that determines if a move hits or not, it seems very confusing, and right now the moves are missing too much.

ALSO, people with a ' in there user name can't be challenged by someone else, rather, they have to challenge in order for it to work. The ' doesn't mess up teh script anymore, but it does still prevent the users from being challengable.

finally, I have a question about anger. Users can apparently select the "show opponent you are angry" box when their AP is around 85%. The users say nothing differnt happens though. Is this suppose to happen, or is it only suposed to happen at 100%? And is it adding 10% damage?

Darkwaltz4 06-18-2003 10:36 PM

to get the prompt to work, find in battle.php
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0)"); 

and replace with
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid,deleteprompt) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0,0)"); 

also find the second query:
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0)"); 

and replace with
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid,deleteprompt) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0,0)"); 

(although this will alert YOU about it)

New Addon!
The Background Midi Playing System ^_^

All this talk about midis and stuff, i went and rewrote my random midi playing thing, into something more dynamic...
------------------------------
Features: ~
Unlimited Midis
Apply Midis Via the ACP in battlescene-like fasion
Preview Midis in ACP

Selectable During a New Battle: ~
Midis to be SHUT OFF
A Random Midi to play whenever the page is refreshed/viewed
A Specific midi to play in their battle
------------------------------
see attached file, also i would have vbhacker'd it, but i was having problems with vBHackMacker >.<

2 queries, 0 new templates, 2 template edits, 6 file edits

this will add an extra query when setting up a new battle, and an extra query if a midi is selected...

NOTE: if you put what i said earlier, GET RID OF IT ^_^ including the php code and template line

kaotic 06-18-2003 10:40 PM

Excellent add-on. :) Now.. to install this system and about 120 midis...

Looks like I've found my project for today. :D

lioncool1589 06-19-2003 01:01 AM

i'm gonna install this addon midi my members will be happy
i hope addon battle monster come out soon

Bitsys 06-19-2003 01:53 AM

Quote:

Yesterday at 10:56 AM Moreliator said this in Post #1848
THANK YOU SO MUCH BITSY!!! That solved the problem right away!

Now, just another quick question :). Do the "+ to def" and "+ to attack" options work? I tried them out and the opponents move never hit when I had a "+ to def" item equipped... the move either reflected and said it damaged the oppoenent, which it didn't, or the wordlet said "Opponent dealt points of damage" without a number, dealing me no harm. I'm searching the thread but I can't seem to find if you had said these two categories don't work. If not, does the armor category work? Thanks.

They should be working. If the + to Def item added defense that was greater than the opponents attack, then the opponent won't be able to do any damage. That may be what happened. How much have you tested this?

The armor category should work like regular defense.

Quote:

Yesterday at 02:35 PM lioncool1589 said this in Post #1849
yah i installed Auto-Update stats add-on

Can you verify that they are actually losing HP. Sometimes your maxhp goes up and it makes it look liek you are losing HP, when actually all that is happening is your HP is staying the same and your machp is going up. I am pretty sure this is related to the update stats code.

Quote:

Today at 02:50 PM PixelFx said this in Post #1854

bitsys should i start a addon thread or post here?

I would try keeping it here for now.

Quote:

Today at 02:50 PM PixelFx said this in Post #1854
Update:

What would it take to add a Timer to the battles, aka making it so players can only do so many battles a day, with the play member, and other other members, aka two toggles.

say, member A and B, can only fight each other 5 times a day, where as member A can find other members C D E F etc up to 25 different members in one day or what ever you choose?

This would stop members from trying to spam rpg points by dualing them selves or others massively to get gils/other points ?

That kind of system would involve an infinately large mask system. You would have to keep track of who fought who for 24 hours in a temporary table and check that every time a battle is made. Sounds a little messy.

What if users could only fight a certain number of battles per day?

Quote:

Today at 03:41 PM Moreliator said this in Post #1855
Bitsy, some of my members suggested you have a new battle activate the "New PM" Popup window... the users report that they get the PM that they have been challenged, but they don't get a popup for the new battle PMs like they would any other pm. I don't know how hard this would be, but it would be a decent addon.
Thanks to Darkwaltz, this will be fixed in the next version.

Quote:

Today at 03:41 PM Moreliator said this in Post #1855
Also, some of my links in the itemshop do not work. The links are like this: "http://itemshop.php?action=whatever" instead of putting my domain in front. I checked the template, and it used PHPSELF bust I guess it wasn't working. Any quick fix?
For now, you can replace $PHP_SELF with itemshop.php throughout the whole file. I remember having a problem similar to this a long time ago, but I have not seen it since. I also can't remember if there is a php setting to fix this or not. Hmm, I will look in to it.

Quote:

Today at 03:41 PM Moreliator said this in Post #1855
Also, can you explain the section of the code that determines if a move hits or not, it seems very confusing, and right now the moves are missing too much.
Your chance to hit should never be below 40%, and never be above 90%. The equation for calculating your chance to hit is
PHP Code:

0.6 log10($uspeed $oevade); 

This means that you start with a 60% chance to hit, and this value goes up or down based on your speed relative to your opponents evade.

I think I might have just found a bug with anger.

If you think there is something wrong, first try turning on the battle debug messages. To do this, open battleupdate.php. At the top, you should see:
PHP Code:

$battledebug 0

Change it to:
PHP Code:

$battledebug 1

Quote:

Today at 03:41 PM Moreliator said this in Post #1855
ALSO, people with a ' in there user name can't be challenged by someone else, rather, they have to challenge in order for it to work. The ' doesn't mess up teh script anymore, but it does still prevent the users from being challengable.
Is there an error message that is displayed? What happens when a person tries to challenge them?

Quote:

Today at 03:41 PM Moreliator said this in Post #1855
finally, I have a question about anger. Users can apparently select the "show opponent you are angry" box when their AP is around 85%. The users say nothing differnt happens though. Is this suppose to happen, or is it only suposed to happen at 100%? And is it adding 10% damage?
See above.

Quote:

Today at 03:47 PM Me! said this in Post #1856
I don't have the auto update mod installed.

I wonder is there any punishment for loosing a battle? One person on my board seems to think when he lost a battle his hp went down a bit.

Are you sure their maxhp is just going up, with their HP staying the same? This makes it look like their HP went down, when it actually stayed the same. Also, if their posts per day drops, then their HP will drop as well.

Quote:

Today at 06:36 PM Darkwaltz4 said this in Post #1857
to get the prompt to work, find in battle.php
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0)"); 

and replace with
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid,deleteprompt) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0,0)"); 

also find the second query:
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0)"); 

and replace with
PHP Code:

                $DB_site->query("INSERT INTO privatemessage (privatemessageid,userid,touserid,fromuserid,title,message,dateline,messageread,folderid,deleteprompt) VALUES (NULL,$userid,$userid,$originating_user,'".addslashes(htmlspecialchars($title))."','".addslashes($message)."',".time().",0,0,0)"); 

(although this will alert YOU about it)

New Addon!
The Background Midi Playing System ^_^

All this talk about midis and stuff, i went and rewrote my random midi playing thing, into something more dynamic...
------------------------------
Features: ~
Unlimited Midis
Apply Midis Via the ACP in battlescene-like fasion
Preview Midis in ACP

Selectable During a New Battle: ~
Midis to be SHUT OFF
A Random Midi to play whenever the page is refreshed/viewed
A Specific midi to play in their battle
------------------------------
see attached file, also i would have vbhacker'd it, but i was having problems with vBHackMacker >.<

2 queries, 0 new templates, 2 template edits, 6 file edits

this will add an extra query when setting up a new battle, and an extra query if a midi is selected...

NOTE: if you put what i said earlier, GET RID OF IT ^_^ including the php code and template line


Thanks, added it to first post.

Moreliator 06-19-2003 03:52 AM

My first addon! I hope you like it, as this is my first addon I've ever done to a hack :)! It randomizes who goes first upon the initial start of the battle. The following code gives the challenger a 33% chance to start the battle and the challenged person a 66% chance. Works quite well. I also included instructions on how to display "Determining..." on the battle.php browse page, that way people won't decline a challenge if they see they aren't going first. Here it goes...

**********************************
// Randomized First Turn Addon
// Edits: battlefight.php and battle.php
// By Moreliator
**********************************

in battlefight.php find
Code:

                If($confirmation == "Yes") {
                        $curtime = time();
                        $DB_site->query("UPDATE battle SET battlestate='1',lastactive='$curtime' WHERE battlenumber='$battlenumber'");
                        $action = "enterbattle";

and REPLACE with
Code:

                If($confirmation == "Yes") {
                        $curtime = time();
                        $rn = rand(1,3);
                            if ($rn == 1) {
                        // ###### QUERY FOR CHALLENGER TO GO FIRST ######
                        $DB_site->query("UPDATE battle SET battlestate='1',lastactive='$curtime',turnid='$battle[ownerid]' WHERE battlenumber='$battlenumber'");
                        $action = "enterbattle";
                            } else {
                        // ###### QUERY FOR CHELLENGED USER TO GO FIRST #######
                        $DB_site->query("UPDATE battle SET battlestate='1',lastactive='$curtime' WHERE battlenumber='$battlenumber'");
                        $action = "enterbattle";
                          }

You can change "$rn" to equal something else if you want. For example, if you wanted it to be totally random (50% chance either user could go first) you would change
Code:

$rn=rand(1,3);
to
Code:

$rn=rand(1,2);
now, in battle.php find
Code:

                if($row[ownerid] == $row[turnid]) {
                        $turn = $row[owner];
                } else {
                        $turn = $row[opponent];
                }

and REPLACE with
Code:

                if ($row[battlestate] == 0) {
                        $turn = "Determining...";
                } elseif ($row[ownerid] == $row[turnid]) {
                        $turn = $row[owner];
                } else {
                        $turn = $row[opponent];
                }

Enjoy! I know my members got tired of the challenged user always going first, and this little addon really spiced things up!


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04152 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,843KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (11)bbcode_php_printable
  • (12)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (5)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete