vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164)

Goomzee 04-06-2008 01:46 PM

i add php page it;s not working plz help me what i am doing wrong

here is a Link
http://www.mknexusonline.com/content/mkgames/test.php

sexyeyes83 04-14-2008 03:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amcd (Post 1483852)
hook online_location_process:
Code:

switch ($filename)
{
    case 'countries.php':
        $userinfo['activity'] = 'countries';
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}


hook online_location_unknown
Code:

switch ($userinfo['activity'])
{
    case 'countries':
        $userinfo['where'] = '<a href="countries.php?'.$vbulletin->session->vars[sessionurl].'">Viewing the countries page</a>';
        $userinfo['action'] = "Who's Online by Country";
        $handled = true;
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.


Where abouts do I find the online_location_process

Thanks

sabrina

amcd 04-14-2008 04:19 PM

Read the vbulletin manual, especially the chapter about plugins/hooks.

Per1213 04-15-2008 08:47 PM

I'm terribly confused by this entire thing.

The guide really doesn't explain this well for a newbie.

I've made the .php file and uploaded it to the FTP file manager then I have saved the template.... That's all the guide tells me to do and of course nothing has happened. What am I missing?

Digital Jedi 04-16-2008 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Per1213 (Post 1491566)
I'm terribly confused by this entire thing.

The guide really doesn't explain this well for a newbie.

I've made the .php file and uploaded it to the FTP file manager then I have saved the template.... That's all the guide tells me to do and of course nothing has happened. What am I missing?

Strictly speaking, it's not really meant for folks who haven't done a lot of customization to their site. Most folks wouldn't have any use for this, unless they've done a fair share of HTML coding, since that's where you take it after your done.

You say you saved the template and uploaded the PHP file. What happened when you navigated to the page?

Wunderlust 04-16-2008 11:13 AM

Hi All,

I have tried and tried for the last few hours to integrate this with phplist. Could someone please explain in laymans terms how this can be done simply!. I can change the directory because it is out side however all I want to use is the headers and the footers from vbulletin. I find myself hitting a major brick wall! Somebody please help!

if there are any experts out there who can do for a small fee I will gladly pay for their time.

Thanks in advance

tim

Per1213 04-16-2008 08:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Digital Jedi (Post 1491912)
Strictly speaking, it's not really meant for folks who haven't done a lot of customization to their site. Most folks wouldn't have any use for this, unless they've done a fair share of HTML coding, since that's where you take it after your done.

You say you saved the template and uploaded the PHP file. What happened when you navigated to the page?

I navigated to the page and nothing was there.

I need this new page because I want a page where I can place article links to get rid of the clutter in my forum.

Thanks for help

--------------- Added [DATE]1208381875[/DATE] at [TIME]1208381875[/TIME] ---------------

hey, okay so basically i copied and pated test.php to my publictml directory. I am now at a loss as to what to do from there. I dont mod VB alot all i wish is to have a page with a few links and a few bits of text. What do i do, i know i edit the bits labled test but i dont know what to edit them too. Please help guys!

ringleader 04-17-2008 08:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Per1213 (Post 1492457)
hey, okay so basically i copied and pated test.php to my publictml directory. I am now at a loss as to what to do from there. I dont mod VB alot all i wish is to have a page with a few links and a few bits of text. What do i do, i know i edit the bits labled test but i dont know what to edit them too. Please help guys!

You need two things for a basic page:
1. a php file calling a template
2. a template with the content for the page

Since you already have the file, you now need to create a template.

Look in your test.php and find a line that looks like this:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

The bit that says TEST is the name of the template that is called when a person navigates to www.yourforum.com/test.php This name can be anything you choose.

So create a template called TEST by going to Styles & Templates -> Your style -> Add Template. Call it TEST, and put the example code provided in the first post of this article.

Edit the basic html to show the article links you want to show.
www.yourdomain.com/test.php should now show whatever you put in the template called TEST.

The last part of the tutorial is just so that when people are looking at the test.php page they show up on online.php list as 'Viewing article links' (or whatever you choose to say) instead of 'Unknown Location'.

Hope that makes more sense to you.

silver surfer 04-19-2008 07:46 PM

hmm...all i get is this

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/ede/public_html/test.php on line 2

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/ede/public_html/test.php on line 2

i did step by step everything like in the tut.

any1 any idea ?

RVSmarter 04-19-2008 09:59 PM

I'm trying to have this page outside of the forum root folder.

I replaced

Code:

require_once('./global.php');
with this

Code:

chdir('./forum_root_folder/');
require('./global.php');


www.mathhelpforum.com/downloads.php

And the images (curiously one of the images is working) and links are not looking in the forum root folder as they should. How do I fix that?

tryance 04-20-2008 01:41 AM

Can you post "html" in this created page to personalize it with pics, etc.?

Opserty 04-20-2008 09:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tryance (Post 1494862)
Can you post "html" in this created page to personalize it with pics, etc.?

The template is your HTML, that is what you need to edit.

Digital Jedi 04-20-2008 09:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silver surfer (Post 1494698)
hmm...all i get is this

Warning: Unexpected character in input: '\' (ASCII=92) state=1 in /home/ede/public_html/test.php on line 2

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/ede/public_html/test.php on line 2

i did step by step everything like in the tut.

any1 any idea ?

You probably deleted a ' or another character when changing the code. Make sure all you changes didn't delete apostrophes or other characters that need to be in there.

Josh1 04-27-2008 10:49 AM

Is it possible to make the user signup before viewing this page?
Like denying guest access?

amcd 04-29-2008 08:34 AM

Yes. This has been discussed before.

Here.

chick 05-02-2008 02:06 PM

I actually got this to work, what an asset. Thanks so much for this infomation.

zews 05-06-2008 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RVSmarter (Post 1494777)
I'm trying to have this page outside of the forum root folder.

I replaced

Code:

require_once('./global.php');
with this

Code:

chdir('./forum_root_folder/');
require('./global.php');


www.mathhelpforum.com/downloads.php

And the images (curiously one of the images is working) and links are not looking in the forum root folder as they should. How do I fix that?

I have the same problem. Did you find any sollution?

yousellstuff 05-08-2008 08:57 PM

how do u make a new file?

what does that mean

Digital Jedi 05-08-2008 10:23 PM

Hrm, I'm not sure how else you could put it, as that's pretty straightforward. Open up whatever HTML editor you use and create a file with the code the tutorial tells you to put in there.

yousellstuff 05-08-2008 10:44 PM

but how do u upload it to vb. Do u just save it to the directory

--------------- Added [DATE]1210301985[/DATE] at [TIME]1210301985[/TIME] ---------------

so..

Digital Jedi 05-12-2008 06:25 PM

Yup, just add it to your forum directory where all your other files are.

XxBuLLeTz 05-13-2008 07:26 PM

im using this custom vb page for my site, so its forums/videos.php

im going to be adding videos so how can i make it so i dont need to add a template everytime...cause ive seen video.php?id=1 <-just something like that.

any help is very much appreciated!

Mum 05-14-2008 06:49 PM

I am wanting to get a page from elsewhere and insert it so it looks like it's on my site (the other page is also mine ie hosted on the same please) how can i do this?

--------------- Added [DATE]1210794909[/DATE] at [TIME]1210794909[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by Digital Jedi (Post 1459840)
You could do that with an iframe, but it seems to me the simplest thing to do would be just to put the HTML of that page into your template, and make that page tickers.php.

I want to keep the html of that page seperate as it's updated automatically, so it means every day a few times a day i'd be manually copying and pasting the html into the template. How can i just CALL the html from the other page? ie open up the other page inside it?

Digital Jedi 05-16-2008 01:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mum (Post 1519671)
I am wanting to get a page from elsewhere and insert it so it looks like it's on my site (the other page is also mine ie hosted on the same please) how can i do this?

--------------- Added 14 May 2008 at 15:55 ---------------



I want to keep the html of that page seperate as it's updated automatically, so it means every day a few times a day i'd be manually copying and pasting the html into the template. How can i just CALL the html from the other page? ie open up the other page inside it?

So tickers, I see, is actually tickers/index.php and not an HTML page. Well, there are more intricate solutions I'm sure, but one way I've done this is using an iFrame to display the content as if it were one page.

Just follow the instructions as stated, and then in the HTML area add: <iframe src="tickers/index.php" height="xx" width="xx" frameborder="0"></iframe> And, of course, you can adjust things as you like, and you'd never have to change the template again other then for tweaking and getting the style just right, and it will look like one integrated page. There's a also a really good script on Dynamic Drive for creating an iFrame that resizes based on the content of the frame, in case you have really dynamic content that would need that. You can save the page as tickets.php and it won't conflict with /tickers/

Mum 05-16-2008 05:38 AM

Is there a way to make it open, just whatever size it is? Cos the page changes. Like 100% instead?

Digital Jedi 05-16-2008 06:07 PM

100% wont do it. It will just stretch to 100% of the users browser window. The code for making the iframe adjust to the size of the content is at Dynamic Drive. http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...iframessi2.htm

CommanderFluffy 05-17-2008 05:17 PM

i have completed what the tutorial says. i have made a test template and changed header include to what is stated. then i put my code in another folder...

pub_html>community
pub_html>file here

heres the code i have i dont really know if i made the template right or not in stylemanager since it didnt really state where to put it.

Code:

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'index1'); // change this depending on your filename

//########################## REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
$currentdir = getcwd();
chdir('/home/site/public_html/community');
require_once('./global.php');
chdir($currentdir); 


// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
   
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    't1',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);


// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('t1') . '");');

the page when i load it in any directory ends up being blank. no errors or anything just blank white. the template should be showing but isnt. everything i have tryed throught the entire thead here has no effect aparently... or i have something wrong... is there any way to show this page on a non vb folder? cause it doesnt show in the vb folder either

Digital Jedi 05-18-2008 07:43 AM

Try just putting the PHP file in your main forum directory.

I'm not sure what you mean by you don't know where to put the template, as the template can only be in one place, in the style manager. Also, you should not have made any changes to your headinclude.

CommanderFluffy 05-18-2008 06:52 PM

i added it to the main forum and i still have a blank page

Digital Jedi 05-18-2008 07:12 PM

I just noticed that the code you posted looks quite different from the sample PHP code. I'd recommend starting over and keep everything exactly the way it is in the tutorial, except for your template and file names of course, and see if that fixes your problem.

CommanderFluffy 05-19-2008 02:27 AM

this time after resetting the php to what it defaults to in the beginning of the tutorial. and i also did the style change.

RESULTS TIME: still a plain white page. so i decided to see the source of that blank page and i got

Code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"></HEAD>
<BODY></BODY></HTML>

well i have no idea whats going on. really need some help on this. i have done the tutorial just as it had stated and the test.php well its in the forum directory.. but its still not doing anything! im really lost but need this for my site.

where do i put the second part of the tut if it doesnt explain really where to put it.. header, footer, includes. where?

Mum 05-20-2008 06:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Digital Jedi (Post 1521859)
100% wont do it. It will just stretch to 100% of the users browser window. The code for making the iframe adjust to the size of the content is at Dynamic Drive. http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...iframessi2.htm

Thanks, that only works on IE, so i won't bother with that at this stage - thanks :)

Digital Jedi 05-21-2008 02:36 PM

Actually, it works on FireFox 1+ and IE 5+.

--------------- Added [DATE]1211384723[/DATE] at [TIME]1211384723[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:

Originally Posted by CommanderFluffy (Post 1524313)
this time after resetting the php to what it defaults to in the beginning of the tutorial. and i also did the style change.

RESULTS TIME: still a plain white page. so i decided to see the source of that blank page and i got

Code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"></HEAD>
<BODY></BODY></HTML>

well i have no idea whats going on. really need some help on this. i have done the tutorial just as it had stated and the test.php well its in the forum directory.. but its still not doing anything! im really lost but need this for my site.

where do i put the second part of the tut if it doesnt explain really where to put it.. header, footer, includes. where?


Okay, I think I understand what the problem is. It doesn't explain where to put it, because your supposed to create a new template with the template code provided. Your page is coming up blank because it's trying to fetch a template that you havn't created yet.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Gary King (Post 482210)
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:

$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
 
$navbar
 
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>
 
$footer
</body>
</html>
 



CommanderFluffy 05-21-2008 07:06 PM

ok so now that i figured out that you have to have your test style witch i thought was the template. have the default style set to the main style for your setting... i had the wrong style set. and i thought the style was the template how to fix that tell them how to make a template! cause i didnt know how!

Digital Jedi 05-21-2008 07:14 PM

I'm not entirely sure I understand what you just said, but just in case, you create this template for each style the page will be using. You don't have to create a test or new style. Just a new template for each style your using.

cspirit 05-21-2008 08:23 PM

This should work with vB 3.7.0 also, right ?

Jase2 05-21-2008 09:10 PM

Of course.... ;)

kktt 05-23-2008 04:47 AM

Thanks! On my 3.7.0 no problemo worked in 30 seconds :)

Mum 05-25-2008 07:00 AM

I can remove the php i made, but how do i remove a template if i no longer want it?

IR15H 05-25-2008 11:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mum (Post 1530701)
I can remove the php i made, but how do i remove a template if i no longer want it?

"Revert" it.
(ADMIN CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Edit Templates > Select Your Template > Revert)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03038 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,856KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (9)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_html_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete