vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Add-On Releases - [AJAX] Helpful Answers - Allow users to rate individual posts (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=233296)

bfdzio 08-10-2010 12:28 AM

Ted - Any update on when it will be able to collapse posts based on the NET rating? Like I've said before, the current system is good but causes problems on active forums where posts that are read by a lot of people may get a +40/-10 and be collapsed. I can't set that to collapse at -10 though because posts on less read forums may be at +5/-6 and not collapse or just +0/-6 and not collapse. Having it collapse on just a net total would be great.

Ted S 08-10-2010 02:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bfdzio (Post 2081559)
Ted - Any update on when it will be able to collapse posts based on the NET rating? Like I've said before, the current system is good but causes problems on active forums where posts that are read by a lot of people may get a +40/-10 and be collapsed. I can't set that to collapse at -10 though because posts on less read forums may be at +5/-6 and not collapse or just +0/-6 and not collapse. Having it collapse on just a net total would be great.

Before I can add this I need to clean up the overall script as there's just too many stinking options.

Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['goodrank'] - $post['totalrank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){
Becomes something like...

Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['totalrank'] - $post['goorank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){

bfdzio 08-10-2010 03:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2081585)
Before I can add this I need to clean up the overall script as there's just too many stinking options.

Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['goodrank'] - $post['totalrank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){
Becomes something like...

Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['totalrank'] - $post['goorank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){


Actually close but got it to work by doing this:
Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['goodrank'] - $post['badrank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){
Gracias, thank you...that'll tide me over until the next update!

Ted S 08-10-2010 04:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bfdzio (Post 2081591)
Actually close but got it to work by doing this:
Code:

if($this->registry->options['helpans_hidelow'] AND (($post['goodrank'] - $post['badrank']) < $this->registry->options['helpans_hidelownum']) ){
Gracias, thank you...that'll tide me over until the next update!

Typing and talking... two things that never work together. Nicely done.

sticky 08-11-2010 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2080963)
Great idea!

You should be able to do this just by editing out lines:

Code:

} else if ($this->registry->options['helpans_min'] AND $this->registry->userinfo['posts'] < $this->registry->options['helpans_minnum']) {
      // might need to have more post count
      $show['rate_helpfulanswer']=false;

The error part is already build in.

I could not find this exact code, I found this which is close but I am not sure if editing it out is correct:

Code:

} else if ($vbulletin->options['helpans_min'] AND $vbulletin->userinfo['posts'] < $vbulletin->options['helpans_minnum']) {
                                                        // might need to have more post count
                                                        $show['rate_helpfulanswer']=false;


cevo 08-11-2010 05:03 AM

with version 2.3.3 I got this error message once clicked to vote.

Code:

Warning: curl_setopt() expects parameter 2 to be long, string given in [path]/helpfulanswers.php on line 483

1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Thank you for rating this post!


Ted S 08-11-2010 06:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cevo (Post 2082018)
with version 2.3.3 I got this error message once clicked to vote.

Code:

Warning: curl_setopt() expects parameter 2 to be long, string given in [path]/helpfulanswers.php on line 483
 
1 out of 1 members found this post helpful. Thank you for rating this post!


Disable the reporting option.

Ted S 08-11-2010 06:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sticky (Post 2081952)
I could not find this exact code, I found this which is close but I am not sure if editing it out is correct:

Code:

} else if ($vbulletin->options['helpans_min'] AND $vbulletin->userinfo['posts'] < $vbulletin->options['helpans_minnum']) {
                            // might need to have more post count
                            $show['rate_helpfulanswer']=false;


Yup, remove it all.

vivamexico55 08-12-2010 05:11 PM

Anyone know if this breaks with 4.06

CrystaStarLight 08-12-2010 08:16 PM

Hi Ted, this mod is very similar to what I'm looking for. I was wondering if there is a way to make it do what the "Judge it" feature does on Topix's forum. To see what I mean just check out this thread on Topix, and the link above everyone's posts that says "Judge it"

http://www.topix.com/forum/city/king...9DVIR5S4V7A4IP

The "Judge it" uses rating by making different judges with fun images people can select for a certain post, and when someone selects a "judge" for the post it will say above the post what judges people have selected for that post, with the images of the judges there.

I think this would be fun mod that a lot of forum owners would love, including the ability of the admin to make their own kinds of judges for people to be able to select.

Ted S 08-12-2010 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CrystaStarLight (Post 2082865)
Hi Ted, this mod is very similar to what I'm looking for. I was wondering if there is a way to make it do what the "Judge it" feature does on Topix's forum. To see what I mean just check out this thread on Topix, and the link above everyone's posts that says "Judge it"

http://www.topix.com/forum/city/king...9DVIR5S4V7A4IP

The "Judge it" uses rating by making different judges with fun images people can select for a certain post, and when someone selects a "judge" for the post it will say above the post what judges people have selected for that post, with the images of the judges there.

I think this would be fun mod that a lot of forum owners would love, including the ability of the admin to make their own kinds of judges for people to be able to select.

You could use this to do 2 of the icons but it won't support more than that and really that's a different mod (from a database and options perspective). Pretty cool however.

vivamexico55 08-12-2010 10:41 PM

After installing latest version on 4.06, I get this weird tag after thumbs up image:

(Positive rating image goes here) " /> | (Negative rating image here)

Not sure what I should remove... It shows up in every type of setting (thumbs, arrows, etc)

edit: To clarify, there's this: " /> after the first "Thumbs up" image.

Ted S 08-12-2010 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vivamexico55 (Post 2082927)
After installing latest version on 4.06, I get this weird tag after thumbs up image:

(Positive rating image goes here) " /> | (Negative rating image here)

Not sure what I should remove... It shows up in every type of setting (thumbs, arrows, etc)

edit: To clarify, there's this: " /> after the first "Thumbs up" image.

Strange. Have you modified any of the templates or your postbit template?

vivamexico55 08-12-2010 11:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2082953)
Strange. Have you modified any of the templates or your postbit template?

I'm using a custom skin, but it shows up on a default VB skin view too.

Ted S 08-12-2010 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vivamexico55 (Post 2082964)
I'm using a custom skin, but it shows up on a default VB skin view too.

To be clear, the image is showing up properly AND the /> is showing?

vivamexico55 08-13-2010 12:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2082985)
To be clear, the image is showing up properly AND the /> is showing?

Yep! Doesn't matter if I use a custom image, the default thumbs up image or the arrows or hovers, it shows that " /> (including the quotes).

The alt text for the image also says "alt src=" and nothing else. It's pretty weird.

Other than that, the plugin works, I've modified the text option to use my custom thumbs up image, but it's very strange behavior. I'd like to use the hover option with images, but I'll use my "hack" in the meantime.

vivamexico55 08-13-2010 12:05 AM

Just so you know I'm not messing with you:

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/9...pboard01yq.jpg

As I said I got it to work by modifying the Text option and inserting some HTML in there, but it's strange.

Michlerish 08-13-2010 12:08 AM

Is there an option to "view all posts you rated as helpful" for each user? It would work as a way of starring, or favouriting some posts they wanted to be able to find easily later on...

Ted S 08-13-2010 12:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Michlerish (Post 2082992)
Is there an option to "view all posts you rated as helpful" for each user? It would work as a way of starring, or favouriting some posts they wanted to be able to find easily later on...

There is not but a great suggestion!

Michlerish 08-13-2010 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2082993)
There is not but a great suggestion!

I have been looking for a mod that does this, so I've tagged yours for now because it looks great. Hopefully that would be an option with any future updates you do :)

Thanks!

vivamexico55 08-13-2010 06:47 PM

BTW this works fine with 4.06, except for that particular bug I had with the images, but I solved it using text mode.

ascott 08-14-2010 08:47 PM

I get this when someone selects a thread.

%1$s members found this post helpful

Bigj85 08-14-2010 11:52 PM

any possibility to do a feature in a future release where you can set a different help topic for different threads and forums.
For example you could set helpful answers to work on forums or threads you have dedicated to music,movies,games or whatever and set separate topics and questions per forum instead of just "Did you find this post helpful".
So you could do something like "Did you like this movie" for a movie thread or forum and "Did you like this game or review" for a gaming thread/forum.

I think that a feature like that could make this the ultimate rating system,especially if the helpfulanswers.php page was divided into those categories and instead of post# of top posts like you have now maybe you could use the post title if the user made one,so a user could make their post the movie or game or whatever title and helpfulanswers.php would say something like

Movie - Get Him to the Greek - in thread: Rate This Movie Thread - forum title - rating blah blah
instead of
post - 55342 - in thread: Rate This Movie Thread - forum title - rating blah blah
like it does now

I tried to explain that as best I could and here's an image of the forum manager where helpful answers enabler setting are, to give you a better idea what I mean I added a bit to the image.

http://img412.imageshack.us/f/helpansexample.png/

Hope you like the idea,been using this mod since 3.8x and always thought it would be the ultimate rating system with this option
'

Ted S 08-15-2010 01:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ascott (Post 2083942)
I get this when someone selects a thread.

%1$s members found this post helpful

Is this a new install or an upgrade?

Ted S 08-15-2010 01:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigj85 (Post 2084014)
any possibility to do a feature in a future release where you can set a different help topic for different threads and forums.
For example you could set helpful answers to work on forums or threads you have dedicated to music,movies,games or whatever and set separate topics and questions per forum instead of just "Did you find this post helpful".
So you could do something like "Did you like this movie" for a movie thread or forum and "Did you like this game or review" for a gaming thread/forum.

Hum. If all you wanted to change was the question and not the style (i.e. always have pos & neg votes or just pos) you could tweak things fairly easily to localize the questions to forums either with conditionals (for a few forums) or a new variable (for lots of forums).

lazyseller 08-16-2010 02:40 AM

Awesome hack as always

How would i go about only allow a users to rate 1 post per thread?

We are having a most helpful answer contest but a vote could go to multiples answers.

Ted S 08-16-2010 03:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lazyseller (Post 2084578)
Awesome hack as always

How would i go about only allow a users to rate 1 post per thread?

We are having a most helpful answer contest but a vote could go to multiples answers.

You would have to modify the addon a bit to check if they already voted in the thread (pretty much clone the check if they voted on the post but change postid to threadid).

bfdzio 08-16-2010 06:08 PM

Some members are requesting the ability to disable having posts collapsed. I don't care personally, but if it isn't hard to have the option on a per member basis (default to collapse), that would be nice.

Bigj85 08-17-2010 12:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2084046)
Hum. If all you wanted to change was the question and not the style (i.e. always have pos & neg votes or just pos) you could tweak things fairly easily to localize the questions to forums either with conditionals (for a few forums) or a new variable (for lots of forums).

by chance do you know the conditional for certain threads? something like

Code:

<if condition="$thread['threadid']==x">different question<else />{vb:rawphrase helpfulanswer_didyoufind}</if>
I thought that was it but its not working

sticky 08-17-2010 02:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2082042)
Yup, remove it all.

It works great! Thank you :)

Now members won't be pm'ing me asking why they can't rate posts.

brodband 08-17-2010 03:50 AM

how to hide low rated threads on forumdisplay ?

just hide low rated threads without showing numbers or voting buttons

sticky 08-17-2010 06:31 AM

Ted, I upgraded to 2.3.1 but the hide posts feature isn't working correctly for me.

It changes the background on all my threads, I'm running 4.0.2.

Is there any way to make it simply collapse a post like the self-delete feature?

Ted S 08-17-2010 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sticky (Post 2085116)
Ted, I upgraded to 2.3.1 but the hide posts feature isn't working correctly for me.

It changes the background on all my threads, I'm running 4.0.2.

Is there any way to make it simply collapse a post like the self-delete feature?

It's a different collapse approach, you can modify it if you would like to mimmick other functionality.

jretzer 08-24-2010 09:42 PM

How do I go about integrating the ratings with VB Experience? I enabled reputation add-on. Is there something else I have to do?

bfdzio 08-25-2010 02:54 PM

Is there a simple code to add in the 'thread controls' at the top the option to 'expand all' for collapsed posts?

compuminus 08-25-2010 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alex@Mk3OC (Post 2031710)
- Is there a way of displaying in the users postbit how many helpful posts they have?

Ted: Has this been added/fixed in the latest versions? Any way I can edit the mod to do this? If not, I second a vote for this. Everyone has been requesting that this be shown in their postbit profile...

SaN-DeeP 08-26-2010 07:09 AM

Great modification, installing now.

Ted S 08-27-2010 02:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by compuminus (Post 2089403)
Ted: Has this been added/fixed in the latest versions? Any way I can edit the mod to do this? If not, I second a vote for this. Everyone has been requesting that this be shown in their postbit profile...

The data gets captured and added to the user profile as $user['hagoodrank'] and $user['hatotalrank']

sticky 08-28-2010 12:14 AM

Hey Ted, just wondering if there has been any progress on having helpful answers follow the reputation limits like "reputation user spread" ?

Ted S 08-29-2010 04:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sticky (Post 2090553)
Hey Ted, just wondering if there has been any progress on having helpful answers follow the reputation limits like "reputation user spread" ?

Nope.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02764 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,854KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (12)bbcode_code_printable
  • (22)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete