vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - Complete Wordpress/Vbulletin Bridge - Share Users And Postings (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=205388)

Wings69 06-25-2009 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amjadz4 (Post 1837038)
[B]Then how do you want them to show up? Go to admincp > vb options > date and time.
read here: http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.date.php
and type in the format you would like to see. :)

Sorry - it isn't the format that is a problem - it's that every comment is listed as 12-31-69 and 7pm, no matter when they were posted. You can see example in articles here. Scroll down to the comments.

pengrus 06-26-2009 04:35 AM

I have wiped out the wordpress database and did a re-install. Still have the same problem:

Whenever a regular user submit an article for review, the VB admin comes over to EDIT it, it becomes an article published by the author name "Admin".

amjadz4 06-26-2009 09:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wings69 (Post 1837262)
Sorry - it isn't the format that is a problem - it's that every comment is listed as 12-31-69 and 7pm, no matter when they were posted. You can see example in articles here. Scroll down to the comments.

Oh I see. I don't know but I guess there is something wrong with the template/wordpress. You need to check the time function code both places.

Quote:

Originally Posted by pengrus (Post 1837603)
I have wiped out the wordpress database and did a re-install. Still have the same problem:

Whenever a regular user submit an article for review, the VB admin comes over to EDIT it, it becomes an article published by the author name "Admin".

This mod is only for admin's to post to forum from the blog. Not meant for other users.

kursed 06-26-2009 01:45 PM

Is it possible for me to use one vBulletin install, with two different instances of wordpress - using this hack (2 times)?

amjadz4 06-26-2009 02:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kursed (Post 1837847)
Is it possible for me to use one vBulletin install, with two different instances of wordpress - using this hack (2 times)?

I don't see why not? Give it a try and post the result here.

kursed 06-26-2009 03:58 PM

Completed integration of second install of WP with the vBulletin dbase and it WORKS! WOW!

kursed 06-26-2009 04:57 PM

Okay, another question. Is there a way that I can import user ids / passwords from vbulletin dbase into a wordpress dbase?

amjadz4 06-26-2009 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kursed (Post 1837963)
Okay, another question. Is there a way that I can import user ids / passwords from vbulletin dbase into a wordpress dbase?

If you using this mod, you don't need to do that. Why would you wanna do it anyways?

kursed 06-27-2009 01:49 AM

Because by using this hack, I am unable to import vBulletin users into WP tables. And for what I am planning to do, I need all users of my vBulletin install in WP as authors. That, in order to give them access to more functionality sets that are originally native to WP (such as profiles, etc).

amjadz4 06-27-2009 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kursed (Post 1838186)
Because by using this hack, I am unable to import vBulletin users into WP tables. And for what I am planning to do, I need all users of my vBulletin install in WP as authors. That, in order to give them access to more functionality sets that are originally native to WP (such as profiles, etc).

it currently doesnt work that way. This mod is not designed for such use yet. Maybe in the future versions, the mod author might add this much wanted functionality. maybe someone can make the code changes and post here.

andyfielder 06-27-2009 10:02 AM

Is there a way to make it post the excerpt instad of the actual post content.

Or converting HTML images to BB?

Looking a html image tags in the forum doesnt look good!

amjadz4 06-27-2009 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by andyfielder (Post 1838345)
Is there a way to make it post the excerpt instad of the actual post content.

Or converting HTML images to BB?

Looking a html image tags in the forum doesnt look good!

Yes mate.... just enable it in dashboard > tools > vbridge settings.

as for HTML tags thingy, just enable HTML in all forums or install that mod i posted in the previous links.
:)

rcadden 06-29-2009 09:51 PM

Ugh - finally integrated the users so that scheduled posting works through, but now XMLRPC doesn't work. I searched through the thread and found that it was removed in the February update - any chance of getting that back?

Not only is it dead useful for offline desktop blogging using Windows Live Writer, but it's also the only way that most mobile apps can blog.

Btw, if anyone wants an example of the mod in action, you can hit http://www.symbian-guru.com, the forum is at /forum, but it's all integrated with comments and whatnot. I still need to update the wordpress side so that the Comments look better.

MorfiusX 06-30-2009 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodOmens (Post 1752347)
Ok I've made some changes to get post authors to correctly display:

Changed in vbbridge.php

PHP Code:

$sql "select replycount, postuserid FROM " .  TABLE_PREFIX "thread where threadid = '$results->vb_threadid'"

to

PHP Code:

$sql "select replycount, postuserid, postusername FROM " .  TABLE_PREFIX "thread where threadid = '$results->vb_threadid'"

and

PHP Code:

$ret = Array('id' => $results->vb_threadid'count' => $results2[replycount], 'thread_starter' => $results2[postuserid], 'replies' => $results3'vb_parser' => $parser); 

to

PHP Code:

$ret = Array('id' => $results->vb_threadid'count' => $results2[replycount], 'thread_starter' => $results2[postuserid], 'replies' => $results3'vb_parser' => $parser'postusername' => $results2[postusername]); 

Then in the instructions for the Author (wordpress templates) - this was only being called once and resulted in the same author being displayed in all my posts on the main page:

Changed:

PHP Code:

if (function_exists('Comment_Handler') and $vbridge == '') { 

to

PHP Code:

if (function_exists('Comment_Handler')) { 

Also to removed the following from the comment code (redundant since a function call is already made by the author portion of the code)

PHP Code:

if (function_exists('Comment_Handler')) {

    
$vbridge Comment_Handler($post->ID);

    global 
$vbulletin


Everything fully working on LineageJunkies.com

Thanks! This worked for me.

MorfiusX 06-30-2009 12:53 PM

I was having problems with the redirection when logging in to the Wordpress side of things. Looking through the code I found the following in "functions_vbbridge.php":
Code:

$login_url = site_url( 'wp-login.php?redirect_to=' . urlencode( $redirect ), 'login' );
However, I could not find where $redirect was being called from. In my case, I believe it was NULL. So, I replaced it with this code:
Code:

                if ($redirect) {

                        $login_url = site_url( 'wp-login.php?redirect_to=' . urlencode( $redirect ), 'login' );
                       
                } else {
                       
                        $login_url = site_url( 'wp-login.php?redirect_to=' . urlencode( "/wp-admin/" ), 'login' );
                       
                }


fmckinnon 07-01-2009 01:14 PM

OK - thanks for all your help.

I've been using this for about a week now.
Keep in mind: we are NOT using auto-integrate. We have no interest in sharing users ... only in crossposting our articles (WordPress) to our forums, and using the forums for the comment engine.

Earlier, I posted about how regardless of what UserID I have in the vbridge settings, it always posts to the forum as UserID #1. This somehow magically started working correctly all of a sudden - I never did go into phpmyadmin and change userID's around - it just started working.

HOWEVER - now that multiple articles have been published, the actual articles are now hitting the forum with RANDOM userID's ...

I think it has to be a conflict with the Users/Role Manager plugin we're using in WordPress - we have many contributors ... and when they publish their articles, they appear in the forums with random userID's ....

Example: user "SaintLewis" in wordpress adds an article and submits it to the editor. Editor approves and publishes. The article hits the forums in userid: 27? (which is someone else's userID, of course!).

Another user in wordpress publishes an article - and it gets published on the forums as another random ID.

Then, another one publishes, and it goes to the forum with the correct userID as defined in the vbridge settings.

I'd really love for this to work, but I'm on the brink of giving up unless someone has a clue what keeps causing this.

fmckinnon 07-01-2009 02:01 PM

EUREKA:

OK, we've discovered that all of the posts that went into the forums correctly were published directly. All of the ones that went INCORRECTLY were posts that were "scheduled to be published" and were published according to the schedule, automatically.

Seems like in my reading (and re-reading) of this 44+ page topic that i've seen some issues of scheduled posts.

kent_lkc 07-02-2009 04:30 PM

verified by me working like a charm on vB 3.8.3 . . . good job.

alanhoskins 07-02-2009 04:43 PM

Is there anyway, without using the forum for comments, to pull in the avatar from the forum to display next to each persons WP comment?

Spawnie1978 07-03-2009 05:52 AM

I get this error:
Quote:

Warning: chdir() [function.chdir]: No such file or directory (errno 2) in /home/palompon/public_html/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php on line 108

Warning: require_once(./includes/class_dm.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/palompon/public_html/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php on line 113
Code in this line:
Code:

chdir($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] . get_option('vbb_VBRPATH'));
Seems like its searching for a table caled vbb_vbrpath but there is no such table in my database!

Problem solved...

Changed line to:
Code:

chdir('/home/palompon/public_html/forum');

binaryg 07-03-2009 10:55 AM

I must have made a mistake somewhere along the line...

Anyway, I couldn't log in to my wordpress anymore and tried to use the resetvbbridge.php file but it didn't work and it gave me an error. I opened up the file and saw the error, figured it might help a few people out...

Code:

<?php
require_once( dirname(__FILE__) . '/wp-load.php' );

        update_option('vbb_VBION, 0);

echo "Vbbridge integration disabled!";

should be

Code:

<?php
require_once( dirname(__FILE__) . '/wp-load.php' );

        update_option('vbb_VBION', 0);

echo "Vbbridge integration disabled!";


fmckinnon 07-03-2009 02:40 PM

Anyone found success in having scheduled wordpress posts hit the forum with the correct (and not random) userID?

Spawnie1978 07-04-2009 02:46 AM

Edit because of stupidity ;)

josh2007 07-05-2009 09:04 PM

EDIT: Fixed my issue

rcadden 07-05-2009 10:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmckinnon (Post 1840727)
OK - thanks for all your help.

I've been using this for about a week now.
Keep in mind: we are NOT using auto-integrate. We have no interest in sharing users ... only in crossposting our articles (WordPress) to our forums, and using the forums for the comment engine.

Earlier, I posted about how regardless of what UserID I have in the vbridge settings, it always posts to the forum as UserID #1. This somehow magically started working correctly all of a sudden - I never did go into phpmyadmin and change userID's around - it just started working.

HOWEVER - now that multiple articles have been published, the actual articles are now hitting the forum with RANDOM userID's ...

I think it has to be a conflict with the Users/Role Manager plugin we're using in WordPress - we have many contributors ... and when they publish their articles, they appear in the forums with random userID's ....

Example: user "SaintLewis" in wordpress adds an article and submits it to the editor. Editor approves and publishes. The article hits the forums in userid: 27? (which is someone else's userID, of course!).

Another user in wordpress publishes an article - and it gets published on the forums as another random ID.

Then, another one publishes, and it goes to the forum with the correct userID as defined in the vbridge settings.

I'd really love for this to work, but I'm on the brink of giving up unless someone has a clue what keeps causing this.

You and I are trying to use this the same way, I believe. I'll bet that, if you look into it, you'll notice they aren't random IDs, but rather that they have matching ID #s. I.e. SaintLewis is #24 in wordpress and 27? is #24 in vbulletin - that's what was happening to me, at times.

I've used both integrated and non-integrated, and scheduled posts don't work 100% either way, annoyingly. At this point, honestly, I'm seriously considering just disconnecting the forum from my site and using it as just that - a discussion forum, rather than a commenting engine. Especially with the loss of XMLRPC and the gallery features, it's becoming much more trouble than its worth, and the original dev isn't doing anything on this, either. I realize he's only volunteering, but when I offered $50 to whoever would help me, it was another member, rather than him, which kinda bothered me.

DNG 07-06-2009 12:56 AM

Thanks 4 this great Mod !

AdjaniB 07-06-2009 07:26 AM

I have a little question..
I'm going for two weeks of vacations, so i decided to leave some assigned posts for some determined days but when it post on the forum, will it be on the default subforum/category? It's because I would like it to be post on the correct forum and I put it when I save the post, but I did a test and it showed on the default one..
How can I make it to post on the correct one? plz?

rcadden 07-06-2009 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdjaniB (Post 1843621)
I have a little question..
I'm going for two weeks of vacations, so i decided to leave some assigned posts for some determined days but when it post on the forum, will it be on the default subforum/category? It's because I would like it to be post on the correct forum and I put it when I save the post, but I did a test and it showed on the default one..
How can I make it to post on the correct one? plz?

For me, while scheduled posts authors don't always come across correctly, if you choose the desired subcategory before you choose publish/schedule, it has always worked properly. I don't know what happens if you use the quick edit option, though.

dreamhost 07-06-2009 10:07 PM

question removed

kursed 07-07-2009 06:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alanhoskins (Post 1841511)
Is there anyway, without using the forum for comments, to pull in the avatar from the forum to display next to each persons WP comment?

I'd like to know this as well.

edenx 07-07-2009 03:58 PM

How can I show the VB userbar inside WP ?

fmckinnon 07-08-2009 12:10 PM

Has anyone else had trouble with the plugin turning itself OFF, randomly? I've not touched the settings, and on 2 occassions now over the last couple of weeks, we've got to write posts, and noticed the forum menus aren't listed at the bottom of the page, and an attempt to save a draft gives errors ... we go into Settings, and the plugin is turned off ... but I didn't turn it off.

Odd.

Are we assuming the original developer has ceased support - nobody has heard from them in a long time, right?

Reeve of shinra 07-09-2009 04:54 AM

Forgive me is this was already addressed and I missed it but --

If I hid / removed the comments from the wordpress side -- can I have the bridge post a link to the thread it created on the forums?

belindazhu 07-09-2009 06:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AzzX (Post 1745355)
I just noticed I have lost the Visual editor in Wordpress with the plugin enabled, disabling the plugin it comes back. See attached image.
I have tried disabling all my other plugins to find a conflict but couldn't find an issue.

The user list in Wordpress shows up as blank invalid users though the bridge is working fine using a vb admin. Is this OK?

Thanks.


I met the same problem with you, the visual editor couldn't show well.
My version is 3.8.3.

So, how you resoved it?

belindazhu 07-09-2009 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by laztrix (Post 1746052)
That was the same deal with my installation.Another user did report the same issue.
I think that wouldn't be a coincidence.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WorkerB (Post 1746656)
Oops - I also forgot to mention that on my Wordpress WYSIWYG editor, I've lost the ability to flip between Visual and HTML. All of the other editor docks that are typically rolled up are expanded as well... anyone else seeing this?

Quote:

Originally Posted by laztrix (Post 1746672)
I have silimar issues witht the visual editor.

Also I had to deactivate the plugin - like it say in the readme file! - because when I did activate the plugin the pages went blank.

This time I can not active it either because as soon as I activate it it happens again!

I searched for tables in the database found one in the user table but it was helpless....

Quote:

Originally Posted by laztrix (Post 1748280)
I was be able to bridge wordpress with vbulletin but there are some problems:

1. When I turn the automatic integration on, the Visual Editor ( WSIWYG ) disappear! Altought before everything was fine...

2. I'm using a translated version of Wordpress ( Turkish Language ) and some of the special character like ( ş,ğ,?,ı ) are not shown properly.

3.Does not the bridge work with productive websites which had post, users, comments, categories before ?

For example : 500 post, 300 comments , 2000 users, 20 categories

When I try to activate wordpress with a productive website the pages goes blank. Netiher the admin panel is reacheable nor other pages...

Does it always have to be a clean installation ?

So many questions have been posted but the plugins author has not shown up yet!

I hope that he will give us feedback with all the issues that we reported volunteerly...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jafo232 (Post 1750887)
By the way everyone, I am basically working on this today/tonight on my day off. Here is what I have fixed so far (have NOT uploaded yet):
  • Fixed issue where rich text editor was not being displayed
  • Fixed issue where permalinks were not working properly
  • Fixed issue where paragraphs where not converting
  • Added reset script so admin can turn off integration if locked out
  • Made the user interface a bit more understandable, meaning, your off to the VB admincp when adding/editing/viewing users
As for those of you out there who already have a substantial WP userbase and want to convert them to VB. That is not what this plugin does, sorry.


No, nonononononono,
nonono,!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Still this problem.
Mine is 2.8 and 3.8.3
What is wrong????????????????
Reply me pls.

Tickhi 07-09-2009 09:44 AM

Fatal error: Call to a member function query_read() on a non-object in /home/forumzed/public_html/portal/wp-content/plugins/vbbridge.php on line 475

belindazhu 07-09-2009 11:35 AM

oh, this hack is tooooooooooo bad.. so many problems and fatal error met when installing.
Cost my too much time.

creativepart 07-09-2009 04:47 PM

I'm using this Mod with WP 2.8 (and I did the upgrade with this mod and integration turned on). It worked perfectly at install -- mostly. So, those of you getting install problems I can only assume are not correctly following the directions.

There are many implications to this mod that are difficult to anticipate until you start using it in testing.

My only continuing problem is the "Author" problem. WP expects the Admin account to be #1. But, my VB Admin account is userID=3 and there is no userID=1 in my vB. So, much of the time the "Author" is shown as blank. Well, it shows blank, but it actually has userID=1 in the post, but since there is no #1 it is blank.

If I click on Publish in the QuickEdit section of WP. It will put my correct user ID on my posts. However, if someone else has written the post it also changes the author to me when I publish the post. That's not good. It shows me as the author of everything.

I gave up on trying to get Avatars and such from VB into posts here. I never could get that to work.

I've had some problems with the media upload, but by using the browser upload instead of the Flash upload all is fine.

When setting it up I knew I wouldn't be using the post back to VB option, but I still set it up to do that as per the install instructions and then I just turned that feature off after I was sure it was working.

I posted to let folks know that it does work. And works pretty well. So, keep working on it. It would be great if someone adopted this mod, and took over working on it for the future. WP is too important to VB at this point and time and the two need to REALLY work together.

rcadden 07-10-2009 12:17 PM

I'm to the point where I'm going to just disconnect the forum and blog, almost. Here's my current issues:

1. As mentioned above, whoever live-publishes a post, that person shows as the author (in vBulletin only), not the true author. I have 3 writers, only 2 of which can publish posts, so this is a problem.
2. Scheduled posts now correctly show the author, sort of. When viewing the thread in the forum, it shows MainPage (or whatever I have in the first two setting fields), and registers as a guest. However, when you open the thread, it shows the correct author as the first post. Since I have my vBulletin set so that guests cannot start threads (encourages registration and minimizes spam), this is a major problem.
3. The forum/subforum selection box isn't fully integrated into the Wordpress post creation page, which means it's difficult to make mobile-friendly. Not a big deal to most of you, likely, but a major deal to me.
4. The forum/subforum selection box doesn't save my selection. I.e. if an author chooses a subforum, and then my editor opens the post, that selection is lost, and the editor has to remember to reset it.
5. Unapproved comments show up on the Wordpress site when you've got your comments integrated.
6. With auto-integrate of users turned on, XMLRPC doesn't work, which is again a major ordeal for me.

I really wanted to use vBulletin as my comment engine, as it seems to offer everything I wanted for my community. However, this mod is a royal pain to deal with, and there's virtually zero support for it. I would be willing to donate $50-100 again, but only if *all* of these issues are fixed. I would bet that more people would donate, too, so that we could offer *someone* some real reimbursement.

At this point, I'm investigating converting my forum from vBulletin to phpBB, since that platform has multiple wordpress bridges, both of which are actually updated. That just sucks cause I bought a lifetime license for vBulletin, thinking it was the best. Either that, or I'll just run the forum as a standalone 'feature' of my site, and go back to using Wordpress' built-in comment system. Ugh.

creativepart 07-10-2009 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rcadden (Post 1846335)
At this point, I'm investigating converting my forum from vBulletin to phpBB, since that platform has multiple wordpress bridges, both of which are actually updated.

As someone that moved from PHPBB to VB I don't think I'd ever do that just for the CMS in Wordpress. But that was a few years ago and maybe it's different now. Your mileage may vary.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02663 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,888KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (6)bbcode_code_printable
  • (7)bbcode_php_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete