vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Board Optimization - [DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=237325)

kmohamed 05-15-2010 06:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2036920)
I assume you're running xcache?

This isn't uncommon on XCache setups, you will need to set up the authentication properly (xcache has a really strange default setting)

To do that, see deceptors posts here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=137
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=141

Hope that helps!

To everyone else - Deceptor will help you with your issues when he gets online, I'm just doing what i can - Not my product.

Iain

again thanx for replacing Deceptor you been great so far
i am not using XCache, i am only using memecache? any ideas? :)

Deceptor 05-15-2010 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kmohamed (Post 2037250)
again thanx for replacing Deceptor you been great so far
i am not using XCache, i am only using memecache? any ideas? :)

If Memcache is failing to store data, the instance may have too little space or ran out. Restart your memcache daemon process with more allocated space (or ask your host to do this), without doing so vB Optimise will have no impact as cache will never be stored.

kmohamed 05-17-2010 01:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Deceptor (Post 2037473)
If Memcache is failing to store data, the instance may have too little space or ran out. Restart your memcache daemon process with more allocated space (or ask your host to do this), without doing so vB Optimise will have no impact as cache will never be stored.

thank you again

Deceptor 05-17-2010 02:25 PM

No problem :)

stardotstar 05-18-2010 07:07 AM

Hi there Guys, I seem to be in the same boat as the above poster.
I have a linux server (my own) and am running memcache but I get the following two errors with the system test:

Code:

Running Test: Store Cache
Your Opcache Operator extension is functioning, however it is unable to store data. Please check your extension configuration.
Running Test: Fetch Cache
Your Opcache Operator extension is functioning, however it is unable to store data. Please check your extension configuration.

I have restarted the memcached but not changed anything yet - could someone please comment on the current config:

from php.ini
Code:

additional .ini files parsed        /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/memcache.ini
..
memcache
memcache support        enabled
Version        3.0.4
Revision        $Revision: 1.83.2.36 $

Directive        Local Value        Master Value
memcache.allow_failover        1        1
memcache.chunk_size        32768        32768
memcache.compress_threshold        20000        20000
memcache.default_port        11211        11211
memcache.hash_function        crc32        crc32
memcache.hash_strategy        consistent        consistent
memcache.lock_timeout        15        15
memcache.max_failover_attempts        20        20
memcache.protocol        ascii        ascii
memcache.redundancy        1        1
memcache.session_redundancy        2        2

Code:

helios init.d # vi /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/memcache.ini

extension=memcache.so
memcache.allow_failover=true
memcache.max_failover_attempts=20
memcache.chunk_size=32768
memcache.default_port=11211
memcache.hash_strategy=consistent
memcache.hash_function=crc32
memcache.redundancy=1
memcache.session_redundancy=2
memcache.protocol=ascii

What should I check and/or change please?
TIA
Will


edit - sorry I see I have found this error here in the vb4 mod thread - I have this implemented in vb3.8.x

Deceptor 05-18-2010 06:38 PM

stardotstar - No worries about the version confusion :) As for the cache issue, what is the command for starting the memcached service you're using?

stardotstar 05-18-2010 08:06 PM

Hi Deceptor, that is a good question - its installed on my Gentoo Linux host and as far as I know it has been called by the init.d daemon which is a "start|restart|stop" kind of thing - I'll try and work that out...
Thanks for the fast reply.
I have looked at the /etc/conf.d/memcached file which probably defines the parameters fed to the command line when invoking the memcached daemon:

Code:

helios conf.d # cat memcached
# Copyright 2003 Gentoo Technologies, Inc
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-misc/memcached/files/1.2.6/conf,v 1.1 2008/08/01 15:56:55 caleb Exp $
# memcached config file

MEMCACHED_BINARY="/usr/bin/memcached"

#Specify memory usage in megabytes (do not use letters)
#64MB is default
MEMUSAGE="512"

#User to run as
MEMCACHED_RUNAS="memcached"

#Specify maximum number of concurrent connections
#1024 is default
MAXCONN="1024"

#Listen for connections on what address?
# If this is empty, memcached will listen on 0.0.0.0
# be sure you have a firewall in place!
LISTENON="127.0.0.1"

#Listen for connections on what port?
PORT="11211"

#PID file location
# '-${PORT}.${CONF}.pid' will be appended to this!
# You do not normally need to change this.
PIDBASE="/var/run/memcached/memcached"

#Other Options
MISC_OPTS=""

So it looks like 512MB has been assigned to memcached?
Is there any way that I can check that?
In the mean time I have switched the system over to file cache and it passes all the tests - would that be less efficient than memcache?

I have put this in place with yslow and members are noticing an improvement - if I can get this to be as efficient as possible I will certainly seriously consider the commercial version - thank you for making this available in the Lite format!


[edit] ahhh, this is probably what you want to see:
Code:

106      18722  0.5  0.5  45208 18580 ?        Ssl  May18  4:23 /usr/bin/memcached -d -p 11211 -l 127.0.0.1 -m 512 -c 1024 -u memcached -P /var/run/memcached/memcached-11211.pid
[/edit]

Deceptor 05-19-2010 12:18 PM

Hi stardotstar,

Your configuration seems fine and the process is indeed running on localhost port 11211 which is a typical setup, and 512mb of ram is more than enough, so really it should be working.

Might seem silly asking, but I presume you've setup Memcache configuration within vbulletins /includes/config.php?

stardotstar 05-19-2010 10:51 PM

Doh Doh Doh, double Doh;
I never ever realised that it needed configuring in my vB configs.
I am googling how to do that properly now - the current config has the entire section rem'd out.
I guess this in itself will improve the performance of my site?
Thank you!!

stardotstar 05-19-2010 11:09 PM

OK I have it all configured (I have two boards so I set the prefix for this one to something unique) and saved the config.php
Now I have gone back to the admin cp and changed the vB optimise setting to memcache and run the tests and all passes.
I can see memcache running when I top the server.
I guess I'll wait and see what my users say.
Great support! Thank you!


[UPDATE]
I have come across a strange problem on the boards when the new config.php is in place...
When the memcache config is in place and people (including myself) try to edit posts they get an error when attempting to save the edit:

vBulletin Message
1. maxloggedin
cancel changes

I have googled this and its very rare and in the past has only been responded to by asking people to turn products off to search for an offending product.
I turned the recent products off (including this one) to no avail
Then I copied my old (non-memcache) config back into place and the problem went away.
I changed my config to remove the section for a prefix for caching in case this was causing trouble but made no difference.
I have therefore returned to the old config in which memcache was disabled.
Can I get some thoughts on this as it is clearly associated with my optimisation setup as per the recommendations for this product to work - but - and I stress this - clearly not the product itself.
I have posted this in a thread on vb.com that I necromanced for this discussion:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...03#post1982603

for the record here is the original config.php:
Code:

        // ****** DATASTORE CACHE CONFIGURATION *****
        // Here you can configure different methods for caching datastore items.
        // vB_Datastore_Filecache  - to use includes/datastore/datastore_cache.php
        // vB_Datastore_APC - to use APC
        // vB_Datastore_XCache - to use XCache
        // vB_Datastore_Memcached - to use a Memcache server, more configuration below
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';

        // ******** DATASTORE PREFIX ******
        // If you are using a PHP Caching system (APC, XCache, eAccelerator) with more
        // than one set of forums installed on your host, you *may* need to use a prefix
        // so that they do not try to use the same variable within the cache.
        // This works in a similar manner to the database table prefix.
// $config['Datastore']['prefix'] = '';

        // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on
/*
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
$i = 0;
// First Server
$i++;
$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i]                = '127.0.0.1';
$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i]                        = 11211;
$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i]        = true;
$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i]                = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i]                = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15;
*/

and the one I implemented to make memcache work with vB (and get the most out of vb optimise lite naturally enough;
Code:

        // ****** DATASTORE CACHE CONFIGURATION *****
        // Here you can configure different methods for caching datastore items.
        // vB_Datastore_Filecache  - to use includes/datastore/datastore_cache.php
        // vB_Datastore_APC - to use APC
        // vB_Datastore_XCache - to use XCache
        // vB_Datastore_Memcached - to use a Memcache server, more configuration below
        // $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';

        // ******** DATASTORE PREFIX ******
        // If you are using a PHP Caching system (APC, XCache, eAccelerator) with more
        // than one set of forums installed on your host, you *may* need to use a prefix
        // so that they do not try to use the same variable within the cache.
        // This works in a similar manner to the database table prefix.
$config['Datastore']['prefix'] = 'heli';

        // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on

$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Memcached';
$i = 0;
// First Server
$i++;
$config['Misc']['memcacheserver'][$i]                = '127.0.0.1';
$config['Misc']['memcacheport'][$i]                        = 11211;
$config['Misc']['memcachepersistent'][$i]        = true;
$config['Misc']['memcacheweight'][$i]                = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcachetimeout'][$i]                = 1;
$config['Misc']['memcacheretry_interval'][$i] = 15;

Further research finds this thread:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...th-maxloggedin


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01308 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,787KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete