vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=235)
-   -   Major Additions - Forum Tournaments & Ladders (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=189375)

CardMafia 10-04-2008 12:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JAnders (Post 1636783)

thanks, not a fix for this though :(

bananalive 10-04-2008 12:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CardMafia (Post 1637100)
thanks, not a fix for this though :(

make sure you have reverted template tmnt_new and installed calendar extension on your PHP server (info here: http://www.php.net/calendar)

djlotus 10-04-2008 12:59 PM

Hey Bananalive, would it possible to add a quick note in the release notes that the installer only nav links if you are using default vB nav? The question has been asked about 4 times in 2 days. Same questions are clogging the posts.

Just a suggestion.


**Voted for MOTM**

bananalive 10-04-2008 01:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djlotus (Post 1637127)
Hey Bananalive, would it possible to add a quick note in the release notes that the installer only nav links if you are using default vB nav? The question has been asked about 4 times in 2 days. Same questions are clogging the posts.

Just a suggestion.


**Voted for MOTM**

Good idea, will be added into readme of next release

Thanks for your vote :D

djlotus 10-04-2008 02:05 PM

Excellent. Thanks for your quick response

Chris11987 10-04-2008 06:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bananalive (Post 1637094)
With the ELO rating system if both players have the same rank, how do the ranks change?

This is how Gamebattles has their latters: If you and someone are close to each other, the winner would get 100 points. That's pretty much like their basic value. Then if you start playing people that are lower than you, you only get smaller amounts of points such as 90,80,70. If you decide to beat a team that's waaaay lower than you, it might be a very small reward like 10 or 20 points (GB has all of their winning values in multiples of 10). Then of course, if you beat someone a lot higher than you, you would get up to 200 points. So it basically increases the winning points value depending on the difference in your ranks.

It also does the same for losing values, like losing to a team that's better than you, doesn't cost as many points, but losing to a team that's lower than you can lose you a decent amount of points.

So in the end, it's a solid way to rank people effectively and not encourage people to cheat by playing the same team and getting the same, set amount of points they would for beating the best team on the ladder or some bad, 2-23 team. A team that's 10-2 that plays only good teams will be higher on the ladder than a team that's 10-2 that only plays bad teams.

bananalive 10-04-2008 06:33 PM

Thanks Chris11987

Forum Tournaments & Ladders v2.4.7 Just Released

- Option to delete announcements
- Fixed multiple team name issue
- New Top (optional) Navigation Menu
- Changed Side Navigation
- Added 'index' page with latest tournaments/ladders/announcements
- Navbar link auto-insert now uses hooks
- vBoptions navbar name change
- added tournament rules - edit template tmnt_rules (change for each style - will be changed in next version )

djlotus 10-04-2008 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris11987 (Post 1637288)
This is how Gamebattles has their latters: If you and someone are close to each other, the winner would get 100 points. That's pretty much like their basic value. Then if you start playing people that are lower than you, you only get smaller amounts of points such as 90,80,70. If you decide to beat a team that's waaaay lower than you, it might be a very small reward like 10 or 20 points (GB has all of their winning values in multiples of 10). Then of course, if you beat someone a lot higher than you, you would get up to 200 points. So it basically increases the winning points value depending on the difference in your ranks.

It also does the same for losing values, like losing to a team that's better than you, doesn't cost as many points, but losing to a team that's lower than you can lose you a decent amount of points.

So in the end, it's a solid way to rank people effectively and not encourage people to cheat by playing the same team and getting the same, set amount of points they would for beating the best team on the ladder or some bad, 2-23 team. A team that's 10-2 that plays only good teams will be higher on the ladder than a team that's 10-2 that only plays bad teams.


I can send you php for an elo style scoring system. It is the one I use on my ladder sites. May make sense to see it in code form. Let me know.

Also, just installed 2.4.7. The index page is a great addition. Gives a more fluid and professional look. Also more user friendly. Outstanding work as always.

**HTML not working in tmnt_rules template. Is this an issue ith my settings?**

bananalive 10-04-2008 07:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by djlotus (Post 1637318)
I can send you php for an elo style scoring system. It is the one I use on my ladder sites. May make sense to see it in code form. Let me know.

It would be helpful thanks. Am I right in assuming every ELO system is different?
Quote:

Originally Posted by djlotus (Post 1637318)
Also, just installed 2.4.7. The index page is a great addition. Gives a more fluid and professional look. Also more user friendly. Outstanding work as always.

**HTML not working in tmnt_rules template. Is this an issue ith my settings?**

Use bbcode

If you want to use html:

Find in tournament.php
Code:

        $rules = $bbcode_parser->do_parse($rules,false,true,true,true,true,false);
Replace with
Code:

        $rules = $bbcode_parser->do_parse($rules,true,true,true,true,true,false);

WNxWakko 10-04-2008 07:59 PM

On the ladder when you click a users name to challange them, I get this,

Quote:

Please complete both the subject and message fields.
There are no fields to populate so what is it referring to?

bananalive 10-04-2008 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WNxWakko (Post 1637364)
On the ladder when you click a users name to challange them, I get this,

There are no fields to populate so what is it referring to?

Sorry, it refers to the pm'ing of the user you are challenging. Fix below, will be released with next version as well.

Find in tournament.php
PHP Code:

eval('$message = "' fetch_template('tmnt_tmnt_chalpm') . '";'); 

replace with
PHP Code:

eval('$message = "' fetch_template('tmnt_ladder_chalpm') . '";'); 


bananalive 10-04-2008 08:14 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Some Screenshots

- Editing Team
- Tournament Index
- Rules Page
- Viewing an Announcement

_

mlthmp 10-04-2008 08:17 PM

Very nice!

I like the new layout of the menu and such. Excellent work!

djlotus 10-04-2008 09:04 PM

PHP Code:

if($loser_points <= 19 ){
$new_loser_points=0;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 20 AND  $loser_points <= 99) {
$new_loser_points=10;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 100 AND $loser_points <= 199) {
$new_loser_points=20;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 200 AND $loser_points <= 299) {
$new_loser_points=30;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 300 AND  $loser_points <= 499) {
$new_loser_points=40;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 500 AND  $loser_points<= 749) {
$new_loser_points=50;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 750 AND  $loser_points <= 999) {
$new_loser_points=75;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 1000 AND  $loser_points <= 1999) {
$new_loser_points=150;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 2000 AND  $loser_points <= 3499) {
$new_loser_points=200;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 3500 AND  $loser_points <= 4999) {
$new_loser_points=200;
}
if (
$loser_points >= 5000) {
$new_loser_points=200;
}

if(
$winner_points <= 19 ){
$new_winner_points=20;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 20 AND  $winner_points <= 99) {
$new_winner_points=30;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 100 AND $winner_points <= 199) {
$new_winner_points=50;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 200 AND $winner_points <= 299) {
$new_winner_points=60;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 300 AND  $winner_points <= 499) {
$new_winner_points=70;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 500 AND  $winner_points<= 749) {
$new_winner_points=80;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 750 AND  $winner_points <= 999) {
$new_winner_points=100;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 1000 AND  $winner_points <= 1999) {
$new_winner_points=90;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 2000 AND  $winner_points <= 3499) {
$new_winner_points=80;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 3500 AND  $winner_points <= 4999) {
$new_winner_points=70;
}
if (
$winner_points >= 5000) {
$new_winner_points=60;


Hope that helps. I use a point range to determine "levels" so users can see how beating a higher ranked team earns then more points and loosing to a lower ranked team, loses them more points.

Chris11987 10-04-2008 09:35 PM

I'll try out the new version probably next week, as I'm currently running a 256-person tournament (8 Divisions with 32 people each) and don't really want to do any upgrades now.

I have a glitch to report: This only happens in 32 person tournaments. The advancement for the person with the 16th spot is glitch, and it advances them to the bracket of what should be the 17th and 18th person. When hovering over and seeing the javascript, it looks as if the system thinks it is a 3-way fight. I'll show a screenshot:

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/5...eyerrorzr6.png

As you can see (by the winner spot being all the way to right), I'm showing you the very middle of the 32-person bracket. The guy with the arrow go one bracket below of what he should. This is the case on every 32 person tournament I'm currently running and had happened during testing, but I forgot to report it.

ams3521 10-04-2008 10:46 PM

Hi forgive me jumping in and asking here but i would need to know something before installing this great looking forum addition. the ladder page...is it possible to change the table ro maybe just display 2 user defined coloums or maybe even 8 user defined coloums?

I was hoping to run a tipster league on it of sorts.

thanks

Internetcafe 10-04-2008 10:49 PM

Every time I upgrade I get another line of tournament stats info in members profile .. where do I need to edit to remove half a dozen entries of the same information ?

WNxWakko 10-04-2008 11:28 PM

the edit worked thanks.

On thing I find interesting is that you can create a tourny, add a player and then win it without them every agreeing . Shouldnt someone agree to be added? Perhaps PM the when you add a member so they have to come back and agree.

Also it seems you have more options when you edit a ladder than when you create one.
Points for Win
Points for Draw
Points for Lose

djlotus 10-04-2008 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Internetcafe (Post 1637435)
Every time I upgrade I get another line of tournament stats info in members profile .. where do I need to edit to remove half a dozen entries of the same information ?

It would appear to me that when you are updating you re not allowing overwrite when you upload the new product XML file. I would uninstall the product then reinstall the latest version.

If you are currently running an active tournament, you could backup your DB, then go to your DB, browse the users table, scroll down until you see "tmnt_joins" and "tmnt_wins". Odds are, you have multiple rows with these names. Typically a DB structure will insert new rows underneath existing rows, so if you delete duplicate rows, except for the top ones, you should be good to go.

*If you do access your DB, make sure to back it up before you make any changes!*

JAnders 10-05-2008 01:08 AM

I finally was able to upgrade my php and mysql on the server updated my vb 3.7 and the ladder now works fine.

CHEERS!

suggestion it would be nice to have the ability to display another field other than the username or next to the user name.

I run XBOX 360 leagues and it would be great if I can display the Gamertag on the list.

Queball_Beast 10-05-2008 01:20 AM

Hello.

I would like to first comment on how well this mod is evolving, it is one of my favorite Mods to date.
I also hope to see this as Mod Of The Month so everyone should vote if they have not done so yet..

During the first few weeks this mod was release, I had created few test tournaments, now when I check the Hall of Fame list, those the players added to the test tournament are in the hall of fame, Is there a way or can the ability to edit the Hall of Fame be added?


Thanks

Voted Mod Of The Month :up:

mlthmp 10-05-2008 01:48 AM

Only way I've found so far to remove the joins and wins from a profile is via myphpadmin. In the user table there's a join and win column. I just went in and reset them to 0 by hand.

I really think a way to do that from the script would be awesome though.

djlotus 10-05-2008 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlthmp (Post 1637519)
Only way I've found so far to remove the joins and wins from a profile is via myphpadmin. In the user table there's a join and win column. I just went in and reset them to 0 by hand.

I really think a way to do that from the script would be awesome though.

He was referring to fact that he had multiple instances of the "joined/won" section of the profile. I looked a members profile on his site, and saw 4 instances of it on the page.

A "clear player stats" option would be great either in the tourney options in ACP or on user options in ACP.

ams3521 10-05-2008 02:07 AM

Is changing the table just standard out the tin? I dont want to install it to find out it aint. Sorry for asking. thanks

XStealth6 10-05-2008 02:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JAnders (Post 1637493)
I finally was able to upgrade my php and mysql on the server updated my vb 3.7 and the ladder now works fine.

CHEERS!

suggestion it would be nice to have the ability to display another field other than the username or next to the user name.

I run XBOX 360 leagues and it would be great if I can display the Gamertag on the list.



I was going to ask if this could be done aswell. I know theres an xbox360 mod here on vb.org and would be nice to implement this as an additional feature :)

this mod is becoming something of a monster. I love it BananaLive!!

gamerscms 10-05-2008 08:53 AM

This hack is getting better and better, thanks a lot banana :)

The Challenge PM is not working yet.

It would be great to be able to add rules for each ladder/tournament you add with a link in each ladder/tournament page, also be able to use the VB editor to add the text.

Keep us the great work :)

Example here

gamerscms 10-05-2008 09:23 AM

More bugs:

When you add a tournament the player list shows full and does not update.

bananalive 10-05-2008 09:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris11987
I have a glitch to report: This only happens in 32 person tournaments. The advancement for the person with the 16th spot is glitch, and it advances them to the bracket of what should be the 17th and 18th person. When hovering over and seeing the javascript, it looks as if the system thinks it is a 3-way fight. I'll show a screenshot:

http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/5...eyerrorzr6.png

Thanks will be fixed in next version
Quote:

Hi forgive me jumping in and asking here but i would need to know something before installing this great looking forum addition. the ladder page...is it possible to change the table ro maybe just display 2 user defined coloums or maybe even 8 user defined coloums?

I was hoping to run a tipster league on it of sorts.

thanks
There are currently two columns - one for username and one for score.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Internetcafe
Every time I upgrade I get another line of tournament stats info in members profile .. where do I need to edit to remove half a dozen entries of the same information ?

Look for multiple plugins called 'Tournament MemberInfo'.

If you only have one 'Tournament MemberInfo' plugin then open it and change '.=' to '='.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WNxWakko
On thing I find interesting is that you can create a tourny, add a player and then win it without them every agreeing . Shouldn't someone agree to be added? Perhaps PM the when you add a member so they have to come back and agree.

That's an interesting point. I'll add pm option.
Quote:

Originally Posted by WNxWakko
Also it seems you have more options when you edit a ladder than when you create one.
Points for Win
Points for Draw
Points for Lose

I considered those as advanced options and didnt include them in the New Ladder page.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Queball_Beast (Post 1637503)
During the first few weeks this mod was release, I had created few test tournaments, now when I check the Hall of Fame list, those the players added to the test tournament are in the hall of fame, Is there a way or can the ability to edit the Hall of Fame be added?

I'll look into resetting tmnt wins and joins in admincp.
Quote:

Originally Posted by ams3521 (Post 1637528)
Is changing the table just standard out the tin? I don't want to install it to find out it aint. Sorry for asking. thanks

Most modifications will use MYSQL database to store the data.
Quote:

Originally Posted by gamerscms (Post 1637675)
It would be great to be able to add rules for each ladder/tournament you add with a link in each ladder/tournament page, also be able to use the VB editor to add the text.

The tournament details section can be used for rules.

bananalive 10-05-2008 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamerscms (Post 1637693)
More bugs:

When you add a tournament the player list shows full and does not update.

Thanks, fix will be released with next version.

gamerscms 10-05-2008 09:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bananalive (Post 1637703)
The tournament details section can be used for rules.

Yes but if you have a long set of rules and other info it just shows on a single line in the details section and looks very messy :(

Instead the details part should be about the tournament and then the rules should be in the tournament/ladder page.

Example here

bananalive 10-05-2008 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamerscms (Post 1637709)
Yes but if you have a long set of rules and other info it just shows on a single line in the details section and looks very messy :(

Instead the details part should be about the tournament and then the rules should be in the tournament/ladder page.

Example here

I've added bbcode: [newbox=$1]$2[/newbox] (v2.4.8 +)

Example

BlackLava 10-05-2008 12:20 PM

Do you plan to add more fixes and stuff through the next days?
I love it but would prefer to install the last version.

by the way 2.4.7 seems to be the downloaded one and you're talking about 2.4.8 (I bet there's just a small delay anyway).

Thanks a lot for your work, my surfers will love that too!

Edit : sorry seeing the 2.4.8 now, installing it, seems it's not so hard to upgrade it later anyway, thanks again!

gamerscms 10-05-2008 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bananalive (Post 1637753)
I've added bbcode: [newbox=$1]$2[/newbox] (v2.4.8 +)

Example

You lost me with the BB code where would this go?

EDIT: right i understand now, i think you should be more clear where to add this.

You add it into the details area.

[newbox=YOUR-TITLE]SOME CONTENT HERE[/newbox]

gamerscms 10-05-2008 12:40 PM

Looking great so far here is what i have:

http://www.xboxhive.co.uk/forums/tou...p?do=view&id=5

Any way to change the default icons used in Tournament Details part?

Also when you send a PM out with the new BB code it sends it all the tags in the PM :(

WNxWakko 10-05-2008 02:12 PM

When I click rules I get this,

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 3.6.8:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT * FROM tmnt_rules WHERE id=1;

MySQL Error : Table xxxxxxxx.tmnt_rules' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Date : Sunday, October 5th 2008 @ 10:11:46 AM
Script : http://warriornation.net/Forum/tournament.php?do=rules
Referrer : http://warriornation.net/Forum/tourn...adderview&id=8
IP Address : xxxxxxxx
Username : WNxWakko
Classname : vB_Database

butler312 10-05-2008 02:35 PM

Couple of suggestions. I haven't installed the latest releases (I don't want to put the ladder part in until you get the ELO rankings in, or something similar). I read through to see if these had just been put in and didn't see them, so I apologize if I missed them.

On my site we host our official site tournament plus we allow members to host their own tournaments. Would it be possible to allow for some sort of distinction between the two? Maybe allow tournaments that have been marked as official tournaments to show up in bold, and then have links where members can view all official tournaments or view all member tournaments. You could then just add an admin option to allow different usergroups/users to host official tournaments. I hope that makes sense.

Another is to allow team leaders to appoint other team leaders, or maybe team captains or something similar, and also give them the power to enter teams in tournaments and such. Oftentimes teams have multiple leaders, and if there can only be one team leader, and he isn't available for some reason, it would suck for the team to not be able to enter.

WNxWakko 10-05-2008 02:47 PM

Something else to consider here. On the ladder once the challange is over, it pretty much disappears. Shouldnt there be some sort of challangers summary page showing all challanges in progress and completed?

Revvin 10-05-2008 03:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WNxWakko (Post 1637850)
When I click rules I get this,

Got the same error here when upgrading from 2.4.7 to 2.4.8

Revvin 10-05-2008 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gamerscms (Post 1637780)
You lost me with the BB code where would this go?

EDIT: right i understand now, i think you should be more clear where to add this.

You add it into the details area.

[newbox=YOUR-TITLE]SOME CONTENT HERE[/newbox]

Did you have to put the code in as with regular custom BBcode's? and if so is it limited to the ladder script of can it be used in forum posts? I'm just wondering if that may cause some problems in regaulr forum threads if people use the code?

djlotus 10-05-2008 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Revvin (Post 1637916)
Got the same error here when upgrading from 2.4.7 to 2.4.8

Same here. I don't see the SQL in the Product file to install the tmnt_rules Row to the DB.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02340 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,899KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_php_printable
  • (28)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete