vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   NNTP Gateway for Usenet ( Newsgroups ), Mailing Lists (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=92588)

dotcomguy 10-23-2007 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by itdevil (Post 1366623)
I am having similar issues, the mod put too much load on the server, i am 2x DualCore Xeon 2.8 with 2GB ram 100mbit.... Cron set to run every 24hrs or midnight :o... once the cron run the load shoots up to 6 - 20 till apache crashes....

even now the server is dead slow due the gateway.php cron

Code:

xyz 18394 11.2  3.6  86660 74972 ?        Ss  00:00  25:39 /usr/bin/php /home/xyz/public_html/forum/gateway.php
i have also noticed, sometimes gateway file (but stop leeching from news server) never get killed automatically, on next cron another process is created...

This is a great hack, but someone need to update and optimize the code.

I haven't had the same problem, but I would recommend running it more than once a day. I run it every 10 minutes. Otherwise you'll have to download a significantly more amount of data

krohnathlonman 10-24-2007 01:51 PM

the largest bottlekneck in large scale archiving is the hard drive speed. If you don't have high speed SCSI drives don't ever try to archive millions of posts! Run things manually and NOT through cron if you're weeks behind in the posts.

arkadia 11-04-2007 07:30 PM

i build a new nttp gateway from zero using php, C++ and Delphi. it's works very more efficiently than the actual nntp gateway (i test it on a 100.000 articles newsgroup without any problem) and also i inprouve the charset encoding/decoding and correct some litle bug i found in gateway.php

exemple : after inserting an article
$db->query("
UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread
SET firstpostid = $postid
WHERE threadid = $threadid
");

that look false and must be

$db->query("
UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread
SET lastpostid = $postid
WHERE threadid = $threadid
");

:)

i need now some volonters to test it and to gave me they comments !

TMM-TT 11-04-2007 07:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arkadia (Post 1375788)
i build a new nttp gateway from zero using php, C++ and Delphi. it's works very more efficiently than the actual nntp gateway

By the way - don't forget the handshake part between server<->client. The "MODE READER" (that should be placed before the AUTHINFO) is quite important to use, to identify the client as a client. :)

arkadia 11-04-2007 07:53 PM

i not understand exactly what you mean? off course i handle the AUTHINFO and all the neccessary nntp protocol !

TMM-TT 11-04-2007 08:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arkadia (Post 1375807)
i not understand exactly what you mean? off course i handle the AUTHINFO and all the neccessary nntp protocol !

In the current version of the gateway the client "identification" is missing. Since I run a usenet-server that communicates internally with another news-server, the gateway can't handshake correctly without the MODE-string.

A "normal" usenet-client sends "MODE READER" to a server before the authorization, and a usenet-server sends "MODE SERVER" to another server, because of the different article-transfering modes. This usually is based on IP, so if a server is configured to handle feed-traffic, it also treats a local client as a server - which is wrong.

It doesn't happen often, but it happens and may be important for some. :)

arkadia 11-06-2007 02:34 PM

ok, i do it ! i send a mode reader just after the connection

scoutz 11-27-2007 07:19 PM

wow this mod seem to work fine in 3.6.8 as well as 3.6.7 just needs a few very small query fixes. thanks for this mod.

mccollin 11-29-2007 04:31 AM

Would you share the fixes?

solokron 12-10-2007 11:04 PM

This is what I am receiving when I run gateway.php

Code:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html>
<head>
        <title>Domain - Forum Database Error</title>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
        <style type="text/css">
        <!--       
        body { background-color: white; color: black; }
        #container { width: 400px; }
        #message  { width: 400px; color: black; background-color: #FFFFCC; }
        #bodytitle { font: 13pt/15pt verdana, arial, sans-serif; height: 35px; vertical-align: top; }
        .bodytext  { font: 8pt/11pt verdana, arial, sans-serif; }
        a:link    { font: 8pt/11pt verdana, arial, sans-serif; color: red; }
        a:visited  { font: 8pt/11pt verdana, arial, sans-serif; color: #4e4e4e; }
        -->
        </style>
</head>
<body>
<table cellpadding="3" cellspacing="5" id="container">
<tr>
        <td><img src="http://www.mydomain.com/forum/image.php?type=dberror" alt="Database Error" width="48" height="48" /></td>
        <td id="bodytitle" width="100%">Database error</td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td class="bodytext" colspan="2">The Domain - Forum database has encountered a problem.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td colspan="2"><hr /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td class="bodytext" colspan="2">
                Please try the following:
                <ul>
                        <li>Load the page again by clicking the <a href="#" onclick="window.location = window.location;">Refresh</a> button in your web browser.</li>
                        <li>Open the <a href="/">www.mydomain.com</a> home page, then try to open another page.</li>
                        <li>Click the <a href="javascript:history.back(1)">Back</a> button to try another link.</li>
                </ul>
        </td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td class="bodytext" colspan="2">The www.mydomain.com forum technical staff have been notified of the error, though you may <a href="mailto:admin@mydomain.com">contact them</a> if the problem persists.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
        <td class="bodytext" colspan="2">&nbsp;<br />We apologise for any inconvenience.</td>
</tr>
</table>

<form><textarea rows="15" cols="70" wrap="off" id="message">Database error in vBulletin 3.6.8:

Invalid SQL:

                        SELECT post.*, thread.*,
                        post.dateline AS postdateline, post.msgid AS postmsgid,
                        thread.title AS threadtitle, post.visible AS postvisible,
                        thread.visible AS threadvisible
                        FROM post as post LEFT JOIN thread as thread
                        ON (thread.threadid = post.threadid
                        AND post.userid = thread.postuserid
                        AND post.postid = thread.firstpostid)
                        WHERE post.isusenetpost = 0
                        AND post.postid &gt;
                        AND thread.forumid = 27;

MySQL Error  : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'AND thread.forumid = 27' at line 11
Error Number : 1064
Date        : Monday, December 10th 2007 @ 07:00:51 PM
Script      : http://www.mydomain.com/forum/gateway.php?debug=1
Referrer    :
IP Address  : 000.000.000.000
Username    : admin
Classname    : vB_Database</textarea></form>

</body>
</html>


b00k 12-13-2007 03:53 PM

-----------

dodgez 12-29-2007 02:45 PM

Anyone know the fix to run it on 3.7?



Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.7.0 Beta 3:

Invalid SQL:

                      INSERT INTO vb3_cronlog
                              (varname, dateline, description, type)
                      VALUES
                              ('gateway14',
                              1198943338,
                              'Ran NNTP Gateway<br />',
                              0);

MySQL Error  : Duplicate entry '64376' for key 1
Error Number  : 1062


Amenothep 12-29-2007 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TSR (Post 1400511)
I have been reading through this thread and haven't seen an answer for this yet.


I'd check postcount .. :)

AWS 12-30-2007 04:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dodgez (Post 1411424)
Anyone know the fix to run it on 3.7?



Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.7.0 Beta 3:

Invalid SQL:

                      INSERT INTO vb3_cronlog
                              (varname, dateline, description, type)
                      VALUES
                              ('gateway14',
                              1198943338,
                              'Ran NNTP Gateway<br />',
                              0);

MySQL Error  : Duplicate entry '64376' for key 1
Error Number  : 1062


Evidently something changed with the cron scripts in vbulletin. In your cron task uncheck the option to write to log.

b00k 01-03-2008 03:05 PM

-----------

solokron 01-10-2008 08:06 PM

Why would I receive the following:

Code:

<form><textarea rows="15" cols="70" wrap="off" id="message">Database error in vBulletin 3.6.8:

Invalid SQL:

                        SELECT post.*, thread.*,
                        post.dateline AS postdateline, post.msgid AS postmsgid,
                        thread.title AS threadtitle, post.visible AS postvisible,
                        thread.visible AS threadvisible
                        FROM post as post LEFT JOIN thread as thread
                        ON (thread.threadid = post.threadid
                        AND post.userid = thread.postuserid
                        AND post.postid = thread.firstpostid)
                        WHERE post.isusenetpost = 0
                        AND post.postid &gt;
                        AND thread.forumid = 27;

MySQL Error  : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'AND thread.forumid = 27' at line 11
Error Number : 1064
Date        : Monday, December 10th 2007 @ 07:00:51 PM
Script      : http://www.mydomain.com/forum/gateway.php?debug=1
Referrer    :
IP Address  : 000.000.000.000
Username    : admin
Classname    : vB_Database</textarea></form>

forumid = 27 is a valid id and is writable.

KW802 01-11-2008 04:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by solokron (Post 1419159)
Why would I receive the following:

Code:

...
            AND post.postid &gt;
            AND thread.forumid = 27;

...

If you check ACP => NNTP Gateway Options => NNTP Gateway Settings, is there a value for the "The max postid in post table when the script was last run." settings?

mindfrost82 01-12-2008 06:18 PM

I just installed this and so far it is running good, with the exception of 1 problem.

Certain messages will generate a "PHP has encountered a Stack overflow" error. The only way I can figure out to get around it is to go in and manually change the last downloaded message number so that it skips that message.

Any ideas on how to fix this? I'm running a Windows 2003 server. I have already tried increasing the memory limit in PHP and it doesn't seem to have helped.

solokron 01-14-2008 06:18 PM

It's empty.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KW802 (Post 1419373)
If you check ACP => NNTP Gateway Options => NNTP Gateway Settings, is there a value for the "The max postid in post table when the script was last run." settings?


KW802 01-14-2008 06:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by solokron (Post 1421384)
It's empty.

Find the last post ID in your vBulletin and then insert that ID as the value.

solokron 01-14-2008 07:35 PM

Of course. Thank you. I have it working now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KW802 (Post 1421398)
Find the last post ID in your vBulletin and then insert that ID as the value.


dodgez 01-19-2008 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AWS (Post 1411743)
Evidently something changed with the cron scripts in vbulletin. In your cron task uncheck the option to write to log.


Still getting the errors

AWS 01-19-2008 07:45 PM

Don't know what the problem may be then.

I have it running here on 3.7 beta 3. I have modified it several times fixing things that change between vbulletin version so it possible my version has a fix that also fixes a problem with 3.7.

dodgez 01-20-2008 02:22 PM

Maybe it is because I use it for mailing lists?

mindfrost82 02-03-2008 02:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TSR (Post 1400511)
I have been reading through this thread and haven't seen an answer for this yet.

The hack has worked somewhat on vBulletin? Version 3.6.8

I ran it, it imported some threads from Giganews and it stopped working.

I re-ran it with /gateway.php?debug=1 and it just sits there. No threads are imported, no error message, nada. If i stop it and rerun it i get the usual:
Another instance of gateway.php is running, try again in 30 minutes if the script was crashed.

So, i launched it on my dev site and with a different newsgroup i ran into the same issue.

Anyhow, is there a way to resolve this ? I have increased my wait_timeout to 1200

Have you gotten this working at all? I just setup an account with Giganews to try it and I'm having the same issue. It hasn't imported ANY threads with Giganews, it just hangs. Sometimes I'll see:

Code:

Connecting to server, server says: 200 News.GigaNews.Com

Server responded after user name: 381 more authentication required

Server responded after password: 281 News.GigaNews.Com

...then it'll just hang. Then the next time I try running the script it just hangs and doesn't try pulling any posts, not even ones using the free Microsoft server.

Everything worked fine with a free server that doesn't require a login, my problem only started once I tried Giganews.

I can verify that my username/password works because I can login using Outlook Express just fine.

AWS 02-03-2008 05:44 PM

The connection is being established.
Try running setlastmsg.php and then running gateway.php after that. Wait a little while in between.

mindfrost82 02-04-2008 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AWS (Post 1435513)
The connection is being established.
Try running setlastmsg.php and then running gateway.php after that. Wait a little while in between.

Thanks, that seems to have worked!

scottct1 02-20-2008 11:31 PM

This works great for me on vBulletin 3.7.8 except for some reason new thread notification for those members who subscribe to new thread notification does not work. They are not sent an email that there has been a new post / thread.

Anyone know how I can get that to work?

kermitklein 03-03-2008 08:33 PM

I have installed and is running very well on my 3.6.8. My only problem is that the attach are not imported to threads... Anyone can help me?

dermax 03-11-2008 08:52 PM

Hello,

I face a problem with some groups. Randomly, the gateway.php run stops with the following message:

Quote:

Connecting to server, server says: 200 Text.GigaNews.Com

Server responded after user name: 381 more authentication required

Server responded after password: 281 News.GigaNews.Com

Info for it.comp.macintosh at text.giganews.com: 211 678136 438957 1117092 it.comp.macintosh
In this case, the it.comp.macintosh newsgroup seems to be broken: I need to disable the group to make the script run again. I tried to import the messages from the group with a generic usenet client (GrabIt) and it worked absolutely flawless. Does anyone have an idea?

Thanks!

nintendo 03-18-2008 04:29 AM

If you ever get the

Quote:

Could not connect to NNTP-server. (Connection timed out (110))

Not connected
Not connected
message via gateway.php?debug=1 it's a message from the NNTP-server...you're screwed...go look for another NNTP server. (For those of you in Rio Linda, they banned your server!!)

For a simple way to find out if you've been banned with a server, via SSH...

telnet SERVER 119

if you get...
Quote:

Trying 202.177.16.121...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection timed out
you're banned. If you get

Quote:

telnet msnews.microsoft.com 119
Trying 207.46.248.16...
Connected to msnews.microsoft.com (207.46.248.16).
Escape character is '^]'.
200 NNTP Service 6.0.3790.1830 Version: 6.0.3790.1830 Posting Allowed
Guess what!!! You're not banned...atleast not *yet*!!! Quick, download a few million threads before they do ban you!!!

kermitklein 03-23-2008 06:42 PM

Still getting only this message:

Getting message number 339:
txt extensions are not accepted, as currently set up in the control panel.

I'm sure I have the permissions right... at least I think so... I can post this extensions using my username and password.

I'm trying to import a yahoo group at:

http://www.forexforums.org

Any ideas?

squishi 04-14-2008 08:11 AM

This mod sounds great. But I can't get it to work.
I am testing it with a free-to-use university usenet server.
I am sure the newsgroups I tried out exist. No typo or anything.

But I get this error:


Quote:

Connecting to server, server says: 200 news.XXX.de InterNetNews NNRP server INN 2.3.5 ready (posting ok).

Info for alt.test at news.XXX.de: 411 No such group alt.test

sdsvtdriver 04-30-2008 06:59 PM

the news server does not have a group called 'alt.test'. pick one it does have

squishi 05-01-2008 06:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sdsvtdriver (Post 1503744)
the news server does not have a group called 'alt.test'. pick one it does have

Negative. It DOES have this group! I can read it just fine in my newsreader.

I tried all kinds of combinations with this prefix that one can define in the settings, like prefix="alt.", group="test" etc.
But that did not work, either.

As I said, the group is there.

tyler3 05-15-2008 06:16 PM

Been going through this thread for awhile now and can't seem to figure this out...

I have the mod installed and setup.

I run 'gateway.php' and it just displays a blank page..

When I run 'setlastmsg.php' it gives the following error:
Quote:

1 group(s) gatewayed. Could not connect to NNTP-server. ( (1)) Logging in to , group freetext.usenetserver.com: Not connectedNot connectedMax: Min: Not connected
I got the newsgroup from a post in this forum saying it was free to access, no login / pass require. I've also tried a couple of microsofts groups and the php.net group with no success (always gives me the same error as above). Anyone know what might cause this??

Thanks in advance!

arkadia 05-15-2008 07:01 PM

hello tyler

do you use microsoft or unix ?

David_R 06-19-2008 01:51 AM

Not connected
Not connected
Could not connect to NNTP-server. (php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known (0))


We just moved our server and started getting this problem.

TMM-TT 06-19-2008 05:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nintendo (Post 1467650)
telnet SERVER 119

if you get...

Trying 202.177.16.121...
telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection timed out

you're banned


Umm.. No?

HappyAndyK 06-27-2008 09:40 PM

Hello,

I am trying to implement this under a b installation, running 3.7.1.

How ever I am stuck at the place where I am suppose to edit the admincp/index.php file as I am unable to locate the side piece of code,

Code:

construct_nav_option($vbphrase['vbulletin_options'], 'options.php?null=0', '<br />');
:(

can any one shade some light :)

thank you.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01788 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,864KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (8)bbcode_code_printable
  • (20)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete