vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Miscellaneous Hacks - More Share Options TNG by BOP5 (Facebook, Twitter, Google +1, AddThis) Share Buttons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=266159)

BirdOPrey5 03-26-2012 12:01 PM

ahhh... hmmm... try ths:

Code:

$template_hook['forumhome_wgo_pos5'] .= '<div id="wgo_bopshare" class="wgo_subblock section"><img src="images/misc/konata4.gif" alt="" style="float:left; margin: 3px 10px 3px 3px" /><h3 class="blocksubhead"><img src="'.$vbulletin->stylevars['imgdir_misc']['imagedir'].'/share_like.png" alt="Share" />'.$vbphrase['bop5_share_this_forum'].'</h3><div style="padding-left: 10px;">'. $moreshare . '</div></div>';
How does that work?

If it doesn't, try changing "padding-left" to "margin-left"

Emeralda 03-26-2012 01:03 PM

Neither padding or margin worked: http://prntscr.com/7fcho

BirdOPrey5 03-26-2012 01:24 PM

Try padding-left again but this time with "70px" as the value.

I am playing with fitebug on your site and it looks like it needs to be that big to have an effect.

If it still doesn't work a dirtier way will be to edit the more_share_options template.

Add this code:
Code:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT=='index'"><td width="20">&nbsp;</td></vb:if>
Directly after the existing line:
Code:

<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT=='member'"><td width="20">&nbsp;</td></vb:if>

Emeralda 03-26-2012 02:36 PM

Padding 110px did the job nicely, thanks~

http://prntscr.com/7ffqj

speedy5489 03-28-2012 02:50 AM

Downloaded the mod, uploaded everything to my server and got the mod installed. facebook connect button is appearing, but linking back to my site. Can't get the like buttons to appear anywhere. It's all set to "yes" in both the facebook options and the mods options.

I believe I'm having trouble with getting the facebook ID. I went through the process to get my ID and secret and entered them under the facebook option, but that's where I'm hitting a wall. What kind of setting up do I need to do on heroku to get this to work?

BirdOPrey5 03-28-2012 04:12 PM

Was the original VB Facebook Button showing in the threads before you installed this mod?

If you're not sure, disable this mod and see. The original button must show before this will work.

Make sure your forums and threads are visible to guests as well, since vbulletin won't show the code if they aren't.

If everything else is working, please post a link to a thread so I can see what is going on.

Termure 03-30-2012 09:39 AM

hello there,

i have vers 4.0.3 and i got this error.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_fbcanonicalurl() in /home/***/public_html/forums/includes/class_bootstrap.php(384) : eval()'d code on line 34

what can cause this, i entered api's and secret ids and set bop5 up too.

thanks

BirdOPrey5 03-30-2012 12:23 PM

The lowest version I tested this on was 4.0.8- by the error you got I'd say it's likely the mod just isn't compatible with 4.0.3. No one should be running 4.0.3 anyway. I would strongly suggest you upgrade.

iCrazy 03-31-2012 01:18 PM

I cannot see buttons in threads and forums (only on index). I'm on 4.1.11

predpriemach 04-05-2012 11:46 AM

Today mod start making strange conflict with my facebook conect ???

My facebook conect button not showing when epage load... when i disable the mod facebook conect button apear normaly

BrightStar 04-05-2012 12:18 PM

HI BirdOPrey5, it's a great mod and works perfectly fine for my forums. Thank you for sharing.

Whenever I enable this mod, it breaks W3C validation of my forum....anything I can do it make it pass validation?

Cheers

BirdOPrey5 04-05-2012 06:58 PM

BrightStar,

Some of the buttons, like Google +1 simply cannot pass strict validation. I've looked this up before and the work-arounds suggested were extremely convoluted and not something I would bother attempting.

It's not like there's anyone out there giving cash prizes to sites that validate properly. ;)

predpriemach - I had problems with Facebook Connect this morning myself- it looked like some sort of conflict with "Add This." But it appears to be working fine now- please re-try.

Since all javascript is served from facebook, google addthis, etc... we are at the mercy of their developers- sometimes bug make it out into the wild.

BirdOPrey5 04-06-2012 10:04 AM

Facebook Like Bug

Facebook has made changes to their javascripts. It now creates a (mostly) invisible <div> element 2000 pixels above the button location on the page. For the vast majority of users who have the Facebook Like button "above the fold" (near the top of the page where it is recommended) this safely puts the <div>'s out of view so they don't affect page navigation.

However if you use the "What's Going On Box" location on FORUMHOME then it is very possible 2000 pixels is still visible on your page.

Unfortunately there is nothing I can do, I hope Facebook will eventually fix this by maybe going to 20,000 pixels or some absurdly large number or maybe removing need for these <div>'s at all.

Anyone getting this error can check with firebug and you will see the absolute positioned <div> with a value of -2000. It has no "class" attribute so it cannot be overridden or fixed with CSS.

For now I recommend moving the position of your Share buttons on FORUMHOME to "Top Left" or "Top Right" in your settings. It is better anyway, more people will see and use it there.

MarySBP 04-10-2012 01:54 PM

Hi there

The mod has two issues. One when tweeting a post we need to be able to shorten the link before the tweet. I know you said somewhere that twitter automatically shortens all links.. but this does not work. See example here: http://screencast.com/t/RYqpsgdYV You can see when I hit tweet I am told "oopps your tweet is over 140 characters"

What can I do to make links shorten, is there a way that I can add a bit.ly account to this mod where all links will be shortened through bit.ly?

Also.. my twitter counts do not work, I know you said this is a fault of twitter.. have you found any new info on this? Do you know of any mod that the twitter counts do work on?

BirdOPrey5 04-10-2012 03:39 PM

Those issues are caused by Twitter's default share code.

If you copy the code directly from twitter and paste it directly into your SHOWTHREAD template (basically what this mod does) you will have the same issues.

I did notice Twitter added a new IFRAME option for the Tweet button. It seems to fix the count issue but the URL still doesn't shorten until after you send the Tweet.

I have not updated this mod to use the twitter IFRAME code. I'm not sure if/when I will. I have released instructions for those with the Gold version of the mod to take advantage of the IFRAME option since the Gold version has an option to easily add new buttons.

BrightStar 04-13-2012 07:05 PM

Is it possible to inlcude addthis analytic code so we can track the progress?

BirdOPrey5 04-13-2012 07:39 PM

If you follow the instructions/link to sign up for your own Add This account and enter your AddThis username into the mod settings then you will be able to view sharing stats on AddThis.com.

BrightStar 04-14-2012 08:07 AM

Is it the same as AddThis.com Public ID? or do I enter the username? I've public id added but i dont get any stats.

BirdOPrey5 04-14-2012 02:01 PM

Yes, you put your AddThis Username into the mod setting "AddThis.com Public ID."

Then to check your analytics you go to www.addthis.com and log in if you aren't already logged in.

On the top of the page in the back bar you click on "Analytics" and you will be able to click on your forum URL and get the stats for your site.

netproint 04-16-2012 05:26 AM

Sigh ... the Twitter count and Digg count, both won't work for me ... I know I know .. gotta buy the gold version to solve these issues. As soon as I begin making some money through my forum, I will. For now ...

BirdOPrey5 04-16-2012 11:03 AM

Please don't feel you have to buy the gold to fix the issue... First I've never seen dig count not work so I can promise you going gold will not help that.

The twitter upgrade to an iframe you could conceivably do yourself by editing the more_share_options template and removing the old twitter code and replacing it with the iframe code.

doobiefillin 04-18-2012 05:19 PM

any way to get pinterest share to work with this mod?

BrightStar 04-18-2012 05:28 PM

I've just contacted addthis and they responded as follow

Quote:

I think the problem is that you're writing AddThis to the page using JavaScript rather than using a standard <script> tag. We look for the profile ID in that tag, so we're not picking it up if you put it there. So you'll have to put it into your addthis_config variable. Here's a snippet you can add to your page to do it:

<script type="text/javascript">
if (typeof addthis_config !== "undefined") {
addthis_config.pub = 'ra-xxxxxxxx'
} else {
var addthis_config = {
pub: 'ra-xxxxxxxx'
};
}
</script>
I know it's a free mod but any chance of incorporating what addthis people are suggesting?

Thank You :)

Nirjonadda 04-18-2012 06:20 PM

Installed GOLD Version working on 4.1.10 without Manual Template Edits !

BirdOPrey5 04-18-2012 10:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by doobiefillin (Post 2321343)
any way to get pinterest share to work with this mod?

No, Pinterest needs an image or video for it to share.
I do have a separate Pinterest mod: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=281444

EDIT - YES, There is now a Pinterest option for the GOLD version. (Because the Gold version allows new buttons.)

Quote:

Originally Posted by BrightStar (Post 2321346)
I've just contacted addthis and they responded as follow



I know it's a free mod but any chance of incorporating what addthis people are suggesting?

Thank You :)

Thanks for the info, let me look into it.

It's weird because I am using basically the same code on my own site and I get a weekly analytics email update tells me what pages were shared and how many times without having to add anything special.

BrightStar 04-20-2012 07:31 AM

Its all working now BirdOPrey5....thanks for your support :)

One question is when users click on tweet button on blogs, they message contains full forum name plus title hence becoming too large to tweet....how can I overcome this?

BirdOPrey5 04-20-2012 04:09 PM

That's the first time I've seen that issue- I'm afraid I have no option to shorten the default text- it's coming from the page title not the mod itself. I take it shortening the forum title is out of the question.

You could edit the more_share_option template and find the first instance of this code:

Code:

data-url="{vb:raw bophref}"
and right after it, in the same line, add:
Code:

data-text="Description..."
Where you replace Description... with a short description that will be the default text for EVERY tweet. Hopefully your users enter some additional info.

datoneer 05-06-2012 01:59 PM

Hello BOP5, i cannot get this to work in posts, cms articles and blogs. I have template modification system. Is there solution for this?

BirdOPrey5 05-06-2012 03:53 PM

First- Disable this mod and check your threads, articles, and blogs... Is the default Facebook Like button showing up? If not then this mod will never work until that issue is resolved.

You may need to enable the Facebook Like button in the Facebook Options in Settings.

You also may need to make sure your forums/threads/blogs are visible to guests. vBUlletin will not show the Facebook button on private forums and therefore this mod will not show up on private forums.

If the facebook like button is showing, enable the mod and post a link to a thread where I can see the facebook button.

datoneer 05-06-2012 11:53 PM

I don't know what is it anymore...Share buttons shows only on forum home, but articles, blogs and posts-nope.
Facebook, twitter and g+1 are enabled, but work only with mentioned above.
It is visible to guests.I've tried manual template edit, still nothing.
www.imspot.org

BirdOPrey5 05-07-2012 10:39 AM

I don't see your vbulletin facebook button at all:
http://www.imspot.org/general-seo/20...ly-needed.html

Is my mod disabled? If not please disable it now (via product manager) and don't put it back on until I say so.

Also there are no manual template edits you can do for threads, blog, or cms.

datoneer 05-07-2012 04:46 PM

It was enabled. I'll disable it now

BirdOPrey5 05-07-2012 06:12 PM

ok, so even with my mod disabled there is no trace of the vBulletin default like button on your page.

So go to the Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Facebook Options
Make sure: Like Button - Threads is set to Yes.

If it's already Yes then your style is probably missing the button.
To test use the Default Style tempirarily just to check if it works there.

datoneer 05-07-2012 07:47 PM

Yes i know that user from this site created my style. A lot of bugs need to be fixed

BirdOPrey5 05-07-2012 07:57 PM

OK, you need to add this code to your SHOWTHREAD template:

Code:

                <vb:if condition="$show['fb_likebutton']">
                        {vb:raw fblikebutton}
                </vb:if>

In the default template it's under this code:

Code:

<div id="pagetitle" class="pagetitle">
                <h1>
                        {vb:rawphrase thread}: <span class="threadtitle"><a href="{vb:raw thread_url}" title="{vb:rawphrase reload_this_page}">{vb:raw threadinfo.title}</a></span>
                </h1>

You'll have to find somewhere where it works for you.

datoneer 05-07-2012 10:23 PM

No man i'm sorry it is not style problem. I've tried with vb default style and still nothing is there. Only works with forum home page

BirdOPrey5 05-07-2012 10:28 PM

And you're sure you did this:
So go to the Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Facebook Options
Make sure: Like Button - Threads is set to Yes.

And if you do a "search Templates for this code: {vb:raw fblikebutton}
SHOWTHREAD is returned as a result?

If both of those are true AND your thread is obviously public because I saw it AND you've disabled other mods, I am at a loss. Do you have ticket support? Would be time to open a ticket.

datoneer 05-07-2012 10:51 PM

Oh it was publish to facebook thread enabled. I didn't enabled like button threads. It works now - Finally!! Thank you BOP5 for helping me! In my opinion you have best mods here.

420 05-08-2012 07:18 PM

Will this add-on automatically post threads from a specific forum, to our Facebook page, like an RSS feed?

BirdOPrey5 05-09-2012 12:22 AM

no.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01749 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,833KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (3)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete