vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Major Additions - Mary's Classifieds (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=267194)

JimL 10-21-2011 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amorosso (Post 2259890)
Thank you so much, but I do feel dumb for asking now.. Anyway, my site is geared more for just displaying adds. With no money like. More like a craigslist site. Is there a way to remove all that jazz..

admincp - styles and templates - yourstyle - microclassifieds - microclassifieds_main

find
Code:

<table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" style="border-bottom:1px solid {vb:raw vboptions.microclassifieds_normal_border};">
  <tr>
    <td><img border="0" src="microclassifieds/images/scroller.png"></td>
    <td width="100%">
      <marquee scrollamount="{vb:var vboptions.microclassifieds_marquee_speed}" onmouseover="this.scrollAmount=0" onmouseout="this.scrollAmount={vb:var vboptions.microclassifieds_marquee_speed}">
        {vb:raw marquee}
      </marquee>
    </td>
  </tr>
</table>

replace with
Code:

<div id="hidden" style="display:none;">
<table width="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" style="border-bottom:1px solid {vb:raw vboptions.microclassifieds_normal_border};">
  <tr>
    <td><img border="0" src="microclassifieds/images/scroller.png"></td>
    <td width="100%">
      <marquee scrollamount="{vb:var vboptions.microclassifieds_marquee_speed}" onmouseover="this.scrollAmount=0" onmouseout="this.scrollAmount={vb:var vboptions.microclassifieds_marquee_speed}">
        {vb:raw marquee}
      </marquee>
    </td>
  </tr>
</table>
</div>


find
Code:

<vb:if condition="$premium_items">
  {vb:raw premium_items}
</vb:if>

replace with
Code:

<vb:if condition="$premium_items">
<div id="hidden" style="display:none;">
  {vb:raw premium_items}
</div>
</vb:if>


Note that this does not remove the content, it only hides it.
If you are sure you don't need it you can remove the quoted code from the template.

bigtree 10-22-2011 02:10 AM

Again, I just love what you have here but let me address what I feel is top priority and missing.

A few days of testing this not one ad is getting indexed. They are buried inside our forums with no spidering. Without it being indexed, its no value to advertisers or paying customers installing this from a Pro level. I also do not believe others will support something long term if it doesn't produce results so the question then is, will you pull the plug from lack of support?
You are so close to something very marketable for vbulletin. please hear me out.

Example: If I post an ad in a dedicated forum however, its indexed right away and the world can find it. If I post an ad in this, no one is finding it. I want this software add-on to help attract more traffic and help my community sell their item(s)

Please don't take this as an attack . SEO is the key and its up to the coder to include this into the script, don't you all think so? A classified that can be found on the web is worth installing.
Who cares how great it looks and works if no one finds the ads. I would gladly pay for that. As is though, it looks and works great but isn't SEO friendly.

Please Please look into this.

Christos Teriakis 10-22-2011 04:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigtree (Post 2259991)
Please don't take this as an attack . SEO is the key and its up to the coder to include this into the script, don't you all think so? A classified that can be found on the web is worth installing.
Who cares how great it looks and works if no one finds the ads. I would gladly pay for that. As is though, it looks and works great but isn't SEO friendly.

Please Please look into this.

Still haven't clarified if you're talking for vbSeo rules, or standard rules in htaccess. Maybe both are doing the same work, but for me there is a big difference. I don't have vbseo:-).

Chris

sadiq6210 10-22-2011 06:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisTERiS (Post 2259662)
About the width. I've set it to use 100% of the available space. You can see it in the file classifieds.php. Search for: $objGrid -> width = '100%'; and you'll find it 2 times. One in categories listings, and one in the search results. The problem is that if you scroll down and see any referrence to: $objGrid-> FormatColumn(..........,"60","center");, the number before the aligment is fixed. In this case 60 means 60px. In the customized version that I ordered means %. As you can understand with fixed column width is very difficult to adjust the page. Even if the grid gets 100% of the available space, still will remain an empty column at the end.

As for the Arabic language (by the way I've lived 2 years in Kuwait:D). I don't think that should be any problem, as there are no problems with Greek characters which is also a problematic language. If you've setup vB to use RTL, then should be works fine. As for the character set. I've set it to work with UTF-8. Are you using another charset?

Chris

OH you were in Kuwait It is one of our Gulf countries :D
Thanks Chris for great support.

In the datagrid I have 4 issues
Please have a look to the screen-shot maybe you can support us

1- This is (Condition) column, nothing appears here!
When I enter any item, I can see the condition inside, but in data grid it is not appearing.

2- After edit (microclassifieds\datagrid\class\phpmydatagrid.cla ss.php)
I searched for (Displaying rows) and translated to ARABIC
About charset, I am using "windows-1256"
I am not sure what should I write in "var $charset" so I kept it as it is.
Code:

var $charset = "ISO-8859-1";  var $sqlcharset = "windows-1256";

3- I want to move it to right side.

4- how center all text in all cells?

bigtree 10-22-2011 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisTERiS (Post 2260020)
Still haven't clarified if you're talking for vbSeo rules, or standard rules in htaccess. Maybe both are doing the same work, but for me there is a big difference. I don't have vbseo:-).

Chris

Hi,
No, I don't mean vbseo. I mean... in general, search engine optimized so the ads get indexed. The way it is now, the ad title and content isn't getting indexed. Something isn't streaming (google follow via indexing bots) from the forum to the Classified and into the advertising content.
I'm sorry, I don't have the best terminology for this but I know its not optimized so the search engines will find the ads. Does this makes more sense to you ?

Christos Teriakis 10-22-2011 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sadiq6210 (Post 2260049)
OH you were in Kuwait It is one of our Gulf countries :D
Thanks Chris for great support.

In the datagrid I have 4 issues
Please have a look to the screen-shot maybe you can support us

1- This is (Condition) column, nothing appears here!
When I enter any item, I can see the condition inside, but in data grid it is not appearing.

2- After edit (microclassifieds\datagrid\class\phpmydatagrid.cla ss.php)
I searched for (Displaying rows) and translated to ARABIC
About charset, I am using "windows-1256"
I am not sure what should I write in "var $charset" so I kept it as it is.
Code:

var $charset = "ISO-8859-1";  var $sqlcharset = "windows-1256";

3- I want to move it to right side.

4- how center all text in all cells?

Please... Please... Please... DON'T EDIT THE FILE phpMyDataGrid.php !!!! It's not that you're not allowed to do it, but EVERYTHING that is there can be set without modififying this file. Also in every update you'll loose all changes.

Examle:
1.- Do you want to translate the Grid in Arabic? Just rename any file in the directory microclassifieds/datagrid/languages that you don't plan to use (eg de.php) to ar.php, translate all the phrases, and then goto microCLASSIFIEDS settings and set as Grid Interface Language .... ar ... That's all. Do you want to change the charset to 1256? No problem. Change Character set to use for displaying data in grids from utf-8 to windows-1256. I spent hours to make your life easier. Avoid the difficult (and sometimes dangerous ways).

2.- As I wrote before. I'm missing free time. There was a bug in condition, I've post the correct file 3-4 times already (if you check previous pages), but still I haven't add in the districution file. Please upload the attached file and it will correct it.

Chris

Christos Teriakis 10-22-2011 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigtree (Post 2260054)
Hi,
No, I don't mean vbseo. I mean... in general, search engine optimized so the ads get indexed. The way it is now, the ad title and content isn't getting indexed. Something isn't streaming (google follow via indexing bots) from the forum to the Classified and into the advertising content.
I'm sorry, I don't have the best terminology for this but I know its not optimized so the search engines will find the ads. Does this makes more sense to you ?

Do you mean URLs like these (they're from my old site):

http://www.marteri.com/Forums/3/MART...g-Modules.html
http://www.marteri.com/Thread/22/Testing-emoticons.html

I'm working on them, should be ready tomorrow, but should be in the PRO version only. But I will not restrict anyone to post such rules for free here.

Edited: Later today, or tomorrow morning you can visit my demo site at: http://www.christeris.net/vb4/classifieds.php to see what I mean.

Chris

sadiq6210 10-22-2011 08:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisTERiS (Post 2260056)
Please... Please... Please... DON'T EDIT THE FILE phpMyDataGrid.php !!!! It's not that you're not allowed to do it, but EVERYTHING that is there can be set without modififying this file. Also in every update you'll loose all changes.

Examle:
1.- Do you want to translate the Grid in Arabic? Just rename any file in the directory microclassifieds/datagrid/languages that you don't plan to use (eg de.php) to ar.php, translate all the phrases, and then goto microCLASSIFIEDS settings and set as Grid Interface Language .... ar ... That's all. Do you want to change the charset to 1256? No problem. Change Character set to use for displaying data in grids from utf-8 to windows-1256. I spent hours to make your life easier. Avoid the difficult (and sometimes dangerous ways).

2.- As I wrote before. I'm missing free time. There was a bug in condition, I've post the correct file 3-4 times already (if you check previous pages), but still I haven't add in the districution file. Please upload the attached file and it will correct it.

Chris

mmmm :rolleyes:

Quote:

Do you want to change the charset to 1256? No problem. Change Character set to use for displaying data in grids from utf-8 to windows-1256.
I just re uploaded the original file (phpMyDataGrid.php) and from admincp I changed (Grid Data Language) from UTF-8 >> windows-1256
But nothing changed! I should edit the file (phpMyDataGrid.php) and exactly this line:

var $sqlcharset = "";

To

var $sqlcharset = "windows-1256";

Then I get correct Arabic words. I don't know why!



Quote:

1.- Do you want to translate the Grid in Arabic? Just rename any file in the directory microclassifieds/datagrid/languages that you don't plan to use (eg de.php) to ar.php, translate all the phrases, and then goto microCLASSIFIEDS settings and set as Grid Interface Language .... ar ... That's all.
I tried this method, It is easier but I got same result, The Arabic words appears as a question marks (???????) - see the previous screen-shot.


Quote:

2.- As I wrote before. I'm missing free time. There was a bug in condition, I've post the correct file 3-4 times already (if you check previous pages), but still I haven't add in the districution file. Please upload the attached file and it will correct it.

I uploaded the attached file and rewrite the old one but still same bug. no thing appears in (condition) column :(


Thanks for your effort Chris

Christos Teriakis 10-22-2011 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sadiq6210 (Post 2260086)
Thanks for your effort Chris

Please put back the original phpMyDataGrid.php and then upload the attached file. Then try to see what has been corrected and what not.

Chris

sadiq6210 10-22-2011 10:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sadiq6210 (Post 2260049)
OH you were in Kuwait It is one of our Gulf countries :D
Thanks Chris for great support.

In the datagrid I have 4 issues
Please have a look to the screen-shot maybe you can support us

1- This is (Condition) column, nothing appears here!
When I enter any item, I can see the condition inside, but in data grid it is not appearing.

2- After edit (microclassifieds\datagrid\class\phpmydatagrid.cla ss.php)
I searched for (Displaying rows) and translated to ARABIC
About charset, I am using "windows-1256"
I am not sure what should I write in "var $charset" so I kept it as it is.
Code:

var $charset = "ISO-8859-1";  var $sqlcharset = "windows-1256";

3- I want to move it to right side.

4- how center all text in all cells?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisTERiS (Post 2260093)
Please put back the original phpMyDataGrid.php and then upload the attached file. Then try to see what has been corrected and what not.

Chris

:up::up::up:
Great

1. About "condition" bug >> SOLVED :up:

2. About charset >> SOLVED :up: (Now it is working with original file phpMyDataGrid.php

but still I get question marks like this (??? ????? ??) with ar.php - see this screen-shot (2)
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachmen...2&d=1319268134

3 & 4, Could I know please from where can I align all cells to the center?

Your support is much appreciated :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03199 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,799KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (13)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (4)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete