vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   Forums arranged in columns on forumhome (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99829)

Blackheart_72 01-14-2009 06:54 PM

Try this in your nopost template:

Code:

<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
<tbody>
</if>
        <tr>
                <td class="tcat" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
                        <if condition="$childforumbits">
                        <a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumbit_$forumid')"><img id="collapseimg_forumbit_$forumid" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat{$collapseimg_forumid}.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>
                        </if>
                        <a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]">$forum[title]</a>
                        <if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
                        <if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
                </td>
        </tr>
<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
</tbody>
</if>
<if condition="$childforumbits">
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
<if condition="$forum['subforumcolumns'] > 1">
        <tr>
                <td class="alt1" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>">
<table style="border: none; width: 100%;">
                        $childforumbits
</table>
                </td>
        </tr>
<else />
        $childforumbits
</if>


<if condition="!$show['collapsable_forums']">
</tbody>
</if>
</if>


KevinL 01-14-2009 07:54 PM

Veccy 150 Got this all wrapped up for me! The code above worked mint!

Thanks

GlamRockTalk 01-14-2009 08:54 PM

Veccy is a good person...he's trying to help me with my custom icons issue too! Thanks Veccy! :D

KevinL 01-14-2009 09:10 PM

Yeah he is.

I got the icons set up no problem.

Check my sig :)

GlamRockTalk 01-14-2009 09:47 PM

Looks good Kevin! :D

By the way, did you use the prefix field within the forum manager for the icons? Or, did Veccy help you with that as well?

KevinL 01-14-2009 10:04 PM

Did this here... it's another mod on here :) I don't feel like looking for the thread but here is the attachment. I hope this is ok

Quote:

Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Edit templates

Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_columncell

Select all and delete

================================================
Add This Code In Window:
================================================


<td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]" id="f$forum[forumid]" width="$column_width">
<div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="5">
<tr>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forumid.png" alt="" class="ForumImages" /></td>
<td>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
</div>
<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
<if condition="$show['lastpostinfo']">
<div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">
<div style="clear:both">
Last Post: <a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=newpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]" title="<phrase 1="$lastpostinfo[lastthread]">$vbphrase[go_first_unread_in_thread_x]</phrase>"><strong>$lastpostinfo[trimthread]</strong></a>
</div>
<div<if condition="is_browser('ie', 6)"> style="float:$stylevar[left]"</if>>
Posted <phrase 1="member.php?$session[sessionurl]find=lastposter&amp;f=$lastpostinfo[forumid]" 2="$lastpostinfo[lastposter]">$vbphrase[by_x]</phrase>

-$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">-<span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if></div><BR>
Forum Info: Topic: $forum[threadcount]
Post: $forum[replycount]
</if>
</td>
</table>
</td>

==============================================
Click SAVE
==============================================


Now go to your style options ( Styles & Templates > Style Manager > All style Options) and add the following into additional css:


/* Forum Images next to the Description for every Forum */
.ForumImages {
float: left;
margin-right: 8px;
margin-top: 2px;
}



Save your style options and you are done.

Now you simply need to create images called:

ForumID.png

for each forum you want to have an image and put it into /images/statusicon/
Example: 22.png


TIP: You can upload .gif images and just rename it in your FTP client as .png (works for me).

IMPORTANT NOTE: Dont forget to edit ur catagorys and select the number of columns at the end of the edit page.


You are done!

Enjoy!

GlamRockTalk 01-14-2009 10:09 PM

Thanks Kevin.

I'll wait to see if Veccy helps me get it working so that I can use the built in vB custom category icon field. If he can't get it to work, then I'll try your method as a backup. :D

KevinL 01-15-2009 01:07 AM

Cool beans :)

Just be aware that this is far from XHTML valid. I went from 1 error to 80! haha

So if you're big on validating your site you're going to have some work cut out for you after using this :D hahah

Reece^B 01-15-2009 10:50 AM

Veccy what are you using in your columncell template?
It's very neat and what not. Mind sharing lol?

Reece^B 01-15-2009 10:54 AM

On another note, when you have the columnised forums how did you remove the last post, threads, posts bit @ the top?

Could people share their template? I've spent got knows how long trying to make this look good, but it's not happening lol.

Also, anyone got that image prefix in the forum manager to work?

Blackheart_72 01-15-2009 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reece^B (Post 1713234)
Veccy what are you using in your columncell template?
It's very neat and what not. Mind sharing lol?

Here you go fella.

columncell template ( using standard vb style):

Code:

<td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]" id="f$forum[forumid]" width="$column_width">
        <div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="5">
<tr>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" class="ForumImages" /></td>
<td>
                <a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
        </div>
<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if><br />
<if condition="$show['lastpostinfo']">
<div class="smallfont" align="$stylevar[left]">
<div style="clear:both">
Last Post: <a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=newpost&amp;t=$lastpostinfo[lastthreadid]" title="<phrase 1="$lastpostinfo[lastthread]">$vbphrase[go_first_unread_in_thread_x]</phrase>"><strong>$lastpostinfo[trimthread]</strong></a>
</div>
<div<if condition="is_browser('ie', 6)"> style="float:$stylevar[left]"</if>>
Posted By <b><phrase 1="member.php?$session[sessionurl]find=lastposter&amp;f=$lastpostinfo[forumid]" 2="$lastpostinfo[lastposter]">$vbphrase[by_x]</phrase></b>

-$lastpostinfo[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']">-<span class="time">$lastpostinfo[lastposttime]</span></if></div><br />
<b>Forum Info:</b> Threads: $forum[threadcount]
Posts: $forum[replycount]
</if>
</td>
</table>
</td>


Blackheart_72 01-15-2009 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reece^B (Post 1713238)
On another note, when you have the columnised forums how did you remove the last post, threads, posts bit @ the top?

Could people share their template? I've spent got knows how long trying to make this look good, but it's not happening lol.

Also, anyone got that image prefix in the forum manager to work?

I have removed it from the columns but kept it in the normal forums, this is what i have where the code from the hack goes in level one no post:

Code:

<if condition="$childforumbits">
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumbit_$forumid" style="{$collapseobj_forumid}">
<if condition="$forum['subforumcolumns'] > 1">
        <tr>
       
<style="border: none; width: 100%;">
                        $childforumbits

                </td>
        </tr>
<else />
<tr align="center">
          <td class="thead" width="30">&nbsp;</td>
          <td class="thead" align="$stylevar[left]">$vbphrase[forum]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="125">$vbphrase[last_post]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="55">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
          <td class="thead" width="55">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
          <if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">
          <td class="thead" width="100">$vbphrase[moderator]</td>
          </if>
        </tr>
        $childforumbits
</if>
</tbody>
</if>

I am going to look at the prefixes asap for glamrock and will post in here if i get it sorted.

GlamRockTalk 01-15-2009 05:43 PM

Veccy, thank you so much! I'd love to be able to use the normal prefix option within the forum manager for the custom icons! :D

Reece^B 01-15-2009 08:19 PM

Ledge you ledge, yeah same as above. :)

ArnyVee 01-17-2009 02:23 PM

Veccy, hopefully you can get it working for the normal prefix option. I'd rather do the "normal" way rather than the 'template way' :)

Reece^B 01-18-2009 08:44 AM

Yup, does it work in IE properly?

Because I get this in IE:
http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/8610/picnm6.jpg
As you can see all the tables are spaced, not how they're supposed to be!

Blackheart_72 01-18-2009 09:54 AM

I will take a look later today, mine looks fine in IE with the default template.

Have had no luck with the prefixes yet though.

carubmun 01-18-2009 10:27 AM

Veccy, you have been helping people a great deal with this plugin it seems. Great thanks for that.
Im one of the many hapless folks who just cant make it work, at least not the way its supposed to work (in my head at least).
Ive been trying for a year now to get this to work... and no dice.
I like how you have it in your forum... very much like what i want to do.

1. Three Columns
2. The "last post" info visible.
3. And the Status Icon "old/new/locked,etc..." working correctly.

Would it be possible for you to put what you have done here as one step by step guide for those of us still having trouble?

GlamRockTalk 01-18-2009 11:45 AM

carubmun, you might want to look through some of the past posts. Veccy has detailed and even pasted the same codes he uses within the last few pages of this mod. Check 'em out, they may already help you with what you're looking for. :)

Blackheart_72 01-18-2009 02:24 PM

How to use image prefixes:

open the forumhome_forumbit_columncell template and find:

Code:

<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" class="ForumImages" /></td>
change to:

Code:

<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" class="ForumImages" /></td>
create 5 images and give them a prefix (i used 17_ for the example):

Code:

17_forum_link.gif
17_forum_new.gif
17_forum_new_lock.gif
17_forum_old.gif
17_forum_old_lock.gif

and upload them to your style statusicon folder, then i added 17_ in the prefix field.

GlamRockTalk 01-18-2009 03:06 PM

Oh man...thanks Veccy! :D

Worked for me! My code in the first line was just a little different, but I noticed what you did and it worked. Thank you so much for sharing and helping us with this! :up:

Blackheart_72 01-18-2009 03:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlamRockTalk (Post 1716866)
Oh man...thanks Veccy! :D

Worked for me! My code in the first line was just a little different, but I noticed what you did and it worked. Thank you so much for sharing and helping us with this! :up:

No worries. :)

its
Code:

$forum[imageprefix]
thats missing from the above template.

carubmun 01-19-2009 07:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlamRockTalk (Post 1716741)
carubmun, you might want to look through some of the past posts. Veccy has detailed and even pasted the same codes he uses within the last few pages of this mod. Check 'em out, they may already help you with what you're looking for. :)

I have, im not entirely a noob at this kind of stuff... but for some reason i just cant get this to work.
Ive tried it like 20 times these past couple of days... and a bunch more times about a year ago before i gave up.
I know its all me, because others are not having the issues im having.
Tried it with the instructions found here by you guys, older instructions in this thread, instructions i saw on another vb forum... i disabled my tabs, tried it on 3 different skins including the default skin. Nothing.

So im gonna post here exactly what im doing, step by step.
See if im just missing a step somewhere.



1. Install product-xenon_forumcols.xml through admincp.

2. Download my functions_forumlist.php and do the Find/Change edit per this hacks original instructions.

3. Add the "Add This New Function" part at the very end of the functions_forumlist.php file, but above the box at the end.

4. Upload functions_forumlist.php back to my forum.

5. Go to my forumbit_level1_nopost file and do the Find/Replace edit as per the original instructions.

6. Go to Forum Manager and make subforums appear in 3 columns.

7. As it still did not work at this point, i went and added the contents of post #451 by Veccy in this thread... into my columncell. Still, nothing.

8. I repeat step 5, but this time using the info provided by Veccy in post #452. Still, nothing.


So, am I missing a step?

Blackheart_72 01-19-2009 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by carubmun (Post 1717614)
I have, im not entirely a noob at this kind of stuff... but for some reason i just cant get this to work.
Ive tried it like 20 times these past couple of days... and a bunch more times about a year ago before i gave up.
I know its all me, because others are not having the issues im having.
Tried it with the instructions found here by you guys, older instructions in this thread, instructions i saw on another vb forum... i disabled my tabs, tried it on 3 different skins including the default skin. Nothing.

So im gonna post here exactly what im doing, step by step.
See if im just missing a step somewhere.



1. Install product-xenon_forumcols.xml through admincp.

2. Download my functions_forumlist.php and do the Find/Change edit per this hacks original instructions.

3. Add the "Add This New Function" part at the very end of the functions_forumlist.php file, but above the box at the end.

4. Upload functions_forumlist.php back to my forum.

5. Go to my forumbit_level1_nopost file and do the Find/Replace edit as per the original instructions.

6. Go to Forum Manager and make subforums appear in 3 columns.

7. As it still did not work at this point, i went and added the contents of post #451 by Veccy in this thread... into my columncell. Still, nothing.

8. I repeat step 5, but this time using the info provided by Veccy in post #452. Still, nothing.


So, am I missing a step?

Have you got a link to your site so i can see style you are using, can go from there then matey.

djxcee 01-20-2009 08:16 AM

Does anyone know how to make this display in a vertical alphabetic order?

A D
B E
C F

Instead of

A B
C D
E F

GlamRockTalk 01-20-2009 12:47 PM

djxcee,

You could simply change the display order in the forum manager main screen of the subforums.

diouxsie 01-20-2009 04:17 PM

Does anyone has already tryed this mod on vB 3.8.0?

djxcee 01-20-2009 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlamRockTalk (Post 1718936)
djxcee,

You could simply change the display order in the forum manager main screen of the subforums.

I did change the display order but it doesn't show in a vertical alphabetic structure.

Reece^B 01-20-2009 09:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by diouxsie (Post 1719148)
Does anyone has already tryed this mod on vB 3.8.0?

Yes fully works.

Freddy.k 02-07-2009 04:01 PM

thanks you

lalbahadur 02-10-2009 12:44 AM

I have this modification installed on my forum. In the offline version of my forum, I installed the Tabbed Forumhome Mod https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=175687

For some reason, the forumhome is no more displayed in coloumns. Please Help.

bobster65 02-10-2009 01:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lalbahadur (Post 1739237)
I have this modification installed on my forum. In the offline version of my forum, I installed the Tabbed Forumhome Mod https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=175687

For some reason, the forumhome is no more displayed in coloumns. Please Help.

I posted a solution for this in this thread... just do a search for it ..

EDIT: Here is a link to the post in this thread... https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=374

lalbahadur 02-10-2009 03:47 PM

thanks ! works excellent now

lalbahadur 02-11-2009 02:31 PM

I was just wondering if by any possible way, we could make the last forums (in case of odd number of forums in a category) end up center aligned.

TruVB 03-15-2009 03:47 PM

3.8?

Raffaele 03-30-2009 07:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TruVB (Post 1768816)
3.8?

yeap got it running on a test site (3.8.1)...check it out [code]http://www.ultimateresources.biz/forum/index.php[code]

livefreetv 03-31-2009 09:25 PM

Hi,

Does anyone know how can i display the subforums (on forumhome) in the columncell?

kairev 04-01-2009 02:04 AM

This is what I'm trying to accomplish:

http://www.hockeyforum.com

See how each team is listed in different categories (Atlantic Division, Northeast Division, Southeast Division, etc). It looks like a subforum of a subforum, almost. How can I do this? The only thing I'm able to get going here is columns for the first set of subforums...but those subforums have subforums too. ie my first set of subforums would be labeled Atlantic Division, Northeast Division, Southeast Division. I have all the teams set as subforums of those...but they aren't showing up on the main forum. I attached a screenshot of what I get...

Can anyone please help?

Indyaboard 04-12-2009 12:50 PM

thank you

vibedream 04-14-2009 12:44 AM

Need a mod for v3.8 plz!


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01789 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,851KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (10)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete