vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Chat Modifications - [DBTech] vBShout v6 (vB4) [AJAX] (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=236970)

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 12:18 AM

Try looking under CSS Templates in the Style Manager :)

The Text Entry Area is StyleVar input_background.
The Main Shout Area is StyleVar postbit_background

Hope that helps :)


Fillip

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 11:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PreciseDemise (Post 2060157)
Self Resolved ... after reading every file in the Zip ... Always the last place you look :(

This saying always seemed strange to me - why would someone keep looking once they found it? =D

Seriously though, I'm glad you got it.

Iain

Reks 06-27-2010 06:14 PM

hello, I'm trying to set up the shoutbox on its own page i've got the template set up
like this and a php file called Chat.php even after setting the shoutbox to deploy in Chat.php it doesn't show up
chat.php
Code:

<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test');
define('CSRF_PROTECTION', true); 
// change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('Chat',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
// if your page is outside of your normal vb forums directory, you should change directories by uncommenting the next line
// chdir ('/path/to/your/forums');
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = construct_navbits(array('' => 'Chat Box'));
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE #####
$pagetitle = 'The Chat Box';

// ###### NOW YOUR TEMPLATE IS BEING RENDERED ######

$templater = vB_Template::create('Chat');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar', $navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle', $pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());

?>

template
Code:

{vb:stylevar htmldoctype}
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{vb:stylevar textdirection}" lang="{vb:stylevar languagecode}" id="vbulletin_html">
  <head>
    <title>{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw pagetitle}</title>
    {vb:raw headinclude}
    {vb:raw headinclude_bottom}
  </head>
  <body>
   
    {vb:raw header}
   
    {vb:raw navbar}
   
    <div id="pagetitle">
      <h1>{vb:raw pagetitle}</h1>
    </div>
   
    <h2 class="blockhead">Title</h2>
    <div class="blockbody">
      <div class="blockrow">
        Welcome to The Chat Box have fun!
      </div>
    </div>
{vb:raw vbshout}
   
    {vb:raw footer}
  </body>
</html>


DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 06:21 PM

Since the value of THIS_SCRIPT in your case is "test", this is what you need to set it to deploy on, not "chat.php".

Hope that helps :)


Fillip

Reks 06-27-2010 06:42 PM

Thanks i can't believe i missed it
while I'm at it do you know if there is a way to let the moderates open and close the shout box? I only want members to use it when there is a mod there

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 08:37 PM

Hi, Thanks for the Mod

Mark as installed

But my custom usergroup can't see it , why ?

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 08:40 PM

Please make sure the usergroup permissions are set correctly.
Instance Management -> Edit Permissions :)


Fillip

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 08:58 PM

sorry, where is 'Instance Management '

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 09:01 PM

AdminCP left hand navigation.

If you do not see it, please edit config.php and give yourself Super Administrator rights by editing the $config['SpecialUsers']['superadministrators'] and adding your userid to it.

Fillip

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 09:02 PM

I did that

Usergroup Manager > edit user group > DragonByte Tech: vBShout - General Permissions
I set it to yes any thing else ?

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 09:03 PM

ok, Thank you for the fast support :) will check it now

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 09:11 PM

No, not Usergroup Manager.
Please follow the previous instructions - the permissions are per "instance", so there's no global usergroup permissions.

Fillip

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 09:38 PM

it solved, you are so kind :)

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 09:41 PM

No problem, hope vBShout serves your forum well :)


Fillip

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 09:45 PM

one more thing, can I show this chat in the sidebar blocks ?

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 09:51 PM

It's really not designed for the sidebar - it requires more width than that ;)


Fillip

Winter Sonata 06-27-2010 10:05 PM

Actually , your mod is great even if it is not design for the sidebar, but my idea is that being under the navbar will take so much space while webmaster can use it for advertisers banners

Hope we can see a sidebar version asap, that would be really great even if it is a commercial version ;)

DragonByte Tech 06-27-2010 10:12 PM

You could try placing it above the footer, there's an app for that... eh I mean there's a setting for that ;)
Instance Management -> Edit -> Automatic Deployment to Above Footer.

I doubt there will be a sidebar version, considering it would mean a vastly different layout... Never say never, though ;)


Fillip

PreciseDemise 06-28-2010 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2060448)
This saying always seemed strange to me - why would someone keep looking once they found it? =D

Seriously though, I'm glad you got it.

Iain

This is true thanks for the response though, much appreciated =)


Voted BTW, for what it's worth

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 02:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PreciseDemise (Post 2060785)
This is true thanks for the response though, much appreciated =)


Voted BTW, for what it's worth

^.^ Thanks a lot, it really is appreciated =D

Iain

PreciseDemise 06-28-2010 11:41 AM

Hi Fillip & Ian

I found that a lot of the problems that I'm having are due to complex colour schemes in themes. I have settled on a simpler theme. However, the Text Entry area is white, while the shout view area is black, since it is a WYSIWYG editor, people are going to have white/bright fonts for their shouts, but aren't going to be able to see what they are typing, unlike in the Post Editor, which is not no-one uses as WYSIWYG.

Could you please leave step by step to make the change to change the colour of the text entry area to the same as the Shout View area please.

Our site (http://www.dbc-forum.net) launches at 6pm(GMT) this afternoon!

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 12:03 PM

The Text Entry Area is controlled by the StyleVar input_background.
The Shout View area is controlled by the StyleVar postbit_background

To have them identical, you would need to change the background colour of input_background to match that of postbit_background.

Fillip

PreciseDemise 06-28-2010 12:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2061033)
The Text Entry Area is controlled by the StyleVar input_background.
The Shout View area is controlled by the StyleVar postbit_background

To have them identical, you would need to change the background colour of input_background to match that of postbit_background.


Fillip

To do this I would have to edit all the Vars for the Editor/post creator itself, is there a way to change thee source to reference the same Var for both elements?

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 12:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PreciseDemise (Post 2061048)
To do this I would have to edit all the Vars for the Editor/post creator itself, is there a way to change thee source to reference the same Var for both elements?

CSS Templates -> dbtech_vbshout_colours.css.
It's a small template so you should have no problems seeing which two CSS classes reference which stylevars :)


Fillip

PreciseDemise 06-28-2010 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2061049)
CSS Templates -> dbtech_vbshout_colours.css.
It's a small template so you should have no problems seeing which two CSS classes reference which stylevars :)


Fillip

I'm looking in that file, and this is all there is ...

Code:

.formcontrols .blockrow .dbtech_shouts .dbtech_vbshout_tabs.alt {
        background-color:{vb:stylevar postbit_background.backgroundColor};
}

.formcontrols .blockrow .dbtech_shouts .dbtech_vbshout_tabs.alt2 {
        background:{vb:stylevar postbit_background};
}

.formcontrols .blockrow .dbtech_shouts .dbtech_vbshout_window .dbtech_vbshout_frame {
        background:{vb:stylevar postbit_background};
}

.formcontrols .blockrow .dbtech_shouts .dbtech_vbshout_highlight {

No reference to Input_Background ...

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 01:01 PM

Oh yeah, that's because input_background is defined by the global CSS for textarea.

Fillip

PreciseDemise 06-28-2010 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2061069)
Oh yeah, that's because input_background is defined by the global CSS for textarea.


Fillip

White it is then. It really is a great mod, any chance of an over-ride in a future release, or do we need to go Pro ;)

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 01:21 PM

Why can't you just change the input_background stylevar to something closer (but still readable on both black and white colours)? O.o

Fillip

jjmf 06-28-2010 07:10 PM

My xml product import doesn't finish. Sometimes the last step is "Updating version number to: 5.2.2" and sometimes it stops at 5.2.1. What can I do?

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 07:31 PM

Maybe your php is timing out, I'll look into it ASAP - I'm vastly busy with vBActivity but after that there's a vBShout update due :)


Fillip

jjmf 06-28-2010 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech (Post 2061295)
Maybe your php is timing out, I'll look into it ASAP - I'm vastly busy with vBActivity but after that there's a vBShout update due :)


Fillip

That's it. The default execution time of 30 seconds is not enough. Setting it to 60s solved. Thanks for the tip!

DragonByte Tech 06-28-2010 08:22 PM

Cool stuff, that confirms that the fix I plan to include with the next version will work for at least your configuration :)
Thanks for letting me know :D


Fillip

Khan_ 06-29-2010 05:03 PM

Hello i love this product/modification but want to share the issue you have in this modification.

I have around 20k users on my forum ..and the shoutbox is taking high load and due to that my vps server was suspended multiple times in past couple months .. and then i thought due to vps shared by 3 people it is causing .. so i upgraded to dedicated server and still the same ..

I request you to do something about it .. i dont know what you can or you will but make it like it was for vb3 version of infernoshoutbox .. coz i never had any issue with inferno shoutbox ..

High load due to ajax.php file .. just in case if you wanna know what file is causing the high load ..

DragonByte Tech 06-29-2010 05:11 PM

Your version is highly out of date though, according to vB.org you're running 4.5.1 whereas 5.2.3 is the latest.

But yeah, we're aware of load issues and it will be addressed in the next version :)


Fillip

Khan_ 06-29-2010 05:43 PM

yeah i know its outdated .. but i know few other forums using the latest but they still have the same issue .. i just wanted to point out the issue to figure out what was wrong ..

Addressed in the next version or will be fixed in the next version .. P.S when can i expect it . anytime soon?

DragonByte Tech 06-29-2010 05:52 PM

It's sadly impossible for me to promise it will be fixed, because by definition an AJAX-based shoutbox is going to increase load, but I have one of the best vBulletin optimisers (Deceptor, creator of the vBOptimise mod) working with me to implement as many techniques as we can think of within the allotted timeframe :)

It will hopefully be released Friday 9th July :)

Khan_ 06-29-2010 05:56 PM

Glad to know that .. i will wait for it .thanks for your time fixing this big issue .

silverfox_uw 07-01-2010 09:22 AM

Hey, ive just downloaded and installed the latest version of this mod but i seem to be the onlyone on my forums that can actually see the chatbox, at first i thought it was a persmissions problem but i cant figure out how to edit the shoutbox permissions. Any ideas, thanks :)

DragonByte Tech 07-01-2010 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by silverfox_uw (Post 2062628)
Hey, ive just downloaded and installed the latest version of this mod but i seem to be the onlyone on my forums that can actually see the chatbox, at first i thought it was a persmissions problem but i cant figure out how to edit the shoutbox permissions. Any ideas, thanks :)

Instance Management -> Edit Permissions :)


Fillip

Yaung Sein 07-01-2010 12:38 PM

vBadvanced CMPS is always show "No Members Online" even there is login member is exist. It cause because I have installed DBTech vBshout (Lite). How can I fix it. Help me!!!


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03298 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,832KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (9)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete