vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   vBulletin CMS Widgets - United-Forum Nivo Slider Widget (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=267024)

Mooff 08-06-2011 02:46 PM

1- depends. Works via different layouts on different sections.
two options
a) you do not show articles on your homepage, only widgets. Then adding a subsection which shows the slider and telling vb in the acp to show that subsection instead of the main section will be enough.
b) you do show articles on your homepage, then create a hidding second section below your newssection with a different layout without slider. Move all categories* and articles to that second section. Set the homepage to 'show all articles from subsections.

2- activate cms rewrite in the vbseo command panel. There look for extended options (or similar, haven't checked how it is called exactly) and follow the instructions for custom rewrites.

*be careful here, moving categories via the acp is the buggiest piece of *** i have ever experienced in the vb_acp. If you can, i would strongly advise you to do it manually in the database. And backup your database before that!

MikalMirkas 08-07-2011 03:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mooff (Post 2230034)
We don't? Our slider is fixed to width 650px height 250px and our cms width is fixed to 1000px.

@starman
Sorry, no idea. That is a question for the nivo slider developers: http://nivo.dev7studios.com/

How does one manage to do this? I've tried it before but screwed up my CMS.
doc_width?
Edit: k set doc_width to 1000 but now it's aligned to the left side of the page.

Mooff 08-07-2011 11:43 AM

set doc_margin to 'auto' as said in the doc_margin stylevar description.

nader 08-08-2011 03:27 AM

Beautiful work; I was waiting for long time unfortunately It is very slow!

Aramist 08-10-2011 09:41 AM

Hi mooff !

I need your help.

In your script, when someone reply an article, the slide goes to the front of the slider cycle.

In my board I don't wanna show again older slides.

How can I change this ?

Ty in advance

Aramist 08-10-2011 09:45 AM

hmmm nvm....

I've removed
Code:

+ (10 * $article['replycount'])
and now it does not count replies to make a slide appear...

It's how I need now...ty anyway. :D

Loversama 08-10-2011 01:16 PM

Can you make this work with: Article Forums v4.x?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=237116

I don't use VB CMS and already use this slider (but I use it manually) for it to work with Article Forums would be amazing and would solve all my problems!


Thanks :D

Wordplay 08-10-2011 08:44 PM

is it possible to have this work with forumposts rather than articles and have this load selected images to each slide?

that would make this so amazing. for my site i had to change the size to 830x320 for it to show up decently, i can't get it to load the article images right now, but even if i could most are 240x240 and wouldn't look right in 830x320.

Mooff 08-10-2011 09:11 PM

@Aramist

If you do not want the value sorting function you can remove the whole sorting part and therefore gain a bit in performance (not that much, but well a bunch of calculations are unnecessary then).
(untested!)

search for:
Code:

    /* my version of sorting the articles via relevance - i'll keep it in case someone is interested*/
    while($article = vB::$db->fetch_array($article_get))
    {
        $article['value'] = ( 5 - ($time - $article['publishdate'] ) / 86400 ) * ( 5 - ($time - $article['publishdate'] ) / 86400 ) * ( 5 - ($time - $article['publishdate'] ) / 86400 ) + (10 * $article['replycount']);
        $database_articles[] = $article;       
    }
   
    foreach($database_articles as $c => $key)
    {
        $sort_value[] = $key['value'];
    }
   
    array_multisort($sort_value, SORT_DESC, $database_articles);   
   
    //
    $i = 0;
    $section_array = array();
    $featured_articles = array();
       
    foreach($database_articles AS $article)
    {

replace with
Code:

    $i = 0;
    $section_array = array();
    $featured_articles = array();
       
    while($article = vB::$db->fetch_array($article_get))
    {


@ Loversama
I do not know what that mod does in terms of database changes and i do not have it installed and i cannot install it on our board, nor can i install it in our testboard (there we have 3 different unreleased projects right now which i can't risk to compromise).

@ Wordplay
Working with forumposts would need a database query rewrite.
That beeing said. What can be done is showing title and description of threads and then using images based on the forum they are in. What can't be done is searching through the pagetext to find an image suited for the slider.
(Well it can, but i can't debug that and it does need a lot of thinking and work. Work which will have no use on our board. Sorry.)
As for article images not beeing suited for the slider. We do face the same problem on our board. Therefore we are using a highly customized version which does account for our needs. Like using section and category based images as fallbacks and resizeing images only for images which are at least 400px wide and have a width/height ratio between 2.5 and 2.8.
Options i can not set as default for everyone. But as said in the first post, if one does need something fancy i might be able to help with some custom code for your board. No promises though. And i need to know exactly what one does want. Exactly. Like explaining it to your grandma exactly ;)

Wordplay 08-10-2011 09:45 PM

well this is the best slide i've ever seen:
http://www.bet.com/shows.html


i would like to impliment that into my site. is there really no way to make it just pick the first image attached to a thread?

if there is no way to make it collect information from a specific forumthread, and that slide with thumbnails would work on articles, i'll just change my forum setup around to use articles rather than forumposts to post news.

does the slider randomly pick an image from an article or does it pick out the first attachment in an article?

right now i can't get it to display any images from the articles. it just shows my default fall back image on every news article.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02068 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,747KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete