vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Trader Ratings v1.2.0 (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=65730)

n_wattam 12-13-2004 09:33 PM

Hi, first i would like to say this hack rocks.

Quote:

################### postbit, postbit_legacy, MEMBERINFO ###################

- Add somewhere:

<if condition="$post['userid']"><div>postbit2 Trader Rating: (<a href="traderratings.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]">$post[ratetradetotal]</a>)</div></if>
I have made the above change to the 3 locations... however i cant find where the postbit_lagacy is displayed in the forum its self??

Cheers

PranK 12-14-2004 03:37 AM

Hey Guys,

Sorry about this, but my trader ratings has broken. :(

I have checked and dbl checked all the templates, re-uploaded traderratings.php in binary and have pulled 3/4 of my hair out.... now i am begging for help.

The main page displays fine - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...ings.php?u=124

But if you want to leave feedback - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...24&do=feedback

The source of that page is 100% empty.... i dont know whats going on.

Thanks for any assistance.

Christian

n_wattam 12-14-2004 08:32 AM

I would like to make the URL FIELD when submitting feedback a required one.. this is so we can track and moderate the system easier...

Can you please tell me where and what code to add for this...

Cheers.

Freezerator 12-14-2004 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PranK
Hey Guys,

Sorry about this, but my trader ratings has broken. :(

I have checked and dbl checked all the templates, re-uploaded traderratings.php in binary and have pulled 3/4 of my hair out.... now i am begging for help.

The main page displays fine - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...ings.php?u=124

But if you want to leave feedback - http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/for...24&do=feedback

The source of that page is 100% empty.... i dont know whats going on.

Thanks for any assistance.

Christian

I had the same problem, and i fixed it by putting the templates of traderratings in the right style. Are you sure there in the right style?

Freezerator 12-14-2004 08:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by n_wattam
I would like to make the URL FIELD when submitting feedback a required one.. this is so we can track and moderate the system easier...

Can you please tell me where and what code to add for this...

Cheers.

Edit your traderratings.php

In the first bit of the code you will find this option:
Code:

// Require users to enter a URL when submitting feedback
define('TRATING_REQ_URL', 0);

Set it to 1 to require url :)

PranK 12-14-2004 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freezerator
I had the same problem, and i fixed it by putting the templates of traderratings in the right style. Are you sure there in the right style?

yeah they are.

i can also see the summary page and peoples specific feedback, but just not leave the feedback.

n_wattam 12-14-2004 05:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freezerator
Edit your traderratings.php

In the first bit of the code you will find this option:
Code:

// Require users to enter a URL when submitting feedback
define('TRATING_REQ_URL', 0);

Set it to 1 to require url :)


Ah, cheers for that.. very greatfull, all working now :)

RS25com 12-15-2004 12:35 PM

Here's a problem I noticed.

I have a user who had some bad deals, so he got some negative feedback. However, he also had some good deals as well. The problem is that he had more good than bad deals, so he still has a +2 rating. If people don't look at his rating in detail, they may think he's good to go and purchase from him, even though he may be committing fraud.

The solution would be to change the way the ratings are calculated. Instead of just +1 or -1, it would be smarter to do it like eBay does - 100% less any negative marks. In this case, he might have 4 good and 2 bad. Instead of having a +2 rating, he would have a 66% rating, where everyone else would have 100%.

How hard would it be to change the way this hack does the math? I would be very interested in seeing it like this.

Besides, people are used to how eBay works, so this would make a lot more sense to more people.

RS25com 12-15-2004 12:52 PM

Okay, I tried to make the 100% score thing work by changing the math:

In traderratings.php, on line 460

Old: $tradeall = $userinfo[tradepos] + $userinfo[tradeneu] + $userinfo[tradeneg];

New: $userinfo[tradescore] = 100 / $userinfo[tradepos] + $userinfo[tradeneg] * $userinfo[tradepos];

The problem is that I get a division by zero error on the traderratings.php page. However, I believe the math is correct. Now how can I make this work? I'm no PHP programmer so I'm gonna have a very hard time making that work.

So what is the @$userinfo[tradepcnt] = (1 - ($userinfo[tradeneg] / $tradeall) ) * 100; line for? Does that do what I want already? (line 465)

Cyn 12-15-2004 12:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RS25com
Here's a problem I noticed.

I have a user who had some bad deals, so he got some negative feedback. However, he also had some good deals as well. The problem is that he had more good than bad deals, so he still has a +2 rating. If people don't look at his rating in detail, they may think he's good to go and purchase from him, even though he may be committing fraud.

The solution would be to change the way the ratings are calculated. Instead of just +1 or -1, it would be smarter to do it like eBay does - 100% less any negative marks. In this case, he might have 4 good and 2 bad. Instead of having a +2 rating, he would have a 66% rating, where everyone else would have 100%.

How hard would it be to change the way this hack does the math? I would be very interested in seeing it like this.

Besides, people are used to how eBay works, so this would make a lot more sense to more people.

The percentage certainly seems more informative. I'd prefer it. :thumbsup

dethfire 12-15-2004 04:02 PM

I have looked into it a bit more....and now it just tells the # I got from different members. Looking under trader ratings at the top though, every single member has a trader rating higher then the # of different traders that left them feedback. Im just hoping it is a mistake and the trader rating # will be set so its the total # again, not the # of different users

dethfire 12-16-2004 02:19 PM

how do I get the postbit to show all positive feedback instead of the calculated score?

sonicdriven 12-17-2004 07:09 AM

What am I missing? The hack works great but when i view my posts the trader rating does not show. I have added the

<if condition="$post['userid']"><div>Trader Rating: (<a href="traderratings.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$post[userid]">$post[ratetradetotal]</a>)</div></if>

to the MEMBERINFO template and to the postbit_legacy but neither made any differnece.

I am a total noob to VB, so i am sure it is something simple i missed, any feedback would be appreciated.

1shotdesign.com/trade

Great Hack BTW
Mark

sonicdriven 12-17-2004 09:24 AM

woot, NVM problem solved. :D

hasan2k 12-18-2004 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eoc_Jason
By default if a user has generic posting permissions, then they can use the Trader Ratings system.

However if you want to limit it even further, you can simply add conditional statements in your templates (with the is_member_of() function). Also you can add the same code to the traderratings.php file to make it 100% complete, but usually just editing the templates is enough so that only certain user groups can view / rate people.

Where in the traderratings.php file do I put the

"<if condition="is_member_of($post, 11)">
(trader ratings row)
</if>"

Code. I do not want to use the template change so that no one can type the URL and go to the feedback page.

What I want is:

ONLY 3 USER GROUPS (for example 1,2,3)CAN VIEW, PROVIDE FEEDBACK, RATE and all the other functionalities of this script. NO other user groups (like 4,5,6) can do anything at all. Can this be done with a simple code in the script file?

ONE MORE QUESTION:

The comment field where feedbacks are written can only take 80 characters max. How do I change it to take 300 character?

RS25com 12-20-2004 09:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cyn
The percentage certainly seems more informative. I'd prefer it. :thumbsup

I am still looking into this. It turns out that the percent is ALREADY calculated on the trader ratings page for the individual. So the math is ALREADY being done. I put the code into the post bit template, though, and it did not work.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! :D

bulbasnore 12-27-2004 06:01 PM

Thanks for the code on making the rating link only show up conditionally. I used that. I think a lot of folks might like to do that.

The biggest problem I've heard with rating is abuse; the URL feature is designed to cut down on this.

We have this FINE HACK INSTALLED in test. One of our mods jumped right in and posted a bogus URL in the feedback. We don't want to have to ban people for doing this.

My thought to cut down on that is to make sure the URL is valid. I tried doing some more validation on the URL tested in line 368 of traderratings.php.

PHP Code:

if ($userbuysell == 255 || $userrating == 255 || $usercomments == '' || !preg_match("/http:\/\/*myboard.com\/showthread.php?t*/i",$userurl)) { eval (print_standard_error('error_requiredfields')); } 

such that at least it would have to point to a thread in our domain (we have production and test boards). My code is a flop and I'm out of time to debug it today.

However, it seems like the URL to the board is known to vB. Grabbing this URL would allow both basic validation AND to allow the documentation in the URL box to use the actual board URL in the example. I'm new to vB so I don't know this variable and will have to dig for it.

Also, once the thread is known, one could check the thread starter and thread replies for the users involved in giving/receiving the feedback. Disallow the feedback unless the giver is either the thread starter or one of the posters. Don't know how to catch all 3 of these things: the reviewer, thread starter and thread reply posters.

Anyway, if someone can give me some pointers, I'd appreciate it & when its done will contrib the code back.

boo.3 12-27-2004 06:14 PM

wow this is awsome 10 stars :)

WreckRman2 12-27-2004 06:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RS25com
Here's a problem I noticed.

I have a user who had some bad deals, so he got some negative feedback. However, he also had some good deals as well. The problem is that he had more good than bad deals, so he still has a +2 rating. If people don't look at his rating in detail, they may think he's good to go and purchase from him, even though he may be committing fraud.

The solution would be to change the way the ratings are calculated. Instead of just +1 or -1, it would be smarter to do it like eBay does - 100% less any negative marks. In this case, he might have 4 good and 2 bad. Instead of having a +2 rating, he would have a 66% rating, where everyone else would have 100%.

How hard would it be to change the way this hack does the math? I would be very interested in seeing it like this.

Excellent idea and in fact I came here to request the EXACT same thing you already have. I went to buy something and in the post the user had a 0 rating. My first thougth was he didn't have any ratings. When I clicked on his profile he had 2... one good, one bad so they off set.

Great idea and I hope it can be included!

alkatraz 12-27-2004 07:42 PM

^^ great idea!! makes a lot of sense

eoc_Jason 12-30-2004 05:44 PM

I've never had that problem or people complain to me. From what I gather from my users, they do look over a person's trader rating, and also check what previous trades that person had engaged in before.

However, I'll consider adding it in the next version. The biggest issue is just the space that it takes in the postbit template, I just tried to keep it to a minimum.

The % Positive is displayed on the main trader ratings page. Calculating out that number on-the-fly is not advisable when viewing threads. There will need to be an additional column stored in the user table and have the % calculated / updated when the main score is done.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RS25com
Here's a problem I noticed.

I have a user who had some bad deals, so he got some negative feedback. However, he also had some good deals as well. The problem is that he had more good than bad deals, so he still has a +2 rating. If people don't look at his rating in detail, they may think he's good to go and purchase from him, even though he may be committing fraud.

The solution would be to change the way the ratings are calculated. Instead of just +1 or -1, it would be smarter to do it like eBay does - 100% less any negative marks. In this case, he might have 4 good and 2 bad. Instead of having a +2 rating, he would have a 66% rating, where everyone else would have 100%.

How hard would it be to change the way this hack does the math? I would be very interested in seeing it like this.

Besides, people are used to how eBay works, so this would make a lot more sense to more people.


eoc_Jason 12-30-2004 05:50 PM

Well, I actually was working on code to validate the URL to ensure that it was a thread that existed in the forum, and that it was in a valid FS/WTB section. However that along with all the other changes have been sitting in limbo as I haven't had time lately to update the hack.

There's a lot of features I was working on, but had to put on hold due to personal circumstances. I'll try to get an update coded, tested, and published within a couple weeks or so.

There have been requests for all sorts of features, some really off-the-wall. My main intention for this hack was to keep it simple and easy to implement. Also to have a minimium amount of changes to the vB templates (and no file changes) as to keep things easier when upgrading vB versions.

Anyhow, as to some of the people posting issues, I've seen them before and they are in this thread, so just read through or do a search. I'm sorry I don't have time to answer everyone's questions individually these days, I'm a very busy person.


Quote:

Originally Posted by bulbasnore
Thanks for the code on making the rating link only show up conditionally. I used that. I think a lot of folks might like to do that.

The biggest problem I've heard with rating is abuse; the URL feature is designed to cut down on this.

We have this FINE HACK INSTALLED in test. One of our mods jumped right in and posted a bogus URL in the feedback. We don't want to have to ban people for doing this.


LancerForums 01-03-2005 06:05 PM

Any idea when the rebuttal comments might be added? This hack has been one of the best and that feature would just make it perfect! :)

Mark

T-mecha 01-03-2005 10:39 PM

Hi im a noob at these sort of things.

I just installed the trader rating hack. What am i suppose to do after that? Do i have to do anything with the templete.txt file?

How do i activate it onto the forums?

[edit] if i type in the full address i can see the trader rating system, but how do i put it on the forum for all memebers to see and click on it and start using it?

MikaK 01-03-2005 11:19 PM

*installs*

Good instructions. No hickups with installation. Use not yet tested.

=M=

MikaK 01-03-2005 11:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T-mecha
Hi im a noob at these sort of things.

I just installed the trader rating hack. What am i suppose to do after that? Do i have to do anything with the templete.txt file?

How do i activate it onto the forums?

[edit] if i type in the full address i can see the trader rating system, but how do i put it on the forum for all memebers to see and click on it and start using it?

You need to modify the templates as told in the templates.txt to get proper links etc showing at yer forums. Instructions are quite clear if compared with most other mods.

=M=

T-mecha 01-04-2005 12:13 AM

i got it going, thanx

sbryan 01-04-2005 02:01 AM

Hi guys. this hack certainly sounds interesting.

i run a small gaming website and our trade forum is very popular with a handful of game trades being done every day.

how we have been handling it is that the seller emails me and i update a trade count figure on their profile that only admins can edit. the seller send the email contaning what games were traded/sold to who and the link to the original thread that we then go close.

i would love to install this hack, it wont eliminate the need for an admin to manually update their trade count but the feedback part is interesting as that would take over that.

what i am concerned about are just a few issues i hope can be answered.

1. attached is a screenshot of how my styles are set up. can anyone see any problems or anything i would need to keep in mind during the install.

2. are negative feedbacks moderated at all? what i dont want to see happening is people that have an issue with another user simply adding loads of negative feedback to scare off other traders. you never know... i dont want to see honest traders (of which i have plenty) getting a bad reputation due to one nasty idiot.

3. has anyone with 3.04 installed this? im running 3.03 now and about to upgrade before i install any more hacks.

Aros 01-04-2005 12:28 PM

Will this hack work with vBulletin 3.0.4?

Aros 01-04-2005 12:40 PM

Nevermind, seems to work perfectly!

eoc_Jason 01-04-2005 05:16 PM

sbryan:
1. You *might* have to edit the install file to "force" which StyleID you want it to install the templates to.
2. Feedback is not moderated at this time. However, the way the points system work is like eBay. If one person leaves 1,000 negatives, it still only deducts 1 point from their total. The Trader Rating is based on unique members. However, admins/mods can edit/remove any feedback from any user very easily.
3.It should work with 3.0.4 since all the code is independent of any vB files.

sbryan 01-05-2005 10:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eoc_Jason
sbryan:
1. You *might* have to edit the install file to "force" which StyleID you want it to install the templates to.
2. Feedback is not moderated at this time. However, the way the points system work is like eBay. If one person leaves 1,000 negatives, it still only deducts 1 point from their total. The Trader Rating is based on unique members. However, admins/mods can edit/remove any feedback from any user very easily.
3.It should work with 3.0.4 since all the code is independent of any vB files.

thanks Jason.

will try installing it ASAP and give it a test run!

*EDIT* got it all working pretty nicely. trade ratings is appearing in the postbit area under some other custom fields that i put in a while ago and looks quite nice. managed to find alot of the text and edited that (took me a while to find as i was searching in the templates not in the phrases).

it will be a 'tread carefully at first' approach with the forum members but it should compliment our existing system quite nicely. anything that keeps game traders/sellers honest is fine with me.

now to just work out where to put a link in the MEMBERINFO template as well that looks nice and not out of place.

thanks Jason, great hack!

0ptima 01-08-2005 05:54 AM

Anyone running this hack with 3.0.5?

the wiz 01-08-2005 11:49 AM

I am.

Aros 01-08-2005 12:19 PM

I am too, works fine.

eoc_Jason 01-08-2005 03:19 PM

There is no reason it shouldn't work with 3.0.5 (or any other 3.x version for that matter). The Trader Ratings add-on is for the most part a self-contained script that is independent of any vBulletin changes. ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by 0ptima
Anyone running this hack with 3.0.5?


therczone 01-09-2005 08:00 AM

*Clicks install* (Works on my vB 3.0.5)

eoc_jason, please PM "Paul M" about his code/hack.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=584793

I like this hack, but was dissapointed to find an error in my who's online. Here is my version (with trader ratings info) of his hack. I don't take credit for it, I simply edited it's words. This works with vB 3.0.5.

In forumdir/includes/functions_online.php find ;

Code:

                case 'modcplogin':
                        $userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
                        break;

and below it add ;

Code:

                case 'traderratings':
                        $userinfo['action'] = " Viewing Trader Ratings";
                        break;

Then Find ;

Code:

        case 'bugs.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
                break;

and below it add ;

Code:

        case 'traderratings.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'traderratings';
                break;

trader ratings who's online, whos online, who online, error

the wiz 01-09-2005 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by therczone
*Clicks install* (Works on my vB 3.0.5)

eoc_jason, please PM "Paul M" about his code/hack.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=584793

I like this hack, but was dissapointed to find an error in my who's online. Here is my version (with trader ratings info) of his hack. I don't take credit for it, I simply edited it's words. This works with vB 3.0.5.

In forumdir/includes/functions_online.php find ;

Code:

                case 'modcplogin':
                        $userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
                        break;

and below it add ;

Code:

                case 'traderratings':
                        $userinfo['action'] = " Viewing Trader Ratings";
                        break;

Then Find ;

Code:

        case 'bugs.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
                break;

and below it add ;

Code:

        case 'traderratings.php':
                $userinfo['activity'] = 'traderratings';
                break;

trader ratings who's online, whos online, who online, error

+++++in! Works great on my site!

horrordvds.com 01-09-2005 04:03 PM

So, if someone has 10 separate transactions over the space of a month and leaves 10 feedbacks, that only counts as 1 point on their feedback rating? It would be nice if we could customize that ability. My forum only has a few thousand members and out of those, only several dozen are active traders. They have always left multiple feedback for each other - on separate transactions - and I always counted each one as a +1 on their score.

Blade-uk 01-09-2005 04:55 PM

Great hack, but one problem i have found on the stats page -

http://www.tech-arena.co.uk/forum/traderratings.php?

It keeps stating this, so i looked through the instructions which say -

Quote:

TRATING_CLOSED
- Disables the trader ratings pages and displays a maintainence page
- Set to '0' for open (default), '1' for closed
But my code says -

Quote:

// Disables the trader ratings pages and displays a maintainence page
// Administrators and Moderators will still be able to view / use the TR system!
// NOTE: PMs will not be sent when closed (so you can test ratings without spamming users)
define('TRATING_CLOSED', 0);
So as it's on 0, shouldn't it be open, any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks :)

Also even though i've updated from 1.1.0 to 1.2.0 on a members trading page it says Trader Ratings v1.1.0 under their feedback.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02028 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,891KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (10)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (17)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete