vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   v3 Arcade - Games Arcade & Challenge System [vB 3.0.3] (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=60377)

John 01-20-2004 11:32 AM

In futureal's arcade, cheating was simply a matter of checking the values going in and out, and then faking post results going into proarcade.php.

The *only* way of making a cheat-proof Flash arcade would be to use SSL encryption. Naturally, that isn't possible for most people.

The v3 Arcade uses a complete different system. All communications that set scores and other variables happen while the game is being played, at the end of the game the page is redirected. There are two stages.

1. At the beginning of gameplay, a new session is set.
2. At the end of gameplay, two communications are made - one directly after the other. Here the score is set, times are added.
3. If both final communications go well, a variable is brought back into Flash which then prompts a redirect to the high scores.

Not mentioning the security stuff, but that's the general idea. That's why adding this stuff requires the source - variable transmission isn't a simple getURL. :(

NuclioN 01-20-2004 11:48 AM

Ok. But i saw only 1 added set of codelines and this set is always the same code. Does this suggest that it only takes this standard set of code to let all flash games launch their different scorevariables into the database?

LightBringer 01-20-2004 11:51 AM

Ya know John, after reading your post I am wondering if it's an issue with the flash player and communication to my machine that might be the result of the problem I am having.

You tested my installation just fine and it worked like a champ, but when I used that same test account, I had no such luck.

I'm starting to believe that maybe the communications being made to set the high score / redirect are the issues here. The reason I say this is because after logging in under the test account, playing a game, I get no redirect to put comments, record high score, etc.

Is there anyway we can test this?

John 01-20-2004 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LightBringer
Ya know John, after reading your post I am wondering if it's an issue with the flash player and communication to my machine that might be the result of the problem I am having.

You tested my installation just fine and it worked like a champ, but when I used that same test account, I had no such luck.

I'm starting to believe that maybe the communications being made to set the high score / redirect are the issues here. The reason I say this is because after logging in under the test account, playing a game, I get no redirect to put comments, record high score, etc.

Is there anyway we can test this?

You're right, there's an issue with the transferring of data between Flash and the arcade. But the cause of that is not the code that actually does the transferring. It's almost certain to be a mistake made in the installation.

LightBringer 01-20-2004 11:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John
You're right, there's an issue with the transferring of data between Flash and the arcade. But the cause of that is not the code that actually does the transferring. It's almost certain to be a mistake made in the installation.


Hrm..even if others can log in and play just fine (as you tested yourself)?

I will try reinstalling again and see if that's the issue.

Thanks m8.

John 01-20-2004 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LightBringer
Hrm..even if others can log in and play just fine (as you tested yourself)?

I will try reinstalling again and see if that's the issue.

Thanks m8.

I'm sure it's possible to screw up the installation in a way which would cause these weird problems... if it still doesn't work, I'll look into it.

JamesFrost 01-20-2004 12:11 PM

Fantastic hack. I've found a small bug when vb is setup to show template info as comments in HTML, this also appears on the e-mails from the arcade :

Code:

<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: arcade_email_beatenbody --> Hello hongkongfuey,
                               
LilBunnyRabbit has beaten your high score in "Simon".

Your old score: 7
New high score: 18

Want to claim back your title?
Play: http://www.martialartsplanet.com/rc1...play&gameid=10

Yours,
Martial Arts Planet team

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unsubscription information:

Tired of these email notifications? Turn them off in your Arcade settings.
<!-- END TEMPLATE: arcade_email_beatenbody -->


John 01-20-2004 12:15 PM

You need to turn off template highlighting in your vB options.

Zachery 01-20-2004 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesFrost
Fantastic hack. I've found a small bug when vb is setup to show template info as comments in HTML, this also appears on the e-mails from the arcade :

Code:

<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: arcade_email_beatenbody --> Hello hongkongfuey,
                               
LilBunnyRabbit has beaten your high score in "Simon".

Your old score: 7
New high score: 18

Want to claim back your title?
Play: http://www.martialartsplanet.com/rc1...play&gameid=10

Yours,
Martial Arts Planet team

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Unsubscription information:

Tired of these email notifications? Turn them off in your Arcade settings.
<!-- END TEMPLATE: arcade_email_beatenbody -->


a vB Option for developers / coders :) nothing more

Zachery 01-20-2004 12:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MaDCaT75
well can you tell me where to buy this flash decompiler??????

Using the game with out the auhtors expressed written consent and can result in a lawsuit

LightBringer 01-20-2004 12:40 PM

Quote:

I'm sure it's possible to screw up the installation in a way which would cause these weird problems... if it still doesn't work, I'll look into it.
Just installed it again and the same result. :/

As a side note, another thing I noticed is that the scores are showing up as "invalid scores" because I can log into the admincp, remove invalid scores, and the scores I made under the admin account are removed.

P.Jackson 01-20-2004 12:57 PM

awsome hack prolly the best ive seen on vb.org very well written :D

corsacrazy 01-20-2004 02:44 PM

how about a sepertae page for all the news :)

http://www.url.com/forums/arcade.php?do=news

AutomatikStudio 01-20-2004 03:56 PM

It might have been posted already...but is it possible to adapt games ourselves? If so...how?

LLFan 01-20-2004 04:06 PM

Post number 47 and my posts 384 and 385 have yet to be answered (coincidence that its the same problem?). https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=384

Any help anyone can offer would be appreciated.
Mike

AutomatikStudio 01-20-2004 04:12 PM

Also...what's netPlay?

Schorsch 01-20-2004 04:26 PM

please please please more cool games :)

yabba 01-20-2004 04:45 PM

Hello John

2 little errors in the arcarde.php. I think thats a prefix problem again:

Failure One:

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 2:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT user.userid AS userid, gamesessions.score AS score, games.shortname AS shortname FROM vb3_gamesessions
LEFT JOIN vb3_user AS user ON user.userid = gamesessions.userid
LEFT JOIN vb3_games AS games ON gamesessions.gamename = games.shortname
WHERE (gamename='asteroids' AND score='34620') OR (gamename='chopper' AND score='1883') OR (gamename='pacman' AND score='26180') OR (gamename='simon' AND score='30') OR (gamename='snake' AND score='1905') OR (gamename='spaceinvaders' AND score='41010') OR (gamename='tetris' AND score='57400') AND sessiontype=1 ORDER BY gamesessions.gamename DESC

mysql error: Unknown table 'gamesessions' in field list

mysql error number: 1109

Date: Tuesday 20th of January 2004 02:39:40 AM
Username: Nicht registriert
and the Second :

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.0 Release Candidate 2:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT user.userid AS userid, gamesessions.score AS score, games.shortname AS shortname FROM vb3_gamesessions
LEFT JOIN vb3_user AS user ON user.userid = gamesessions.userid
LEFT JOIN vb3_games AS games ON gamesessions.gamename = games.shortname
WHERE (gamename='asteroids' AND score='34620') OR (gamename='chopper' AND score='1883') OR (gamename='pacman' AND score='26180') OR (gamename='simon' AND score='30') OR (gamename='snake' AND score='1905') OR (gamename='spaceinvaders' AND score='41010') OR (gamename='tetris' AND score='57400') AND sessiontype=1 ORDER BY gamesessions.gamename DESC

mysql error: Unknown table 'gamesessions' in field list

mysql error number: 1109

Date: Tuesday 20th of January 2004 08:25:10 AM
Greets yabba

John 01-20-2004 05:32 PM

Thanks Yabba, will get that fixed ASAP.

John 01-20-2004 05:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AutomatikStudio
Also...what's netPlay?

We covered this earlier on in the thread. :)

John 01-20-2004 05:38 PM

I've had a couple of emails with plenty of games, although a lot of them are just plain awful (or don't have any sort of scoring system in them), I'll try to get started on conversions.

If there are any people out there who are experienced in Flash and are happy to convert games for the v3 Arcade, send me an email and I'll pass on the current code for the system. (At the moment I'm working on several other arcade related modifications - and part of this includes a component for Flash which will take care of this stuff in the future.)

shad-gt 01-20-2004 05:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John
I've had a couple of emails with plenty of games, although a lot of them are just plain awful (or don't have any sort of scoring system in them), I'll try to get started on conversions.

If there are any people out there who are experienced in Flash and are happy to convert games for the v3 Arcade, send me an email and I'll pass on the current code for the system. (At the moment I'm working on several other arcade related modifications - and part of this includes a component for Flash which will take care of this stuff in the future.)

can you post that code here?

And thank you for your help with the award display in the member profiles.

Code:

if ( _root.sessionstarted <> 1) {
  _root.arcade = new LoadVars();
  _root.sessionvars = new LoadVars();
  _root.arcade.gamename = target;
  _root.arcade.sessdo = sessionstart;
  _root.arcade.sendAndLoad("arcade.php",sessionvars,"POST");
  _root.sessionstarted = 1;
  }

and which code is for the new entry in the highscore?

John 01-20-2004 06:01 PM

One thing I'd like to point out...

At the moment there have been over 80 successful installations... that's not bad considering that vB3 is still in the RC stages, and the Arcade has only been out for a couple of days.

I'd consider 80 a high enough number to say that if you can't get this to work, it's because you haven't followed the installation instructions properly. I've personally fixed about 5 dud installations, each of which was a file modification incorrectly carried out. The only other alternative is that another hack is installed which is conflicting with the Arcade installation. I know in one case a person had a problem with a clan based hack and the status field in the user table.

The next thing is to ponder over why the Arcade Settings navigation bar looks odd on some styles... I'll post a fix once I find the problem.

LightBringer 01-20-2004 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John
One thing I'd like to point out...

At the moment there have been over 80 successful installations... that's not bad considering that vB3 is still in the RC stages, and the Arcade has only been out for a couple of days.

I'd consider 80 a high enough number to say that if you can't get this to work, it's because you haven't followed the installation instructions properly. I've personally fixed about 5 dud installations, each of which was a file modification incorrectly carried out. The only other alternative is that another hack is installed which is conflicting with the Arcade installation. I know in one case a person had a problem with a clan based hack and the status field in the user table.

The next thing is to ponder over why the Arcade Settings navigation bar looks odd on some styles... I'll post a fix once I find the problem.

John, this is a clean forum with zero hacks installed on it. I've tried the installation about 6 times now with the same results. Other users can use the arcade just fine, but when I try and use it, I get the problems mentioned. I'd be happy to let you peek your head in on the server and see if you can nail down the issue.

Any advice would be great. I'd be happy to try and install it again, but I feel very confident that it's not the installation, nor is it really a problem with the hack. Something is preventing me as a user/admin from being redirected to the high score/comment page.

futureal 01-20-2004 06:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John
The v3 Arcade uses a complete different system. All communications that set scores and other variables happen while the game is being played, at the end of the game the page is redirected. There are two stages.

Ah, the joys of LoadVars. :)

I eventually stumbled upon what is probably a similar system, although I never implemented it in the old arcade. Doing it this way should discourage all but the hell-bent "I must cheat, no matter what!" people. It can still be done via memory editing, but they need to have an intimate knowledge of the hack and, when it comes down to it, I think very few will exploit it. Still, the admin can always check the game durations as well.

Good job with the challenge system, it's a cool feature!

John 01-20-2004 06:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by futureal
Ah, the joys of LoadVars. :)

I eventually stumbled upon what is probably a similar system, although I never implemented it in the old arcade. Doing it this way should discourage all but the hell-bent "I must cheat, no matter what!" people. It can still be done via memory editing, but they need to have an intimate knowledge of the hack and, when it comes down to it, I think very few will exploit it. Still, the admin can always check the game durations as well.

Good job with the challenge system, it's a cool feature!

Nope, not loadVars - sendAndLoad.

Ordinarily, it doesn't take memory editing to cheat. If you know the source code (i.e. you've downloaded it from vb.org), you can easily see which actions to send your faked POST data to. Indeed, if you didn't have access to the source you'd need a packet sniffer to check to see what data was being sent, and then replicate it.

However, this still isn't the system that I use.

The v3 Arcade's games "talk" to vBulletin, vBulletin measures the time between each communication. If that time is greater than 5 seconds, it's very likely that someone is trying to manually send the data through a script. I.e. they prepare the data to send, send it, and start preparing the second batch of data. There are also a couple of basic calculations which make it more difficult for someone to cheat through firing off scripts with POST data.

In essence, the only way to cheat is to write a program to send and receive data the data rapidly, process is correctly, and send it back in the correct format. Only a very sad individual would be prepared to go to those lengths!

futureal 01-20-2004 06:23 PM

sendAndLoad is a method of the LoadVars object. :) Well, that's what I meant anyway. haha

corsacrazy 01-20-2004 06:25 PM

john

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....&postcount=413

Gio Takahashi 01-20-2004 06:25 PM

Lightbringer, do you have a router or firewall?

One of my admin on my forums mentioned that those with firewall and router could ruin the highscore sent to the forums. Could it be something like that?

John 01-20-2004 06:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by futureal
sendAndLoad is a method of the LoadVars object. :) Well, that's what I meant anyway. haha

Calm down kiddo, there's nothing wrong with a bit of detail. ;)

John 01-20-2004 06:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by corsacrazy

Yeah, read it. There's already going to be something like this, with the next part of the Arcade. Didn't see any point in implementing it here, as the only news is game installation and championship winners.

corsacrazy 01-20-2004 06:28 PM

how about a challenge leader bord? who has won the most challenges or sumin like that

futureal 01-20-2004 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John
Calm down kiddo, there's nothing wrong with a bit of detail. ;)

I know, I know.

I tried a similiar method with a 3-, 5- and 10-second check awhile back (going back and forth from Flash and PHP) and it worked on my test server but I was getting incorrect timeouts on a heavily-used server when the scores table was large (thousands of scores, so the check query took longer). If you are using a separate sessions table (it sounds like you are) then that was probably the difference. By regularly pruning the sessions it would keep that query fast, even with a huge amount of scores.

John 01-20-2004 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by futureal
I know, I know.

I tried a similiar method with a 3-, 5- and 10-second check awhile back (going back and forth from Flash and PHP) and it worked on my test server but I was getting incorrect timeouts on a heavily-used server when the scores table was large (thousands of scores, so the check query took longer). If you are using a separate sessions table (it sounds like you are) then that was probably the difference. By regularly pruning the sessions it would keep that query fast, even with a huge amount of scores.

Indeed. It's the only *reasonable* cheat protection that can be offered, without the use of SSL. :(

Littlebit 01-20-2004 06:44 PM

Has this been tested on any Mac's yet?

yabba 01-20-2004 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Littlebit
Has this been tested on any Mac's yet?

jepp. My Mac Users like it .

Greets yabba

corsacrazy 01-20-2004 06:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Littlebit
Has this been tested on any Mac's yet?

yes but cant get the flash plugin so i just use my pc :)

corsacrazy 01-20-2004 06:59 PM

I KNOW U NEED THE SOURCE BUT THIS GAME IS JUST THE FUNNIST I HAVE EVER SEEN

http://ogc.ath.cx/files/tmp/pingu.htm

John 01-20-2004 07:01 PM

Dead link ^

Alien 01-20-2004 07:04 PM

[high]* Alien feels embarrassed that he didn't click install.[/high]

[high]* Alien clicks install and feels better![/high]

:D


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04256 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,857KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (3)bbcode_code_printable
  • (19)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete