vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Tutorial: How to run vBulletin onto your PC (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=39482)

MindTrix 11-06-2003 06:13 PM

My php version i installed was php-4.3.4-Win32

And the apache was apache_1.3.28-win32-x86-no_src

Anoutsider 11-16-2003 09:23 PM

Attempting to attach to database...

Warning: mysql_pconnect() [function.mysql-pconnect]: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES) in C:\network\Apache2\htdocs\forums\admin\db_mysql.ph p on line 38

Warning: mysql_select_db(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\network\Apache2\htdocs\forums\admin\db_mysql.ph p on line 47

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.

Click to go to the vBulletin website

i get that error can some 1 help

Anoutsider 11-16-2003 09:47 PM

their is 99 members online and not 1 to help me

Josh Combs 11-16-2003 11:17 PM

did you make a database folder? plus how are you trying to log in?

Anoutsider 11-17-2003 02:54 PM

i did make the folder

i will be trying to install all of it again

Anoutsider 11-17-2003 03:35 PM

well i just did and it works perfect:

Well after many attempts on trying to get this working with your tutorial Nakkid I just couldn't get it to work, I've been doing everything perfectly. So I uninstalled everything, and I decided to try PhpTriad. And I must say, not only did it work (with 2.2.6), but it was MUCH easier to install

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quick little tutorial on how to get this working with PhpTriad:
1. Install PhpTriad (http://sourceforge.net/projects/phptriad/)
2. Goto C:\apache\mysql\bin\ and run winmysqladmin
3. If it asks you for a username or password, enter (using Nakkid example) root for username and password for the password.
4. Still in winmysqladmin, goto the databases tab, and right click on your computer name, then select create database. Call it vbulletin.
5. Now in C:\apache\htdocs create a folder called forums, then upload all the vbulletin stuff in there.
6. Goto your start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Stop Apache. (this step might now even be needed, but was for me)
7. Now go to start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Start Apache
8. Apache will come up in a window, simply minimize it.
9. Goto http://localhost/forums/admin/install.php, and you're done!

This doesn't require any moving files or file modifications, and didn't give me any errors either
Thanks to eiSecure for providing the info on PHPtriad!

Dean C 11-17-2003 03:48 PM

I wouldn't recommend anyone using phptriad or phpdev anymore - neither of them are running the latest stable releases of php or mysql or apache and these older versions are plagued with bugs and i'm guessing security holes. Even though you're running it offline it still means you may find bugs which are due to your php/mysql/apache versions and not your code :)

kill_emma 11-17-2003 07:32 PM

my goddess have we heard enough? this thread is NOT and advertizment thread, it is STRICTLY for support, not to go telling people to use phptriad or phpdev or whatever the hell you want to use.

GOT IT?!

Anoutsider 11-18-2003 02:57 PM

lol

TECK 11-23-2003 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anoutsider
Attempting to attach to database...


Warning: mysql_pconnect() [function.mysql-pconnect]: Access denied for user: 'root@localhost' (Using password: YES) in C:\network\Apache2\htdocs\forums\admin\db_mysql.ph p on line 38

Warning: mysql_select_db(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\network\Apache2\htdocs\forums\admin\db_mysql.ph p on line 47

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.

Click to go to the vBulletin website





i get that error can some 1 help

Do this:
Open a CMD prompt in the /bin folder and type:
\bin> mysql --user=root mysql
Press ENTER. Type:
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO root@localhost IDENTIFIED BY 'your_password' WITH GRANT OPTION;

sabret00the 11-24-2003 08:04 AM

someone should make a vB localhost installed (php dev style) ;)

kill_emma 11-30-2003 11:06 PM

you know you use your localhost too much when you:

#1 Reason - You see someone talking about the root account on a thread and believe that they are reffering to you.

:P

TheAnt 12-01-2003 01:24 AM

or

#2 Reason - You continually try linking people to localhost to view stuff your workin on offline

kill_emma 12-02-2003 10:21 PM

w00t! i've done both :P ask Steve

TECK 12-09-2003 02:04 AM

I just installed following the tut with the latest software available for download (php, mysql, etc) and it works perfectly.

gldtn 12-12-2003 06:27 PM

Me too Teck :), Had a few problems at first, but then I got it working after the 2nd install.

Also, if anyone wants to install phpMyAdmin along with this tutorial.. do the following:

1. Download the lastest [zip] stable version : http://www.phpmyadmin.net
2. Extract the zip file that you just downloaded to 'c:\Network\Apache2\htdocs
3. Rename the folder that you extracted to something easier to remember. I.E MyAdmin
4. Browse to MyAdmin, or whatever you name it on step #3, and locate 'config.inc.php'.
5. Right click it and open it with you favorite editor. *note some editors, such as notepad makes the file messy and hard to read and edit it.. # I use EditPlus, a great text editor.
6. Locate this line > $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = ''; and in the '', add the url location to where you installed phpMyAdmin. I.E $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/MyAdmin';
7. Still in config.inc.php, locate this line > $cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root'; // MySQL user, and replace 'root' with the username you specified during MySQL installation.
8. Again in config.inc.php, edit the line below the one you just edit on step #7 with the password you set for root or whatever username you gave access to.
9. Launch you favorite browser and point it to http://loacalhost/MyAdmin (or whatever you named it to) and you should see phpMyAdmin saying "Welcome to phpMyAdmin".

your done! :)

sabret00the 12-18-2003 10:07 AM

done that php my admin bit and i just get this
Quote:

<?php
/* $Id: main.php,v 1.146 2003/09/17 13:16:46 nijel Exp $ */
// vim: expandtab sw=4 ts=4 sts=4:

/**
* Don't display the page heading
*/
define('PMA_DISPLAY_HEADING', 0);

/**
* Gets some core libraries and displays a top message if required
*/
if (!defined('PMA_GRAB_GLOBALS_INCLUDED')) {
include('./libraries/grab_globals.lib.php');
}
if (!defined('PMA_COMMON_LIB_INCLUDED')) {
include('./libraries/common.lib.php');
}
// Puts the language to use in a cookie that will expire in 30 days
if (!isset($pma_uri_parts)) {
$pma_uri_parts = parse_url($cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri']);
$cookie_path = substr($pma_uri_parts['path'], 0, strrpos($pma_uri_parts['path'], '/'));
$is_https = (isset($pma_uri_parts['scheme']) && $pma_uri_parts['scheme'] == 'https') ? 1 : 0;
}
setcookie('lang', $lang, time() + 60*60*24*30, $cookie_path, '', $is_https);
// Defines the "item" image depending on text direction
$item_img = 'images/item_' . $text_dir . '.png';
// Handles some variables that may have been sent by the calling script
if (isset($db)) {
unset($db);
}
if (isset($table)) {
unset($table);
}
$show_query = '1';
require('./header.inc.php');
if (isset($message)) {
what did i do wrong?

sabret00the 12-20-2003 05:51 PM

any help about?

sabret00the 12-26-2003 01:16 PM

i tried to restore my database and nothing happened, any ideas?

Preech 01-10-2004 02:36 AM

Quote:

Step 2) Connect to the database

Attempting to attach to database


Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\forum\includes\db_mysql. php on line 140

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please confirm the values entered in the 'includes/config.php' file.
BUT EVERYTHING IS RIGHT :( :(

what could I have missed?

if i take out the password I get a totally different error some kind of 1044 error...but if i modify the username and keep a pass it doesnt matter whether or not the information i put in is correct or not i get the same error, i really dont understand what could be wrong...and i dont see anyone else with this error :(

im running the vb3 rc2

Quote:

// ****** DATABASE SERVER NAME ******
// This is the hostname or IP address of the database server.
// It is in the format HOST:PORT. If no PORT is specified, 3306 is used.
// If you are unsure of what to put here, leave it at the default value.
$servername = 'localhost';

// ****** DATABASE USERNAME & PASSWORD ******
// This is the username and password you use to access MySQL.
// These must be obtained through your webhost.
$dbusername = 'root@localhost';
$dbpassword = 'password';

// ****** DATABASE NAME ******
// This is the name of the database where your vBulletin will be located.
// This must be created by your webhost.
$dbname = 'vbulletin';
and there is what i have in config.php currently I have tried about every combination of username and password and i have changed localhost to the IP address of my machine and also the 127.0.0.1...it doesnt matter what i changed it to i can change it to any word and i still get the same error

oooooooooo please help :)

Preech 01-10-2004 05:21 AM

I fully reinstalled MySQL, and changed the login information in my config.php file to username: root with no password and it worked...hmph go figure it was that simple...figured i would share that with everyone in case someone else has the same problem

Kyle0515 01-18-2004 08:05 PM

hmm... I worked on this for 2 days and couldn't get it to work. When I went to bed last night, it still wasn't working. But, when I got on today and tried it, everything was working fine.... Weird. You gotta love a computer that fixes itself... lol

Anyway... Everything is working great. Thanks

Sadie Frost 01-26-2004 09:00 PM

Working great for me - the two snags I had (in case it helps anyone) is that when I opened the cmd to add the users, I needed a space before the mysql --user bit, and as Preech said in the config.php file I needed to leave the password blank. :) This is going to help so much - wish I'd found it sooner! :D

KayJay 01-29-2004 08:35 PM

What can I say...Fantastic. So much easier than doing it online. many thanks for a great tutorial.

ButchGal 02-04-2004 01:42 PM

Great Tutorial. Thank you.

One question :)

I have done a mysql dump for my online forum.

I want to restore this to my local forum.

When I try to run restore procedure, I get a message that table is already created.
Which of course it is.

What have I done wrong?

X-Sector 02-10-2004 05:32 PM

04. Open a CMD window and change it's location to your current MySQL /bin folder.

05. Set your Users:
\bin> mysql --user=root mysql
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO monty@localhost
-> IDENTIFIED BY 'some_pass' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO monty@'%'
-> IDENTIFIED BY 'some_pass' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> GRANT RELOAD,PROCESS ON *.* TO admin@localhost;
mysql> GRANT USAGE ON *.* TO dummy@localhost;

I'm trying to use a CMD prompt but l couldn't access my network folder in C:
I dunno why

I did a tut of how to access network folder via CMD prompt but l couldn't get it to working, i need help!

Also.. I don't know how to set up any users :(

mitomcua 02-10-2004 08:20 PM

To make life easier for you go here : http://www.easyphp.org/?lang=en and download the easy php 1.7 which includes and configures :Apache 1.3.27, php 4.3.3, MySQL 4.0.15 ...

Andreas 02-10-2004 08:33 PM

Or take XAMPP form www.apachefriends.org which includes preconfigured Apache 2.0.48, MySQL 4.0.17, PHP 4.3.4 + mod_php 4.3.4, Perl 5.8.2 + mod_perl 1.99_12,
Openssl 0.9.7c + mod_ssl 2.0.48 & PHPMyAdmin 2.5.5 pl1 :)

X-Sector 02-10-2004 08:56 PM

How do you set up any users?

X-Sector 02-10-2004 10:54 PM

how do u get it to connect from ur mysql db? cuz it doesn't work for me.

X-Sector 02-10-2004 10:59 PM

Well, I just tried to connect to my database without a user and password but l got this error..

Attempting to attach to database...

Connect failed: unexpected error from the database.

Error number: 1044

Error description: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'vbulletin'

Please ensure that the database and server is correctly configured and try again.

Click to go to the vBulletin website

I tried to connect to my database with a user and password but it said that it cant connect to my database. What did l do?

blakkboy 02-15-2004 03:16 AM

this is where im stuck

04. Open a CMD window and change it's location to your current MySQL /bin folder.

05. Set your Users:
\bin> mysql --user=root mysql
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO monty@localhost
-> IDENTIFIED BY 'some_pass' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO monty@'%'
-> IDENTIFIED BY 'some_pass' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> GRANT RELOAD,PROCESS ON *.* TO admin@localhost;
mysql> GRANT USAGE ON *.* TO dummy@localhost;

i dont understand what the CMD window is and where to set your users

also mysql admin is not on for some reason....... its running a red light and i take it that the light is supposed to be greeen

Dean C 02-15-2004 08:08 AM

I think in the mysql > bin folder there's an exe where you can execute mysql queries within a DOS interface :)

blakkboy 02-15-2004 04:44 PM

^^^ ok thanx i seem to have gotten it now

blakkboy 02-16-2004 01:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Velocd
Quick Tutorial - How to backup/restore on a localhost

I thought I would make this because I fought alittle trying to get this working using the MSDOS shell, and found some things to be alittle different than from what backing up is usually like.
Once again, thanks to FWC for the tip, and also Logican from another post providing me some info

(note: done using Windows XP, should work on older OS also)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Copy and paste the following into your address bar, then hit enter: %SystemRoot%\system32\cmd.exe

2. Now depending on how you installed MySQL on your system, either with or without PHPTriad, you need to browse to that directory bin folder.

For example, if you did use PHPTriad, type cd c:\apache\mysql\bin.


3. For BACKING UP:

Type mysqldump -u username --opt database_name > backupfile.sql, filling in username and database_name with the correct values.

This method worked perfectly for me using the PHPTriad installation, should do the same with the other. If it asks you for a password, enter the password.


4. For RESTORING:

Type -u root -ppassword database_name < backupfile.sql in the command prompt.

You might get an error saying a table already exists, if so you need to clear your current database. Go into phpmyadmin and drop it that way. Be sure not to drop the whole database eliminating it, but just dropping the tables. Before doing this check your database backup you just created to make sure it actually created its and is not corrupt.

Thats it!


im having trouble trying to restore my sql file from my real boards to my test ones.

-root -password vbulletin < blakkboy_vb.sql

that is what im typing into the prompt but its saying that its not restoring.

can someone help me out who used triad to set this up?

blakkboy 02-17-2004 08:12 PM

could someone let me know what exactly i did wrong so i can import my db to my computer forums

Andreas 02-17-2004 08:34 PM

Try

mysql -u root -p vbulletin < blakkboy_vb.sql

blakkboy 02-17-2004 09:00 PM

^^^^^^^^ your a life saver, thanx buddy

Lexx 02-17-2004 09:48 PM

Hi

I'm working on getting a handle on vB3 and have it running on my local computer so I can make forums and adjust "things".

A fresh untouched vB3 is sitting on a remote live server with several test messages on it.

What files and/directories do I need to upload from my home computer with the modified forums to update the live vb3 on my remote server so it looks and act like my finished version from my home computer?

I want the appearance of the remote vB3 to be the same as the "adjusted" home version of vB3, but I don't want the new adjusted vB3 (with new forums etc.) to mess up the database on the live server

How do I handle this merging of live database on the remote server with the newly adjusted vB3 uploaded from my localhost machine?

Any help is appreciated. I'm pretty new at this stuff

Thanks

Andreas 02-17-2004 10:00 PM

I'd do the following:

1) Make sure both run the same version
2) Shut down the live board
3) Make a backup of all files and the database (just in case anything goes wrong)
4) Upload all files form your test board
5) Export style & language from your testbord
6) Import both at your live board
7) If you made changes to the database structue do the same changes to the live system
8) Check if everything is ok
9) Open the live board


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02084 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,839KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete