vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 2.x Full Releases (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   vBindex (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=37021)

NTLDR 07-26-2002 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by iblis
NTLDR: I used the code from the "welcome panel" to.. but my index.php is not in the /forum directory..

so the avatar image gets broken, pointing to www.domain.com/avatar.php ..

the correct url would be www.domain.com/forum/avatar.php ..

but I cant find the <a> to fix it :(

You need to change the follwoing:

PHP Code:

if ($bbuserinfo[userid]!=0) {
  
$avatarurl=getavatarurl($bbuserinfo[userid]);
  if (
$avatarurl=='') {
    
$avatarurl='images/avatars/noavatar.gif';
  }
  
$avatarimage='<a href="member.php?s='.$session[sessionhash].'&action=editavatar"><img src="'.$avatarurl.'" border="0">';
} else {
  
$avatarimage='<a href="register.php?s='.$session[sessionhash].'&action=signup"><img src="images/avatars/guestavatar.gif" border="0"></a>';


Change the paths for guestavatar.gif and noavatar.gif, also change the href's for member.php and register.php (you can use $bburl to point to your forums directory). You also need to change:

PHP Code:

  $avatarimage='<a href="member.php?s='.$session[sessionhash].'&action=editavatar"><img src="'.$avatarurl.'" border="0">'

To:

PHP Code:

  $avatarimage='<a href="$bburl/member.php?s='.$session[sessionhash].'&action=editavatar"><img src="forums-path'.$avatarurl.'" border="0">'

The last change should work but is untested.

NTLDR 07-26-2002 06:06 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Grower
Also there is an error on first few lines where templatesused string is filled (missing commas) which caused extra queries. Here is fixed code:
I would also highly recommend everybody does this for all templates that are used in there vBindex, I never got round to doing it properly and have gone through and made sure every template was added and it has saved me 12 queries on my vBindex page, thanks for reminding me to do this ;)

Sigon 07-26-2002 10:07 PM

i tried the avatar fix and did not get anywhere with it.
www.mediaphorums.com
Any help?

mbaskett 07-28-2002 09:02 AM

NTLDR:

I've been having the same problems with most users ever online that has been posted about numerous times here. I've sifted through the code extensively, even commented out the Who's online today section of code. Still had the problem, Deleted the code, still had the problem.

I'm still looking into the cause, but the most ever users online works fine until somebody loads home.php, then it reverts the number to however many users are online at that time. :/

Any ideas? I *may have found the problem, or at least something that may lead us to the problem.

When examining the queries that occur just before the update of the template, in home.php I found a query:

Code:

Query: SELECT template FROM template WHERE title='maxloggedin' AND (templatesetid=-1 OR templatesetid='5') ORDER BY templatesetid DESC LIMIT 1
Then I looked at the db record for any and all entries in the template table. Found one matching title='maxloggedin' but its templatesetid is -2.

I thought this a bit odd, so I examined the queries around the same update query on the index.php (my forumshome page) and found no similar query.

Now I know that this query is being generated in the ./admin/functions.php file that is called from ./global.php, but I'm wondering why home.php is creating it in the first place, as index.php doesn't, besides the templatesetid's called for in the query don't match the actual id is shows in the db table.

I'm going to keep looking into this, but I'd appreciate any input/suggestions/help you could give, as this 'quirk' is starting to frustrate me....

Thanks,

mbaskett 07-28-2002 09:35 AM

Okay,

Good news... no, GREAT news... I was going along the lines of thinking in my last post... and edited the record in the templates table to make the 'maxloggedin' record have a templatesetid of -1

I did that edit and then waited on my board for the user count to go up, increase the max users online count, and then for the current number of users online to go below that. Once that happened, I loaded my home.php page, then went back to index.php and it's HOLDING the CORRECT count!!!!!

So, for those of you out there that are having this problem, before you delete the who's onlinetoday code, try this fix and post up if it solves it... It seems to work for me, and I'm going to add the whosonlinetoday code back in to see if it works again... will post results once that's done.

Edit
Have Mystics Whos Online Today hack re-installed and the count seems to be working. Will see how it holds up throughout the week. (we had problems with the onlinetoday count resetting every 24 hours, but I think the db record change will solve that as well.)

I don't know of any adverse effects of making this change. I don't *think* there will be any, but if anyone knows differently, please post up and let me/us know. If I find any, I'll be sure to let eveyone know as well.....

JJR512 07-28-2002 10:54 AM

The maxloggedin template should have a templatesetid of -2. I also don't know what difference it will make, but that's how it is by default.

I think the problem you all are having is because the index.php file in this hack is missing this:
PHP Code:

$loadbirthdays=1;
$loadmaxusers=1

This needs to be near the top of index.php, just under the $templatesused bits. You'll see it's in vBulletin's own index.php. I've made a similar hack to this one, only I've never released it, and had the same problem with the maxonline record getting reset to the current number whenever someone loaded my home page. Putting those lines in fixed it. It's only the loadmaxusers line that you really need to fix this problem, but you should probably have the loadbirthdays line, too.

mbaskett 07-28-2002 06:22 PM

Confirmed JJR512: that does work, and I like it much better.... plus it saved me a couple of queries!

EA Junkie 07-28-2002 07:49 PM

Hmm... I think I followed the instructions correctly, but when I load the new index page it's blank. Just a white screen? Any suggestions... Please...

Thanks in advance!

grooveh 07-30-2002 11:25 PM

I recently installed this hack and first and foremost, kudos for this meli-melo of hacks. I think you put them together excellently. This really adds a lot to my forum.

I have a couple of questions and am wondering if someone can point me in the right direction here.

1) On the news part, I'd love to be able to only display, say the 1st paragraph of a thread on the home page, with a read full>> button going to the thread with the full article. I've seen a few of the other hacks with something like this, but for the life of me, cant seem to be able to piece them together properly. Is there a simple way to do this, that I'm just missing???

The other thing is that I'm having a devil of a time trying to get some html to post properly when posted on the front page. eg: i put an img src to point to an image. Worked on the actual forum page, but on the front page, all it shows is the code, not the picture.

I would be very grateful to anyone that can help me. I've been beating my head against my desk for a while now trying to get something to work.

Cheers!

countryboy713 07-31-2002 07:46 AM

i seem to be having a slight problem with this. whenever i try to post news on the front page i get this MySQL error:

Quote:

Database error in vBulletin 2.2.6:

Invalid SQL: INSERT INTO post (postid,threadid,title,username,userid,dateline,at tachmentid,pagetext,allowsmilie,showsignature,ipad dress,iconid,visible,topic) VALUES (NULL,'5','Site Open!','CoUnTrYbOy','2','1028104984','0','welcome' ,'1','0','IPADDRESS'')
mysql error: Unknown column 'topic' in 'field list'

mysql error number: 1054

Date: Wednesday 31st of July 2002 04:43:04 AM
Script: http://www.digitalkore.net/forums/forums/newthread.php
Referer: http://www.digitalkore.net/forums/ne...ead&forumid=45
i edited out the spot that had my IP and put in IPADDRESS in its place

if anyone can help i'd be extremely greatful.

countryboy713 07-31-2002 08:56 AM

it will only let me reply to threads, not create any.

NTLDR 07-31-2002 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by countryboy713
it will only let me reply to threads, not create any.
This isn't caused by the vBindex hack and has something to do with when you have edited newthread.php.

You need to find the query thats causing the problem and try removing topic in the query, or check that you have installed the hack that this is for correctly.

NTLDR 07-31-2002 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by EA Junkie
Hmm... I think I followed the instructions correctly, but when I load the new index page it's blank. Just a white screen? Any suggestions... Please...

Thanks in advance!

Did you add all the templates correctly? It sounds like its a template problem you have, check that you have added all the home_ and home templates.

NTLDR 07-31-2002 02:42 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by JJR512
The maxloggedin template should have a templatesetid of -2. I also don't know what difference it will make, but that's how it is by default.

I think the problem you all are having is because the index.php file in this hack is missing this:
PHP Code:

$loadbirthdays=1;
$loadmaxusers=1

This needs to be near the top of index.php, just under the $templatesused bits. You'll see it's in vBulletin's own index.php. I've made a similar hack to this one, only I've never released it, and had the same problem with the maxonline record getting reset to the current number whenever someone loaded my home page. Putting those lines in fixed it. It's only the loadmaxusers line that you really need to fix this problem, but you should probably have the loadbirthdays line, too.

Thanks for the fix JJR512, this has been the one thing that has allways bugged me since this hack was released, although it has worked fine for me with just the who's online today hack removed from the vBindex file it hasn't for everyone else and this also cuts the number of queries down by 2.

NTLDR 07-31-2002 02:46 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by grooveh
1) On the news part, I'd love to be able to only display, say the 1st paragraph of a thread on the home page, with a read full>> button going to the thread with the full article. I've seen a few of the other hacks with something like this, but for the life of me, cant seem to be able to piece them together properly. Is there a simple way to do this, that I'm just missing???
Can you recall what hacks do use this method? If you can I can take a look at them and I can probably work out how to integrate this into this hack but adding in the code for that function.

Quote:

Originally posted by grooveh
The other thing is that I'm having a devil of a time trying to get some html to post properly when posted on the front page. eg: i put an img src to point to an image. Worked on the actual forum page, but on the front page, all it shows is the code, not the picture.
HTML to my knowlage will not work on the home page in posts, I think it only parses vB Code and Smiles, this is something I am going to look into for when I re-release this hack as I have el3m3nt's permission to do so now.

mtf169 07-31-2002 06:18 PM

Do you have a version of this hack with all of the fixes implemented that I've been reading about in previous posts? If not, when do you expect to have the next release set?

NTLDR 07-31-2002 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by mtf169
Do you have a version of this hack with all of the fixes implemented that I've been reading about in previous posts? If not, when do you expect to have the next release set?
I expect to release a new version of this hack in the next couple of weeks with all the fixes and hopefully some new features within the next couple of weeks.

grooveh 07-31-2002 07:12 PM

Cheers, mate!

I think that Logician's (vportal i think) has that function included. I have seen a few others out there...but none compare to the functionality of the vbindex!

As far as html, if i could find a way to put an image to start the news, and then the news right below it...I'd be as happy as being able to put html in my thread on the home page.

Thanks again!

grooveh 08-01-2002 08:37 PM

NTLDR: I got that working in my vbindex script today, with a little help from Logician himself! It took a lot of farting around, but I have it integrated now.

What I'd love to see is how to embed photos in the vbindex (say at the beginning of a thread).....do you know any way to do this?

NTLDR 08-01-2002 09:20 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by grooveh
What I'd love to see is how to embed photos in the vbindex (say at the beginning of a thread).....do you know any way to do this?
Just use vB Code to insert an image at the start of the thread.

grooveh 08-02-2002 01:53 AM

Quote:

Just use vB Code to insert an image at the start of the thread.

Easier said than done. It works fine in the actual forum, but in vbindex, it shows up as a hyperlink to the image, that pops up in a new window when clicked.


Cheers! :laugh:

NTLDR 08-02-2002 10:17 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by grooveh
Easier said than done. It works fine in the actual forum, but in vbindex, it shows up as a hyperlink to the image, that pops up in a new window when clicked.
Strange, I thought this worked. Anyway I have this working in the new release of this hack along with the users avatar in the news posts.

grooveh 08-02-2002 11:39 PM

sounds good.

When are you planning on releasing v. 2.0? I'll be the first to beta it for you. Please let me know. I'm good to go anytime.

NTLDR 08-03-2002 08:30 PM

I hope to release it in the next two weeks, its built on the core of vBindex 1.3 and includes all the bugfixes a slightly revised layout and a few new fetaures.

Dean C 08-04-2002 01:36 PM

wicked ! :D

iAlex 08-04-2002 05:25 PM

Question... I use vbindex just to include the poll on my mainpage, I don't need the rest of the features. And I would like to make the poll question a link to the thread it was posted in but I can't seem to figure out how. Any ideas?

NTLDR 08-04-2002 11:45 PM

I have just released vBindex v2 in this thread.

:banana:

Dan 12-31-2002 01:50 AM

Edit: Sorry wrong thread

salnet 07-17-2003 01:52 PM

Can you take a look at my page, please?
In the News-Section the threadicons aren't displayed, there is a red cross instead.
In the Latest Threads the icons aren't displayed, too.

Take a look here: http://www.thw-interaktiv.de


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01770 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,830KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)bbcode_code_printable
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (12)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (29)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete