vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 4.x Add-ons (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=245)
-   -   Major Additions - Product Review Forums ? Research, Review & Compare Items (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=269808)

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-14-2012 08:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ted S (Post 2347940)
Your server needs curl to run this function [curl lets us fetch the images from their remote source quickly and without worrying about limited php settings].

I enable curl in localhost xampp and ran that script, now there are NO images for the Products already listed, the add image from an url is gone too, all I have open to me now is to upload a new image!

This is no good at all for when upgrading my live site, why are the external linked images deleted?

Ted S 07-14-2012 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2347951)
I enable curl in localhost xampp and ran that script, now there are NO images for the Products already listed, the add image from an url is gone too, all I have open to me now is to upload a new image!

This is no good at all for when upgrading my live site, why are the external linked images deleted?

When a local image is made, the old link is replaced... One product, one image path.

Essentially the script just sees an image field. Whether it's internal or external is irrelevant to a browser or the script and thus calling one field avoids having to check two places for images. Speed is good.

That said, in the syncing process there's a number of sanity checks in place so if an image doesn't load, isn't a valid type, etc it gets skipped over and the external link remains in place. The process runs one image through at a time to avoid any issues with something breaking mid-way and reloads after 25 images to avoid browser timeouts.

But critical errors can always throw curve balls so for beta 3 we're adding a field to store the old link. Just in case.

When you re-ran the script did it say there was nothing to process? Are all of the products now showing local paths?

You can query: SELECT productid,mainphoto,uploadimg FROM pf_products

Ted S 07-14-2012 08:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2347951)
The add image from an url is gone too, all I have open to me now is to upload a new image!

Once you use the uploader on a product we assume you're uploading images [for that product] and hide the fields from view to keep the edit field less cluttered.

I'm not sure why you'd want to go from an uploaded image to an external url rather than another upload but you can reset it by changing the uploadimg flag to 0.

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-14-2012 10:24 AM

The err is mine Ted, I have made an error in the image view url in the core settings, just trying to figure out what I should have in there now. :)

ywwz 07-14-2012 10:27 AM

Doesnt' work for me. 4.2.0

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-14-2012 12:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hiya Ted,
doesn't matter what I change the "Image View Url" to in the core settings, when I check the view in Products listing page all I see is this text where the thumbnail should be:
Quote:

product photo for Peterson System Smooth 317 Small Briar
Attachment 139808
When I use firebug to check the image location I see this:
Code:

/productphotos/50014e732fa54_thumb.jpg
and a message saying "failed to load the given url"

In the core settings I have set the Image View Url to '/productphotos' but still cannot see any images anywhere.

I have the images in "C:\xampp\htdocs\vb4dev\productphotos"

Any ideas what I am doing wrong here TEd, it's all getting to be a bit of a headache now!

Ted S 07-14-2012 06:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ywwz (Post 2347976)
Doesnt' work for me. 4.2.0

Care to be more specific? Have you followed the install guide? A

Ted S 07-14-2012 06:30 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2348004)
Hiya Ted,
doesn't matter what I change the "Image View Url" to in the core settings, when I check the view in Products listing page all I see is this text where the thumbnail should be:

Attachment 139808
When I use firebug to check the image location I see this:
Code:

/productphotos/50014e732fa54_thumb.jpg
and a message saying "failed to load the given url"

In the core settings I have set the Image View Url to '/productphotos' but still cannot see any images anywhere.

I have the images in "C:\xampp\htdocs\vb4dev\productphotos"

Any ideas what I am doing wrong here TEd, it's all getting to be a bit of a headache now!

So /productphotos/ is the folder images are set to go to... but when you open it are the images there? If so, do they load properly?

If not, try changing one or two products to an external url [via your database or adding a new item], run the sync script again and see how those look.

You can run this version of admincp/productforums.php which will print debug code if you're not sure on the paths

Kirk Fitzgerald 07-14-2012 08:08 PM

Hi Ted, the images are present in the /productphotos/ folder but are not loading, I tried adding two new products on my test environment, nothing changed.

I uploaded the new admincp/productforums.php you posted but don't know how to get the debug stuff to show, I turn on debugging but have no idea how make it show!

I think it is going to be simpler for me to delete my existing install on my live site and re-install with 1.3 when it's stable and start afresh. I don't want my site to be running a patched up version of your brilliant mod, I should like it to be functioning fully and properly. :)

Ted S 07-14-2012 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kirk Fitzgerald (Post 2348131)
Hi Ted, the images are present in the /productphotos/ folder but are not loading, I tried adding two new products on my test environment, nothing changed.

I uploaded the new admincp/productforums.php you posted but don't know how to get the debug stuff to show, I turn on debugging but have no idea how make it show!

I think it is going to be simpler for me to delete my existing install on my live site and re-install with 1.3 when it's stable and start afresh. I don't want my site to be running a patched up version of your brilliant mod, I should like it to be functioning fully and properly. :)

In a controlled environment beta means "this mostly works, we're testing to fix the rest" but in mass software beta is more akin to "this works every way we've tested, now we need to see what happens when you try it under other settings". Simply put there is no way for us to account for all of the possible variations, setting, servers that exist out there so while it's painful to watch "issues" come in, it's how mods work.

And, given how vBulletin runs mods, upgraded or new, you get the exact same build structure.

..........

At this point there are no known issues with 1.3.0 beta including the image sync routine -- so obviously we'd like to understand what's happening to your site and if there is indeed an issue in the script before we roll this code to "stable".

So, if you're up for it, let's think through this...
  • Correct me if I'm wrong but images (3 versions per product) do exist in /productphotos/.
  • When you view one locally it loads and looks like, well, a product image
  • But when you load it from the page it does not.
Does that sum up the issue you are experiencing?

The debug script I provided only runs when you run the image sync process on new images. It's completely unrelated to the admin setting.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02331 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,758KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (2)bbcode_code_printable
  • (7)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (5)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (10)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete