vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   vBulletin 3 Articles (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=187)
-   -   Tutorial: How to run vBulletin onto your PC (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=39482)

blakkboy 09-17-2003 07:16 PM

so i shouldnt put anything for the password???? damn im getting confused

Azhrialilu 09-21-2003 10:24 AM

I didn't put a password and it works great :) if that's any help at all LOL

Dean C 09-21-2003 01:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blakkboy
so i shouldnt put anything for the password???? damn im getting confused

Yes :)

blakkboy 09-21-2003 10:10 PM

i get this now when chossing the updating config.php on the install page

Warning: Unlink failed (No such file or directory) in c:\apache\htdocs\forum\admin\install.php on line 305

Attempting to attach to database...

Warning: Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061) in c:\apache\htdocs\forum\admin\db_mysql.php on line 32

Warning: Supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in c:\apache\htdocs\forum\admin\db_mysql.php on line 47

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.

Click to go to the vBulletin website

Spyke1 09-28-2003 05:01 PM

i prefer using phpdev5

http://www.firepages.com.au/

Download, Install, Start Apache And Mysql The Upload The Vbulletin Fies, Use PHP My Admin To Make A Database And Install.

its easier, just 1 download and 1 install

Dean C 09-28-2003 06:02 PM

I used to use phpdev but it's no longer updated. They use old versions of php, mysql and apache. It's far better to install manually :)

chrisvonc 10-04-2003 02:44 PM

This was a GREAT thread, thank you!

kill_emma 10-04-2003 06:38 PM

alright, here's my problem.

i used this thread to dev my php site, and so far it's working, i wrote a news script, and that all works fine. until i noticed one problem.

PHP Code:

<?php  
 
if ($page != ""
 {  
 include (
"$page.html");  
 } 
 else
 {
 include(
"news/news.php"); 
 }
 
?>

if you know anything about php, you know what that does. my problem is, when i go to index.php?page=stuff, it's still giving me news/news.php, no change. at all.

so to troubleshoot this problem, i installed apache2triad. the code works. i tryed reinstalling the localhost using this thread. no change, the problem is still there.

can someone help?

Dean C 10-05-2003 10:40 AM

You probably have register globals turned off. You can't use $action = page to create a query string. You need to use $_REQUEST['page'] == 'whatever'

- miSt

kill_emma 10-05-2003 12:17 PM

ok, so now i'm using:

PHP Code:

            <?php  
                 
if ($_REQUEST['page'] != "")
                {  
                     include (
"$page");  
                 } 
                 else
                 {
                     include(
"news/news.php"); 
                 }
             
?>

this is an improvment. now the page changes when i go to index.php?page=stuff
now my only problem is that i get this error:
Quote:

Warning: main(): Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.;c:\php4\pear') in C:\network\Apache2\htdocs\index.php on line 39
line 39 is
PHP Code:

                     include ("$page"); 


assassingod 10-05-2003 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kill_emma
ok, so now i'm using:

PHP Code:

            <?php  
                 
if ($_REQUEST['page'] != "")
                {  
                     include (
"$page");  
                 } 
                 else
                 {
                     include(
"news/news.php"); 
                 }
             
?>

this is an improvment. now the page changes when i go to index.php?page=stuff
now my only problem is that i get this error:


line 39 is
PHP Code:

                     include ("$page"); 


Try using single quotes rather than double

Dean C 10-05-2003 03:39 PM

No you can't use single quotes. It has to be double quotes. You don't have have the $page variable set. That's why it's not working buddy ;)

kill_emma 10-05-2003 03:47 PM

thanks :)

eDiT:
hey bastard :D

assassingod 10-05-2003 03:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mist
No you can't use single quotes. It has to be double quotes. You don't have have the $page variable set. That's why it's not working buddy ;)

Single quotes have worked for me :shrug:

@kill_emma: heya prick:p ;)

Dean C 10-05-2003 04:16 PM

Cut that out both of you :)

Steve you can't single quote a variabe inside a function. Single quotes = complete parsing as text. Double quotes = parsing text + variables :)

assassingod 10-05-2003 04:23 PM

Ah right, I didn't see that variable in there.

kill_emma 10-05-2003 05:38 PM

hah, did i not tell you such things bastard?

assassingod 10-05-2003 05:56 PM

Yead m, but i dints likook at the code mcuhn

Dean C 10-05-2003 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kill_emma
hah, did i not tell you such things bastard?

Please refrain from making such rude remarks in future towards any members here at vBulletin.org

kill_emma 10-05-2003 06:27 PM

sorry, lol. it wasnt meant as a rude remark, its our uninomial nomenclature, or private nicknames if you will. i change my name alot and it's our way of knowing who we are ;)

assassingod 10-05-2003 06:29 PM

YEAH, Its a nick anme, mist, chilolll out man

kill_emma 10-05-2003 06:32 PM

-_- dude, dont post uness your sober, it makes you look really stupid when you dont.

assassingod 10-05-2003 06:34 PM

don tlel e hjow to ack m
m

Denko 10-05-2003 11:40 PM

Thanks, I'm on xp - followed your directions and it all worked perfectly despite knowing zero about Apache, MySQL and Php.

TheLab 10-06-2003 10:58 AM

Forget the post.. it was an error on my pc..

Exero 10-09-2003 02:47 AM

you could do this but then you can always get a server with PHP, MySQL& perl preinstalled
http://bandit.myftp.org/gts
its called Fireserv...i use it...

kill_emma 10-09-2003 07:08 PM

i think it's pretty much useless to keep mentioning software that will do it for you. this thread is to tell users how, and provide support if it doesnt work.

TECK 10-13-2003 07:04 AM

Thanks Emma. :)

Dean C 10-13-2003 03:42 PM

Btw Floren - remember sometime ago we trivialised on msn on how to get this working on my machine. It was to do with a proxy in internet explorer and my firewall. I actually installed apache2, php + mysql on my laptop the other week :)

CarolinaKid 10-21-2003 06:22 PM

THis might be the wrong place for this but we will see i followed you instructions and I think got everything setup right with apache, php, and Mysql. But then when I try to install forum i get errors

Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\forum\includes\db_mysql. php on line 333

Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\forum\includes\db_mysql. php on line 334

Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\forum\includes\db_mysql. php on line 133

I pretty sure i got config file set up right

$servername = '192.168.1.100'; <<< also tried local host
$dbusername = 'root';
$dbpassword = 'password';
$dbname = 'vbulletin';

Now the ? is what am i doing wrong

assassingod 10-21-2003 06:25 PM

For the servername try 127.0.0.1 or localhost

CarolinaKid 10-21-2003 06:33 PM

tryed localhost and 127.0.0.1 same results thanks for reply

kill_emma 10-23-2003 08:30 PM

make sure you check dbmysql.php on the specified lines, so that you get an idea of why you are getting the errors. if you cant find it from there, then make sure that your mysql is running, or possibly restart apache. beyond that, you may have to reinstall the entire thing.

CarolinaKid 10-23-2003 10:39 PM

I got it going thanks for all the help.

MindTrix 10-24-2003 04:00 PM

Im using php Triad and yeah i know its very very old :p But for some reason vb3 and vb2 etc work fine on it. Is it still ok to use do you think?

kill_emma 10-29-2003 09:03 PM

i would just uninstall triad, not only because you use the old version, but because installing it yourself helps you learn, which means that it will be easier for you to troubleshoot, instead of comming here ^_^

assassingod 10-30-2003 11:09 AM

Plus, if you ever plan on learning PHP, older version don't have as many functions as the current ones.

Josh Combs 11-03-2003 04:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TECK
[b]BACKUP-RESTORE ON localhost
(See also Velocd's tutorial)

[high]TOOLS NEEDED[/high]
- Open Command Window PowerToy - 0.5MB (for more info, visit Microsoft site)

NOTE: This PowerToy adds an "Open Command Window Here" context menu option on file system folders, giving you a quick way to open a command window (cmd.exe) pointing at the selected folder.

[high]BACKUP PROCEDURE[/high]
01. Create a new folder, called 'C:\sqlback'.

02. Right-click on the [high]C:\Network\MySQL\bin[/high] folder and select 'Open Command Window Here'. A CMD window will open.

NOTE: You can also manually browse to the folder. Click on Start > Run > Type [high]cmd[/high] in the 'Open:' area and hit Enter.
At the CMD prompt, type [high]C:[/high] and hit Enter.
Type [high]cd network[/high] and hit Enter.
Type [high]cd mysql[/high] and hit Enter.
Type [high]cd bin[/high] and hit Enter.

03. At the prompt, type:
mysqldump --opt -u[high]USERNAME[/high] -p[high]PASSWORD[/high] [high]DATABASENAME[/high] > c:/sqlback/bk060502.sql

NOTE: Change the highlighted values with your own. When done, you will see the command prompt.
060502: month date year (easier to remember the last date you backup your database). Change it with the corresponding date of your actual backup.

[high]RESTORE PROCEDURE[/high]
This is useful if you want to import onto your localhost the live forum database.

01. Right-click on the [high]C:\Network\MySQL\bin[/high] folder and select 'Open Command Window Here'.

02. At the prompt, type:
mysql -u[high]USERNAME[/high] -p[high]PASSWORD[/high] [high]DATABASENAME[/high] < c:/sqlback/bk060502.sql

NOTE: Change the highlighted values with your own. When done, you will see the command prompt.

I have done this and I still get the 1045 and 1044 errors.... Any help? I am using XP Home and using the cmd here feature to log into MySQL thanks for anyhelp.

Josh

Josh Combs 11-03-2003 08:25 PM

I got my problem fixed by using -uroot -p [nothing] to log into mysql :) Thanks for the awesome tutorial on how to install all of this stuff Teck!

MindTrix 11-06-2003 06:11 PM

02. Go to your Apache conf file (C:\Network\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf) and find:
#LoadModule ssl_module modules/mod_ssl.so

BELOW this, add:
LoadModule php4_module c:/network/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll

03. Still in httpd.conf, find:
AddType application/x-tar .tgz

BELOW this, add:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

04. Still in httpd.conf, set the files that Apache will serve if a directory is requested. Find:
DirectoryIndex index.html index.html.var

REPLACE it with:
DirectoryIndex index.php index.html index.php.var index.html.var

Could not find the following codes in the file so i couldnt do the step :s any ideas?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.02003 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,834KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (5)bbcode_php_printable
  • (6)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete