vb.org Archive

vb.org Archive (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/index.php)
-   Modification Graveyard (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=224)
-   -   Integration with vBulletin - News Slideshow (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=139529)

nyplaya47 09-04-2007 01:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolf32 (Post 1330981)
You might just be editing to wrong line. Where it says

Code:

.fpss_introtext h1
Change to
PHP Code:

.fpss_introtext h1 a {color:#FFFFFF} 

Of course change the color to your coice. ;)

Thanks alot for yor response but I tried that, and it didn't change the color of the font. I could change the font size and style, but not the color using your method.

However, by accident I found that (in mod_fpslideshow.php) changing:

$show_title = 1 // Show the slide title?
$show_introtext = 1; // Show the slide text?
$show_readmore = 1; // Show the slide 'read more' link?

to

$show_title = 0 // Show the slide title?
$show_introtext = 0; // Show the slide text?
$show_readmore = 1; // Show the slide 'read more' link?

Made the Font turn white. I was actually trying to turn off the news title and instead it made the font turn white. Call it a fluke or glitch, but I'm happy. Thanks for your help.:)

wolf32 09-04-2007 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nyplaya47 (Post 1332152)
Thanks alot for yor response but I tried that, and it didn't change the color of the font. I could change the font size and style, but not the color using your method.

However, by accident I found that (in mod_fpslideshow.php) changing:

$show_title = 1 // Show the slide title?
$show_introtext = 1; // Show the slide text?
$show_readmore = 1; // Show the slide 'read more' link?

to

$show_title = 0 // Show the slide title?
$show_introtext = 0; // Show the slide text?
$show_readmore = 1; // Show the slide 'read more' link?

Made the Font turn white. I was actually trying to turn off the news title and instead it made the font turn white. Call it a fluke or glitch, but I'm happy. Thanks for your help.:)

Glad to hear you got it working. ;)

MPDesignZ 09-13-2007 12:27 AM

Erm what do you mean by upload the module & install it? There is no product to import? I'm confused and I have a client that has purchased this script and I need to install it on his vb forum. So if there is a link for the product to import or a little bit more clear how to on where to install that would be great.

MP

wolf32 09-13-2007 11:08 PM

1. Upload the entire mod_fpslideshow folder to the root of your board (ex : /board/mod_fpslidehow/

2. now, open the mod_fpslideshow.php file

a. change the path to >>>> '/board/' or leave blank if your forum is located in the root.
b. add the forum ids you will be using ex: (119,80,22)
make sure you already have test threads created in these forums prior to adding this to your modules folder with thumbnails already attached to those threads and allowing guest downloading access via the admincp forum permissions.

b. find in mod_fpslideshow.php

Code:

$use_mootools        = 1;

and change the "1" to 0;

or you will get java errors and the slide will not work

3. Upload the mod_fpslideshow.php to your board/modules folder via ftp.

now, in your admincp cmps
>>modules >> add module >> php file
add the mod_fpslideshow.php

title = news
1. identifier = fpslideshow
2. clean file output? = yes
3. use module wrapper? = no

save, then activate the file on your cmps.

I hope that clears up the confusion MP.

MPDesignZ 09-14-2007 11:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolf32 (Post 1338642)
1. Upload the entire mod_fpslideshow folder to the root of your board (ex : /board/mod_fpslidehow/

2. now, open the mod_fpslideshow.php file

a. change the path to >>>> '/board/' or leave blank if your forum is located in the root.
b. add the forum ids you will be using ex: (119,80,22)
make sure you already have test threads created in these forums prior to adding this to your modules folder with thumbnails already attached to those threads and allowing guest downloading access via the admincp forum permissions.

b. find in mod_fpslideshow.php

Code:

$use_mootools        = 1;

and change the "1" to 0;

or you will get java errors and the slide will not work

3. Upload the mod_fpslideshow.php to your board/modules folder via ftp.

now, in your admincp cmps
>>modules >> add module >> php file
add the mod_fpslideshow.php

title = news
1. identifier = fpslideshow
2. clean file output? = yes
3. use module wrapper? = no

save, then activate the file on your cmps.

I hope that clears up the confusion MP.

Thanks, this is supposed to be used only with the vbadvanced CMPS system? If so do you know if there is something that would just put this on the front of a regular forum without the portal option?

MP

wolf32 09-14-2007 08:05 PM

Erm, I'm sure it could be used with any CMPS, but I haven't tried it so...not quite sure. I don't know of anything that would place this on a non portal page. Sorry. :(

What you could do is just install the CMPS on the forum itself and display just this module, but I take no responsibility if you choose to do so. lol.

MPDesignZ 09-15-2007 02:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolf32 (Post 1339121)
Erm, I'm sure it could be used with any CMPS, but I haven't tried it so...not quite sure. I don't know of anything that would place this on a non portal page. Sorry. :(

What you could do is just install the CMPS on the forum itself and display just this module, but I take no responsibility if you choose to do so. lol.

Ok I'll let me client know and see what we can do. Thanks

MP

Merrillizer 09-25-2007 04:18 AM

Getting errors above the slideshow....and the latest posts are not showing in it. It just shows one old thread and never scrolls....

Code:

Warning: fopen(/var/www/forums/clientscript/mod_fpslideshow/mod_fpslideshow.js) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /modules/slideshow.php on line 193

Warning: fwrite(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /modules/slideshow.php on line 194

Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /modules/slideshow.php on line 195

What did I do wrong? LOL

Aeolian 09-28-2007 01:57 AM

don't know if i posted this before, but here is my version of 'Frontpage Slideshow' for vB
http://www.amadergaan.com/forum/index.php

thanks

ps: if anyone is wondering i might be help!

MPDesignZ 09-28-2007 07:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolf32 (Post 1338642)

a. change the path to >>>> '/board/' or leave blank if your forum is located in the root.
b. add the forum ids you will be using ex: (119,80,22)
make sure you already have test threads created in these forums prior to adding this to your modules folder with thumbnails already attached to those threads and allowing guest downloading access via the admincp forum permissions.

OK I have questions about this step here. 1) there is no path to modify in the file & 2 there is no place to put forum ids. I need you to be more specific like what is the code for this?



EDIT: Found these things in the slideshow.php file that is for download here.


EDIT 2: Ok this did not work I need specific instructions for install. There are 2 different files you say to modify stuff ina file that is not in that file and its in the attached file for this module instead. I need to know exactly how to get this to work in CMPS.

MP

MP

wolf32 10-01-2007 12:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MPDesignZ (Post 1349163)
OK I have questions about this step here. 1) there is no path to modify in the file & 2 there is no place to put forum ids. I need you to be more specific like what is the code for this?



EDIT: Found these things in the slideshow.php file that is for download here.


EDIT 2: Ok this did not work I need specific instructions for install. There are 2 different files you say to modify stuff ina file that is not in that file and its in the attached file for this module instead. I need to know exactly how to get this to work in CMPS.

MP

MP

The forum ID's and File Path are located in the file - mod_fpslideshow.php

This file is included in the add-on you purchased from Joomla.

Here's a snippet of what it should look like.
Code:

// vBulletin Settings
$forumid                                = array(1,2,3,etc);        // Set forum IDs here.
$limit                                        = '8';                                        // Limit the displayed slides
$vbpath                                        = '';                                        // Path to vBulletin, e.g. "forums/", or leave as is for root.

You shouldn't have to edit the file you downloaded from this thread.

glorify 10-09-2007 11:16 PM

If I were starting this from scratch, I'd just head to Joomla and dload their package for vb. Very easy to install with instructions.

Figured out myself how to install the newest version into a vba block. Tweaked the look a tad. Wallah.

I accomplished the look with one set of tr/td tags and I switched out the default slideshow background image. It would take a novice no time at all.

Check it out

Lionel 10-09-2007 11:39 PM

I'll be releasing this week something much better than joomla. You can see it on my homepage. Yo will have 3 choices of display and this can hold thousands of images without a single query and will load instantly

glorify 10-09-2007 11:47 PM

I'm down if it works. Especiallly with the no queries.

Lionel 10-09-2007 11:53 PM

It has been working perfectly for me for the past 6-8 months. I finally decided to package it and am allowing for 3 diferent ways to display, fully customizable in admincp

glorify 10-09-2007 11:54 PM

Nice. I'll look forward to testing it for ya.

MPDesignZ 10-12-2007 09:32 PM

Ok its me again. My client got the package from the page for vbulletin. I've modified the file and done everything just the way it says and I get a blank page with an outline of the slideshow script viewer. Anyone have any idea what the prob is?

MP

glorify 10-12-2007 10:43 PM

Got a screen?

MPDesignZ 10-12-2007 10:49 PM

It just makes the entire thing go blank. Everything goes away until I disable the plugin. Don't have a screen shot of a blank white page :D

MP

glorify 10-13-2007 12:26 AM

It shouldn't be a plugin. You should be using the php file in your forums/modules directory, then add a module (php module) using mod_fpslideshow as your php file.

MPDesignZ 10-13-2007 12:44 AM

Its not a plugin. Its the module thing.

MP

anstosser 10-13-2007 10:26 PM

Hey folks... great mod. I installed it with joomla: works perfect. But I´ve got Problems with vBulletin: Everything done as described, but it looks like this. see screenshot.
Perhaps the .css-file does not fit (wrong dir?!!?!)

***EDIT***
I got it. Description says "upload to clientscript"... tzzzz.... it needs to be uploaded to forums-root.

glorify 10-13-2007 11:50 PM

Yep, that's it. I have my mod_fpslideshow folder in my public_html file.

rapidphim 10-17-2007 05:58 AM

darn it, reading through 26 pages is pain in the neck... for whatever reason, my mod_fpslideshow.php doesn't have any vB information. After installed it, I received this error
Code:

Direct Access to this location is not allowed.
What the heck is that all about?

rapidphim 10-18-2007 01:23 PM

Sorry for bumping this one... anyone knows how to fix?

MPDesignZ 10-18-2007 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rapidphim (Post 1362106)
darn it, reading through 26 pages is pain in the neck... for whatever reason, my mod_fpslideshow.php doesn't have any vB information. After installed it, I received this error
Code:

Direct Access to this location is not allowed.
What the heck is that all about?

Basically it is calling the wrong file in teh browser to view anything. The php code has a clause in it that will not allow you to see the contents of it in the browser because you are trying to go directly to the file instead of going through the chain of links so to speak. In order for it to work with vbulletin you will need to contact the Joomla works people where you bought the script from and ask for an upgrade for the vbulletin package. They will mail it to you after verifying that you purchased the product with them.

Let me clarify on my own position about this particular system. I'm still having the same problem with this. I have just a blank page. We had to disable it completely. I have followed all the instructions and variations of instructions on the pages here and still get the same thing. No matter where I put the directory I get a blank page. I am using the module for CMPS and we have CMPS installed. We also got tghe updated files from teh Joomla Works people. I really need to get this working.

MP

mrjbs 10-21-2007 10:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU (Post 1281590)
as it turned out... either I was confused by part of the language of your post or its just different for mine... I found out that the mod_fpslideshow folder was in the wrong place, as the mod_fpslideshow folder needed to be in the root folder of my site (same LEVEL as one's forums FOLDER), NOT same as the root of one's "board". (I assumed by "board" you meant "forums".)
ie: mine had to be at:
/home/dbname/public_html/mod_fpslideshow/

NOT '/forums/mod_fpslideshow/' as said. (again, I assumed by "board" you meant "forums".)


I had the same issue...thanks to you, it's running.:up:

rickyreter 10-23-2007 05:46 PM

Hi,could some kind person get this too work please...bit of a newbie have the files etc...but cant get it to work?

Please please

Pete:D

TheBlackPoet 10-25-2007 06:16 PM

is there a way to contact joomlaworks to redownload the app???

turkforum 10-25-2007 06:52 PM

I don't knbow what is wrong but I am geting strange errors..
I got it work and able to show attached pictures in firefox but explorer can't seem to show pictures of news..

Here is example link..
http://www.turkforum.net/pasali.php?...=kulturvesanat
Pls advice..

TheBlackPoet 10-25-2007 07:16 PM

Place your mod_fpslideshow folder inside your forum directory



in your mod_fpslideshow.php open it and edit this:

// vBulletin Settings
$forumid = array(put your forum id's here); // Set forum IDs here.

$limit = 'how many slide do you want????'; // Limit the displayed slides

$vbpath = 'leave this blannk'; // Path to vBulletin, e.g. "forums/", or leave as is for root.


take your mod_fpslideshow.php dump that one in your modules directory.....

this is how i got mine to work

turkforum 10-25-2007 07:48 PM

Place your mod_fpslideshow folder inside your forum directory

Quote:

in your mod_fpslideshow.php open it and edit this:
// vBulletin Settings
$forumid = array(put your forum id's here); // Set forum IDs here.
$limit = 'how many slide do you want????'; // Limit the displayed slides
$vbpath = 'leave this blannk'; // Path to vBulletin, e.g. "forums/", or leave as is for root.
take your mod_fpslideshow.php dump that one in your modules directory.....
this is how i got mine to work
You kind a have same problem with me..
You also didn't get pictures to show and the attached picture is showing on both browsers..So it is I think cache issue?

Check it out..

TheBlackPoet 10-25-2007 08:10 PM

i dont have a problem with the program... mine works just fine.....

turkforum 10-25-2007 08:59 PM

Quote:

i dont have a problem with the program... mine works just fine.....
You do have a problem..As I said when I get in to ypur side, I can't see your slide image..It is not fetching or loading..Thats the issue we both facing..

Ask someone else that never got in to your site to test it in IE and Firefox..
You will see what I mean.. :)

TheMilkCarton 10-26-2007 08:56 AM

Uhh... I'm guessing you didn't log in to your site in IE?

You have to enable Guests to view Attachments in the forum you integrate with the slideshow.

TheBlackPoet 10-26-2007 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheMilkCarton (Post 1368975)
Uhh... I'm guessing you didn't log in to your site in IE?

You have to enable Guests to view Attachments in the forum you integrate with the slideshow.



you gotta love simplicity!!!!!!

TheBlackPoet 11-02-2007 03:07 AM

does anyone know where i can go to re=download the commercial version???

rapidphim 11-02-2007 03:56 AM

<a href="http://forum.joomlaworks.gr/index.php" target="_blank">http://forum.joomlaworks.gr/index.php</a>

MPDesignZ 11-06-2007 03:13 AM

Still cannot get this to work. This is extremely frustrating for something that was a paid for thing and really buggy. :(

I've edited the mod_fpslideshow.php file to reflect the forum id's, and the path. The path is in the root of the web site. So there is no change that needs to go there. The mod_fpslideshow directory has been uploaded to the forum root and as I said before the forum is the actual web site so its uploaded in the root of the site. I've even CHMOD the folder mod_fpslideshow to 777 thinking this might be a prob as well, nothing no help at all. I have made a module in CMPS according to the directions and set it to be the middle (center) module on the front page. I still get a blank page, its nothing and white I've attached a screen shot of it. I'm using Firefox for a browser if this helps at all. As long as I have this slideshow enabled I get the blank picture. If I take it off the front page then the rest of the page shows just fine. We really need this to work and help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

MP

yoyoyoyo 11-06-2007 03:28 AM

I am sorry - I can't help you, but I know that Lionel is working on a newer and much better (paid) mod, which he will hopefully release soon :) so - if anyone is considering buying the joomlaworks script - hold off for a bit and you will be pleasently surprised ;)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.01988 seconds
  • Memory Usage 1,848KB
  • Queries Executed 10 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (7)bbcode_code_printable
  • (1)bbcode_php_printable
  • (11)bbcode_quote_printable
  • (1)footer
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (6)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)printthread
  • (40)printthreadbit
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • postbit
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./printthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode_alt.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • printthread_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • printthread_post
  • printthread_complete