PDA

View Full Version : How to insert a custom template?


Gray Matter
11-02-2005, 07:33 PM
Hi,

I'm trying to link to a template I made within another template. I'm obviously doing this so that the info within the custom template can be shown in the other templates automatically. I tried adding $templatename to the template by that hasn't worked. How might I do this? :ermm:

fly
11-02-2005, 11:59 PM
Since no one has answered, I'll try to help...

In vB3.0, i used this code in phpinclude_start to create the variable name for template.

eval('$navbar2 = "' . fetch_template('navbar2') . '";');

In vB3.5, you'd need to make a plugin with this code in global_start. There may be a better way to do it, but that should work. Hell, just calling the fetch_template in the template itself may work. Dunno.

Edit: Or put it in the hook that would be executed wherever you're working...

Guest190829
11-03-2005, 01:21 AM
Or you using this new template with a new file or a default vbulletin style?

Gray Matter
11-03-2005, 02:22 AM
Since no one has answered, I'll try to help...

In vB3.0, i used this code in phpinclude_start to create the variable name for template.

eval('$navbar2 = "' . fetch_template('navbar2') . '";');

In vB3.5, you'd need to make a plugin with this code in global_start. There may be a better way to do it, but that should work. Hell, just calling the fetch_template in the template itself may work. Dunno.

Edit: Or put it in the hook that would be executed wherever you're working...

Thanks, but I really don't know how to do any of that just yet. :ermm:

Or you using this new template with a new file or a default vbulletin style?

I'm using a custom style. :)

Guest190829
11-03-2005, 03:01 AM
Opps, I meant to say default file not style. :D

fly
11-03-2005, 11:44 AM
Thanks, but I really don't know how to do any of that just yet. :ermm:
In the admincp, go to add new plugin.

For hook name, find: global_start.

For title, call it: I eat babies with syrup (or whatever)

In the plugin PHP section put:
eval('$mytemplatevariable = "' . fetch_template('the_name_of_my_template') . '";');
(Change the_name_of_my_template to whatever the template name is.)

Then set YES for 'my plugin is active'.

Then put $mytemplatevariable in any template where you want it to show up.