Log in

View Full Version : Thread Starter on postbit.


deathemperor
10-20-2005, 10:00 PM
I saw this on a Burning Board 2.3.3 system, but vb misses it so I make it for my board and to share it here.

Pretty simple in a mind of a coder, just one line of template condition.

It won't show in the first post of the thread because, of course first poster is the thread starter.

FIND IN TEMPLATES postbit:

<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>


ADD BELOW:

<if condition="$thread['postuserid'] == $post['userid'] && $thread['firstpostid'] != $post['postid']"><div>$vbphrase[thread_starter] <img alt="$vbphrase[thread_starter]" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/thread_starter.gif" /></div>
</if>



put the file thread_starter.gif in your images/misc directory. You can use my image in the attachment.

repeat the method if you want to show it on postbit_legacy, and of course you can put it anywhere you feel like in the postbit.

Live Demo: http://www.holvn.org


Enjoy and remember to click install ! ^^

Azhrialilu
10-21-2005, 09:09 AM
Sometimes the simplest ones are the nicest :D Thanx!

Snake
10-21-2005, 10:03 AM
Wohoo thanks...

Boofo
10-22-2005, 01:21 AM
Can you post this in a text file please so others can use it if they need to re-install or upgrade? ;)

deathemperor
10-22-2005, 03:02 AM
Can you post this in a text file please so others can use it if they need to re-install or upgrade?
as you desire, updated

Mathiau
12-23-2005, 01:44 AM
mmm, how could i make this work with the post count search hack...


<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: <a href="search.php?do=finduser&u=$post[userid]">$post[posts]</a>
</div>

deathemperor
12-23-2005, 01:48 AM
you can add:

<div><if condition="$thread['postuserid'] == $post['userid'] && $thread['firstpostid'] != $post['postid']">$vbphrase[thread_starter] <img alt="$vbphrase[thread_starter]" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/thread_starter.gif" /></if>
</div>

below the code you give.

TyleR
12-23-2005, 01:50 AM
<div><if condition="$thread['postuserid'] == $post['userid'] && $thread['firstpostid'] != $post['postid']">$vbphrase[thread_starter] <img alt="$vbphrase[thread_starter]" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/thread_starter.gif" /></if>
</div>


rather than possibly breaking someone's XHTML compliance, you should wrap the conditional around the div tag's, so it'd be:


<if condition="$thread['postuserid'] == $post['userid'] && $thread['firstpostid'] != $post['postid']"><div>$vbphrase[thread_starter] <img alt="$vbphrase[thread_starter]" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/thread_starter.gif" />
</div></if>

deathemperor
12-23-2005, 01:59 AM
oops, my bad.

thanks for poiting me out, hack edited.

Mike-D
10-21-2006, 04:31 PM
Does someone knows how to place the icon over the horizontal line in the postbit_legacy template?

Template postbit_legacy
<if condition="$post['title']"><strong>$post[title]</strong></if>
<if condition="$thread['postuserid'] == $post['userid'] && $thread['firstpostid'] != $post['postid']">
<div class="smallfont">
<img class="thread_starter" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/thread_starter.gif" alt="Themenautor" align="$stylevar[right]" /></div>
</if>
The Bold letters is the code I use. Below you can see 2 attachments:

The 1st one is the problem I have right now.
The 2nd one is that what I'd like to have. Note: This pic is photoshoped!!! It should just tell you how I'd get placed the icon.

Someone here who knows how to solve the problem? -Mike

Despairing
10-23-2006, 09:07 PM
Installed and working. :) <3

Tralala
12-06-2007, 02:05 PM
Is this working with 3.6.x? I ask because it's not working for me, even on the default template, and I'm wondering what I might be doing wrong.

rrudeboy
07-25-2009, 01:49 PM
v3.8.2, installed... suddenly started working :}