Log in

View Full Version : UserID in postbit_legacy


Lea Verou
10-17-2005, 10:00 PM
This little modification adds a field in postbit_legacy (the vertical/classic one) for the userID, under the posts number. If guest posting is allowed the field will not be displayed in the postbit at all for the guests. :)

Instructions:

In the template postbit_legacy find:
<div>
$vbphrase[posts]: $post[posts]
</div>
Add below:
<if condition="$post[userid]">
<div>UserID: $post[userid]</div>
</if>
You're done! :)

Let me know if you'd like the UserID somewhere else in the postbit.

If you liked it and are using it don't forget to click INSTALL! :)

hivelord
10-18-2005, 03:35 AM
Cool idea.

Snake
10-18-2005, 12:02 PM
Oh man that's what I've been looking for. Thanks!

Scooter-project
10-20-2005, 04:38 PM
thank you very much!!!!

:D

if i want to change "userID" whit something else how can i do?

Lea Verou
10-20-2005, 04:48 PM
thank you very much!!!!

:D

if i want to change "userID" whit something else how can i do?

Just change "UserID" in the template addition.
You can also make it as a phrase by adding a phrase called (for example) "userid_postbit" in the GLOBAL group and then in the template instead of UserID put $vbphrase[userid_postbit].
Wou can name the phrase whatever you like, userid_postbit is just an example to show you how it works ;)
Ask me if you have more questions :)

Andyrew
10-24-2005, 11:05 PM
My forum uses the horizontal how do i change it..?

It's ok i found it.

rb290
10-25-2005, 07:10 AM
thanks installed.

rb290
10-25-2005, 07:11 AM
any ideas on how to put space between join date, posts, etc. cause it kinda looks stacked up ontop of eachother

Lea Verou
10-25-2005, 09:38 AM
any ideas on how to put space between join date, posts, etc. cause it kinda looks stacked up ontop of eachother

Can you provide a screenshot with an arrow showing where you'd like that?
Anyway, most of the times tis can be done with an extra <br /> :)

kungfujesus
04-10-2006, 06:03 AM
Beautiful. Nothing better than showing your members exactly where they stand in the n00b department.
Installed on 3.5.4 with no problems.

hotwheels
04-14-2006, 11:47 PM
very nice and great position of the id

pedroenf
06-13-2006, 04:14 PM
I there. And what about using UserID in non-vertical postbit_legacy? Do you know how? Thanks.

Lea Verou
06-14-2006, 07:57 AM
I there. And what about using UserID in non-vertical postbit_legacy? Do you know how? Thanks.
The code that you place is the same. You just place it in a slightly different place and in the template postbit instead of postbit_legacy.

pedroenf
06-15-2006, 03:58 PM
I thank you for your help, but could ou be more specific please? Place it where exactly? Sorry but i'm a zero in this issues.

Lea Verou
06-15-2006, 07:57 PM
Now that I think of it, search for the same exact code in template "postbit" and do the same thing. :)

pedroenf
06-15-2006, 10:10 PM
Yes i've tryed that and didn't work. Any ideas?

pedroenf
06-17-2006, 09:47 AM
Michelle?!

pedroenf
06-24-2006, 10:40 PM
Problem solved. I think it was from a template rebuiuld but... Not shure. Thanks anyway.

aveon
06-24-2006, 11:48 PM
thanx thats a good hacl...;)

Tork64
06-27-2006, 09:18 PM
cool stuff, thx!

oberheimhaven
06-27-2006, 09:37 PM
will this work with 3.5.4 I installed however its was over to the right of member pic and ID what could i be doing wrong yes In new atthis let me check again

Hmm tired everything still going on the far right side pic on the left anyone here that can i help I sure would appreciate it..

Thanks

Sangrun
06-30-2006, 02:41 AM
Did not work in my 3.5.4 at all. I went back and triple checked I had it in the right place and all the code was there.

Shazz
06-30-2006, 02:46 AM
Works Great!
*clicks install
________
C'?tait un rendez-vous (http://www.ferrari-wiki.com/wiki/C'?tait_un_rendez-vous)

NetworkTown.Net
07-06-2006, 05:14 PM
Hello

Have you got a update version for 3.5.4 please thank you.

Blind Guardian
07-08-2006, 09:12 AM
I added a condition so it only shows up for admins, but this should make my life a tad easier whenever I'm adding user-specific features to the templates.

Thanks.

joseph2007
07-17-2006, 05:21 AM
I added a condition so it only shows up for admins, but this should make my life a tad easier whenever I'm adding user-specific features to the templates.

Thanks.

forgive me but.. how could i go about doing the same? i want to add the userid to my postbit but i don't want anyone cept admins (and or higher) seeing it.

Simplicity
07-20-2006, 03:39 PM
I don't see how you would benefit by hiding the user id in the template to other usergroups... all a user needs to do is hover the mouse over the username or go to the users profile page and the user id is viewable in the url. However thats just my opinion.

Blind Guardian
07-20-2006, 05:24 PM
forgive me but.. how could i go about doing the same? i want to add the userid to my postbit but i don't want anyone cept admins (and or higher) seeing it.Where you would add:

<if condition="$post[userid]">
<div>UserID: $post[userid]</div><br />
</if>

Instead, add:

<if condition="$post[userid] AND in_array($bbuserinfo[usergroupid], array(5,6))">
<div>UserID: $post[userid]</div><br />
</if>

Where "array(5,6)" is the userids for the Super-Moderators and Admins. Any additional usergroups (like moderators) can just be added in the same way, with a comma then the ID.

I don't see how you would benefit by hiding the user id in the template to other usergroups... all a user needs to do is hover the mouse over the username or go to the users profile page and the user id is viewable in the url. However thats just my opinion.True, but I also don't like cluttering up the postbit for the members with information that doesn't need to be there.

There's no reason for a member to be able to see the userID that easily, where as an administrator such as myself would find it easier having the ID displayed in static text rather than having to hover my mouse over a link every time I need to referrence it.