View Full Version : Navbar Drop down menu
eNforce
10-14-2005, 08:45 PM
Easy request and I'm positive there is a thread on it but I couldn't find it. Could someone code a drop down menu for the navbar? It should be similar to Quick Links with the categories and such.
I fiddled around for about 30 mins trying to copy code to make my own but it always broke the navbar.
Or could someone point me in the direction of the other thread on this? I belive the person who created it named the dropdown menu "Interactive"
:( ?
eNforce
10-16-2005, 08:24 PM
Bump? Anyone?
Just a simple drop down menu with categories :speechless:
akanevsky
10-16-2005, 09:11 PM
In template navbar,
FIND:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<td id="usercptools" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></td>
</if>
UNDER THAT, ADD:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<td id="MYUNIQUEID" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#MYUNIQUEID">$vbphrase[MYPHRASE]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("MYUNIQUEID"); </script></td>
</if>
FIND:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<!-- user cp tools menu -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="usercptools_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[quick_links]</td></tr>
<if condition="$vboptions['enablesearches']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="#" onclick="window.open('misc.php?$session[sessionurl]do=buddylist&focus=1','buddylist','statusbar=no,me nubar=no,toolbar=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=yes,w idth=250,height=300'); return false;">$vbphrase[open_buddy_list]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="thead"><a href="usercp.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[user_control_panel]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['siglink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editsignature">$vbphrase[edit_signature]</a></td></tr></if>
<!--<if condition="$show['avatarlink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editavatar">$vbphrase[edit_avatar]</a></td></tr></if>-->
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editprofile">$vbphrase[edit_profile]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="profile.php?$session[sessionurl]do=editoptions">$vbphrase[edit_options]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[miscellaneous]</td></tr>
<if condition="$show['pmstats']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="private.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[private_messages]</a></td></tr></if>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="subscription.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[subscribed_threads]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$bbuserinfo[userid]">$vbphrase[my_profile]</a></td></tr>
<if condition="$show['wollink']"><tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="online.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[whos_online]</a></td></tr></if>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / user cp tools menu -->
</if>
UNDER THAT ADD:
<!-- MY CUSTOM MENU -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="MYUNIQUEID_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[PHRASE_CUSTOMMENU_TITLE1]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="MYCUSTOMLINK.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[MYCUSTOMLINK_TITLE]</a></td></tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / MY CUSTOM MENU -->
</if>
Now, make sure to read through the HTML you just added and replace:
MYUNIQUEID - all instances - with the same custom value
EVERYTHING ELSE IN CAPS - with your custom content :)
And of course, create the phrases you need.
Done!
I might add this to my custom vB-powered pages manual later on...
eNforce
10-16-2005, 11:37 PM
Cool, that worked :)
What would I have to do to insert this right after the UserCP link?
akanevsky
10-16-2005, 11:38 PM
Then insert the first piece of code after the HTML for usercp :)
ea_hockey
10-27-2005, 06:54 AM
If I may ask another question related to this, I'd like to ask:
I wanted to add the drop down to a custom field on the postbit_legacy template. This is the code I have on postbit_legacy:
<table id="post$post[postid]" class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="left">
<tr>
<if condition="$post['field6']"><td id="field6" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#field6">PS2 Gamertag</a><script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("field6"); </script></td></if>
</tr>
</table>
Using the method explained above for the drop down code I put down the following:
<!-- MY CUSTOM MENU -->
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="field6_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead"><div class="smallfont">PS2 Gamer Tag: $post[field6]</div></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
<!-- / MY CUSTOM MENU -->
Now the problem is that the $post[field6] is not displaying on the dropdown menu. Is there a reason for this and possibly a way to fix that?
Here is an example of what I am trying to achieve(click the PS2 Gamertag link):
http://www.eahockey.com/forums/showthread.php?p=9907#post9907
(no registration necassary)
Thanks in advance
peterska2
10-27-2005, 09:28 AM
try using $userinfo[field6] instead.
ea_hockey
10-27-2005, 03:43 PM
No luck on that peterska2.
I might have done more wrong, as if I go to some other pages the dropdown does not function at all.
help!
i did it on my own, didn't work.
looked at this, and duplicated it.
i get the link, but no drop down.
here's the code:
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td id="techrefmenu" class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#techrefmenu">$vbphrase[tech]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("techrefmenu"); </script></td>
</if>
and:
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="techrefmenu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[tech]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="e53wd.php">$vbphrase[tech_x5wds]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="e83wd.php">$vbphrase[tech_x3wds]</a></td></tr>
</table>
</div>
what am i doing wrong?
please help! thanks in advance!
peterska2
01-20-2006, 10:54 AM
Replace your second piece of code with<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="techrefmenu_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr><td class="thead">$vbphrase[tech]</td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="e53wd.php">$vbphrase[tech_x5wds]</a></td></tr>
<tr><td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="e83wd.php">$vbphrase[tech_x3wds]</a></td></tr>
</table>
</div>
fatalsex
02-25-2006, 09:08 PM
how can i do it for GUESTS ? only members on my web page see this MENU
vietfancy
03-03-2006, 02:26 AM
This is what i should install. Thanks
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.