View Full Version : Alphabetic Subforum Sorting Request.
ggiersdorf
10-13-2005, 11:45 PM
I currently run a Video Game Websit forum and have many subforums dedicated to individual games for organization purposes. I used this mod here to help clear up the subforums
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=795187#post795187
Which works great BTW, but I need a plugin that will sort Subforums Alphabetically. Im sure MANY users would love to have this, as adding new forums would than be easy to find as Its a pian to reorganize them each time I add a new forum..
Please help might even be a Hack of the Month! :)
Thanks in advance
Andreas
10-14-2005, 12:04 AM
Simple, but not efficient --- not recommended for larger forums
cache_ordered_forums
$forumcheck = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
if (!$forumcheck['sorted'])
{
function forumsort($forum1, $forum2)
{
return strnatcasecmp($forum1['title_clean'], $forum2['title_clean']);
}
uasort($vbulletin->forumcache, 'forumsort');
$lastforum = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
$vbulletin->forumcache["$lastforum[forumid]"]['sorted'] = 1;
build_datastore('forumcache', serialize($vbulletin->forumcache));
}
Edit: Code optimized, should not cause any serious overhead any longer :)
Still not recommended to be used in a productive environment though.
ggiersdorf
10-14-2005, 12:18 PM
IS this something you can work on Kirby? I think it would be a GREAT feature, and what do you consider a large forum? I can possibly have 500 subforum in different sections.
also where in cache_ordered_forums would this go anywhere?
and what weight should the subforum be set at all 1?
and will there be more modifications to this so we can use in a an actually environment?
Andreas
10-14-2005, 12:30 PM
IS this something you can work on Kirby?
I don't understand this question
what do you consider a large forum?
More than 50 Forums, avg. online users > 100.
also where in cache_ordered_forums would this go anywhere?
I don't understand this question. This is a Plugin.
and what weight should the subforum be set at all 1?
Doesn't matter; it sorts all Forums.
and will there be more modifications to this so we can use in a an actually environment?
I don't understand this question.
ggiersdorf
10-14-2005, 12:35 PM
Sorry Kirby, Im new to this sorry let me try again.
cache_ordered_forums
PHP Code:
$forumcheck = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
if (!$forumcheck['sorted'])
{
function forumsort($forum1, $forum2)
{
return strnatcasecmp($forum1['title_clean'], $forum2['title_clean']);
}
uasort($vbulletin->forumcache, 'forumsort');
$lastforum = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
$vbulletin->forumcache["$lastforum[forumid]"]['sorted'] = 1;
build_datastore('forumcache', serialize($vbulletin->forumcache));
}
First off you say its a plugin? do I need to make it a plug-in? if so how, where
3.5 is my first Vbulletin experience.
Secondly, I can potentially have under each section about 150-200 forums per game, right now I have basically 25 users so not a problem there it's a start.
Thirdly you said do not use in a production environment. So is it possible to make it so we can use it in larger forums, with more users and have it be stable and fast?
Thanks again in advance Kirby.
Andreas
10-14-2005, 12:43 PM
ACP / Plugin System / Add new Plugin
Product = vBulletin
Hook Location = cache_ordered_forums
Title = Alphabetically ordered Forums (or foobar or whocares or ...)
Plugin PHP Code = the Code I posted
Plugin is Active = Yes
That's it
So is it possible to make it so we can use it in larger forums, with more users and have it be stable and fast?
You can use it with any size forum; I am not aware of bugs and it should not cause any serious overhead.
Though, I don't give any support - it could possibly blow up your whole forum, therefore strongly not recommended to be used in production environment :)
ggiersdorf
10-14-2005, 12:48 PM
WOW worked like a charm and noticed no speed issues, though I did notice the forum Categories etc, have sorted alphabetically also. will work on this and see how to fix it.
Any way to make just the subforms alphabetic?
Thanks if you can think of anything else please let me know..
Kirby da coder. :)
Andreas
10-14-2005, 12:56 PM
Any way to make just the subforms alphabetic?
Forum 1
+ Forum 1.1
+ Forum 1.1.1
+ Forum 1.1.1.1
Forum 2
+ Forum 2.1
Forum 3
What are Subforums in this layout?
Is would be (a lot) more difficult, but should still be doable ... somehow.
ggiersdorf
10-14-2005, 12:56 PM
Kirby let me ask this any way to specify which forums this will do this for? Like one or two specific subsections? Instead of the entire forum??
I sent you a PM with some info. thanks
Kirby I had an Idea might be able to make this easier.
Is there a way to make your code work with only forums with a specific display order?
Let say if we make a display order 99 all forums except 99 will stay in there respective places, but anyhting with 99 would than be sorted with your code?!
Hope that can be done..
RMSimard
06-01-2006, 12:31 PM
Old thread, I know. I've updated Andreas' plugin to account for forum display order as well as alphabetical ordering:
$forumcheck = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
if (!$forumcheck['sorted'])
{
function forumsort($forum1, $forum2)
{
if ($forum1['displayorder'] == $forum2['displayorder'])
{
return strnatcasecmp($forum1['title_clean'], $forum2['title_clean']);
}
return ($forum1['displayorder'] < $forum2['displayorder'])
? -1
: 1;
}
uasort($vbulletin->forumcache, 'forumsort');
$lastforum = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
$vbulletin->forumcache["$lastforum[forumid]"]['sorted'] = 1;
build_datastore('forumcache', serialize($vbulletin->forumcache));
}
Works on my 350+ subforums. I only wish vB could leave the database do this simple job. Enjoy!
ggiersdorf
06-01-2006, 12:32 PM
I will try it soon thank YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hope it works..
Shanj
10-22-2006, 10:54 PM
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in
/includes/functions.php(2914) : eval()'d code on line 16
Any ideas? I'm on current version vb 3.6.2
I put it in the plugin manager ----
Product vbulletin
Hook cache_ordered_forums
Title Alpha sort subforums
Exec order 5 [Use this field to enter the order in which code at the same hook will be executed.]
Plugin PHP code [copied from RHSimard here]
$forumcheck = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
if (!$forumcheck['sorted'])
{
function forumsort($forum1, $forum2)
{
if ($forum1['displayorder'] == $forum2['displayorder'])
{
return strnatcasecmp($forum1['title_clean'], $forum2['title_clean']);
}
return ($forum1['displayorder'] < $forum2['displayorder'])
? -1
: 1;
}
uasort($vbulletin->forumcache, 'forumsort');
$lastforum = end($vbulletin->forumcache);
Plugin is active Yes.
RESULT
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in
/includes/functions.php(2914) : eval()'d code on line 16
My vb is not installed in a folder named "forums" but I wouldn't have thought that affects this.
When I tried Andreas code (after switching RMSimard's verson to inactive)
it seemed to work fine - sight for sore eyes!
until I moved off the page I'd refreshed to check other pages.
I tried the main forums link in the breadcrumbs and got error below
- also same stuff if I try to do a fresh login.
Warning: array_keys() [function.array-keys]: The first argument should be an array in /includes/functions.php on line 3688
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /includes/functions.php on line 3688
Warning: end() [function.end]: Passed variable is not an array or object in /includes/functions.php(2914) : eval()'d code on line 1
Warning: uasort() [function.uasort]: The argument should be an array in /includes/functions.php(2914) : eval()'d code on line 8
Warning: end() [function.end]: Passed variable is not an array or object in /includes/functions.php(2914) : eval()'d code on line 9
Fatal error: Unsupported operand types in /includes/functions.php on line 2972
dinse007
11-22-2006, 09:04 AM
I tried this under 3.6.3 and got wild error message:
Warnung: array_keys() [function.array-keys]: The first argument should be an array in /includes/functions.php
Line 3699 in functions.php, this one:
foreach (array_keys($vbulletin->forumcache) AS $forumid)
I could only get rid of the errors by adding a new forum (rebuilding the forums cache, I assume).
But here's another question: Can the plugin (once it works without producing errors) also be adjusted to sort subforums by latest post within the subforums? Would be great.
Thanks!
Byron
08-12-2007, 02:59 AM
Any new solution for sorting forums alphabetically?
passion33
10-17-2007, 12:51 PM
Bump
--------------- Added 1192647503 at 1192647503 ---------------
Does anybody know how to sort threads in alphabetic order in VB 3.6, rather then having to manuelly set to sorting eg: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on......
passion33
10-21-2007, 06:01 PM
i will bump since i am still looking for this Addon:
Does anybody know how to sort threads in alphabetic order in VB 3.6, rather then having to manuelly set to sorting eg: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on......
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.