Log in

View Full Version : just need a code to get age from userid


axi
10-05-2005, 12:09 PM
hi

I have a custom template im working on for a page for my VB, and in there there is going to be profiles i am adding manually of some forum members.

i came across to the age part, and just cant add it manually or else il have to be changeing peoples age every month.

Is there a code i can just wack in there so it pulls a specific 'userid' age from the database or something?

Cheers.

Reeve of shinra
10-05-2005, 12:36 PM
VB can display a persons age in thier postbit and I believe Kirby released a hack to show a users age in their profile. I would start there.

axi
10-05-2005, 01:52 PM
VB can display a persons age in thier postbit and I believe Kirby released a hack to show a users age in their profile. I would start there.


yes but i am asking for a code to dig up the age from a blank template. not from there postbit template or profile. i already tried looking up those templates and no success.

its pretty tricky. anyone can help?

Andreas
10-05-2005, 08:35 PM
Userage in Profile was a Hack by boofo, but it is now a default feature :)
The Code is pretty simple:

$bday = explode('-', $userinfo['birthday']);

$year = vbdate('Y', TIMENOW, false, false);
$month = vbdate('n', TIMENOW, false, false);
$day = vbdate('j', TIMENOW, false, false);
if ($year > $bday[2] AND $bday[2] != '0000')
{
$userinfo['age'] = $year - $bday[2];
if ($month < $bday[0] OR ($month == $bday[0] AND $day < $bday[1]))
{
$userinfo['age']--;
}

if ($userinfo['age'] > 101)
{
// Are there peoply who are 101 or older and use vBulletin? Doubt so ...
$show['age'] = false;
}
else
{
$show['age'] = true;
}
}

axi
10-06-2005, 01:33 PM
ok so how do i use that code? Should I just paste it into my template im working on, or do i need to specify the d.o.b or userid to look up to get results from?

Boofo
10-06-2005, 02:57 PM
That code would go in the php file that you are using for your template. ;)

axi
10-06-2005, 04:34 PM
ah ye, sort of get it now. but then what do i write in the template to pull out the age?

Boofo
10-06-2005, 05:53 PM
$userinfo[age]

;)

axi
10-06-2005, 09:17 PM
But i am adding the profiles manually, its not database driven.. so wont i need to specify the userinfo manually too, like $userid=['23'] for instance?