View Full Version : Add a Header / Footer option to each forum
Zachariah
09-15-2005, 10:00 PM
/* -----------------9/16/2005 8:25AM-----------------
Add a Header / Footer option to each forum V.1.0
Tested on vBulletin: 3.5.0 RC2,RC3
This is a Port from a previous hack by ChurchMedia.
*** Header/Footer For Each Forum and Threads in that Forum (VB 3.0x) - BY: ChurchMedia
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=65890
*** Info:
This modification will allow you to add an extra, unique header and footer for each forum.
You can use HTML, javascript, but no PHP.
--------------------------------------------------*/
Upload the "Product" and edit 2 templates, It's a snap.
:rambo:
There is also an Upgrade XML file for all the users that upgrated from VB3.x vs. new install.
Zachariah
09-16-2005, 02:44 PM
I looked and played with the location of the 2 Variables:
$foruminfo[forumheader] // header
$foruminfo[forumfooter] // footer
The ver. that ChurchMedia did makes 2 edits to 2 template(below).
(ForumDisplay, Showthread - after $navbar and before $footer)
$navbar
<------------------------------------------->
BELOW ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumheader]
<------------------------------------------->
$footer
<------------------------------------------->
ABOVE ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumfooter]
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+--
2b.) Revised Ideas
Note: I make 1 edit to 2 templates
$foruminfo[forumheader] to the "navbar" template (after everything to show up under)
OR
$foruminfo[forumheader] to the "header" template (many places) to show up on both ForumDisplay, Showthread.
AND
$foruminfo[forumfooter] to the "footer" template to show up on both ForumDisplay, Showthread.
****
On every page except forumdisplay.php and showthread.php the Variables will not show up.
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+--
*** Useage:
For extra header/footer go to Forums & Moderators => Forum Manager => Edit forum => scroll do to the bottom enter your details.
fridayweb
09-16-2005, 03:03 PM
Thanks for posting this! I came to specifically look for a forum header plug-in, and I can't believe that you just posted it today. Awesome. :)
Zachariah
09-16-2005, 03:05 PM
Thanks for posting this! I came to specifically look for a forum header plug-in, and I can't believe that you just posted it today. Awesome. :)
"Ah oh it's magic" .... heheeh
NP, ChurchMedia needed some help. They are worken him to the death these days.
delds
09-16-2005, 07:32 PM
This is great, good plugin. Anychance of having a similiar plugin made, to add html / javascript to the top or bottom of every page including forums home page ? The plugin of this type would be an easy way to add menu's etc., without having to go and mingle it with other stuff on an existing header.
Zachariah
09-16-2005, 08:00 PM
every page including forums home page
place your code in the header template ??
delds
09-16-2005, 08:45 PM
Yes that is what I have already done, you just have to find the exact spot to put each time you update it, it is not a big deal by no means, just thought a separate place to enter the extra code without being concerned or finding the spot might make it easilier if you update/change it often.
Zachariah
09-16-2005, 09:02 PM
Yes that is what I have already done, you just have to find the exact spot to put each time you update it, it is not a big deal by no means, just thought a separate place to enter the extra code without being concerned or finding the spot might make it easilier if you update/change it often.
That can be done. :D - Ill post it in a few.
trainer
09-17-2005, 01:03 PM
does the forum specific header also appear when viewing threads/posts within that forum or strictly on the forum view
Zachariah
09-17-2005, 01:35 PM
does the forum specific header also appear when viewing threads/posts within that forum or strictly on the forum view
Yes it does :D
dutchbb
10-02-2005, 11:28 AM
Hi I have a short but important question
we used the hack from ChurchMedia, and upgraded to vb3.5 The header/footers html is still showing in all forums.
When I upgrade with the XML, will this delete the old html ?
Zachariah
10-02-2005, 03:00 PM
Hi I have a short but important question
we used the hack from ChurchMedia, and upgraded to vb3.5 The header/footers html is still showing in all forums.
When I upgrade with the XML, will this delete the old html ?
I added 3.x to 3.5 forum_hf.xml in the Zip file. ~ 10.2.05
This will do all the mods of a normal install and skip the database edits. It will add the code to uninstall the product (removes database, templates, phrases). This way if you want to remoe the edits you can.
oricon
10-02-2005, 06:27 PM
i cant download anything! where are the files?
Zachariah
10-02-2005, 06:42 PM
i cant download anything! where are the files?
My fault ... this site does not like RAR files only Zip.
csidlernet
10-05-2005, 03:01 AM
thankyou!!!!!!!
/me installs
stinger2
10-08-2005, 12:51 AM
Yes that is what I have already done, you just have to find the exact spot to put each time you update it, it is not a big deal by no means, just thought a separate place to enter the extra code without being concerned or finding the spot might make it easilier if you update/change it often.
That can be done. :D - Ill post it in a few.
that would be great....we are still waitng...can we expect it soon?
Zachariah
10-08-2005, 02:49 PM
Ok I have a simple way to add to Forumhome, but should it be part of this hack ?
Zachariah
10-25-2005, 01:36 PM
Here is a simple JAVA random banner code you can paste in the HTML area.
EX:
This will show @ random.
image1.jpg @ http://yoursite1.com
image2.jpg @ http://yoursite2.com
image3.jpg @ http://yoursite3.com
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function banner() {
};
banner = new banner();
number = 0;
// bannerArray
banner[number++] = "<a href='http://yoursite1.com' target='_blank'><img src='/banners/image1.jpg' alt='' border='0' /></a>"
banner[number++] = "<a href='http://yoursite2.com' target='_blank'><img src='/banners/image2.jpg' alt='' border='0' /></a>"
banner[number++] = "<a href='http://yoursite3.com' target='_blank'><img src='/banners/image3.jpg' alt='' border='0' /></a>"
// keep adding items above here...
increment = Math.floor(Math.random() * number);
document.write(banner[increment]);
//-->
</script>Useage: If you need more banners edit / add another row.
banner[number++] = "<a href='http://www.yoursite1.com' target='_blank'><img src='/banners/image1.jpg' alt='' border='0' /></a>"Link of Destination
Image location
Jesse Jericho
10-27-2005, 04:38 PM
I thanked you on Churchmedia's thread, but thanks again for the upgrade ;)
I have a suggestion: It would be nice to have a "master" header and footer, ones that would display on all forums, so you don't have to go in and enter the information for every single forum. Right now I have to make my changes, and then copy and paste it into the 15+ forums.
Likely my suggestion has already been covered in some really easy manner, and once again I am gonna look like a moron... lol
Zachariah
10-27-2005, 04:48 PM
I thanked you on Churchmedia's thread, but thanks again for the upgrade ;)
I have a suggestion: It would be nice to have a "master" header and footer, ones that would display on all forums, so you don't have to go in and enter the information for every single forum. Right now I have to make my changes, and then copy and paste it into the 15+ forums.
Likely my suggestion has already been covered in some really easy manner, and once again I am gonna look like a moron... lol
Thats not too hard.
Are we talking ?
- on all forumdisplay / showthread
- and/or Forumhome
- all pages / all other hacks - IE: $header2 / $footer2
Shoot me some ideas :D
stinger2
10-28-2005, 01:00 PM
yes that would be great.....an extra header footer.....which can be on forum home+forumdisplay+showthread.......
so one can add any extra info in one action.....i.e not going through them all
Zachariah
10-28-2005, 01:19 PM
yes that would be great.....an extra header footer.....which can be on forum home+forumdisplay+showthread.......
so one can add any extra info in one action.....i.e not going through them all
Not a problem. You will have it shortly.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99544
northernstar
11-22-2005, 02:10 AM
Great hack! I was looking for this.
But there use to be a hack where you just specified the file (html, or whatever) and select which forum it would be shown in. This way, you just update that one html file and it will automatically update in all the forums you selected.
With your mod, I have to copy and paste the same html into all the forums I want it to show. And I don't want the other option, which is to have it show in ALL forums.
So basically, is there any way where we can specify the html for the header and footer and in a textbox, list all the forum IDs (the comma separated method) we want it to show in?
Zachariah
11-22-2005, 02:42 AM
Great hack! I was looking for this.
But there use to be a hack where you just specified the file (html, or whatever) and select which forum it would be shown in. This way, you just update that one html file and it will automatically update in all the forums you selected.
With your mod, I have to copy and paste the same html into all the forums I want it to show. And I don't want the other option, which is to have it show in ALL forums.
So basically, is there any way where we can specify the html for the header and footer and in a textbox, list all the forum IDs (the comma separated method) we want it to show in?
Might try this untill I get something together.
Add Extra Header / Footer (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99544)
these are HTML areas in your header / footer templates: I did this to make the header and footers easy for me to edit all the time :)
( This was off the top of head code.)
<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid]=='6,7,8,9,10,2000'">
Custom banner HTML code
<else />
Custom banner HTML code2 or default image HTML code
</if>
fridayweb
11-25-2005, 04:33 PM
I wanted to just exclude several forums, the ones that were my category forums. The code above didn't work for me with the commas separating the numbers, so I just made a long messy conditional that works for me.
<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid]!='10' AND $foruminfo[forumid]!='11' AND $foruminfo[forumid]!='16'">
-shrug- it works, that's all I care about. :)
grecostimpy
11-28-2005, 12:53 AM
Where's the download? I checked your site and don't see it there either. (??)
Zachariah
11-28-2005, 01:52 AM
Where's the download? I checked your site and don't see it there either. (??)
back up
thankyou!!!!!!!
* csidlernet installs
Works just fine :)
Neutral Singh
12-25-2005, 05:22 AM
oh thanks, exactly what i was looking for. :)
Gordon219
12-31-2005, 06:03 AM
So I can have a different banner for different forums?
Zachariah
12-31-2005, 03:36 PM
So I can have a different banner for different forums?
Yes Sir,
This was made from an Idea of a member here on vb.org. They wanted a simple way to update the header/footer per forum vs. have to edit the header/footer template all the time and "goof something up" by mistake.
- You can paste any html / java / dhtml (no php code)
- There are a few options:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/member.php?userid=6872
[vB 3.5.0] Add Extra Header / Footer
[vB 3.5.0] Add Extra Header / Footer to FORUMHOME
[vB 3.5.0] Add a Header / Footer option to each forum
[vB 3.5.0] Add a banner image to each forum (vb3.5)
This is a cool hack.
How about making the navbar as an option also in this hack?
Zachariah
01-08-2006, 05:53 PM
This is a cool hack.
How about making the navbar as an option also in this hack?
what navbar ? :o :nervous:
what navbar ? :o :nervous:
You know the inside of the navbar area, just above the links.
Zachariah
01-08-2006, 06:49 PM
You know the inside of the navbar area, just above the links.
EX:
vBulletin.org Forum > vB3.5 Modifications > vB3.5 Plugins
Reload this Page Add a Header / Footer option to each forum
?
Zachariah
01-08-2006, 07:25 PM
Yes there.
Haven a hard time understanding what you want to do :)
- Explain please
Haven a hard time understanding what you want to do :)
- Explain please
Ok,
Pretty much what I would like to do is add text to the example you showed(above the links in the navbar). I would like to have different text for the different forums. This would leave the header for a banner.
You would add this text via the admin cp in where you have added the extra header and footer.
hopefully I made more sense.
bashy
01-08-2006, 07:44 PM
Cheers Zachariah
Excellent hack m8, just needs some advertisers now ;)
Regards
Bashy
bashy
01-08-2006, 09:23 PM
I m8
I have managed to center the adverts in the forums sections and subsections
but they are still aligined to the left in the thread display?
Please can you let me know how and what to change for the thread display ones?
Regards
Bashy
Zachariah
01-11-2006, 02:57 AM
Please can you let me know how and what to change for the thread display ones?
Showthread template:
Edit and add:
I looked and played with the location of the 2 Variables:
$foruminfo[forumheader] // header
$foruminfo[forumfooter] // footer
(ForumDisplay, Showthread - after $navbar and before $footer)
$navbar
<------------------------------------------->
BELOW ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumheader]
<------------------------------------------->
$footer
<------------------------------------------->
ABOVE ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumfooter]
bashy
01-11-2006, 05:19 AM
Hi m8
These edits were already done, was there something else i need to do?
Bahsy
Showthread template:
Edit and add:
I looked and played with the location of the 2 Variables:
$foruminfo[forumheader] // header
$foruminfo[forumfooter] // footer
(ForumDisplay, Showthread - after $navbar and before $footer)
$navbar
<------------------------------------------->
BELOW ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumheader]
<------------------------------------------->
$footer
<------------------------------------------->
ABOVE ADD:
<------------------------------------------->
$foruminfo[forumfooter]
Aislinn
03-03-2006, 05:39 PM
Ok I installed your "product-forum_hf.xml" and I added the second version of the coding to the header and footer area of the template.
$foruminfo[forumheader] to the "header" template (many places) to show up on both ForumDisplay, Showthread.
AND
$foruminfo[forumfooter] to the "footer" template
When I got to edit the forums the header footer box is there and I enter my html code which is an image on my site and click save. The image isnt showing up on any of the pages though. Any ideas VB version 3.5.4
Mokster
03-06-2006, 02:48 PM
thanks!
SHalliday
03-07-2006, 12:35 AM
I have installed as directed but when I edit forum from admin panel I do not see anywhere I can enter in the forum header or footer. Am I missing something here? Is this where it should be or am I looking in the wrong place to update?
Zachariah
03-07-2006, 03:15 AM
I have installed as directed but when I edit forum from admin panel I do not see anywhere I can enter in the forum header or footer. Am I missing something here? Is this where it should be or am I looking in the wrong place to update?
*** Useage:
To add banners go to Forums & Moderators => Forum Manager => Edit forum => scroll do to the bottom enter your details.
SHalliday
03-07-2006, 12:19 PM
Zachariah,
I think that maybe my problem. When I go to Forums & Moderators => Forum Manager => Edit forum => and scroll to the bottom, there is no place or option to enter details.
How or what do I need to add to make this option appear on my admin edit forum page?
thedvs
08-30-2006, 05:36 PM
works great so far in vb3.6.0
dklassen
11-11-2006, 01:32 PM
Does this work with 3.6.2? I need a static banner showing over my main forums.
Sam1985
02-14-2007, 05:57 AM
this works flawlessly on 3.6.4 :D
Smoothie
02-14-2007, 11:12 AM
Does this add an extra header/footer, or does it replace the existing header/footer?
Zachariah
02-14-2007, 03:19 PM
Does this add an extra header/footer, or does it replace the existing header/footer?
Option of another.
GreeceMonkey
04-05-2007, 11:47 AM
Can I use this to put banners on the sides instead of the top and bottom.
I have done one of the mods where you create a left column, can I just place the $foruminfo[forumheader] in the left column to have the same effect of the unique left column on every forum
Graham
vuiveclub_net
04-17-2007, 01:42 AM
is there a way to allow a moderator of a a forum edit his/her own header/footer. Because this seems like only Admin able to to add the header.
Eagle Creek
08-09-2007, 01:18 PM
3.6.8 compatible?
Zachariah
08-09-2007, 03:21 PM
3.6.8 compatible?
I do not see a problem with it. I have some updates planed and will make another thread in 3.6 area.
hitmann
08-17-2007, 10:19 AM
I do not see a problem with it.
Is it currently compatible with 3.6.8 though? I have tried it and it doesn't show the images I've added.
I just upgraded to 3.6.8 and it's working for me. I did have to revert my templates and then re-add the header/footer variables, however. $foruminfo[forumheader] and $foruminfo[forumfooter]
hitmann
08-30-2007, 09:37 PM
cool cheers
It is explained in readme.txt
kholland
09-06-2007, 04:12 AM
Hi,
Maybe I missed it in this thread but I wanted to know how I get the new header and footer to show up on the homepage and secondly was there a change made so the header and footer show up in all the forums without having to manually put it in all of them separately.
Thanks!
Hi,
Maybe I missed it in this thread but I wanted to know how I get the new header and footer to show up on the homepage
This is explained in the readme file.
and secondly was there a change made so the header and footer show up in all the forums without having to manually put it in all of them separately.
Thanks!
Unfortunately, I don't think there is a way to do this. It's a pain. Maybe someone else has an idea for this one.
Zachariah
09-06-2007, 03:10 PM
I'll work on a default banner code if one is not provided. This will add a banner on all forums
kholland
09-06-2007, 07:16 PM
This is explained in the readme file.
The readme file is a little confusing. Could you point me where in the file I would look to do this?
Thanks!
hitmann
09-08-2007, 03:33 AM
I'll work on a default banner code if one is not provided. This will add a banner on all forums
Could you add an option to disable it per forum? Let's say if I want to show in all forums, except the "Customer Support" forum
vktechnology
01-20-2010, 01:24 PM
can some one do this for version 4 please
it usefull
cnczone
04-13-2010, 02:32 AM
yes please
JohnSG
03-16-2012, 07:11 AM
Version of this for 4.x would be great :D
cnczone
05-29-2012, 07:52 PM
anyone?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.